fbpx
AN 2 8763

Prokofiev: Complete Violin Sonatas

Release date May 03, 2011
Album code AN 2 8763
Periods 20th century
Genres Piano | Violin

Album information

Prokofiev
Complete Violin Sonatas

My chief virtue (or if you like, defect) has been a tireless lifelong search for an original, individual musical idiom. I detest imitation, I detest hackneyed devices. (Prokofiev)

Over the course of the 1940s, Sergei Prokofiev tackled the genre of the violin sonata three times: once for violin alone and twice for violin and piano. Yet the three illuminate his work in such apparently contradictory (though fundamentally complementary) ways that it would be futile to try and draw parallels among them. “I want nothing better, more flexible or more complete than the sonata form, which contains everything necessary for my structural purposes,” Prokofiev had stated a decade earlier.

Sonata for Violin and Piano, Op. 80

It is said that the first sketches of the Sonata for Violin and Piano, Op. 80 date from 1938, after Prokofiev heard Handel’s Sonata for Violin and Continuo in D. Overwhelmed by many different commissions (operas, ballets, film scores) and obsessed with finishing the monumental sixth, seventh and eighth piano sonatas, he did not put the final touches on it until eight years later. Reminiscent of his two violin concertos, the work possesses an undeniable spirit and thematic opulence. Upon reading the score for the first time, David Oistrakh, who premiered it on January 23, 1946, apparently exclaimed, “I can say without the slightest exaggeration that nothing written for the violin for years, here or elsewhere, can equal the beauty and depth of this piece.” Also present was the composer Nikolai Miaskovsky, who was moved by its depth and did not hesitate to call the sonata a “work of genius,” telling Prokofiev, “Do you realize what you have written?” Indeed, when it came time to select from among Prokofiev’s works to honour his memory at his funeral, Oistrakh performed the sonata’s first and third movements. “I never worked with such passion on any other work. Until the sonata’s first public performance, I couldn’t play or think about anything else,” he recalled.

Sombre, tragic and dense, the work can even evoke a certain uneasiness at times. Prokofiev apparently told Oistrakh that the passage of threatening scales in the “Andante assai” should recall “the wind in a cemetery.” One mustn’t forget that in 1938, when the composer was setting down the work’s initial structures (start of the first movement, exposition of the second, and theme of the third), some seven million Russians had been arrested, including many artists, among them the writer Osip Mandelstam. While most served their sentences in the gulag, nearly a half-million prominent figures were murdered.

The opening measures conjure up visions of soldiers fallen in combat and of disquieting immobility before the violin seems to withdraw into itself; Prokofiev even paraphrases the last theme of his String Quartet No. 1. Both instruments employ a similar threatening humour, which resolves into a series of chiming chords (with the impression of a church chorale reinforced by the addition of a lower octave). The “Allegro brusco” that follows seems to have been conceived of as a duel between violin and piano, allowing the two protagonists to eliminate any trace of the hostility accumulated during the previous movement. The piano at times tries to subdue the violin, while the latter obscures a certain lyricism associated with the instrument. The limpid “Andante” is an ethereal lament in which the muted violin tries to contain violence and despair. A whimsical “Allegrissimo,” featuring a constant alternation of measures in 5/8, 7/8 and 8/8 that keeps the listener constantly off balance, ends the work.

Sonata for Violin and Piano in D Major, Op. 94bis

In 1943, yielding to the charms of the flute, Prokofiev decided to write a sonata for it of “classical sonority, clear and transparent.” David Oistrakh immediately saw the work’s potential and suggested that Prokofiev adapt it for violin. “As Serguei Sergeevich suggested, I provided two or three variants for each place in the Sonata that required editing,” Oistrakh recounted later. “Then I numbered them and gave them to him to look over. With a pencil, he marked what he found suitable and made a few corrections.” The violinist premiered this new version of the work, published as Op. 94b, on June 17, 1944 in Moscow, accompanied by Lev Oborin. The work has since enjoyed enormous popularity in this form among performers and audiences alike.

