fbpx
AN 2 8725

Fairy Tale

Release date October 09, 2007
Album code AN 2 8725
Periods Hors période
Genres Musique de chambre

Album information

Gently and soothingly, violinist Angèle Dubeau along with her string and piano ensemble La Pietà, lead us into reverie. Enchanting melodies such as the Devil’s Beauties by Dompierre, Princesse Mononoke and Summer by Hisaishi, The Mission by Morricone, Spiegel im Spiegel by Pärt will sweep you away.

Today, as in yesteryear, fairy tales continue to inhabit our imaginations. With their origins in age-old myths, they were first transmitted orally. The French author Charles Perrault transformed these secular stories into a new literary genre. The Brothers Grimm, Lewis Caroll, Hans Christian Andersen and many others helped legitimize the genre.

Composers also adapted the magical world of the fairy tale for their own purposes. Taking inspiration from sonnets, story fragments, and human sensation, Antonio Vivaldi was a master at creating atmosphere. Music can convey anything: the vagaries of nature, a shepherd’s slumber, a meeting between two people, the birth of amorous feeling. Several centuries later, Manuel de Falla and Joaquin Rodrigo would draw upon the fertile ground of Spanish folklore, taking from it both engaging imagery and unbridled passion.

Closer to home, composers of movie music make particular use of the fairy-tale world, with its structural features such as quests, multiple setbacks and triumph over oneself. The Japanese composer Joe Hisaishi has dipped into this universe on several occasions, especially for the soundtracks of Princess Mononoke, Kikujiro and “Fragile Dream,” arranged especially for Dubeau and La Pietà. Incidentally, Angèle Dubeau is the only musician outside Japan authorized to play Hisaishi’s work, whether on stage or recorded.

Nino Rota and Ennio Morricone, giants of the genre, have composed many unforgettable soundtracks that help extend the cinematic world beyond the mere image. In Quebec, François Dompierre, a master of musical colour, composed the soundtrack to L’Odyssée d’Alice Tremblay (and its excerpt “A Fairy Tale”). His work also includes the mesmerizing Les beautés du Diable, composed especially for La Pietà. Gently and serenely, Gilles Ouellet‘s Berceuse pour Angèle (composed for Dubeau) and Arvo Pärt‘s Spiegel im spiegel (Mirror in the Mirror) lead us into reverie—a land of magic wands, of dreams and of sometimes naughty children.

________________________________________

Once upon a time in a faraway kingdom, a king and queen wished long and fervently for a child. When at last a beautiful princess was born, a sumptuous banquet was organized to mark the event. Kings and princes came from far and wide to bestow upon the princess Violina fabulous playthings, exotic animals as pets, and rare books.

The child’s fairy godmother, Euterpe, was among the first guests to be introduced. With her magic wand, she touched the girl behind the ear, leaving a strange mark in the shape of a violin. She also gave Violina two presents: a golden bow inlaid with precious stones and strung with angel hair, and a magic painting. If one gazed at it long enough, the young women in the painting would begin to play sweet melodies, creating a dreamlike state.

Violina grew up beautiful and wise. She loved to read fantastic stories, care for the animals in her menagerie and, above all, gaze at her magic painting. She felt wonder at all the new music she heard, whether it came from Spain, Italy, France, Estonia, the Orient, the United States, or Quebec, places she loved to find on her map of the world. And she learned to pronounce without hesitation names such as Chopin, de Falla, Dompierre, Hisaishi, Morricone, Ouellet, Pärt, Rodrigo, and Vivaldi.

© Lucie Renaud
Translation: Peter Christensen

Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà

Soloist, artistic director: Angèle Dubeau
First violin: Natalia Kononova
Second violins: Andra Giugariu, Josiane Breault
Violas: Martine Gagné, Bojana Milinov
Cello: Annie Gadbois
Double bass: Mariane Charlebois-Deschamps
Piano: Louise-Andrée Baril

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Avec ce programme musical, la violoniste Angèle Dubeau et son ensemble pour cordes et piano La Pietà, nous mènent en douceur vers le pays des contes de fées. Laissez-vous emporter par Les beautés du diable de Dompierre, Princesse Mononoke et Summer de Hisaishi, The Mission de Morricone, Spiegel im Spiegel de Pärt, et bien d’autres mélodies enchanteresses.

