fbpx
AN 2 9963

Reflections on Spain

Album information

An exhilarating and elegant concert pianist, Louise Bessette stands out as one of the preeminent performers of music from our times. After having devoted her previous recording to Olivier Messiaen , pianist Louise Bessette takes on a totally different musical journey, with a program of Spanish works.

Reflections on Spain

Spain: 16th-century superpower, cradle of flamenco, and birthplace of numerous painters and architects. But is it possible to capture the true essence of Spain, which still inspires Hispanic and foreign composers alike? Can one extract a particular sound or colour from its 17 autonomous communities, 50 provinces and 8,112 municipalities? Should one even try? In the preface to his 20 Cantos populares españoles, Joaquín Nin himself compared
Spain’s then 47 provinces to a 47-note scale that possessed the power to express every shade of joy, sadness, love and hope.

Although Ernesto Lecuona (1896–1963) is considered the most important Cuban composer of the early 20th century, some of his most successful piano works, including Andalucía (Suite Española), were inspired by Spanish folk music. His melodic creativity, frequently complex compositional style that favoured an agile left hand (Lecuona’s own performances were particularly appreciated in this respect), and always interesting harmonic structures won him the admiration of many of his contemporaries, both in the U.S. (he gave the Cuban premier of Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue) and in Europe. Indeed, Ravel declared that, “I think Malagueña is more beautiful and melodious than my Bolero.”

The collection opens with the melancholy “Córdoba,” followed by “Andalucía,” which exudes both sensuality and vitality, driven by a dancing ostinato accompaniment in the left hand. “Alhambra” paints an almost impressionistic picture of the palace built in the 13th century for the Sultan Mohammed Al-Ahamar on the heights of Granada; the palace is legendary for the opulence of its halls and gardens. “Gitanerías” is reminiscent of a fiery flamenco, while “Guadalquivír” sounds like an homage to the river that flows through Andalusia. The suite closes with the bewitching “Malagueña,” which has since been reworked into numerous other forms.

Born into a Catalonia bursting with artistic effervescence, Federico Mompou (1893–1987) never identified himself as a composer, but rather as a musician. Rejecting Schoenberg’s serialism, he was much more interested in the styles of Scriabin and the nationalists Granados, de Falla and Albéniz. A poet of the piano and a master of harmonies that constantly fluctuate between consonance and dissonance, allowing chords to be imperfect, his unique voice is best appreciated when “solitude itself becomes music,” as he explained himself in the preface to Música callada.

The grandson of a bellfounder, Mompou integrated allusions to this theme into several of his works. For instance, the inspiration for “La fuente y la campana” (The Fountain and the Bell), from his collection Paisajes, came on a warm evening in 1942 spent with his fiancée, the young pianist Carmen Bravo. After a concert given at the Palau de la Música Catalana, the young lovers strolled Barcelona’s magnificent Gothic Quarter. Resting on the edge of a fountain in a square, they heard bells sounding midnight in the distance. In the work, somber Gs underlie a somewhat archaic melody in the minor mode. The middle section hints at the water’s murmuring, into which the previously sketched out melody melts.

“The music of Albéniz does not attempt to plead, to preach or to argue; it reshapes itself on the spot, like the forms and colours in a kaleidoscope; it is a song and a dance, but the song casts a spell, and the dance, though it does not move, changes constantly,” summarized Vladimir Jankélévitch. Far from wishing to distance himself from the land where he grew up, Isaac Albéniz (1860–1909) embraced the exuberant vitality of crowds, the agitation of mass gatherings, and the humble music of the street. In his tangos, as in his habaneras and other dances, he revisits and binds age-old tunes to old-fashioned sentimentality, channelling them into a new folk music that is Spanish to the core.

Seville native Joaquín Turina (1882–1949) was a friend and protégé of Albéniz. He studied with Vincent d’Indy and Moritz Moszkowski, and he wrote some of his most inspired works for piano. These include his Danzas gitanas, whose rhythms and harmonies—at times harsh and raw and at others extremely subtle—paint highly expressive pictures. “Zambra,” not devoid of a certain nostalgia on occasion, takes up the idea of a party, with dance and song. “Danza de la seducción” is in turns languid, sinuous, feverish, and tender; while “Danza ritual” reveals a more tempered, almost stoic mood. The perpetual motion of “Generalife,” a portrait of the summer palace of Granada’s Nasrid sultans, is punctuated with hemiolas reminiscent of the polo Gitano. The cycle concludes with “Sacro-Monte,” an area famous for its caves where Gypsies dance the flamenco.

Soleá was composed in 1982 by Tomás Marco (born in 1942 in Madrid) for the centenary of Turina’s birth. Though he studied with Stockhausen, Ligeti and Adorno in Darmstadt, by the 1970s he nevertheless favoured a return to Spanish nationalism. Generally accompanied by solo guitar, the soleá is one of the most important flamenco forms (or “palos”). Its golden age was the late 19th century, when musicians and dancers performed in the cafés cantantes. Out of this form, Marco has fashioned a dramatic work that bridges tradition and modernity.

