fbpx
AN 2 8762

Liszt, Rachmaninov: Sonatas

Release date May 12, 2009
Album code AN 2 8762

Album information

Nareh Arghamanyan is the winner of the 2008 Montreal International Music Competition. On her first CD, she performs two masterpieces of the piano repertoire, sonatas by Liszt and Rachmaninov.

Liszt: Sonata for piano in B minor, S. 178

My dear Franz, at that moment I could feel your presence. Your sonata is beautiful beyond expression, grand, graceful, profound, noble, sublime—just like you. It touched the very heart of me, and all at once the misery of London is forgotten.
?Richard Wagner, April 5, 1855

Full, free and orchestral, Liszt‘s only sonata, the Sonata for piano in B minor, S. 178, is a monument of the piano repertoire. Composed between 1852 and 1853, its single large movement hinges on a cyclical form. While Liszt’s decision to use minimal thematic material may have surprised and shocked his contemporaries—including Schumann, the work’s dedicatee—who hurled murderous critiques at the work, the B-minor sonata is in fact a natural progression of Beethoven’s last forays into the genre, both in terms of its psychological conception and its use of two themes. “With only a few building blocks I can erect an entire musical edifice. […] The essential lies not in abundance but rather in limiting oneself to the absolute essential,” noted the composer himself. This apparent lack of framework also allowed him to intensify the dialogue and drama between the two main ideas.

The work opens with a slow introduction built over a descending Byzantine (or Gypsy) scale that dissolves into two repeated Gs, separated by a significant pause, and this kernel encompasses the narrative weave of everything that follows. Once the curtain is raised, the two principle antagonistic elements are introduced. The first, a willful roar in wide intervals and double octaves, the second, a burst of troublingly close Mephistophelean laughter that springs out of the first without warning. After another pause, a violent struggle breaks out between the two themes, neither ceding an inch of ground. The first wins a brief victory, supported by a return to the introduction, which eventually melts into a new solemn and lyrical theme, Grandioso, buoyed by a particularly dense harmonic mass. This interlude leaves the way clear for a melodic arpeggio-adorned reinterpretation of the first theme, which is promptly interrupted by the diabolical second theme, before morphing into a delightful nocturne that ends in a flurry of trills.

The peace is short-lived, however, and the battle is rejoined with even more fervour, Liszt showing off his mastery of counterpoint, the motifs linking to one another through augmentations, inversions, and superpositions. Octaves streak through the score sardonically, until the Grandioso reappears, borne on a powerful breath of air. Liszt subtly intersperses the music with segments of recitative based on the first theme, soon swept away by diabolical laughter, which are eventually united into a harmonized version of the first theme. The combatants are granted a respite with the contemplative Andante sostenuto, out of which the Grandioso seems to emerge once again, more tragic than luminous; but Liszt is only preparing us for a new confrontation of the two motifs in a spectacular fugal passage, fierce, bitter and incisive. A series of descending scales manages to interrupt the hostilities and the Grandioso rises out of the ashes with Herculean vigour. Liszt then summons the nocturne one last time before seeming to precipitate the work to a furious conclusion. Gradually, however, the two combatants weaken and calm eventually ensues, tinged with almost grating thematic recollections. The work finishes as it began, with a dark, descending scale, soothed by ethereal chords in the high register. A low B is the final stroke, and the B-minor Sonata evaporates into the ether.

Rachmaninov: Sonata for piano No. 2 in B flat minor, Op. 36

Like Liszt, Rachmaninov crafted his scores with a builder’s dedication. Convinced of the need to serve a higher sense of architecture, he strove throughout his life for an economy of means and simplicity of expression. He explained to the poet Mariette Shaginyan that each piece should be built around its highest point: “The whole mass of sounds must be so measured, the depth and power of each sound must be given with such purity and gradation, that this peak point is achieved with an appearance of the greatest naturalness, though actually its accomplishment is the highest art.” In spite of everything, he doubted himself constantly. Split among his various identities—pianist, conductor, composer, father—and the choices imposed by each, Rachmaninov endeavoured to achieve a delicate balance.

