Dompierre: 24 Preludes (2CD)
Performers:

24 PRELUDES


in a boogie-woogie form, and many other things…

His name was Bob. A very sociable guy, he was basically part of the family. For him, all music, regardless of style, was related to boogie-woogie. It was the genesis of everything that could be played. His left hand fascinated me especially. “Bob, how do you play so fast?” “That’s not what’s important, kid,” he replied, “it’s the chords.” I’ve never forgotten it. He was a vital figure in my quest to understand the mysteries of music. I wrote these preludes with him in mind, and while they have little in common with what he played back then, his memory has stayed with me all my life.

Although others, famous in their day and even more so today, have composed their own 24 preludes, I dared this undertaking because I do not feel as though I have copied anyone. I also humbly believe that writing them has been a personal and honest process. Why 24? One for each of the major and minor keys in the tonal system—and I accept and lay claim to the label of tonal composer. Which is not to say that my writing style is like that of centuries past, nor that I have rejected schools that broke with traditional tonality. I simply feel more in tune with myself this way. That said, I do believe that this music, composed in earnest, is contemporary. In some respects, it draws inspiration from jazz, pop music, and the broad repertoire of French piano music; it is both all of that and none of it.

Mastering the language of each of these pieces requires a sustained effort and great attention from the performer. It is a challenge to which Alain Lefèvre rose brilliantly. For this, he has my thanks and appreciation as a friend.

© François Dompierre
Translation: Peter Christensen

Premiered on July 14, 2012, at the Lanaudière Festival, in front of a record crowd of nearly 7 000, François Dompierre’s work has received the warmest of welcomes, both from the audience and the critics. The day after the premiere, Claude Gingras of La Presse didn’t hesitate to title his review: «Dompierre and Lefèvre: a triumph!»

Release date:
September 25, 2012
Album code:
AN 2 9292-3
Periods:
Genres:
Download album
Buy Album

Dompierre: 24 Preludes (2CD)

Dompierre, François (1943 - )
1
Frénétique (Boogie; Allegro vivace)
0,99 $
1:44
2
Tranquille (Swing léger; Andante)
0,99 $
3:54
3
Massif (Slow rock; Marcato)
0,99 $
3:47
4
Limpide (Slow Country; Très léger swing; Allegro cantabile)
0,99 $
4:30
5
Effervescent (Relax, One Step; Allegro vivace)
0,99 $
2:11
6
Excentrique (Shuffle; Swing modéré)
0,99 $
5:00
7
Tendre (Slow Ballad; Sostenuto cantabile)
0,99 $
3:19
8
Déterminé (Tango; Con moto)
0,99 $
4:38
10
Obstiné (Bossa nova; Molto leggiero)
0,99 $
2:16
10
Énergique (Molto mosso)
0,99 $
2:47
11
Alerte (Soft shoe; Allegretto giocoso)
0,99 $
3:20
12
Immobile (Cool; Molto lento sostenuto a piacere)
0,99 $
2:04
*All prices are in canadian dollars.

Secured purchase, worry-free and easy download.

We accept credit cards Visa and Mastercard. Your data is not shared and storage meets the standards of the highest safety.

Download legally, directly from the producer, without DRM.

Downloading music on the site of Analekta, you avoid intermediaries and make sure you have the best possible sound quality.

Questions? Our customer services is here to help you!

Our help page is devoted to shopping on Analekta.com and our FAQ answers most common questions you may have. If not, contact us by email.
We’ll respond in the next 24 hours (except during weekends and public holidays).

Dompierre: 24 Preludes (2CD)

Album code: AN 2 9292-3
Release date: September 25, 2012

Période(s): 20th Century

Genre(s): Piano

Composers:
Dompierre, François

Performers:
Lefèvre, Alain



24 PRELUDES


in a boogie-woogie form, and many other things…

His name was Bob. A very sociable guy, he was basically part of the family. For him, all music, regardless of style, was related to boogie-woogie. It was the genesis of everything that could be played. His left hand fascinated me especially. “Bob, how do you play so fast?” “That’s not what’s important, kid,” he replied, “it’s the chords.” I’ve never forgotten it. He was a vital figure in my quest to understand the mysteries of music. I wrote these preludes with him in mind, and while they have little in common with what he played back then, his memory has stayed with me all my life.

