fbpx
AN 2 9297 – Sas Agapo

Sas Agapo

Composers
Performers
Release date September 30, 2016
Album code AN 2 9297
Periods Others
Genres Piano

They spoke about it

Album information

MY IMAGES, MY SCENARIO…

For each of the works featured in Sas Agapo, there are my images, my scenario, my interpretation of the “paintings of life”, which take place at very precise moments in time, where the themes impose themselves on me, when I am not at the piano seeking for them. The short descriptions here serve only to define the setting in which each was composed. That said, listeners are of course free to experience them without any explanation and find in them their own images, their own scenario.

SAS AGAPO

Of all the pieces on this CD, which were all composed in Greece, Sas Agapo (I love you) is the only one where the pianistic writing reflects the accents of this country, revealing at times an oriental influence. It is the soul of the Greek people, whom I wish to thank for their open arms, their generosity, their art of living, their courage, their wisdom and, above all, their free spirit.

ELPIDA (Hope)

There is sorrow, trial, weariness, dishonesty, disappointment, and suffering, and there is elpida, which means “hope” in Greek. Here, all the emotion strives towards the strength and resilience of the Greek people deeply stricken over the past years and yet, who continue to resist, to stand up, to remain hopeful, and live every day to its fullest, as if there were no tomorrow. Elpida is also the fragility, the quest, and at last the prayer, always with the expectation and hope that it will be heard…

DOMINO

His name was Domino… an irresistible canine companion whose joyful exultation delighted all, from the little ones to the elderly, until the day he was viciously attacked and killed by a dog three times his size while in the arms of his owner, who was sadly unable to save him. A horrific scene one would prefer to forget but that nevertheless brings to mind a similar reality, that of human mankind, where innocent victims die daily, with no reason, at the hands of amoral attackers. This piece in Domino’s memory elicits before anything, serenity and consolation.

NON RETOUR

Invisible boundaries are the most dangerous ones, as some of their limits can’t be crossed, running the risk of losing oneself, of losing everything… And this is what happens when one utters words whose impact is so strong that they are beyond redemption. Non Retour (No return) is this fracture, this ending, this sad heartbreak in love like in friendship, where the soulmate, the friend, won’t return…

PROMENADE À KAVOURI

There are those moments of grace where time takes a pause from life and where nothing matters anymore, except the object of one’s emotion which then invades all the space to leave an imprint that simply must be immortalized. One of the most touching scenes I have ever witnessed occurred in Kavouri, on the shores of the Aegean Sea. A very old Greek couple, modest and discrete, walked slowly along the promenade carrying two chairs, a small plastic table, and a beach bag. The man and woman settled down on a large rock and took out some cheese and a bottle of Tsipouro, contemplating the sea in unison, with no words exchanged, in a complicit silence, sharing a frugal snack and a breathtaking view. The love and tenderness which emanated from them completely overwhelmed me. It was “the” truth, without artifice.

PRÉMONITION

One winter evening in Greece, as the sun just vanished into the sea and I was watching all the terrible news and horrors afflicting our planet on television, I was seized by an appalling premonition about the future of humanity that overwhelmed me. I immediately sat down at the piano and composed Prémonition, freeing me of what I hope was merely my imagination going wildly off course.

LE BEL AMOUR

It only happens in the movies… and yet… Le Bel Amour (Beautiful love) is inspired by the union of two people who already have entire lives behind them. Intoxication of unexpected happiness which celebrates a new beginning and the beauty that lies when one lets go and has faith in a happy destiny, despite years of experience where scepticism so often inhibit natural, childlike spontaneity.

GRAND CARNAVAL

With the famous Patras Carnival as a backdrop, we experience the delightful madness, the essential joy, frivolousness, and exaltation typical of such festivals. An endless loop of masquerades, confetti, streamers, spangles, fireworks, dancing, and music form a whirlpool of exuberance and ecstasy. It’s the heart beating the tempo of its happiness!

Texts by Johanne Martineau, based on Alain Lefèvre’s comments.

Read more

About

Alain Lefèvre
Alain Lefèvre

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9297 – Sas Agapo

Sas Agapo

Compositeurs
Interprètes
Date de sortie 30 septembre 2016
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9297
Periodes Autres
Genres Piano

Ils en ont parlé

Informations sur l'album

Mes images, mon scénario…

Pour chacune des oeuvres de Sas Agapo, il y a mes images, mon scénario, mon interprétation de « tableaux de vie » qui prennent place à des moments bien précis dans le temps, où les thèmes s’imposent à moi sans que je sois au piano à la recherche de ceux-ci. Les courts textes servent donc à circonscrire le contexte dans lequel chacune fut composée. Cependant, libre à ceux de les découvrir sans explication aucune et d’y voir leurs propres images, leur propre scénario…

Sas Agapo

De toutes les pièces qui figurent sur ce CD, lesquelles furent toutes composées en Grèce, Sas Agapo (Je vous aime) est la seule dont l’écriture pianistique contient les accents de ce pays qui par moments révèlent une influence orientale. Elle est l’âme du peuple grec que je remercie de son accueil à bras ouverts, de sa générosité, de son art de vivre, de son courage, de sa sagesse et plus que tout, de son esprit libre.