Though he has lived in Montreal since 1970, José Evangelista was born in Valencia in 1943 and holds the sonorities of his native land close to his heart. However, he does not hesitate to cross them with those of the Indonesian gamelan, the Western avant-garde, or the Middle Ages. By exploring melodies and the echoes they create to form the illusion of polyphony, his Nuevas monodías españolas is a revisiting of 21 traditional Spanish melodies, primarily Castilian work and love songs, dances, lullabies and anecdotes. The composer points out: “As with my first collection [Monodías españolas, from 1988, also recorded by Louise Bessette], I took two things into consideration: first, the many traditional Spanish melodies that are still performed as monody, with various rhythmic aspects their only accompaniment; and second, the fact that many of these melodies are imbued with modal characteristics that are hard to reconcile with tonal language. Hence, my versions of these melodies use neither harmony nor counterpoint, and I have instead tried to explore a pianistic style that focuses on changes of register and on ornamentation. The goal is to create the illusion that several voices are simultaneously performing slight variations of the same melody in different
octaves.”

The crossroads of varied and even contradictory emotions, Spain remains without a doubt as multi-faceted as the gazes cast upon it. How, after all, could one use only a few words to describe a beloved face?

Read more

About

AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8
AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8
AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8

Start typing and press Enter to search

Ground Midnight | James Gelfand Trio

fbpx
AN 2 9963

Regards sur l'Espagne

Interprètes
Date de sortie 05 octobre 2010
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9963
Periodes XXe siècle
Genres Piano

Informations sur l'album

Reconnue pour l’éclectisme de son répertoire et la virtuosité de ses prestations, Louise Bessette s’est taillé une place de choix dans l’interprétation des plus grandes oeuvres de notre temps. Après avoir consacré son précédent enregistrement à Olivier Messiaen , la pianiste Louise Bessette aborde cette fois un tout autre univers avec un programme d’oeuvres espagnoles.

Regards sur l’Espagne

L’Espagne : pays reconnu au XVIe siècle pour sa puissance, berceau du flamenco, patrie de nombre de peintres et d’architectes. Peut-on capter l’essence de ce pays qui continue d’inspirer aussi bien compositeurs hispaniques qu’étrangers ? Est-il possible d’extraire un
son, une couleur, de ses 17 communautés autonomes, 50 provinces, 8112 municipalités ? Pourquoi essayer ? Joaquín Nin comparait lui-même dans sa préface aux Vingt Chants populaires espagnols les 47 provinces d’alors à une gamme de 47 notes qui permettait d’exprimer toutes les nuances de la joie et de la tristesse, de l’amour et de l’espoir.

Si Ernesto Lecuona (1896-1963) est perçu comme le plus important compositeur cubain de la première moitié du 20e siècle, il s’est inspiré du folklore espagnol pour signer certaines de ses pages pour piano les plus réussies, dont Andalucía (Suite Española). Invention mélodique, écriture instrumentale souvent complexe qui accorde une part essentielle à la main gauche (Lecuona l’interprète était particulièrement salué pour l’agilité de celle-ci) et harmonies qui refusent la banalité lui ont permis de se gagner l’admiration de nombreux confrères, tant en Amérique (le pianiste donnera notamment la première cubaine du Rhapsody in Blue de Gershwin) qu’en Europe. Ravel n’hésitera pas à déclarer: « Je pense que Malagueña est plus beau et mélodieux que mon Boléro. »

En ouverture de recueil, «Córdoba » est teintée de mélancolie tandis qu’«Andalucía », à la fois sensuelle et vigoureuse, est propulsée par l’accompagnement obstiné et dansant de la main gauche. «Alhambra » dresse le portrait presque impressionniste du palais construit au 13e siècle pour le calife Mohammed Al-Alahmar sur les hauteurs de Grenade, légendaire pour l’opulence de ses salles et de ses jardins. «Gitanerías » rappelle les flamencos fiévreux alors que «Guadalquivír » se veut hommage au fleuve qui alimente l’Andalousie. La suite se clôt par l’envoûtante «Malagueña », reprise depuis sa création sous de nombreuses formes.

Né dans une Catalogne en pleine effervescence artistique, Federico Mompou (1893-1987) ne se définit pas comme un compositeur, mais comme un musicien. Rejetant la musique sérielle de Schoenberg, il préfère se laisser fasciner par celle de Scriabine et les nationalistes Granados, de Falla ou Albéniz. Poète du piano, maître d’une harmonie oscillant toujours entre consonance et dissonance, qui permet aux accords de demeurer imparfaits, sa voix unique est mieux perçue quand « la solitude se fait musique », comme il l’explique lui-même dans la préface de Música callada.

