fbpx
AN 2 9903

Pauline Viardot-Garcia: Lieder Chansons Canzoni Mazurkas

Release date January 18, 2005
Album code AN 2 9903
Periods Romantic
Genres Piano | Recitative

Album information

This recording is devoted entirely to the songs of Pauline Viardot, nee Garcia, an extraordinary woman who was not only one of the great singers of the 19th century but also quite clearly a gifted composer. As evidenced by this recording, her oeuvre includes Italian, German, Spanish, and French songs, often in the popular vein. Some of her French songs were based on the mazurkas of Chopin and contributed to the renown of the pianist, who was himself delighted with them.

“She is truly the daughter of kings, descended from the gods… No other woman could have come so directly from the gods,” wrote a critic in Berlin in 1847 after attending one of her triumphant performances in the title role of Gluck’s Iphigénie en Aulide. He was referring not only to the character, but also to the performer. Viardot had been born into a family of famous French singers of Spanish origin, several of whom already enjoyed god-like status: her father, Manuel Garcia, who, among other things, had premiered the role of Figaro in Rossini’s The Barber of Seville; her mother, Maria Joaquina Sitches; her elder brother, Manuel Jr.; and, of course, her elder sister Maria, a living legend by her early twenties known as “La Malibran,” the surname of her first husband.

Manuel Garcia Sr. was also a well-known voice teacher whose method, taken up and developed by his children, was for many years a reference. It was thus only natural that he take charge of training his youngest daughter, born in 1821. When he died in 1832, his wife took over young Pauline’s education, ensuring that she also study piano (with, among others, Franz Liszt) and composition (with Antoine Reicha).

Then in 1836, La Malibran died accidentally at the age of 28, and the devastated family encouraged Pauline to fill her shoes. The next year, in Brussels, she made her debut in a recital organized by her late sister’s second husband, the Belgian violinist Charles-Auguste Bériot. She was only 16, but the purity and richness of her voice and her uncommonly wide range (said at the time to be three and a half octaves) made her an overnight sensation. Barely three seasons later—thus, before the age of 20—she had become one of the great lyric performers of her time.

In 1838, her brother took her on a German tour where, already, she had begun to sing her own songs, accompanying herself on the piano. In 1839, she made her debuts in London and Paris, singing the role of Desdemona in Rossini’s Otello. “Never has anyone sung the “Willow Song” (Desdemona’s last aria) like she did,” extolled one critic, “not even La Malibran, who had neither the sonorous fullness nor that large and powerful vibration in her lower range.” According to Hector Berlioz, “Miss Garcia’s voice has a virginal purity and is equal in all registers, in tune, vibrant, and agile.” He added that “her range extends only from low F to high C (two octaves and a fifth), but this is already huge, combining three types of voice that are rarely united: contralto, mezzo-soprano, and soprano.” Georges Sand was also in the audience, and the two women became close friends, the author even modeling the heroine of her novel Consuelo (1842) after the singer.

In 1840, Pauline Garcia married the writer and director of the Théâtre Italien in Paris, Louis Viardot, who was 21 years her elder. Shortly after their wedding, he resigned his position to manage his wife’s career, accompanying her to cities such as Berlin, Dresden, Vienna, London, St. Petersburg—wherever fame took her. While they were in Russia, the writer Ivan Turgenev fell so deeply in love with her that he hovered near the Viardot family for the rest of his life.

In 1863, at the age of 42, Pauline Viardot retired to Baden-Baden, where she began to teach—students flocking from all over the world—using her father’s method. She also composed a few operettas, including three on librettos by Turgenev, for private soirées that she would regularly organize. In 1870, the fall of Napoleon III and the creation of the Third Republic allowed the Viardots, confirmed republicans, to return to Paris, where Pauline would live until her death in 1910 at the age of nearly 90.

Even before her singing career, Pauline Viardot had been a versatile polyglot, fluent in French, Spanish, and Italian. Extended stays in England, Germany, and Russia gave her the languages of those countries too. Moreover, she became fluent in the many different national styles, composing over 200 songs during her lifetime. This recording thus bears witness to a prediction made by Georges Sand as early as 1840: “The appearance of Miss Garcia will be a shining moment in the history of women’s art. The genius of this musician, both accomplished and inspired, demonstrates a progress of intelligence that has never before been so conclusively manifested in the feminine sex.”

Guy Marchand
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 2 8873
AN 2 8873
AN 2 8873

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9903

Pauline Viardot-Garcia: Lieder Chansons Canzoni Mazurkas

Date de sortie 18 janvier 2005
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9903
Periodes Romantique

Informations sur l'album

Viardot, née Garcia, une femme d’exception qui fut non seulement l’une des grandes cantatrices du 19e siècle, mais qui avait aussi manifestement des dons pour la composition. Comme l’illustre le choix du répertoire, on trouve dans cette collection des airs italiens, allemands, espagnols et français d’inspiration souvent populaire. Certaines des chansons françaises sont fondées sur des mazurkas de Chopin et contribuèrent à la renommée du pianiste qui en avait été enchanté.