Though carefree on the surface and in the luminous key of D major, which Prokofiev used in his Symphony No. 1 (“Classical”) and his Violin Concerto No. 1, this sonata nevertheless also harbours a vague sense of unease at its epicentre, the dream-like third movement recalling the sense of desolation of the first sonata’s “Andante.” The opening “Moderato,” with its initial theme anchored in the tonic and dominant, adopts a classical sonata form up until the repeat of the exposition. In the middle section of the scherzo, Prokofiev opts for a lyrical treatment of the material, with a minimal accompaniment that is, however, occasionally tinged with dissonances (seconds and minor ninths), allowing the solo instrument to shine. The last movement, a sarcastic re-reading of piano exercises in octaves, also recalls the advance of mechanization and industrialization of the Soviet era.

Sonata for Solo Violin, Op. 115

Though written in 1947, the Sonata for Solo Violin, Op. 115 would not be heard for the first time until 1960, seven years after Prokofiev’s death. He had conceived of the work as a sizeable etude, sufficiently accessible from a technical standpoint to be played in unison by a group of about twenty students, a widespread teaching practice in Russia at the time. While its performance would not seem to demand virtuosic abilities, it is nevertheless a work that requires control and a delicate touch if the pitfalls of a deceptive banality are to be avoided. The first movement opens with a bouncy gesture in spiccato broken chords before taking on the appearance of a village ball. The theme and variations that follow achieve a certain charm before being swept away by a lively mazurka.

Read more

About

AN 2 9521 Jordan Pal Into The Wonder
AN 2 9521 Jordan Pal Into The Wonder
AN 2 9521 Jordan Pal Into The Wonder

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 8763

Prokofiev: Intégrale des sonates pour violon

Compositeurs
Date de sortie 03 mai 2011
Numéro de l'album AN 2 8763
Periodes XXe siècle
Genres Piano | Violon

Informations sur l'album

Prokofiev
Intégrale des sonates pour violon

«Le mérite principal de ma vie (ou, si vous préférez, son principal inconvénient) a toujours été la recherche de l’originalité de ma propre langue musicale. J’ai horreur de l’imitation et j’ai horreur des choses déjà connues.» (Prokofiev)

Au cours des années 1940, Sergueï Prokofiev approchera à trois reprises le genre de la sonate pour violon : une fois pour instrument seul et deux pour violon et piano. Pourtant, il s’avèrerait futile de souhaiter tracer des parallèles entre les trois œuvres, tant elles offrent un éclairage en apparence contradictoire, mais foncièrement complémentaire, du travail du créateur. «Je n’ai besoin de rien de meilleur, de plus flexible ou de plus complet que la forme sonate, qui contient tout ce dont j’ai besoin au niveau des structures», affirmait déjà Prokofiev une décennie auparavant.

Sonate pour violon et piano, opus 80

Les premières ébauches de la Sonate pour violon et piano, opus 80, datent de 1938, après que le compositeur eut entendu la Sonate en pour violon et basse continue de Handel, selon ses dires. Débordé par les multiples commandes (opéras, ballets, musiques de film) et happé par l’achèvement des monumentales Sixième, Septième et Huitième Sonates pour piano, il n’y mettra la dernière main toutefois que huit ans plus tard. Rappelant les deux concertos pour violon, l’œuvre possède un souffle et une richesse thématique indéniables. En découvrant pour la première fois la partition, David Oistrakh, qui devait en assurer la création le 23 janvier 1946, se serait écrié : «Rien de ce qui a été écrit pour le violon depuis des années, ici ou ailleurs, ne peut égaler cette pièce en beauté et en profondeur. Je peux l’affirmer sans la moindre exagération.» Le compositeur Nikolai Miaskovsky, également présent, touché par sa profondeur, n’aurait pas hésité quant à lui à considérer la sonate comme «un objet de génie», répétant : «Ne réalises-tu pas ce que tu as écrit?» Quand viendra le moment, en 1953, de puiser dans le catalogue de Prokofiev pour honorer sa mémoire lors de ses obsèques, Oistrakh interprètera d’ailleurs les premier et troisième mouvements de l’œuvre. «Je n’ai jamais travaillé avec autant de passion une autre œuvre. Avant la première de la sonate, je ne pouvais jouer ou penser à rien d’autre», a-t-il souligné.

Sombre, tragique, dense, la pièce suscite même à l’occasion un certain malaise. Prokofiev aurait indiqué à Oistrakh que le passage de gammes menaçantes de l’Andante assai devait rappeler «le vent dans un cimetière». Il ne faut pas oublier qu’au moment où le compositeur posait les premiers jalons de l’œuvre (le début du premier mouvement, l’exposition du deuxième et le thème du troisième datent de 1938), quelque sept millions de Russes avaient été arrêtés, dont plusieurs artistes, notamment l’écrivain Osip Mandelstam. Si la plupart purgeaient leur peine au goulag, près d’un demi-million de personnalités connues avait été assassinées.

