Broken Hearts & Madmen

Broken Hearts & Madmen


The most adventurous sounds are those that defy restrictive labels and easy categorization. Eclecticism has long been a mainstay of the jazz and pop worlds, where experimentation is encouraged and celebrated. But chamber music, with its roots in specific classical repertoire, has often been limited by advocates intent on simply keeping old traditions alive. Canada’s Gryphon Trio, one of North America’s top chamber ensembles, is committed to changing that.

It was at Lula Lounge, Toronto’s premier live music venue, that the Gryphons proved their commitment to changing the context for chamber music. This venture into the wider community, supported by Music TORONTO and its artistic producer Jennifer Taylor, represented a creative turning point. Working with jazz and world-music artists, the Trio launched a series of programs that thrilled audiences with their mix of classical repertoire with Cuban and Brazilian music. One of those shows, featuring tangos, pop tunes and Mexican folksongs, reunited the Gryphons with their Constantinople partners, Particia O’Callaghan and Robert Occhipinti, and led to this groundbreaking recording.

Broken Hearts & Madmen is unlike any previous chamber music album. Produced again by Occhipinti, a classically trained jazz musician renowned for his work in Latin music who has also toured with experimental hip-hop stars Gorillaz, it was recorded like a pop album, with live in-studio performances and close miking of the musicians. Musically, the album is global in spirit, mixing Latin songs with jazz-tinged tunes by some of pop’s most revered composers.

From Nick Drake and Laurie Anderson to Los Lobos and Lhasa, the range of material on Broken Hearts & Madmen is admirably genre-stretching. The record moves naturally from the bittersweet Cucurrucucu Paloma, a Mexican mariachi, to I Want You, on which O’Callaghan plumbs the emotional depths of Elvis Costello’s tortured love song. Astor Piazzolla’s Yo Soy Maria, showcases the Trio’s torrid rhythmic drive, as does a spirited flamenco rendition of Volver, the Carlos Gardel tango and title song for Pedro Almadovar’s movie starring Penelope Cruz.

O’Callaghan is perfectly suited to capture the passion of these songs. She learned Spanish and fell in love with Hispanic music while living in Mexico as a teenager. She demonstrates her facility with the language and the emotions of the songs on La Confession and Los Peces, two Spanish numbers by the Juno Award-winning Montreal singer Lhasa. O’Callaghan’s multilingual fluency, meanwhile, comes in handy on La Foule, a Peruvian waltz that Edith Piaf demanded be rewritten into a French café song of heartbreak.

O’Callaghan, who Billboard called “the most promising cabaret performer of her generation,” trained as an opera singer but soon gravitated toward the music of Kurt Weill and Leonard Cohen. She has since recorded everything from Erik Satie to Bob Dylan. “My career has been very much about bridging classical music with the worlds of pop and folk music,” she admits. The same can be said of the Gryphon Trio. With Broken Hearts & Madmen, the Gryphons and O’Callaghan have taken chamber music out of its sometimes stuffy confines and bravely thrust it in a truly global direction.

© Nicholas Jennings
Release date:
September 20, 2011
Album code:
AN 2 9870
Periods:
Download album
Buy Album

Broken Hearts & Madmen

Drake, Nick
River Man
1
River Man
0,99 $
4:06
Gardel, Carlos
Volver
2
Volver
0,99 $
3:57
Méndez, Tomás
Cucurrucucu Paloma
3
Cucurrucucu Paloma
0,99 $
4:12
Anonyme/Anonymous,
Los Peces
4
Los Peces
0,99 $
3:00
Anderson, Laurie
Pieces and Parts
5
Pieces and Parts
0,99 $
3:58
Los Lobos,
Estoy sentado aqui
6
Estoy sentado aqui
0,99 $
2:40
La foule
7
La foule
0,99 $
2:55
Piazzolla, Astor (1921 - 1992)
Yo soy Maria
8
Yo soy Maria
0,99 $
3:16
Cohen, Leonard (1934 - )
The Gypsy's Wife
9
The Gypsy's Wife
0,99 $
5:24
Rodriguez, Arsenio
Flor de la Canela
10
Flor de la Canela
0,99 $
4:55
De Sela, Lhasa
La Confession
11
La Confession
0,99 $
3:51
Costello, Elvis
I Want You
12
I Want You
0,99 $
6:38
*All prices are in canadian dollars.