Although others, famous in their day and even more so today, have composed their own 24 preludes, I dared this undertaking because I do not feel as though I have copied anyone. I also humbly believe that writing them has been a personal and honest process. Why 24? One for each of the major and minor keys in the tonal system—and I accept and lay claim to the label of tonal composer. Which is not to say that my writing style is like that of centuries past, nor that I have rejected schools that broke with traditional tonality. I simply feel more in tune with myself this way. That said, I do believe that this music, composed in earnest, is contemporary. In some respects, it draws inspiration from jazz, pop music, and the broad repertoire of French piano music; it is both all of that and none of it.

Mastering the language of each of these pieces requires a sustained effort and great attention from the performer. It is a challenge to which Alain Lefèvre rose brilliantly. For this, he has my thanks and appreciation as a friend.

© François Dompierre
Translation: Peter Christensen

Premiered on July 14, 2012, at the Lanaudière Festival, in front of a record crowd of nearly 7 000, François Dompierre’s work has received the warmest of welcomes, both from the audience and the critics. The day after the premiere, Claude Gingras of La Presse didn’t hesitate to title his review: «Dompierre and Lefèvre: a triumph!»

1
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
1:44
2
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
3:54
3
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
3:47
4
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
4:30
5
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
2:11
6
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
5:00
7
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
3:19
8
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
4:38
9
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
2:16
10
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
2:47
11
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
3:20
12
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
2:04
13
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
4:39
14
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
3:22
15
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
3:55
16
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
4:29
17
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
5:02
18
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
4:24
19
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
3:49
20
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
2:50
21
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
5:07
22
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
2:45
23
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
3:54
24
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
4:18

Dompierre: 24 Préludes (2CD)
Interprètes:

24 PRÉLUDES


en forme de boogie et de bien d’autres choses encore....

Il s’appelait Bob. À l’aise avec tout le monde, il faisait pour ainsi dire partie de la famille. Pour lui, la musique, tous styles confondus, s’apparentait au boogie. C’était la genèse de tout ce qui s’interprétait. Sa main gauche surtout me fascinait. « Bob, comment faites-vous pour jouer si vite? »« C’est pas ça qui est important, kid. L’important c’est les chords ». Je ne l’ai jamais oublié. Il a été un personnage essentiel dans ma quête des mystères de la musique. J’ai composé ces préludes en pensant à lui et, bien que ceux-ci aient peu de rapport avec ce qu’il jouait alors, son souvenir m’a accompagné tout au long de mon cheminement.

Vingt-quatre préludes donc. Comme d’autres, célèbres en leur temps et encore plus aujourd’hui, en ont composés avant moi. Humblement, à mon tour, j’ai osé le faire parce que je pense n’avoir copié personne. Je crois aussi avoir eu une démarche personnelle et honnête. Pourquoi 24? Par ce que j’ai écrit chacun de ces préludes dans une des tonalités majeures et mineures du système tonal et que cette étiquette de compositeur tonal, je l’assume et la revendique. Ce qui ne veut pas dire que mon écriture soit celle des siècles précédents ni que je rejette les écoles qui ont rompu avec la tonalité traditionnelle. Je me sens tout simplement plus en accord avec moi-même de cette manière. Cela dit, j’ose croire que cette musique que j’ai composée le plus sincèrement possible soit de la musique actuelle. Elle s’inspire quelquefois du jazz, des musiques populaires, du grand répertoire pianistique français, elle est à la fois tout et rien de cela.

L’apprentissage du langage de chacune des pièces exige un travail soutenu et une très grande attention de la part de l’interprète. C’est un défi qu’Alain Lefèvre a su relever brillamment. Je l’en remercie avec toute mon amitié et ma reconnaissance.

© François Dompierre

Créée le 14 juillet dernier au Festival de Lanaudière, devant une foule record de près de 7 000 personnes, l’oeuvre de François Dompierre a reçu un accueil exceptionnel, tant du public que de la critique. Au lendemain de la première, Claude Gingras de La Presse n’a pas hésité à titrer : « Dompierre et Lefèvre: le triomphe ».
Date de sortie:
25 septembre 2012
Numéro d'album:
AN 2 9292-3
Périodes:
Genres:
Téléchargez l'album
Achetez l'album

Dompierre: 24 Préludes (2CD)

Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
1
Frénétique (Boogie; Allegro vivace)
0,99 $
1:44
2
Tranquille (Swing léger; Andante)
0,99 $
3:54
3
Massif (Slow rock; Marcato)
0,99 $
3:47
4
Limpide (Slow Country; Très léger swing; Allegro cantabile)
0,99 $
4:30
5
Effervescent (Relax, One Step; Allegro vivace)
0,99 $
2:11
6
Excentrique (Shuffle; Swing modéré)
0,99 $
5:00
7
Tendre (Slow Ballad; Sostenuto cantabile)
0,99 $
3:19
8
Déterminé (Tango; Con moto)
0,99 $
4:38
10
Obstiné (Bossa nova; Molto leggiero)
0,99 $
2:16
10
Énergique (Molto mosso)
0,99 $
2:47
11
Alerte (Soft shoe; Allegretto giocoso)
0,99 $
3:20
12
Immobile (Cool; Molto lento sostenuto a piacere)
0,99 $
2:04
*Tous les prix sont en devise canadienne.