Petit-fils de fondeurs de cloches, Mompou intègrera à plusieurs de ses oeuvres des allusions à ce thème, comme dans «La fuente y la campana » (La fontaine et la cloche), tirée de ses Paisajes, inspirée par une soirée passée en 1942 en compagnie de la jeune pianiste Carmen Bravo, sa fiancée. Après un concert donné au Palau de la Música Catalana, les amoureux profitent de la douceur de la nuit pour arpenter le magnifique quartier gothique de Barcelone. Se reposant autour de la fontaine d’un square, ils écoutent minuit sonner au loin, sombres sol soutenant une mélodie presque archaïque en mineur. Dans la section centrale, on devine l’ondoiement de l’eau, dans laquelle se fond la même mélodie auparavant esquissée.

« La musique d’Albéniz ne prétend ni plaider, ni prêcher, ni argumenter ; elle se transforme sur place comme les figures et les couleurs du kaléidoscope ; elle est un chant et une danse, mais ce chant nous envoûte et cette danse est une danse immobile bien que sans cesse changeante », résume Vladimir Jankélévitch. Loin de vouloir se dissocier du terreau qui l’a vu grandir, Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909) embrasse l’exubérante vitalité des foules, l’agitation des rassemblements populaires, les humbles musiques de la rue. Dans ses Tangos, comme ses Cubaines et ses Havanaises, à la sentimentalité surannée, il relit, relie les airs millénaires fredonnés en les sublimant en un nouveau folklore, espagnol dans sa quintessence même.

Né à Séville, élève de Vincent d’Indy et de Moritz Moszkowski, ami et protégé d’Albéniz, Joaquín Turina (1882-1949) a confié au piano certaines de ses pages les plus inspirées. Il faut retenir ici ses Danzas gitanas, aux rythmes et harmonies parfois âpres, tantôt crus, tantôt en demi-teintes, véritables tableaux expressifs. «Zambra », non dénuée à l’occasion d’une certaine nostalgie, reprend l’idée même de la fête, avec danse et chants. «Danza de la seducción » se veut tour à tour langoureuse, sinueuse, fiévreuse et tendre, tandis que «Danza ritual » se révèle plus tempérée, presque stoïque. Le perpetuum mobile qui traverse «Generalife », portrait du palais d’été des princes nasrides à Grenade, est ponctué d’hémioles qui rappellent le polo gitano. «Sacro-Monte », célèbre pour ses grottes où les Gitans donnaient des spectacles de flamenco, clôt le cycle.

Soleá a été composée en 1982 pour le centenaire de naissance de Turina. Élève de Boulez, Stockhausen, Ligeti et Adorno à Darmstadt, Tomás Marco (né en 1942 à Madrid) privilégie pourtant au tournant des années 1970 un retour à un certain nationalisme espagnol. La soleá, l’une des formes les plus prestigieuses du flamenco, généralement accompagnée par une seule guitare, a connu son âge d’or à la fin du 19e siècle, alors que les musiciens et danseurs se produisaient dans les cafés cantantes. Marco en a tiré une oeuvre dramatique, entre tradition et modernité.

Installé à Montréal depuis 1970, José Evangelista (né à Valence en 1943) garde au cœur de lui-même les sonorités de sa terre natale, qu’il n’hésite pas à mâtiner à celles du gamelan indonésien, de l’avant-garde occidentale ou du Moyen-Âge. Explorant sans relâche la mélodie et les échos qu’elle peut engendrer pour créer une illusion de polyphonie, il propose dans ses Nuevas monodías españolas une relecture de 21 airs traditionnels espagnols, principalement castillans, chants de labeur, d’amour, danses, berceuses ou historiettes. Le compositeur précise : « Comme dans le premier recueil [Monodías españolas, daté de 1988, enregistré également par Louise Bessette], j’ai pris deux choses en compte : d’abord, de nombreuses mélodies traditionnelles espagnoles sont toujours interprétées en monodie, avec des éléments rythmiques pour seul accompagnement ; ensuite, nombre de ces mélodies sont empreintes de caractéristiques modales, difficilement réconciliables avec le langage tonal. Ainsi, mes versions de ces mélodies n’utilisent ni harmonie, ni contrepoint. En conséquence, j’ai entrepris d’explorer un style pianistique où prédominent les changements de registre et
l’ornementation. Le but est de créer l’illusion que plusieurs voix effectuent simultanément de légères variations d’une même mélodie sur plusieurs octaves. »

Confluent d’émotions variées et contradictoires, l’Espagne reste sans aucun doute aussi multiple que les regards posés sur elle. Après tout, saurait-on décrire en quelques mots le
visage de l’être aimé ?

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9540 J.S. Bach – Cantata BWV 21
AN 2 9540 J.S. Bach – Cantata BWV 21
AN 2 9540 J.S. Bach – Cantata BWV 21

Start typing and press Enter to search