Secured purchase, worry-free and easy download.

We accept credit cards Visa and Mastercard. Your data is not shared and storage meets the standards of the highest safety.

Download legally, directly from the producer, without DRM.

Downloading music on the site of Analekta, you avoid intermediaries and make sure you have the best possible sound quality.

Questions? Our customer services is here to help you!

Our help page is devoted to shopping on Analekta.com and our FAQ answers most common questions you may have. If not, contact us by email.
We’ll respond in the next 24 hours (except during weekends and public holidays).

Broken Hearts & Madmen

Album code: AN 2 9870
Release date: September 20, 2011

Période(s): Others

Genre(s): Chamber MusicWorld and Latin MusicPop

Composers:
Divers / Misc., | Drake, Nick | Gardel, Carlos | Méndez, Tomás | Anonyme/Anonymous, | Anderson, Laurie | Diezo, Enrique | Rivgauche, Michel | Piazzolla, Astor | Cohen, Leonard | Rodriguez, Arsenio | De Sela, Lhasa | Costello, Elvis

Performers:
Gryphon Trio, | O’Callaghan, Patricia



Broken Hearts & Madmen


The most adventurous sounds are those that defy restrictive labels and easy categorization. Eclecticism has long been a mainstay of the jazz and pop worlds, where experimentation is encouraged and celebrated. But chamber music, with its roots in specific classical repertoire, has often been limited by advocates intent on simply keeping old traditions alive. Canada’s Gryphon Trio, one of North America’s top chamber ensembles, is committed to changing that.

It was at Lula Lounge, Toronto’s premier live music venue, that the Gryphons proved their commitment to changing the context for chamber music. This venture into the wider community, supported by Music TORONTO and its artistic producer Jennifer Taylor, represented a creative turning point. Working with jazz and world-music artists, the Trio launched a series of programs that thrilled audiences with their mix of classical repertoire with Cuban and Brazilian music. One of those shows, featuring tangos, pop tunes and Mexican folksongs, reunited the Gryphons with their Constantinople partners, Particia O’Callaghan and Robert Occhipinti, and led to this groundbreaking recording.

Broken Hearts & Madmen is unlike any previous chamber music album. Produced again by Occhipinti, a classically trained jazz musician renowned for his work in Latin music who has also toured with experimental hip-hop stars Gorillaz, it was recorded like a pop album, with live in-studio performances and close miking of the musicians. Musically, the album is global in spirit, mixing Latin songs with jazz-tinged tunes by some of pop’s most revered composers.

From Nick Drake and Laurie Anderson to Los Lobos and Lhasa, the range of material on Broken Hearts & Madmen is admirably genre-stretching. The record moves naturally from the bittersweet Cucurrucucu Paloma, a Mexican mariachi, to I Want You, on which O’Callaghan plumbs the emotional depths of Elvis Costello’s tortured love song. Astor Piazzolla’s Yo Soy Maria, showcases the Trio’s torrid rhythmic drive, as does a spirited flamenco rendition of Volver, the Carlos Gardel tango and title song for Pedro Almadovar’s movie starring Penelope Cruz.

O’Callaghan is perfectly suited to capture the passion of these songs. She learned Spanish and fell in love with Hispanic music while living in Mexico as a teenager. She demonstrates her facility with the language and the emotions of the songs on La Confession and Los Peces, two Spanish numbers by the Juno Award-winning Montreal singer Lhasa. O’Callaghan’s multilingual fluency, meanwhile, comes in handy on La Foule, a Peruvian waltz that Edith Piaf demanded be rewritten into a French café song of heartbreak.

O’Callaghan, who Billboard called “the most promising cabaret performer of her generation,” trained as an opera singer but soon gravitated toward the music of Kurt Weill and Leonard Cohen. She has since recorded everything from Erik Satie to Bob Dylan. “My career has been very much about bridging classical music with the worlds of pop and folk music,” she admits. The same can be said of the Gryphon Trio. With Broken Hearts & Madmen, the Gryphons and O’Callaghan have taken chamber music out of its sometimes stuffy confines and bravely thrust it in a truly global direction.