An eloquent example of this balance is his Sonata for piano No. 2 in B flat minor, Op. 36, which he began in 1912 in Rome (in a room once occupied by Tchaikovsky) and completed the following year, in the roiling shadow of a looming revolution. A hurricane of octaves, a powerful aural upwelling of magma, the sonata seethes with raw energy. And yet between the lines, one discerns a certain fragility, an instability that sometimes seems almost precipitated, kaleidoscopic fragments of Rachmaninov’s emotions. Nearly 20 years later, he would completely rework the piece, eliminating entire sections and changing certain melodic lines to somewhat smooth out its rough edges.

In three movements linked together by way of numerous thematic cross references, the work is unabashedly Romantic and strives to be, alternately, passionate, desperate, energetic and tender. It features numerous sudden calms, which are swept away by extremely high-voltage pianistic passages. From the first eruption of descending arpeggios, the earth trembles. Tumult becomes drama, force and melancholy and takes on a certain Gypsy feel, pealing forth at full volume—none of which is a great surprise, the work having been composed at the same time as his choral symphony The Bells. The Lento is a deeply moving section, steeped with a contemplative sadness, over which the spasms of a world nearing its end seem to break. The work culminates in a majestic and flamboyant third movement, one of the most electrifying Rachmaninov ever wrote.

© Lucie Renaud
Translation : Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 8762

Liszt, Rachmaninov: Sonates

Interprètes
Date de sortie 12 mai 2009
Numéro de l'album AN 2 8762

Informations sur l'album

Lauréate du Premier Grand Prix lors de l’édition 2008 du Concours Musical International de Montréal, la pianiste Nareh Arghamanyan interprète pour son premier enregistrement deux chefs-d’œuvre du répertoire pour piano, des sonates de Liszt et de Rachmaninov.

 » Très cher Franz, à ce moment-là je te sentais près de moi. Ta sonate est belle au-delà de toute expression, grande, gracieuse, profonde, noble, sublime comme tu l’es. Elle m’a touché au plus profond de moi-même et d’un seul coup, toute la misère de Londres est oubliée.  »
?Richard Wagner, 5 avril 1855

Liszt : Sonate pour piano en si mineur, S. 178

Ample, libre, orchestrale, l’unique Sonate de Liszt reste un monument pianistique. Composée entre 1852 et 1853, elle s’articule, selon la forme cyclique, en un seul grand mouvement. Si le choix de Liszt d’opter pour un matériau thématique minimal a étonné ou choqué ses contemporains qui ont multiplié les critiques assassines – notamment Schumann, dédicataire de l’œuvre –, la Sonate se veut plutôt prolongement naturel des derniers essais du genre de Beethoven, tant au niveau de sa conception psychologique que de l’exploitation du bithématisme.  » Je puis construire avec quelques éléments seulement un édifice musical. […] Ce n’est pas dans la prodigalité que réside l’essentiel, mais dans la limitation à ce qui est absolument essentiel « , précisait lui-même le compositeur. Cette apparente absence de cadre lui permet également de magnifier le dialogue et le combat dramatiques entre les deux idées maîtresses.

L’œuvre s’ouvre sur une introduction lente, construite sur une gamme hongroise (ou tzigane) descendante qui se dissout en deux sol répétés, séparés par un soupir particulièrement prégnant, qui contient en son germe la trame narrative de tout ce qui suivra. Une fois le rideau levé, les deux principaux éléments antagonistes sont présentés. Le premier, en doubles octaves, volontaire, rugit à coups de larges intervalles. Le deuxième surgit, sans transition, un rire éructé par un Méphisto troublant de proximité. Après un autre silence, une lutte violente s’engage entre les deux thèmes, l’un et l’autre ne cédant pas un millimètre de terrain. Le premier remporte une brève victoire, bientôt soutenu par un rappel de l’introduction, qui finira par se fondre dans un nouveau thème, Grandioso, solennel mais lyrique, se hissant au-dessus d’une masse harmonique particulièrement dense. Cet intermède laisse la voie libre à une relecture mélodique du premier thème ornée d’arpèges. Le sujet diabolique l’interrompt promptement, avant de se métamorphoser en un sublime nocturne qui se consumera en une cadence tissée de trilles.

