fbpx

Album information

Wherever you may be—at a princely court, in a school auditorium, a village square, around a campfire, in a smoke-filled café or a ballroom, at a hoe-down or even in a night-club—our invitation remains the same: “Let’s dance!”

Respighi: Ancient Airs and Dances – Suite No.1

From the composer of the famous Fountains of Rome comes this charming suite on ancient airs and dances. Throughout his life, Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936) was fascinated by the rich musical heritage of his country, Italy, and strove to bring it up to date with a highly personal palette of varied and shimmering textures. For the three suites that make up the Antiche aire e danze per liuto—of which the first, dating from 1917, is performed here—the composer drew from a collection of sixteenth- and seventeenth-century lute pieces compiled and published in 1903 by his fellow countryman, Oscar Chilesotti.

The Suite No.1 comprises four Italian dance pieces “freely arranged” by Respighi: Ballo detto Il Conde Orlando by Simone Mollinaro (c1565-1615), Gagliarda by Vincenzo Galilei (the late 1520s-1591), father to the famous scientist, and Villanella and Passo mezzo e mascherada, whose authors are unknown.

Holst: St Paul’s Suite, Op.29 No.2

Here is a work that seems especially tailored to the strings of La Pietà. Indeed, like Antonio Vivaldi, who composed for and taught music to the orphan girls of the Ospedale della Pietà in Venice, the English composer Gustav Holst (1874-1934) — most famous for his Planets—was musical director of the St Paul’s Girls’ School, Hammersmith from 1905 until the end of his life.

Like the Red Priest, not only did Holst give his pupils careful musical instruction, but he also composed for the young ladies such works whose merits would allow them to outlive their original pedagogical purpose. This is notably the case with the delightful St Paul’s Suite, composed in 1912-13 for the school’s string orchestra. Strongly rooted in the spirit of British musical traditions, the suite lets dance take centre stage from the outset, with a sprightly jig. The Finale is fashioned on the obsessive rhythm of the “Dargason,” a ‘circular’ tune known in England since the early sixteenth century, and which interlaces here with the famous Greensleeves melody.

Bartók: Romanian Folkdances

Seven brief dances, ranging in nature from the most melancholy to the most high-spirited. The Hungarian composer Béla Bartók (1881-1945) had a marked interest in his country’s folk music and its relation to the traditional music of neighbouring countries. From 1906 onwards, he regularly criss-crossed Hungary with an Edison phonograph in search of peasant music, which he diligently recorded with the aim of publishing and arranging it. He himself collected in Transylvania the folkdances whose melodies and rhythms can be found unaltered in his Romanian Folkdances.

Originally set for the piano in 1915, the tunes benefit from Bartók’s added accompaniment. He orchestrated the dances in 1917, and they have since been arranged for a large variety of instruments. The version presented here is a combination of previous arrangements, with the piano adding its voice to the orchestra here and there. The original titles can be loosely translated as Stick Dance, Shawl Dance, ‘On the Spot’ Dance, Horn Dance, Romanian Polka and Quick Dance 1 and 2.

Monti: Czárdás

The world of the Gypsies beckons to us still in the poignant and fiery strains of this marvellous Czárdás. One would think the composer of such a piece to be part of their world, but that is not the case. Rather, Vittorio Monti (1868-1922) was an Italian violinist who in the course of his life played with the Lamoureux orchestra in Paris and later conducted a music hall orchestra. This at least enabled him to know how to please and how to start people dancing! The original version of this popular piece is for violin or mandolin and piano.

Albéniz: Tango, op.65 No.2

The Spanish composer and pianist Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909) was perhaps the musician who was most instrumental in developing a unique musical idiom for his country in the latter part of the nineteenth century. Taken from a set of Spanish piano pieces published in London in 1890, this Tango is linked more to the gypsy or ‘flamenco’ tango tradition than to the later South-American tango derived from the Cuban habanera. Nonetheless, it urges one strongly onto the dance floor.

Shostakovich: Spanish Dance

From the Hungarian Gypsies to those of Andalusia, we end up here looking at what might be called a ‘typical’ vision of Spain, as seen through the eyes of Russian—or Soviet—composer Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975), to whom this impassioned dance is attributed.

Grieg: Country Dance

The Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg (1843-1907) often delved into his country’s fertile inventory of folk music. This Country Dance (‘Stabbe-latten’) is taken from the second of the Two Nordic Melodies, op.63 (1869) for string orchestra, which Grieg had adapted from his own Opus 17 No.18 for piano, based on an authentic Norwegian folk melody. In 1942, Stravinsky used the theme of Country Dance in his Four Norwegian Moods.