© Nicholas Jennings
1
Divers / Misc.,
Drake, Nick
River Man
4:06
2
Divers / Misc.,
Gardel, Carlos
Volver
3:57
3
Divers / Misc.,
Méndez, Tomás
Cucurrucucu Paloma
4:12
4
Divers / Misc.,
Anonyme/Anonymous,
Los Peces
3:00
5
Divers / Misc.,
Anderson, Laurie
Pieces and Parts
3:58
6
Divers / Misc.,
Los Lobos,
Estoy sentado aqui
2:40
7
Divers / Misc.,
La foule
2:55
8
Divers / Misc.,
Piazzolla, Astor (1921 - 1992)
Yo soy Maria
3:16
9
Divers / Misc.,
Cohen, Leonard (1934 - )
The Gypsy's Wife
5:24
10
Divers / Misc.,
Rodriguez, Arsenio
Flor de la Canela
4:55
11
Divers / Misc.,
De Sela, Lhasa
La Confession
3:51
12
Divers / Misc.,
Costello, Elvis
I Want You
6:38

Broken Hearts & Madmen

Broken Hearts & Madmen


Les sonorités les plus aventureuses sont celles qui défient les étiquettes restrictives et les catégorisations faciles. L’éclectisme a depuis longtemps été l’un des piliers du jazz et de la musique populaire, univers qui encouragent et célèbrent l’expérimentation. Plongeant ses racines dans le répertoire classique pointu, la musique de chambre a souvent résisté au mouvement, ralentie peut-être par une volonté de maintenir les anciennes traditions vivantes. Le Gryphon Trio, l’un des ensembles de musique de chambre nord-américains les plus réputés, croit fermement en la nécessité de changer cette donne.

C’est au Lula Lounge, lieu important de diffusion de musique en spectacle, que le Gryphon a prouvé que cette volonté de transformer la musique de chambre était réelle. Soutenue par Music TORONTO et sa productrice artistique Jennifer Taylor, cette initiative visant à rejoindre un plus large public s’est révélé un tournant créatif. En collaborant avec des artistes jazz et des spécialistes des musiques du monde, le Trio a initié une série de programmes qui ont emballé le public grâce au mariage du répertoire classique avec la musique cubaine et brésilienne. L’un de ces spectacles, qui proposait des tangos, des chansons populaires et des chants folkloriques mexicains, a permis au Gryphon de renouer des liens avec ses partenaires de Constantinople, Patricia O’Callaghan et Roberto Occhipinti, première étape ayant mené à cet enregistrement novateur.

Broken Hearts & Madmen ne ressemble à aucun autre album de musique de chambre précédemment lancé. Produit de nouveau par M. Occhipinti, musicien jazz de formation classique reconnu pour son travail sur le répertoire latin, qui a de plus effectué des tournées avec les vedettes du hip-hop expérimental Gorillaz, l’album a été enregistré comme l’aurait été un disque populaire, avec des interprétations en direct en studio, captées par des micros rapprochés. Musicalement, le tout se veut inclusif et intègre des chansons latines à des airs infusés de jazz signés par certains des compositeurs populaires les plus salués.

De Nick Drake et Laurie Anderson à Los Lobos et Lhasa, la variété de matériel proposé sur Broken Hearts & Madmen repousse admirablement les limites du genre. On passe avec naturel du doux amer Cucurrucucu Paloma, un mariachi mexicain, à I Want You, dans laquelle O’Callaghan sonde les profondeurs émotionnelles de la chanson d’amour torturée d’Elvis Costello. Yo Soy Maria d’Astor Piazzolla prouve le dynamisme rythmique du Trio, tout comme l’interprétation flamenco fougueuse de Volver, tango de Carlo Gardel et thème du film de Pedro Almadovar mettant en vedette Penelope Cruz.

Patricia O’Callaghan sait parfaitement comment capter la passion de ces chansons. Elle a appris l’espagnol et est tombée amoureuse de la musique latino-américaine alors qu’elle habitait à Mexico à l’adolescence. Elle démontre son talent pour la langue et la transmission d’émotions en chanson dans La Confession et Los Peces, deux plages en espagnol signées par Lhasa, chanteuse montréalaise lauréate d’un Juno. L’aisance pour les langues d’O’Callaghan lui sert également dans La Foule, une valse péruvienne qu’Édith Piaf avait transformée en chanson crève-cœur de café française.

