fbpx
FL 2 3079

French Music on Two Harpsichords

Album information

The transcription and arrangement of musical works was common practice in the 18th century. Such illustrious musicians as François Couperin and Jean-Philippe Rameau left remarkable “manners” and examples of transcriptions for one or two harpsichords. In his preface to L’Apothéose de Lulli, published in 1725, François Couperin explains how his music for two dessus (treble parts) and bass can be played on two harpsichords: “I perform them very successfully with my family and pupils with the first dessus and the bass played on one harpsichord, and the second dessus and the same bass-line on another, in unison.”

Similarly, Jean-Philippe Rameau proposes, with supporting examples, that his Pièces de clavecin en concert (obbligato harpsichord, one dessus and one viola da gamba) may be transcribed for solo harpsichord. Transcriptions allowed for works—thitherto restricted to the confines of the concert—to attain a wider audience.

We, too, have chosen to have a go at transcription, while keeping in mind the examples and precepts of the great French masters. The experience allowed us to discover all the harmonic and rhythmical wealth made possible by the combination of two harpsichords.

In addition to having been an esteemed composer, Joseph Bodin de Boismortier (1689-1755) met with considerable success and acquired a substantial fortune. Around the age of 35, he chose to live in Paris, where he wrote much chamber music for all sorts of instruments, especially the flute. His Third Sonata, from opus 91, is written for obbligato harpsichord and flute. Among all the sonatas in the set, this one is in our opinion best suited to a performance on two harpsichords. We follow here François Couperin’s suggestion in the preface to his Apothéose de Lulli: the left hands play in unison, while the right hands each play a different treble part.

Justly considered the founder of the French violin school, Jean-Marie Leclair, l’aîné, (1697-1764) is perhaps the first French violinist to bear comparison with the Italian virtuosos. In his compositions, he brings about the fusion of the French and Italian styles, an idea advocated in 1724 by François Couperin, in Les Goûts réunis. The work recorded here belongs to the Second Book of Sonatas, published around 1728. The original instrumentation as specified by Leclair has a violin or a German (transverse) flute playing the first dessus, and a viol the second. The bass part is entrusted either to the harpsichord or to the cello. Our realization conforms precisely to François Couperin’s rules: two left hands in unison and two right hands playing respectively the first and the second dessus. A few brief passages only in the second dessus had to be transposed up an octave in order to avoid crossing over the left hand.

Charles (? François) Dieupart (?after 1667-c1740) was a composer, violinist and harpsichordist. He established himself in England around 1700, acquiring an enviable reputation as a teacher and virtuoso. His Six Suittes de Clavessin were published in Amsterdam in 1701, and possibly served as models for the English Suites of J.S. Bach, who knew and appreciated Dieupart’s music. There are two existing versions of these six suites: one for solo harpsichord, and another for a small ensemble comprising a violin and a flute with a bass viol and an archlute. In the second version, the archlute must realize the chords indicated by the figured bass. Although the solo harpsichord version is perfectly satisfying in its own right, we thought it might be enhanced by the addition of a continuo, taken from the instrumental version. We carefully studied the differences between the two versions, and decided to play them simultaneously (except for the gigue, played without the continuo).

Jacques Duphly (1715-1789) wrote four books of harpsichord pieces. Their publication, between 1744 and 1768, assured the composer a solid reputation. After having been an organist at the cathedral of Évreux and at Rouen, Duphly moved to Paris, working, with no official appointment, as a teacher, harpsichordist and composer. The six pieces of the present recording are taken from the third book. Unlike the other pieces in the book, these require the accompaniment of a violin. On one of the harpsichords, we entrust this “accompaniment” to the right hand, while the left hand generally plays the same bass as the obbligato harpsichord part. The other harpsichord plays the obbligato part originally cast by Duphly.

© Luc Beauséjour and Hervé Niquet Translation: Jacques-André Houle

___________________________________

Yves Beaupré, harpsichord maker, about the instruments used in this recording:

Writings from the period are unanimous: 17th-century Flemish harpsichords were very much in vogue throughout Europe. They were admired to the point that 18th-century Parisian makers, such as Nicolas Blanchet, created an instrument heavily inspired by the Antwerp craftsmanship of the likes of Ruckers, Goujon and Couchet. Although the two harpsichords used on this recording both have similar conceptual characteristics, they each sound quite different. The contrast in timbre between both instruments was of great interest to the performers. Luc Beauséjour plays a two-manual harpsichord, typically 18th-century French in design, inspired by the work of Nicolas Blanchet and Jean-Henry Hemsch, signed by myself in Montreal in 1998. For his part, Hervé Niquet uses a copy of a harpsichord crafted in Antwerp by Johannes Couchet. It is a single-manual instrument, which I built in Montreal in 1992, and belongs to the Canadian Museum of Civilization in Hull, Quebec.

© Yves Beaupré

Read more

About

Luc Beauséjour
AN 2 9926
AN 2 9926
AN 2 9926

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
FL 2 3079

Musique française à deux clavecins

Date de sortie 01 février 2000
Numéro de l'album FL 2 3079
Periodes Baroque

Informations sur l'album

La pratique de la transcription et de l’arrangement est chose courante au XVIIIe siècle. D’illustres musiciens comme François Couperin et Jean-Philippe Rameau nous ont laissé des « manières » et des exemples remarquables de transcriptions pour un ou deux clavecins. Dans la préface de L’Apothéose de Lulli, publiée en 1725, François Couperin explique comment sa musique pour deux dessus et une basse peut se jouer à deux clavecins: « Je les exécute dans ma famille; et avec mes élèves, avec une réüssite tres heureuse, Sçavoir, en joüant le premier dessus, et la Basse sur un des Clavecins: et le Second, avec la même basse sur un autre à l’unisson (sic) ».