L’apaisement n’est point consommé que l’engagement reprend de plus belle, le compositeur démontrant ici sa maîtrise du contrepoint, les motifs se liant l’un à l’autre à travers augmentations, renversements, superpositions. Les octaves zèbrent la partition, sardoniques, jusqu’à ce que réapparaisse le Grandioso, porté par un souffle puissant. Liszt intercale subtilement des bribes de récitatif issu du premier thème, bientôt balayé par le rire démoniaque, qui finit par s’unir à une version en accords du premier thème. Un répit est accordé aux combattants avec l’Andante sostenuto, propice au recueillement. Le Grandioso semble en émerger, plus tragique que lumineux. Liszt nous prépare à une nouvelle confrontation, les deux motifs devenant les sujets d’un spectaculaire passage fugué, âpre, rêche, incisif. Des gammes descendantes interrompent à peine les hostilités. Le Grandioso renaît de ses cendres, avec une vigueur herculéenne. Liszt convoque une dernière fois le nocturne, avant de précipiter la pièce vers une conclusion en apparence échevelée. Pourtant, les forces abandonnent progressivement les deux belligérants. La sérénité s’installe peu à peu, teintée des rappels thématiques presque grinçants. L’œuvre s’achève comme elle s’est amorcée, par une sombre descente de gamme, atténuée par des accords éthérés dans l’aigu. Un si grave, ultime coup de timbale; la Sonate est happée par le néant.

Rachmaninov : Sonate pour piano no 2 en si bémol mineur, opus 36

Tout comme Liszt, Rachmaninov, érige ses partitions avec la constance du bâtisseur. Convaincu de la nécessité de demeurer le serviteur d’une architecture supérieure, il tentera toute sa vie d’atteindre économie de moyens et simplicité d’expression. Il expliquait à la poétesse Mariette Shaginyan que chaque pièce devait être façonnée autour de son point culminant :  » Toute la masse sonore doit être mesurée, la profondeur et la puissance de chaque son doivent être rendues avec un degré suprême de pureté et de progression et ce sommet s’accomplit dans un geste du plus haut naturel apparent, même si, en fait, son accomplissement est le plus grand art.  » Malgré tout, constamment, il doute. Écartelé entre ses diverses identités – pianiste, chef d’orchestre, compositeur, père de famille –, les décisions à assumer, Rachmaninov tente d’atteindre un délicat équilibre.

Un exemple éloquent en demeure sa Deuxième Sonate en si bémol mineur, opus 36, amorcée en 1912 à Rome (dans une chambre autrefois occupée par Tchaïkovski) et complétée l’année suivante, à l’ombre des bouillonnements d’une imminente révolution. Ouragan d’octaves, magma sonore d’une puissance redoutable, l’énergie brute traverse cette sonate. Pourtant, en filigrane, on y décèle une certaine fragilité, une instabilité parfois presque précipitée, fragments kaléidoscopiques des sentiments de Rachmaninov. Près de 20 ans plus tard, Rachmaninov remaniera entièrement l’œuvre, éliminant des sections entières et gommant en partie la rugosité de certaines lignes mélodiques.

En trois mouvements liés entre eux par de nombreux recoupements thématiques, l’œuvre assume son romantisme et se veut tour à tour passionnée, désespérée, énergique, tendre. Les accalmies soudaines s’y multiplient, balayées par une écriture de haute voltige pianistique. Dès le premier fulgurant arpège descendant, les fondements tremblent. Le tumulte deviendra drame, puissance, mélancolie, adoptera certaines intonations tziganes, carillonnera à tue-tête – aucune surprise ici, la Sonate ayant été composée en même temps que sa symphonie chorale Les Cloches. Le Lento reste une page des plus émouvantes, empreinte d’une tristesse songeuse, sur laquelle semblent se briser les emportements d’un monde qui court à sa perte. L’œuvre se déploie enfin en un flamboyant et majestueux troisième mouvement, l’un des plus électrisants jamais écrits par le compositeur.

© Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8745 Max Richter Portrait
AN 2 8745 Max Richter Portrait
AN 2 8745 Max Richter Portrait

Start typing and press Enter to search