fbpx
AN 2 8724

Passion

Release date October 19, 2004
Album code AN 2 8724
Periods Hors période
Genres Musique de chambre

Album information

What sweeps us off our feet, casts a spell upon us, and charms us? What befuddles, disconcerts, and bewitches us? What is the cause of so much anguish, but also of even more bliss, joy, and pleasure? What else but passion, an “intense, driving, or overmastering feeling” as states the dictionary, although words often only limply convey its full meaning. Music, on the other hand, seems to entertain intimate ties with passion. That was all it took for Angèle Dubeau, a passionate artist if ever there was one, to decide to make these strong emotions the theme of a record, this record, where she proposes nothing less than a voyage to the heart of these extreme emotions as were experienced by eight composers as diverse as passion itself.

Bizet: Carmen

A glance, a flower, a few words: that’s all it took for Carmen to seduce Don José… “L’amour est un oiseau rebelle”… Love is a rebellious bird… Since 1875, that’s all it has taken to carry us all away into a world of consuming passion, thanks to Georges Bizet (1838-1875) who, literally entranced by his subject, would take over two year to deliver his masterpiece. Yet by its over-realistic portrayal of a soldier’s love for a fickle Gypsy, Carmen caused a huge scandal at its premiere, a reaction that did nothing to improve the composer’s health, already weakened by years of attempts to have his works played. Bizet died the evening of the 33rd performance, June 3, 1875. Was he yet another victim of the sultry Gypsy? That’s been a burning question for more than 100 years.

Pablo de Sarasate: Navarra ? Enescu: Romanian Rhapsody No. 1

Each in his own way, the violinist of Spanish origin Pablo de Sarasate (1844-1908) and the Romanian composer George Enescu (1881-1955) were driven by an intense love for their native land. That undoubtedly explains why a single bow stroke from Navarra suffices to transport us like magic into the magnificent landscapes of Sarasate’s Spain, or that we see Gypsy dancers and musicians like those that accompanied and fascinated Enescu’s childhood take life in the Romanian Rhapsody No. 1.

De Falla: Siete canciones populares españolas

A jilted lover (Canción), a heartbroken suitor (Asturiana), two misunderstood lovers (Jota), a mother who sings her child to sleep (Nana)… these are the many and chaotic paths of passion taken by the Siete canciones populares españolas set to music by the Spanish composer Manuel de Falla (1876-1946). This may seem like a strange initiative from a man whom all described as austere and ascetic, but it goes to prove that, deep inside, de Falla’s embers must surely have been smouldering.

Chopin: Posthumous Nocturne in C sharp minor

“His constitution is too refined, too exquisite, and too perfect to survive at length this tedious and burdensome earthly life,” wrote George Sand about her lover Frederic Chopin (1810-1849). Such an appraisal doesn’t point much to the “passion” of the Polish-born composer, but one has only listen to the Posthumous Nocturne in C sharp minor to realize all the inner passion that drove Chopin when he composed his works, those fine, radiant gems whose blazes shall always set our spirits aglow and our hearts afire.

Bloch: Nigun

From the very first notes of Nigun, the middle section of the three-movement suite Baal Shem, performer and listener alike are seized by the heart-wrenching sounds of this music written by the Swiss-born American composer Ernest Bloch (1880-1959). The music’s secret certainly lies in the reminiscence of the composer’s mother—to whom the work is dedicated—but also in Bloch’s lifelong endeavour to translate into music the Jewish spirit, which he felt to be an enigmatic and ardent spirit, resonating throughout the Bible.

Collins Foster: Jeanie with the light brown hair

The American popular songwriter Stephen Collins Foster (1826-1864) had a rocky marriage indeed with Jane Denny McDowell. It was apparently after yet another reconciliation with the woman he loved that he wrote Jeanie with the light brown hair for her. What a splendid song this is, which takes on exceptional meaning when one considers that, after the couple had broken up several months later, Foster would slowly decline over ten years until hitting the bottom of the barrel, finishing as a poor drunk on the streets of New York City.