Achat sécurisé, sans tracas et téléchargement facile.

Nous acceptons les cartes de crédit Visa et Mastercard. Vos données ne sont pas partagées et leur stockage répond aux normes de sécurité les plus elevées.

Téléchargement légal, directement du producteur, sans DRM.

En téléchargeant la musique sur le site d’Analekta, vous évitez les intermédiaires et vous vous assurez d’avoir la meilleure qualité sonore possible.

Des questions? Notre service à la clientèle est là!

Notre page d’aide pratique est consacrée au magasinage sur Analekta.com et notre FAQ répond à la plupart des questions courantes. Sinon, contactez-nous par courriel.
Réponse dans les 24 heures (sauf durant les weekends et les jours fériés).

Dompierre: 24 Préludes (2CD)

Numéro d'album: AN 2 9292-3
Date de sortie: 25 septembre 2012

Période(s): XXe siècle

Genre(s): Piano

Compositeurs:
Dompierre, François

Interprètes:
Lefèvre, Alain



24 PRÉLUDES


en forme de boogie et de bien d’autres choses encore....

Il s’appelait Bob. À l’aise avec tout le monde, il faisait pour ainsi dire partie de la famille. Pour lui, la musique, tous styles confondus, s’apparentait au boogie. C’était la genèse de tout ce qui s’interprétait. Sa main gauche surtout me fascinait. « Bob, comment faites-vous pour jouer si vite? »« C’est pas ça qui est important, kid. L’important c’est les chords ». Je ne l’ai jamais oublié. Il a été un personnage essentiel dans ma quête des mystères de la musique. J’ai composé ces préludes en pensant à lui et, bien que ceux-ci aient peu de rapport avec ce qu’il jouait alors, son souvenir m’a accompagné tout au long de mon cheminement.

Vingt-quatre préludes donc. Comme d’autres, célèbres en leur temps et encore plus aujourd’hui, en ont composés avant moi. Humblement, à mon tour, j’ai osé le faire parce que je pense n’avoir copié personne. Je crois aussi avoir eu une démarche personnelle et honnête. Pourquoi 24? Par ce que j’ai écrit chacun de ces préludes dans une des tonalités majeures et mineures du système tonal et que cette étiquette de compositeur tonal, je l’assume et la revendique. Ce qui ne veut pas dire que mon écriture soit celle des siècles précédents ni que je rejette les écoles qui ont rompu avec la tonalité traditionnelle. Je me sens tout simplement plus en accord avec moi-même de cette manière. Cela dit, j’ose croire que cette musique que j’ai composée le plus sincèrement possible soit de la musique actuelle. Elle s’inspire quelquefois du jazz, des musiques populaires, du grand répertoire pianistique français, elle est à la fois tout et rien de cela.

L’apprentissage du langage de chacune des pièces exige un travail soutenu et une très grande attention de la part de l’interprète. C’est un défi qu’Alain Lefèvre a su relever brillamment. Je l’en remercie avec toute mon amitié et ma reconnaissance.

© François Dompierre

Créée le 14 juillet dernier au Festival de Lanaudière, devant une foule record de près de 7 000 personnes, l’oeuvre de François Dompierre a reçu un accueil exceptionnel, tant du public que de la critique. Au lendemain de la première, Claude Gingras de La Presse n’a pas hésité à titrer : « Dompierre et Lefèvre: le triomphe ».
1
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
1:44
2
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
3:54
3
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
3:47
4
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
4:30
5
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
2:11
6
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
5:00
7
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
3:19
8
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
4:38
9
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
2:16
10
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
2:47
11
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
3:20
12
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
2:04
13
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
4:39
14
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
3:22
15
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
3:55
16
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
4:29
17
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
5:02
18
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
4:24
19
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
3:49
20
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
2:50
21
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
5:07
22
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
2:45
23
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
3:54
24
Dompierre, François
Dompierre, François (1943 - )
24 Préludes
4:18