 » C’est bien la fille des rois, la descendante des dieux… Nulle femme au monde n’aurait pu descendre plus directement des dieux  » , écrivait en 1847 un critique de Berlin qui venait d’assister à l’un de ses triomphes dans le rôle titre d’Iphigénie en Aulide de Gluck. Il faisait non seulement référence au personnage, mais aussi à l’interprète issue d’une famille de célèbres chanteurs français d’origine espagnole dont plus d’un avaient été déifiés avant elle : son père Manuel Garcia, qui avait entre autres créé le rôle de Figaro dans Le Barbier de Séville de Rossini, sa mère Maria Joaquina Sitches, son frère et sa sœur aînés, le premier qui portait le même nom que son père et la seconde, Maria, qui dès la jeune vingtaine était devenue une légende vivante sous le nom de la Malibran, du nom de son premier mari.

Le père était aussi un professeur de chant réputé dont la méthode, reprise et développée par ses enfants, fut longtemps une référence. C’est donc lui qui, dès les premières années, s’occupa de la formation de sa cadette Pauline née en 1821. Lorsqu’il meurt en 1832, sa femme prend la relève. Elle favorise aussi chez sa fille l’étude du piano avec entre autres Franz Liszt et la composition avec Reicha.

Mais en 1836, la Malibran meurt accidentellement à l’âge de 28 ans. Profondément affectée, la famille pousse alors Pauline à prendre la relève. Dès l’année suivante, elle fait ses débuts à Bruxelles dans un récital organisé par le second mari de sa sœur, le violoniste belge Charles-Auguste Bériot. Elle n’a que 16 ans, mais la pureté et la richesse de son timbre, l’étendue peu commune de son registre ( » trois octaves et demi « , dit-on alors) font sensation. Par la suite, en trois saisons à peine, donc avant l’âge de 20 ans, elle s’impose comme l’une des grandes interprètes lyriques de son époque.

En 1838, son frère l’emmène en tournée avec lui à travers l’Allemagne où, déjà, elle commence à faire entendre ses propres chansons en s’accompagnant elle-même au piano. En 1839, elle fait ses débuts à Londres et à Paris dans la Desdémone de l’Otello de Rossini.  » Personne n’a jamais chanté comme elle la Romance du Saule (dernier air de Desdémone), souligne un critique, pas même la Malibran qui n’avait pas dans les cordes basses, ni cette ampleur sonore, ni cette vibration large et puissante.  »  » La voix de Mlle Garcia, d’une pureté virginale, égale dans tous les registres, juste, vibrante et agile, n’embrasse pas trois octaves et demi, précise quant à lui Berlioz, elle s’élève seulement du fa grave au contre ut (deux octaves et une quinte), et cette étendue est déjà immense, puisqu’elle réunit trois genres de voix qui ne se trouvent presque jamais réunis: le contralto, le mezzo-soprano et le soprano.  » Georges Sand est aussi dans la salle et les deux femmes deviendront d’indéfectibles amies, l’auteure allant jusqu’à prendre la chanteuse comme modèle pour l’héroïne de son roman Consuelo (1842).

En 1840, Pauline se marie avec le directeur du Théâtre Italien de Paris, l’écrivain Louis Viardot, de 21 ans son aîné. Il démissionne presque aussitôt pour s’occuper de la carrière de sa femme et la suivre partout où la renommée l’appelle : Berlin, Dresde, Vienne, Londres, Saint-Pétersbourg… En Russie, l’écrivain Tourgueniev tombe éperdument amoureux d’elle, à tel point qu’il vivra le reste de ses jours auprès de la famille Viardot.

En 1863, la chanteuse se retire à l’âge de 42 ans et s’installe à Baden-Baden où elle commence à donner des cours de chant à des élèves venant de partout dans le monde en reprenant la méthode de son père. Elle compose aussi quelques opérettes, dont trois sur des livrets de Tourgueniev, pour les soirées privées qu’elle organise régulièrement. En 1870, la chute de Napoléon III et l’instauration de la république permettent aux Viardot, républicains convaincus, de revenir à Paris où Pauline vivra jusqu’à sa mort en 1910 à près de 90 ans.

Polyglote d’une versatilité exceptionnelle, elle parlait déjà couramment le français, l’espagnol et l’italien avant même de commencer sa carrière. Des séjours prolongés en Angleterre, en Allemagne et en Russie lui permirent d’ajouter l’anglais, l’allemand et le russe. Mais plus encore, elle se familiarisa avec les différents styles de chant nationaux et, tout au long de sa carrière, composa plus de 200 mélodies. Cet enregistrement témoigne ainsi de ce que prédisait dès 1840 Georges Sand :  » L’apparition de Mlle Garcia sera un fait éclatant dans l’histoire de l’art traité par les femmes. Le génie de cette musicienne à la fois consommée et inspirée constate un progrès d’intelligence qui ne s’était point encore manifesté dans le sexe féminin d’une manière aussi concluante. « 
Guy Marchand, 2004

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8873
AN 2 8873
AN 2 8873

Start typing and press Enter to search

AN 2 9530 - Kuhlau: Grandes sonates