Dans une démarche semblable, Jean-Philippe Rameau propose, avec exemples à l’appui, de transcrire pour clavecin seul ses Pièces de clavecin en concert (clavecin obligé, un dessus et une viole de gambe). Les transcriptions rendaient possible l’audition d’œuvres qui n’étaient accessibles jusqu’alors que par le biais restreint du concert.

Nous avons voulu, nous aussi, nous prêter au jeu de la transcription en gardant en mémoire les exemples et préceptes des grands maîtres français. L’expérience nous a permis de découvrir tout le foisonnement harmonique et rythmique propre à l’union de deux clavecins.

En plus d’être un compositeur très apprécié, Joseph Bodin de Boismortier (1689-1755) a connu le succès et la fortune. Il s’installe à Paris vers l’âge de 35 ans et compose beaucoup de musique de chambre pour tous les instruments et particulièrement la flûte. Sa Troisième sonate, tirée de l’opus 91, est écrite pour clavecin obligé et flûte. De tout le recueil, cette sonate est à notre avis celle qui se prête le mieux à une exécution à deux clavecins. Nous appliquons ici la façon de faire proposée par François Couperin dans la préface de son Apothéose de Lulli. Les mains gauches jouent à l’unisson tandis que les mains droites jouent, dans un cas, le premier dessus et dans l’autre, le second dessus.

Considéré à juste titre comme le fondateur de l’école française de violon, Jean-Marie Leclair, dit l’Aîné, (1697-1764) est peut-être le premier violoniste français à supporter la comparaison avec les virtuoses italiens. Il opère dans ses compositions la fusion des styles français et italien, une idée préconisée par François Couperin dans Les Goûts réunis, en 1724. L’œuvre enregistrée sur notre disque appartient au Second livre de sonates publié vers 1728. L’instrumentation originale précisée par Leclair prévoit comme premier dessus un violon ou une flûte allemande et, comme deuxième dessus, la viole. La basse est confiée au clavecin ou au violoncelle. Notre réalisation obéit en tout point aux règles de François Couperin: deux mains gauches à l’unisson et deux mains droites se partageant chacune le premier et le second dessus. Seuls quelques brefs passages du second dessus ont dû être transposés à l’octave supérieure pour éviter des croisements avec la main gauche.

Charles (François?) Dieupart (?après 1667-vers 1740) fut compositeur, violoniste et claveciniste. Il se fixa en Angleterre vers 1700 et acquit une grande renommée comme professeur et comme virtuose. Ses Six Suittes de Clavessin ont été éditées à Amsterdam en 1701 et ont peut-être servi de modèle aux suites anglaises de Johann Sebastian Bach qui connaissait et appréciait les œuvres de Dieupart. Deux versions de ses six suites existent: l’une pour clavecin seul et l’autre pour un petit ensemble composé d’un violon et d’une flûte avec une basse de viole et un archiluth. Dans la seconde version, la basse est chiffrée et doit être réalisée (avec des accords) par l’archiluth. Même si la version pour clavecin seul est parfaitement satisfaisante en soi, nous avons pensé qu’elle pouvait bénéficier de l’addition d’un continuo, celui de la version instrumentale. Nous avons d’abord examiné soigneusement les différences entre les deux versions puis nous avons décidé de les jouer simultanément (à l’exception de la gigue qui est jouée sans le continuo).

Jacques Duphly (1715-1789) a écrit quatre livres de pièces de clavecin. Leur publication, entre 1744 et 1768, assure à l’auteur sa réputation. Après avoir été organiste à la cathédrale d’Évreux et à Rouen, Duphly choisit de vivre à Paris, sans fonction officielle, comme professeur, claveciniste et compositeur.

Les six pièces de cet enregistrement proviennent du troisième livre. Contrairement aux autres pièces du livre, celles-ci exigent un accompagnement de violon. Nous faisons donc entendre sur l’un des clavecins cet « accompagnement » à la main droite tandis que la main gauche assure, en général, la même basse que la partie de clavecin obligé. L’autre clavecin fait entendre la partie obligée prévue et écrite par Duphly.

© Luc Beauséjour et Hervé Niquet

___________________________________

Yves Beaupré, facteur de clavecins, à propos des instruments utilisés sur cet enregistrement:

Les textes anciens sont unanimes: les clavecins flamands du XVIIe siècle étaient très en vogue dans toute l’Europe. Leur appréciation était telle que plusieurs facteurs parisiens du XVIIIe siècle, tel que Nicolas Blanchet, créèrent un instrument s’inspirant très fortement de la facture anversoise des Ruckers, Goujon et Couchet. Même si les deux clavecins utilisés pour cet enregistrement ont des caractéristiques conceptuelles semblables, ils sonnent assez différemment l’un de l’autre. Ce contraste des timbres a vivement intéressé nos deux interprètes. Luc Beauséjour joue sur un clavecin à deux claviers, typiquement français du XVIIIe siècle, inspiré du travail de Nicolas Blanchet et de Jean-Henry Hemsch, un instrument que j’ai signé à Montréal en 1998. Quant à Hervé Niquet, il utilise une copie d’un clavecin anversois de Johannes Couchet à un clavier, fait à Montréal en 1992, et qui appartient au Musée canadien des civilisations de Hull au Québec.

© Yves Beaupré

Lire la suite

À propos

Luc Beauséjour
AN 2 9128 Moments Baroques Piano
AN 2 9128 Moments Baroques Piano
AN 2 9128 Moments Baroques Piano

Start typing and press Enter to search