fbpx

Album information

Little Notebook for Anna Magdalena Bach (selection)

J.S. Bach‘s wife, Maria Barbara, died suddenly in the summer of 1720, while the composer was visiting Karlsbad with his employer, Prince Leopold of Anhalt-Cöthen. She was buried on July 7, before her husband could return. Father of four children at the age of 36, Bach soon thought of remarrying. However, it was only a year later that he turned to Anna Magdalena Wilcke (or Wülcken), a young singer 16 years his junior who sometimes sang at the court of Cöthen. He married her in December 1721, a year and a half before he was hired as the new cantor of St. Thomas in Leipzig.

It is very possible that Anna Magdalena Bach had to give up a career in opera to take care of Bach‘s children from his first marriage, who’s ages ranged from 6 to 13. In fact, we know very little about her life in the shadow of the great Bach, if only that she gave birth to 13 children, seven in the first seven years of her marriage. For some three decades she was an exemplary wife, managing the household and offering gracious hospitality to her husband’s many cousins, friends and students visiting their home on a regular basis. Apart from her domestic duties,

There was much music-making in the Bach household, as can be imagined, and the most charming legacy of this domestic activity remains the Notenbüchlein vor A.M. Bachin, or “Little Notebook for Anna Magdalena Bach,” in which many generations of musicians have since found their first piano or harpsichord lessons. Previous to this, there had been two other “little books” in the family: the first copied in 1720 for Wilhelm Friedemann’s music education, contained the first versions of some of the fugues later found in the Well-Tempered Clavier with the two- and three-part Inventions and Sinfonias. A second book for Anna Magdalena dating from 1722 contained the first five French Suites, two-thirds of which are now lost. The Notebook which is the object of this recording is particular in that, when Bach gave it to his wife in 1725, it contained only a few pieces. In the years that followed, Anna Magdalena added the first Prelude of the Well-Tempered Clavier, the first two French Suites (the second is incomplete), the Aria which served as the basis for the “Goldberg” Variations, as well as a number of vocal pieces, many of which are anonymous. Many of these airs, chorales and lieder evoke calmness, sleep or eternal rest. For her own use, Anna Magdalena also transposed to G major the first recitative and second aria from the Cantata BWV 82, Ich habe genug. The aria, however, is presented without instrumental ritornellos and simply provides the continuo as an accompaniment. In addition to these works are numerous simple pieces, copied by various members of the family, many of them written in the galant style. Often noted down anonymously and no doubt for pedagogical purposes, these minuets and polonaises, also used for dancing lessons, are not by Bach Sr., but by a variety of composers such as Christian Petzold or Johann Adolph Hasse.

In addition to the renowned name with which it is associated, the Little Notebook for Anna Magdalena Bach is an excellent example of household musical practice, or Hausmusik, through which the rising middle class expressed its new-found values of domestic tenderness and happiness. These are the same values that are so well depicted in Chardin’s most beautiful paintings through characters, objects and scenes of daily life.

© François Filiatrault
Translation: Patricia Abbott

Read more

About

Luc Beauséjour
AN 2 9763
AN 2 9763
AN 2 9763

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Le Petit livre d’Anna Magdalena Bach (extraits)

À l’été 1720, alors que Bach séjourne à Karlsbad avec son employeur, le prince Léopold d’Anhalt-Coethen, survient, totalement inattendue, la mort de sa femme Maria Barbara; elle sera enterrée le 7 juillet, avant le retour de son mari musicien. Âgé de 36 ans et père de quatre enfants, Bach songe bientôt à se remarier, mais ce n’est qu’un an plus tard qu’il fixe son dévolu sur Anna Magdalena Wilcke (ou Wülcken), une jeune cantatrice de seize ans sa cadette qui se produit parfois à la cour de Coethen; il l’épousera en décembre 1721, soit un an et demi avant d’être engagé comme cantor à Saint-Thomas de Leipzig.

Il n’est pas impossible qu’Anna Magdalena Bach ait dû renoncer à des projets de carrière à l’opéra afin de s’occuper des enfants du premier lit de son mari, enfants alors âgés de six à treize ans. Et l’on sait bien peu de choses de sa vie à l’ombre du grand Bach, si ce n’est qu’elle mettra au monde treize enfants, dont sept dans les sept années suivant le mariage, et qu’elle sera durant près de trois décennies une épouse exemplaire, entretenant le ménage et sachant bien recevoir les très nombreux cousins, amis et élèves de son mari, dont la maison est toujours pleine.

On faisait beaucoup de musique chez les Bach, comme on peut s’en douter, et le témoignage le plus attachant de cette activité domestique reste le Notenbüchlein vor A.M. Bachin ou  » Petit livre d’Anna Magdalena Bach « , dans lequel plus d’un apprenti musicien a reçu, depuis, ses premières leçons de piano ou de clavecin. Il y avait eu deux autres de ces  » petits livres  » dans la famille: celui copié en 1720 pour l’éducation de Wilhelm Friedemann et comprenant les premières versions de quelques préludes du futur Clavier bien tempéré ainsi que les Inventions et Sinfonies à deux et trois voix, et celui, daté de 1722, qui rassemblait pour Anna Magdalena les cinq premières Suites françaises, mais dont les deux tiers environ sont aujourd’hui perdus. Le recueil qui fait l’objet de notre disque a ceci de particulier cependant que lorsque Bach l’offre à sa femme en 1725, il n’est qu’amorcé. Anna Magdalena y ajoutera avec les années le premier Prélude du Clavier bien tempéré, les deux premières Suites françaises – la seconde incomplète –, l’Aria qui servira aux variations  » Goldberg « , ainsi que des pièces vocales souvent anonymes, airs, chorals et lieder évoquant le plus souvent l’apaisement, le sommeil ou le repos éternel. Elle transposera également en sol majeur, pour son propre usage, le premier récitatif et la seconde aria de la Cantate Ich habe genug BWV 82, cette dernière aria se présentant sans les ritournelles instrumentales et ne prévoyant pour seul accompagnement que la basse continue. À côté de ces œuvres, figurent, copiées par divers membres de la famille, de nombreuses pièces toutes simples, écrites souvent dans le style galant. Notés de façon anonyme et sans doute dans un but pédagogique, ces menuets et polonaises, qui devaient également servir à l’apprentissage de la danse, ne sont pas de la plume de Bach père, mais de divers compositeurs, tels Christian Petzold ou Johann Adolph Hasse.

Au delà du nom illustre auquel il se rattache, le Petit livre d’Anna Magdalena Bach reste le témoignage par excellence de cette pratique musicale privée, ou Hausmusik, par laquelle la bourgeoisie montante manifeste ses valeurs, encore nouvelles, de tendresse et de bonheur domestique, valeurs si bien représentées en France à la même époque par les personnages, les objets et les situations quotidiennes que Chardin met en scène dans quelques-uns de ses plus beaux tableaux.

© François Filiatrault

Lire la suite

À propos

Luc Beauséjour
FL 2 3079
FL 2 3079
FL 2 3079

Start typing and press Enter to search