Copland: Hoe-Down

If Aaron Copland (1900-1990) is the paragon of American music, then his ballet Rodeo (1942) is its quintessential expression, brimming as it is with imagery and music associated with the world of the cowboy. The ballet’s final episode, Hoe-Down—separately scored for strings by Copland in 1945—opens with an excerpt from McLeod’s Reel and goes on to use the tune Bonyparte, which Copland found in Ira Ford’s Traditional Music of America.

Vieuxtemps: Souvenir d’Amérique

In 1845, nearly one hundred years before Copland, the Belgian violin virtuoso and composer Henry Vieuxtemps (1820-1881) also penned a piece based on a classic American folk tune. Upon his return from the first of three concert tours in the United States, he published this Memories from America (Souvenir d’Amérique), which presents three variations on “Yankee Doodle,” successively adopting the form of a traditional Russian dance (!), a polka and an American country dance. Originally written for violin and piano, the piece is in keeping with the numerous fantasies and sets of variations on popular themes that were market staples in the nineteenth century, such as those by Paganini and Liszt.

David Bowie: Let’s Dance

In reaching the close of this journey through time and across nations, at the outset of which everyone was invited to join in the dance, it could not be helped but to share in a playful salute to the song that gave this recording its title. So, arranged by Louise-Andrée Baril and somewhat giddily performed by La Pietà, here is The Thin White Duke’s Let’s Dance, which first appeared on his eponymous album in April 1983…

© Jacques-André Houle

Read more

About

Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà
Angèle Dubeau
AN 2 9874-6
AN 2 9874-6

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Où que vous soyez et à quelque époque — dans une cour princière, un auditorium de lycée, un square de village, autour d’un feu de camp, dans un café enfumé ou dans une salle de bal mondaine ou populaire, voire même dans une boîte de nuit —, l’invitation que vous lance Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà est la même: « Dansons! »

Respighi: Airs et danses antiques – Suite no 1

De l’auteur des célèbres Fontaines de Rome nous vient cette charmante suite sur des airs et danses anciens. Toute sa vie, Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936) a été fasciné par le riche héritage musical de son pays, l’Italie, et s’est efforcé à le mettre au goût du jour en y déployant une palette de coloris variés et chatoyants qui lui était propre. Pour les trois suites qui forment les Antiche aire e danze per liuto, dont on présente ici la première qui date de 1917, le compositeur a puisé dans une collection de pièces pour luth des XVIe et XVIIe siècles compilée et publiée en 1903 par son compatriote Oscar Chilesotti.

La Suite no1 comprend quatre pièces de danse par des compositeurs italiens dont Respighi fit des « transcriptions libres »: Ballo detto Il Conde Orlando de Simone Mollinaro (c1565-1615), Gagliarda de Vincenzo Galilei (fin des années 1520-1591), père de l’illustre scientifique, puis Villanella et Passo mezzo e mascherada, d’auteurs inconnus.

Holst: Suite St-Paul, op.29 no 2

Voici une œuvre qu’on pourrait dire taillée sur mesure pour les musiciennes de La Pietà. En effet, tel Vivaldi qui veillait à l’éducation musicale des orphelines de l’Ospedale della Pietà à Venise tout en leur fournissant des œuvres à leur mesure, le compositeur anglais Gustav Holst (1874-1934) — connu surtout pour ses Planètes — avait été, dès 1905 et jusqu’à la fin de sa vie, directeur musical de l’école pour filles St Paul à Hammersmith.

À l’instar du Prêtre Roux, non seulement Holst dispensait-il un enseignement attentionné auprès de ses écolières, mais il composait pour elles des œuvres dont la qualité allait permettre à celles-ci de survivre à leur usage pédagogique, pour notre plus grand bonheur. C’est notamment le cas avec la délicieuse Suite St Paul, composée en 1912-13 pour l’orchestre à cordes de l’institution. Profondément ancrée dans l’esprit des traditions musicales britanniques, cette suite fait une place d’honneur à la danse, s’ouvrant sur une leste Jig. Le Finale, quant à lui, est bâti autour de l’obsédant rythme du « Dargason », une mélodie ‘circulaire’ connue en Angleterre depuis le début du XVIe siècle, et qui se marie ici avec le fameux Greensleeves.

Bartók: Danses populaires roumaines

Sept courtes danses roumaines, des plus langoureuses aux plus enlevées. Le compositeur hongrois Béla Bartók (1881-1945) s’est vivement intéressé à la musique folklorique de son pays et des traditions qu’elle partageait avec celle des pays avoisinants. Dès 1906, il sillonna régulièrement la Hongrie avec un phonographe Edison, à la recherche de trésors paysans qu’il compilait avec diligence pour en réaliser des éditions et des arrangements. Il recueillit lui-même en Transylvanie les danses folkloriques dont les mélodies et les rythmes se retrouvent inchangés dans les Danses populaires roumaines.