Saluée par Billboard comme « la chanteuse de cabaret la plus prometteuse de sa génération », Mme O’Callaghan a pourtant fait ses premières armes comme chanteuse d’opéra, avant de se sentir rapidement interpelée par la musique de Kurt Weill et de Leonard Cohen. Elle a depuis tout enregistré, d’Erik Satie à Bob Dylan. « Ma carrière a été principalement motivée par cette volonté de rapprocher la musique classique des univers des musiques populaire et folklorique », admet-elle. On peut en dire autant du Gryphon Trio. Avec Broken Hearts & Madmen, le Gryphon Trio et O’Callaghan ont extrait la musique de chambre de son parfois poussiéreux cadre, la lançant avec bravoure dans une direction parfaitement globale.

© Nicholas Jennings
Traduction: Lucie Renaud

Date de sortie:
20 septembre 2011
Numéro d'album:
AN 2 9870
Périodes:
Téléchargez l'album
Achetez l'album

Broken Hearts & Madmen

Drake, Nick
River Man
1
River Man
0,99 $
4:06
Gardel, Carlos
Volver
2
Volver
0,99 $
3:57
Méndez, Tomás
Cucurrucucu Paloma
3
Cucurrucucu Paloma
0,99 $
4:12
Anonyme/Anonymous,
Los Peces
4
Los Peces
0,99 $
3:00
Anderson, Laurie
Pieces and Parts
5
Pieces and Parts
0,99 $
3:58
Los Lobos,
Estoy sentado aqui
6
Estoy sentado aqui
0,99 $
2:40
La foule
7
La foule
0,99 $
2:55
Piazzolla, Astor (1921 - 1992)
Yo soy Maria
8
Yo soy Maria
0,99 $
3:16
Cohen, Leonard (1934 - )
The Gypsy's Wife
9
The Gypsy's Wife
0,99 $
5:24
Rodriguez, Arsenio
Flor de la Canela
10
Flor de la Canela
0,99 $
4:55
De Sela, Lhasa
La Confession
11
La Confession
0,99 $
3:51
Costello, Elvis
I Want You
12
I Want You
0,99 $
6:38
*Tous les prix sont en devise canadienne.

Achat sécurisé, sans tracas et téléchargement facile.

Nous acceptons les cartes de crédit Visa et Mastercard. Vos données ne sont pas partagées et leur stockage répond aux normes de sécurité les plus elevées.

Téléchargement légal, directement du producteur, sans DRM.

En téléchargeant la musique sur le site d’Analekta, vous évitez les intermédiaires et vous vous assurez d’avoir la meilleure qualité sonore possible.

Des questions? Notre service à la clientèle est là!

Notre page d’aide pratique est consacrée au magasinage sur Analekta.com et notre FAQ répond à la plupart des questions courantes. Sinon, contactez-nous par courriel.
Réponse dans les 24 heures (sauf durant les weekends et les jours fériés).

Broken Hearts & Madmen

Numéro d'album: AN 2 9870
Date de sortie: 20 septembre 2011

Période(s): Autres

Genre(s): Musique de chambreMusique du monde et latinPopulaire

Compositeurs:
Divers / Misc., | Drake, Nick | Gardel, Carlos | Méndez, Tomás | Anonyme/Anonymous, | Anderson, Laurie | Diezo, Enrique | Rivgauche, Michel | Piazzolla, Astor | Cohen, Leonard | Rodriguez, Arsenio | De Sela, Lhasa | Costello, Elvis

Interprètes:
Gryphon Trio, | O’Callaghan, Patricia



Broken Hearts & Madmen


Les sonorités les plus aventureuses sont celles qui défient les étiquettes restrictives et les catégorisations faciles. L’éclectisme a depuis longtemps été l’un des piliers du jazz et de la musique populaire, univers qui encouragent et célèbrent l’expérimentation. Plongeant ses racines dans le répertoire classique pointu, la musique de chambre a souvent résisté au mouvement, ralentie peut-être par une volonté de maintenir les anciennes traditions vivantes. Le Gryphon Trio, l’un des ensembles de musique de chambre nord-américains les plus réputés, croit fermement en la nécessité de changer cette donne.