Elpida (Espoir)

Il y a le chagrin, l’épreuve, la lassitude, la tromperie, la déception, la douleur, puis il y a « elpida », qui signifie « espoir » en grec. Ici, toute l’émotion est tendue vers la force et la résilience du peuple grec tant éprouvé depuis ces dernières années, lequel continue de résister, de se tenir debout, de garder espoir, de vivre chaque jour jusqu’au bout, comme s’il n’y avait pas de lendemain… Elpida c’est aussi la fragilité, la quête et finalement la prière, toujours dans l’attente et l’espoir que celle-ci soit entendue…

Domino

Il s’appelait Domino… irrésistible compagnon canin, exultant d’allégresse pour le plus grand bonheur des petits comme des grands, jusqu’au jour où il fut férocement attaqué à mort par un chien méchant, de trois fois sa taille, alors qu’il était dans les bras de sa maîtresse, laquelle n’a pu hélas le sauver… Scène d’horreur que l’on préfère oublier mais qui dépeint une réalité similaire, celle même de l’homme, où d’innocentes victimes meurent au quotidien, sans raison, sous les mains d’assaillants sans scrupules. Cette pièce à la mémoire de Domino, se veut avant tout sereine et consolatrice…

Non Retour 

Les frontières invisibles sont les plus dangereuses, car certaines de leurs limites ne peuvent être franchies, au risque de se perdre, de tout perdre. Et c’est ce qui arrive quand des mots irrécupérables par leur force de frappe ont été prononcés et que le retour en arrière est impossible. Non Retour est cette cassure, cette fin, cette triste déchirure en amour comme en amitié, où l’âme soeur et l’ami ne reviendront pas.

Promenade à Kavouri

Il y a de ces moments de grâce, où le temps prend une pause de la vie et où plus rien ne compte, sauf l’objet de son émotion qui dès lors envahit tout l’espace pour y laisser une empreinte que l’on veut immortaliser… L’une des plus émouvantes scènes dont je fus témoin s’est déroulée à Kavouri, en bordure de la mer Égée. Un très vieux couple grec, d’allure modeste et discrète, marchait lentement le long de la promenade, avec eux, deux chaises, une petite table en plastique et un sac de plage. L’homme et la femme se sont alors installés sur une énorme pierre, puis ont sorti du sac un fromage et une bouteille de Tsipouro, pour ensuite contempler la mer à l’unisson, sans mots échangés, mais simplement le partage complice d’un frugal goûter et d’une vue divine à couper le souffle. L’amour et la douceur qui émanaient d’eux m’a complètement bouleversé. C’était « la » vérité, sans artifices…

Prémonition

Un soir d’Hiver en Grèce, alors que le soleil venait de s’éteindre dans la mer et que je regardais le journal télévisé relatant toutes les mauvaises nouvelles et horreurs qui sévissent sur notre planète, je fus pris d’une effroyable prémonition sur l’avenir de notre humanité, laquelle m’a complètement bouleversé… Dans l’instant qui a suivi, je suis allé au piano et ai composé Prémonition, me libérant ainsi de ce que je veux croire être une erreur de parcours de mon imaginaire.

Le Bel Amour

Ça n’arrive qu’au cinéma… et pourtant, Le Bel Amour s’inspire de l’union de deux êtres qui se sont rencontrés avec déjà toute une vie derrière eux. Ivresse d’un bonheur inattendu qui célèbre le recommencement et la beauté, dans le fait de s’abandonner et de faire confiance en une destinée heureuse, en dépit de l’expérience accumulée au fil des ans, qui souvent freine par son scepticisme, la spontanéité si naturelle au coeur de l’enfant.

Grand Carnaval

Avec comme toile de fond le célèbre Carnaval de Patras, on retrouve dans une belle folie, toute la quintessence de l’allégresse, de l’insouciance et de l’exultation propres à ce genre de fête. Mascarades, confettis, serpentins, paillettes, feux d’artifices, danse et musique défilent en boucle, dans un tourbillon de joie et de félicité. C’est le coeur qui bat la mesure de son bonheur!

Présentation et textes de Johanne Martineau, d’après les propos d’Alain Lefèvre.

Lire la suite

À propos

Alain Lefèvre

Start typing and press Enter to search