Porgy and Bess, de Gershwin

A mere few notes overheard beneath a window were enough to change George Gershwin (1898-1937) from the tough kid he was into someone completely engrossed in music. Through the years, this transformation was to give us some of the most beautiful melodies of all time (Embraceable you, The Man I Love, Fascinating Rhythm) and explains why, after having read DuBose Hayward’s novel Porgy one sleepless night, Gershwin decided then and there to make it the subject of an opera. The project was to take around a decade to materialize and it wasn’t before September 30, 1935 that first resounded the strains of Porgy’s love for Bess, barely two years before a brain tumour was tragically to end the composer’s life.

© Daniel Turcotte
Translation: Jacques-André Houle

A few words by Angèle Dubeau

“Passion cannot be calculated, but it can be shared. Expressed through intensity of feeling, it reaches its peak when experienced empathetically.

Drawing upon the passionate writing of the great composers, the musicians of La Pietà and myself have put our hearts into each note, each melody. And because we are speaking of a whole range of emotions, this passion comes across in every register, from simple moments of musical tenderness to passages of the utmost intensity.

Yes, I am a passionate woman!”
Angèle Dubeau

Read more

About

Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà
Angèle Dubeau
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 8724

Passion

Date de sortie 19 octobre 2004
Numéro de l'album AN 2 8724
Periodes Hors période
Genres Musique de chambre

Informations sur l'album

Elle emporte, envoûte et enchante. Elle désarçonne, déroute et ensorcelle. Elle est source de tant de peines mais de combien plus de bonheurs, de joies et de plaisirs. Son nom ? La passion, un  » mouvement violent de l’être qui domine la raison « , comme le dit si bien le dictionnaire, même si les mots, souvent, paraissent impuissants face à elle. Ce n’est toutefois pas le cas de la musique qui, au contraire, semble entretenir avec la passion une relation privilégiée. Évidemment, il n’en fallait pas plus pour qu’un jour Angèle Dubeau, artiste passionnée s’il en est, décide de faire de cette émotion la trame d’un enregistrement, où elle nous propose rien de moins qu’un voyage au cœur de ce sentiment extrême tel que vécu par huit compositeurs aussi divers que la passion elle-même.

Carmen, de Bizet

Un regard. Une fleur. Et quelques mots.  » L’amour est un oiseau rebelle que nul ne peut apprivoiser.  » C’est tout ce qu’il a fallu à Carmen pour séduire Don José. Depuis 1875 c’est tout ce qu’il faut pour que nous nous sentions nous aussi transportés dans un univers de passion dévorante. C’est tout à l’honneur de Georges Bizet (1838-1875) qui, littéralement envoûté par son sujet, prendra plus de deux ans à faire naître son chef-d’œuvre. Pourtant, par sa peinture trop réaliste des amours d’un militaire et d’une volage gitane, Carmen suscitera lors de sa création un énorme scandale, une réaction qui n’améliorera en rien la santé du compositeur, déjà malmenée par une vie passée à tenter de faire jouer ses œuvres. Bizet mourra au soir de la 33e représentation, le 3 juin 1875. Aura-t-il été une nouvelle victime de la sulfureuse gitane? Depuis plus de 100 ans la question reste posée.

Navarra de Pablo de Sarasate, et Rhapsodie roumaine d’Enescu

Chacun à leur façon, le violoniste d’origine espagnole Pablo de Sarasate (1844-1908) et le compositeur roumain George Enescu (1881-1955) ont été animés d’un ardent amour pour leur pays natal. Ce qui explique sans doute qu’un seul coup d’archet suffit pour qu’aussitôt nous nous sentions tous et comme par magie transportés, avec Navarra, dans les magnifiques paysages de l’Espagne du premier ou que nous voyions dans la Rhapsodie roumaine no 1 surgir devant nous les danseurs et les musiciens tziganes qui ont bercé et fasciné l’enfance du second.