C’est au Lula Lounge, lieu important de diffusion de musique en spectacle, que le Gryphon a prouvé que cette volonté de transformer la musique de chambre était réelle. Soutenue par Music TORONTO et sa productrice artistique Jennifer Taylor, cette initiative visant à rejoindre un plus large public s’est révélé un tournant créatif. En collaborant avec des artistes jazz et des spécialistes des musiques du monde, le Trio a initié une série de programmes qui ont emballé le public grâce au mariage du répertoire classique avec la musique cubaine et brésilienne. L’un de ces spectacles, qui proposait des tangos, des chansons populaires et des chants folkloriques mexicains, a permis au Gryphon de renouer des liens avec ses partenaires de Constantinople, Patricia O’Callaghan et Roberto Occhipinti, première étape ayant mené à cet enregistrement novateur.

Broken Hearts & Madmen ne ressemble à aucun autre album de musique de chambre précédemment lancé. Produit de nouveau par M. Occhipinti, musicien jazz de formation classique reconnu pour son travail sur le répertoire latin, qui a de plus effectué des tournées avec les vedettes du hip-hop expérimental Gorillaz, l’album a été enregistré comme l’aurait été un disque populaire, avec des interprétations en direct en studio, captées par des micros rapprochés. Musicalement, le tout se veut inclusif et intègre des chansons latines à des airs infusés de jazz signés par certains des compositeurs populaires les plus salués.

De Nick Drake et Laurie Anderson à Los Lobos et Lhasa, la variété de matériel proposé sur Broken Hearts & Madmen repousse admirablement les limites du genre. On passe avec naturel du doux amer Cucurrucucu Paloma, un mariachi mexicain, à I Want You, dans laquelle O’Callaghan sonde les profondeurs émotionnelles de la chanson d’amour torturée d’Elvis Costello. Yo Soy Maria d’Astor Piazzolla prouve le dynamisme rythmique du Trio, tout comme l’interprétation flamenco fougueuse de Volver, tango de Carlo Gardel et thème du film de Pedro Almadovar mettant en vedette Penelope Cruz.

Patricia O’Callaghan sait parfaitement comment capter la passion de ces chansons. Elle a appris l’espagnol et est tombée amoureuse de la musique latino-américaine alors qu’elle habitait à Mexico à l’adolescence. Elle démontre son talent pour la langue et la transmission d’émotions en chanson dans La Confession et Los Peces, deux plages en espagnol signées par Lhasa, chanteuse montréalaise lauréate d’un Juno. L’aisance pour les langues d’O’Callaghan lui sert également dans La Foule, une valse péruvienne qu’Édith Piaf avait transformée en chanson crève-cœur de café française.

Saluée par Billboard comme « la chanteuse de cabaret la plus prometteuse de sa génération », Mme O’Callaghan a pourtant fait ses premières armes comme chanteuse d’opéra, avant de se sentir rapidement interpelée par la musique de Kurt Weill et de Leonard Cohen. Elle a depuis tout enregistré, d’Erik Satie à Bob Dylan. « Ma carrière a été principalement motivée par cette volonté de rapprocher la musique classique des univers des musiques populaire et folklorique », admet-elle. On peut en dire autant du Gryphon Trio. Avec Broken Hearts & Madmen, le Gryphon Trio et O’Callaghan ont extrait la musique de chambre de son parfois poussiéreux cadre, la lançant avec bravoure dans une direction parfaitement globale.

© Nicholas Jennings
Traduction: Lucie Renaud

1
Divers / Misc.,
Drake, Nick
River Man
4:06
2
Divers / Misc.,
Gardel, Carlos
Volver
3:57
3
Divers / Misc.,
Méndez, Tomás
Cucurrucucu Paloma
4:12
4
Divers / Misc.,
Anonyme/Anonymous,
Los Peces
3:00
5
Divers / Misc.,
Anderson, Laurie
Pieces and Parts
3:58
6
Divers / Misc.,
Los Lobos,
Estoy sentado aqui
2:40
7
Divers / Misc.,
La foule
2:55
8
Divers / Misc.,
Piazzolla, Astor (1921 - 1992)
Yo soy Maria
3:16
9
Divers / Misc.,
Cohen, Leonard (1934 - )
The Gypsy's Wife
5:24
10
Divers / Misc.,
Rodriguez, Arsenio
Flor de la Canela
4:55
11
Divers / Misc.,
De Sela, Lhasa
La Confession
3:51
12
Divers / Misc.,
Costello, Elvis
I Want You
6:38