Les premières mesures conjurent des visions de soldats tombés au combat et de troublante immobilité, avant que le violon ne donne l’illusion de se replier vers lui-même, Prokofiev y paraphrasant même le dernier thème de son Premier Quatuor à cordes. Les deux instruments adoptent une même humeur menaçante, qui se résoudra dans un tintement d’accords (l’impression de choral religieux étant soulignée par une octave à la basse). L’Allegro brusco qui suit semble avoir été conçu comme un duel entre violon et piano, permettant aux deux protagonistes d’éliminer toute trace de l’hostilité accumulée au cours du mouvement précédent, le piano tentant par moments de soumettre le violon, alors que celui-ci occulte un certain lyrisme associé à l’instrument. L’Andante, transparent, se veut une complainte éthérée, dans laquelle le violon, avec sourdine, essaie de contenir violence et détresse. Un Allegrissimo fantasque, qui met en lumière une alternance constante de mesures en 5/8, 7/8 et 8/8, provoquant chez l’auditeur une sensation d’instabilité rythmique perpétuelle, clôt le tout.

Sonate pour violon et piano en majeur, op. 94bis

Quand, en 1943, Prokofiev cède à l’attrait de la flûte, il décide de lui dédier une sonate à la «sonorité classique, claire et transparente». David Oistrakh perçoit immédiatement le potentiel de l’œuvre et propose au compositeur de l’adapter pour violon. «À la demande de Sergueï Sergeevich, j’ai proposé deux ou trois variantes pour chaque endroit de la sonate exigeant des ajustements, expliquera-t-il quelques années plus tard. Je les ai ensuite numérotées avant de les lui remettre pour qu’il les considère. Avec un crayon, il a marqué ce qui lui semblait plus approprié et fait quelques corrections. » Le violoniste créera cette nouvelle version de l’œuvre, publiée sous le numéro d’opus 94b, le 17 juin 1944 à Moscou, en compagnie de Lev Oborin. Cette dernière connait depuis, sous cette forme, une popularité enviable, tant auprès des interprètes que du public.

En apparence insouciante, dans la lumineuse tonalité de majeur, utilisée par Prokofiev dans sa Symphonie «classique» et son Premier Concerto pour violon, la sonate porte pourtant elle aussi en son épicentre un trouble diffus, le rêveur troisième mouvement rappelant l’impression de désolation de l’Andante de la Première Sonate. Le Moderato, avec son premier thème ancré par tonique et dominante, adopte la forme sonate classique, jusqu’à la reprise de l’exposition. Dans la section centrale du scherzo, Prokofiev opte pour un traitement lyrique du matériau, dans lequel l’accompagnement se révèle minimal, même si parfois teinté d’occasionnelles dissonances (secondes et neuvièmes mineures), offrant la possibilité à l’instrument soliste de briller. Le dernier mouvement, une relecture sarcastique des exercices pianistiques en octaves, rappelle également l’avancée de la mécanisation et de l’industrialisation de l’ère soviétique.

Sonate pour violon solo, opus 115

Écrite en 1947, la Sonate pour violon solo, opus 115, ne sera entendue pour la première fois qu’en 1960, sept ans après la mort du compositeur. Prokofiev aurait pensé cette œuvre comme une ample étude, suffisamment accessible d’un point de vue technique pour être jouée à l’unisson par un groupe d’une vingtaine d’étudiants, pratique pédagogique répandue alors en Russie. Si son interprétation ne semble pas exiger de prouesses virtuoses, elle reste néanmoins une pièce qui requiert contrôle et délicatesse, si l’on souhaite éviter les écueils d’une trompeuse banalité. Le premier mouvement s’amorce par un geste bondissant, en accords brisés, spiccato, avant de prendre des allures de bal de village. Le thème et variations qui suit possède un charme certain, avant d’être balayé par une mazurka enlevée.

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9521 Jordan Pal Into The Wonder
AN 2 9521 Jordan Pal Into The Wonder
AN 2 9521 Jordan Pal Into The Wonder

Start typing and press Enter to search