Siete canciones populares españolas, de Manuel de Falla

Un amoureux délaissé (Canción), un soupirant inconsolable (Asturiana), deux amants incompris (Jota), une mère qui chante pour endormir son enfant (Nana)… c’est ni plus ni moins qu’une épopée chaotique à travers toutes les affres de la passion que nous proposent les paroles des Siete canciones populares españolas que l’Espagnol Manuel de Falla (1876-1946) a choisi de mettre en musique. Étrange initiative pour un homme que tous s’entendent à décrire comme austère et ascétique, mais qui nous prouve que chez de Falla, le feu en réalité ne faisait que couver sous la cendre.

Nocturne posthume en do dièse mineur, de Chopin

 » C’est une organisation trop fine, trop exquise et trop parfaite pour vivre longtemps de notre grosse et lourde vie terrestre « , écrivait George Sand à propos de son amant Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849). Voilà qui est peu fait pour que l’on accole le mot  » passion  » au musicien d’origine polonaise. Pourtant il suffit d’écouter le Nocturne posthume en do dièse mineur pour se rendre compte de toute la passion intérieure qui pouvait animer Chopin lorsqu’il composait ses œuvres, ces petits diamants éclatants dont les feux n’ont pas fini d’illuminer nos âmes et d’embraser nos cœurs.

Nigun, d’Ernest Bloch

Dès les premières notes de Nigun, la section centrale de la suite en trois mouvements Baal Shem, interprète comme auditeur sont littéralement happés par les sons déchirants de cette musique écrite par le compositeur américain d’origine suisse Ernest Bloch (1880-1959). Il s’agit d’une musique dont le secret réside sûrement dans le souvenir de la mère du compositeur, à qui l’œuvre est dédiée, mais également dans le désir qu’aura toute sa vie Bloch de traduire en musique l’âme juive, cette âme  » énigmatique et ardente que je sens vibrer tout au long de la Bible « , comme il l’écrira lui-même.

Jeanie with the light brown hair, de Collins Foster

Un mariage en dent de scie, voilà ce que le compositeur américain de ballades à succès Stephen Collins Foster (1826-1864) connaîtra avec Jane Denny McDowell. Ce serait à la suite d’une énième réconciliation avec celle qu’il aimait qu’il aurait composé à son intention Jeanie with the light brown hair, une chanson magnifique qui prend une saveur particulière quand on sait que, le couple s’étant séparé quelques mois plus tard, Foster entamera alors une longue descente aux enfers qui le conduira dix ans plus tard à terminer ses jours pauvre et alcoolique dans les rues de New York.

Porgy and Bess, de Gershwin

Quelques notes de musique entendues sous une fenêtre et voilà que le gamin bagarreur qu’était jusque-là George Gershwin (1898-1937) se transforme en un être complètement possédé par la musique. Cette métamorphose nous vaudra au fil des années quelques-unes des plus belles mélodies de l’histoire de la musique (Embraceable you, The Man I Love ou Fascinating Rhythm) et explique qu’après avoir lu le roman  » Porgy  » de DuBose Hayward par une nuit d’insomnie, Gershwin décidera sur le champ d’en faire la matière d’un opéra. Ce projet s’étalera sur une bonne dizaine d’années puisque ce n’est que le 30 septembre 1935 que résonneront pour la première fois les accents déchirants de l’amour de Porgy pour Bess, deux ans à peine avant qu’une tumeur au cerveau ne mette brutalement fin à la vie du compositeur.

© Daniel Turcotte

Mot d’Angèle Dubeau

 » La passion ne se calcule pas, mais elle se laisse partager. Elle s’exprime dans l’intensité des sentiments, surtout quand on la vit en osmose. C’est alors qu’elle atteint son paroxysme.

Puisant à même l’écriture passionnée de grands compositeurs, les musiciennes de la Pietà et moi-même y avons, notes après notes, mélodies après mélodies, mis tout notre cœur. Et puisque l’on parle ici de toute une gamme d’émotions, vous retrouverez cette passion commune dans tous ses registres, autant dans ces petits moments musicaux remplis de tendresse que dans ces passages d’extrême intensité.

Oui, je suis une femme passionnée!  »
Angèle Dubeau

Lire la suite

À propos

Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà
Angèle Dubeau
AN 2 7000
AN 2 7000

Start typing and press Enter to search