Aujourd’hui comme hier, les contes de fées (ou contes merveilleux) continuent de hanter les imaginaires. Puisant leurs origines dans les mythes universels, ils se sont d’abord transmis de bouche à oreille. Charles Perrault le premier transforme ces histoires séculaires en genre littéraire à part entière. Les frères Grimm, Lewis Caroll, Hans Christian Andersen et plusieurs autres donneront au genre ses lettres de noblesse.

Les compositeurs se sont, eux aussi, appropriés l’univers merveilleux des contes. S’inspirant de sonnets, de bribes d’histoires, de sensations éprouvées, Antonio Vivaldi reste un maître de la peinture d’atmosphères. La musique peut tout transmettre : soubresauts de la nature, sommeil d’un berger, rencontre entre deux personnages, naissance du sentiment amoureux. Quelques siècles plus tard, Manuel de Falla et Joaquin Rodrigo puiseront dans le terreau fertile du folklore espagnol pour en extraire images attachantes aussi bien que passions démesurées.

Plus près de nous, les compositeurs de musique de film ont tout particulièrement développé cet univers féerique où quête, revirements multiples et victoire sur soi sont autant d’éléments porteurs. Le compositeur japonais Joe Hisaishi y a plongé à plusieurs reprises, notamment dans Princesse Mononoke, Kikujiro et Fragile Dream, spécialement arrangé pour Angèle Dubeau et La Pietà. Mentionnons ici que Mme Dubeau est la seule musicienne à l’extérieur du Japon à être autorisée à jouer les œuvres de M. Hisaishi, tant sur scène que sur disque.

Nino Rota et Ennio Morricone, des géants du genre, ont signé nombre de trames sonores inoubliables, qui prolongent l’univers des films au-delà de l’image. Au Québec, François Dompierre, en maître coloriste, a notamment composé celle de L’Odyssée d’Alice Tremblay (et son extrait « A Fairy Tale « ). Il nous offre aussi un tableau envoûtant, Les beautés du Diable, écrit tout spécialement pour La Pietà.

Tout en sérénité, la Berceuse pour Angèle de Gilles Ouellet (composé pour Mme Dubeau) et Spiegel im Spiegel (Miroir dans le miroir) d’Arvo Pärt mènent en douceur vers le pays des songes. Celui des baguettes magiques, du rêve et des enfants pas toujours sages…

________________________________________

Il était une fois, dans un royaume lointain, un roi et une reine qui n’avaient cessé de souhaiter la venue d’un enfant. Quand, enfin, une jolie princesse vit le jour, un banquet fastueux fut organisé pour souligner l’événement. Rois et princes se pressèrent à la fête pour offrir à la princesse Violina jouets fabuleux, animaux de compagnie exotiques, livres rares.

Sa marraine, la fée Euterpe, fut parmi les premières convives à se présenter. De sa baguette magique, elle toucha la peau derrière l’oreille de la fillette et y laissa une étrange marque en forme de violon. Elle lui remit aussi deux cadeaux : un archet en or, incrusté de pierres précieuses, aux crins en cheveux d’anges et un tableau magique. Quand on le contemplait suffisamment longtemps, les jeunes femmes qui le composaient se mettaient à jouer de douces mélodies propices aux songes.

Violina grandissait en beauté et en sagesse. Elle aimait les histoires fantaisistes, soigner les animaux de sa ménagerie mais, par-dessus tout, elle aimait voir le tableau magique s’animer. Elle s’émerveillait des nouvelles musiques, qu’elles viennent d’Espagne, d’Italie, de France, d’Estonie, d’Orient, des États-Unis, du Québec, lieux qu’elle aimait identifier sur sa carte du monde. Elle apprit à prononcer sans hésitation Chopin, de Falla, Dompierre, Hisaishi, Morricone, Ouellet, Pärt, Rodrigo, Vivaldi.

© Lucie Renaud

Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà

Soliste, directrice artistique : Angèle Dubeau
Premier violon : Natalia Kononova
Seconds violons : Andra Giugariu, Josiane Breault
Altos : Martine Gagné, Bojana Milinov
Violoncelle: Annie Gadbois
Contrebasse : Mariane Charlebois-Deschamps
Piano : Louise-Andrée Baril

Lire la suite

À propos

Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà
Angèle Dubeau
AN 2 9874-6
AN 2 9874-6

Start typing and press Enter to search