Réalisées à l’origine pour le piano en 1915, Bartók n’a fait qu’y ajouter l’écrin d’un accompagnement. Bartók les orchestra en 1917 et elles ont connu par la suite maints arrangements pour toutes sortes d’instruments; la présente version constitue un amalgame des précédentes, avec le piano se joignant çà et là à l’orchestre. Les titres originaux se traduisent, dans l’ordre, par Danse du bâton, Danse du châle, Danse sur place, Danse de la corne, Polka roumaine et Danse rapide 1 et 2.

Monti: Czárdás

Demeurons encore un peu dans la veine gitane avec ce prodigieux Czárdás dont les accents d’abord alanguis, puis enflammés nous feraient croire son compositeur natif de la région des Carpates. Il n’en est pourtant rien, car Vittorio Monti (1868-1922) fut un violoniste italien qui aura au cours de sa vie joué au sein des Concerts Lamoureux à Paris et dirigé un orchestre de music-hall. Cela lui aura permis au moins de savoir plaire et faire danser! La version originale de ce populaire morceau est pour violon ou mandoline et piano.

Albéniz: Tango, op.65 no 2

Le compositeur et pianiste espagnol Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909) a peut-être été celui qui a su le plus, à la fin du siècle dernier, trouver une voix nationale propre à son pays. Tiré d’une suite de pièces espagnoles pour le piano publiée à Londres en 1890, ce Tango se rattache davantage à la tradition du tango gitan, ou ‘flamenco’, qu’au tango sud-américain issu de la habanera cubaine, plus tardif. Il n’engage pas moins, pour autant, à gagner la piste de danse.

Chostakovitch: Danse espagnole

Des gitans hongrois à ceux d’Andalousie, on aboutit ici à une Espagne qu’on pourrait qualifier de « typique » vue par la lorgnette du compositeur russe — ou soviétique, devrait-on dire — Dmitri Chostakovitch (1906-1975), à qui cette danse embrasée est attribuée.

Grieg: Danse paysanne

Le compositeur norvégien Edvard Grieg (1843-1907) a souvent puisé aux riches sources de la musique traditionnelle de son pays. Cette Danse paysanne (‘Stabbe-latten’) fait partie de la seconde des Deux mélodies nordiques, op.63 (1869) pour orchestre à cordes, elle-même une adaptation de l’opus 17, no 18 pour piano, d’après une authentique mélodie du folklore norvégien. En 1942, Stravinski devait reprendre le thème de cette Danse paysanne dans ses Four Norwegian Moods.

Copland: Hoe-Down

Si Aaron Copland (1900-1990) est le parangon de la musique américaine, son ballet Rodeo (1942) en est alors la quintessence, campé comme il l’est dans l’imagerie et la musique associées au monde des cow-boys. Le dernier épisode du ballet, Hoe-Down (ou bal populaire américain) — tiré à part pour orchestre à cordes par Copland en 1945 —, s’ouvre sur un extrait du Reel de McLeod pour incorporer par la suite une mélodie, Bonyparte, trouvée par le compositeur dans le recueil d’Ira Ford, Traditional Music of America.

Vieuxtemps: Souvenir d’Amérique

Près de cent ans avant Copland, en 1845, le violoniste virtuose et compositeur belge Henry Vieuxtemps (1820-1881) avait aussi couché sur le papier une pièce ayant pour thème un classique du folklore américain. C’était à son retour de la première de trois tournées aux États-Unis qu’il publia ce Souvenir d’Amérique rapporté du Nouveau Monde, où s’enchaînent trois variations sur la célèbre mélodie « Yankee Doodle »: une danse populaire russe (!), une polka et une danse paysanne américaine.

Écrite à l’origine pour violon et piano, cette pièce se situe dans la lignée des nombreuses fantaisies et variations sur des thèmes populaires dont se délectait le XIXe siècle et qu’on retrouve notamment chez Paganini et Liszt.

David Bowie: Let’s Dance

Au terme de cette escapade à travers époques et contrées, où le mot d’ordre a été d’entrée de jeu: « dansons! », nous ne pouvions nous refuser un clin d’œil enjoué à la chanson qui donna son titre à ce disque. Donc, dans un arrangement de Louise-Andrée Baril et une interprétation quelque peu folâtre, voici le Let’s Dance du célèbre rockeur anglais David Bowie.

© Jacques-André Houle

Lire la suite

À propos

Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà
Angèle Dubeau
AN 2 9874-6
AN 2 9874-6

Start typing and press Enter to search