fbpx
AN 2 8780 Alma Oppressa Arias Vivaldi Handel

Alma Oppressa: Arias by Vivaldi and Handel

Release date January 27, 2017
Album code AN 2 8780
Periods Baroque

They spoke about it

Album information

VIVALDI – HANDEL: ARIAS

The characters brought to life in the Baroque-era operas of great composers such as Handel and Vivaldi – protagonists whose passions, loves, misfortunes, hopes, and longings unfold before us on stage – are, in reality, musical depictions of the myriad journeys experienced by the human soul. The arias and instrumental pieces excerpted from Baroque operas on this recording have been selected for their beauty and the emotion they convey.

ALMA OPPRESSA

This is perhaps the most striking aria of La fida ninfa. Kidnapped by a pirate who controls the island of Naxos, Licori, a shepherd’s daughter, expresses her despair with the words “a soul oppressed by cruel fate strives in vain to sooth her torment with another kind of torment, that of love”.

Antonio Vivaldi, La fida ninfa

SOVVENTE IL SOLE

It is believed that Andromeda liberata was written by several composers, but Sovvente il sole is almost certainly from Vivaldi’s pen. This magnificent aria features a gorgeous melodic line and a very effective dialogue between the voice of Perseus and the solo violin. The text reminds us that “the sun shines more brightly and pleasantly when it has previously been obscured by a dark cloud”.

Vivaldi, Andromeda liberata, Serenata veneziana

CON L’ALI DI COSTANZA

Prince Ariodante is betrothed to the King of Scotland’s daughter Ginevra. Borne on “wings of fidelity,” he sings of his love, which has kindled faith and hope in his heart. His joy manifests itself in a profusion of vocal acrobatics.

George Frideric Handel, Ariodante

LASCIA CH’IO PIANGA

Imprisoned in Argante’s palace, Almirena bemoans her captivity, rejects Argante’s declarations of love, and demands her freedom. In this touching lament, set to the rhythm of a sarabande, she sings, “Let me weep for my cruel fate and sigh for freedom”. One of Handel’s most famous and beautiful arias.

Handel, Rinaldo

SE POTESSERO I SOSPIR’ MIEI

The opera Imeneo opens with a lament by Tirinto, whose beloved Rosmene has been kidnapped by pirates. “If my weeping could force the waves to return the uncertain ship to this shore, I would unburden my heart of all its sighs right here on the strand”. Handel imbues the aria with great dignity and not a hint of sentimentality.

Handel, Imeneo

DITE OIMÈ! DITELO AL FINE

“Tell me, alas! Tell me at last, must I live or die? Already, my life is reaching its end, my soul prepared to take its leave”. Morasto sinks into despair, not realizing that his unswerving love for Licori will, after many ordeals, triumph in the end.

Vivaldi, La fida ninfa

QUI D’AMOR NEL SUO LINGUAGGIO

In the King of Scotland’s garden, Ariodante, a king’s vassal, communes with nature and expresses his joy at his betrothal to Ginevra. In their own language, the streams, meadows, and trees speak to him of love.

Handel, Ariodante

CARA SPEME, QUESTO CORE TU COMINCI A LUSINGAR

Young Sesto has just lost his father, Pompeo, whom the king of Egypt has had killed. Sesto swears to avenge his father’s death. While his mother, Cornelia, communes before her husband’s tomb, Cleopatra promises her aid, which elates Sesto, who sings, “Sweet hope, you begin to flatter my heart”.

Handel, Giulio Cesare

SALDA IN QUERCIA IN ERTA BALZA

The role of Teseo was premiered by the castrato Giovanni Carestini. Faced with the huge task of killing the Minotaur, the hero shows strength. Filled with confidence, he sings, “The stout oak stands tall when the wind blows, demonstrating its strength and courage”.

Handel, Arianna in Creta

© Luc Beauséjour
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
Julie Boulianne
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 8780 Alma Oppressa Arias Vivaldi Handel

Alma Oppressa : Arias de Vivaldi et Handel

Date de sortie 27 janvier 2017
Numéro de l'album AN 2 8780
Periodes Baroque

Ils en ont parlé

Informations sur l'album

VIVALDI – HANDEL : ARIAS

Lorsque les personnages des opéras de Handel ou de Vivaldi s’animent à travers toutes sortes de situations, ce sont les mouvements de l’âme humaine qui sont dépeints en musique. C’est un périple qui nous mène au coeur des passions, des amours, des malheurs, des espoirs… ou des soupirs des héros que nous offrent ces grands compositeurs de l’âge baroque. Nous vous proposons des airs choisis pour leur beauté et l’émotion qu’ils suscitent. Quelques pièces instrumentales provenant d’opéras figurent également sur cet enregistrement.

ALMA OPPRESSA

Cette aria est sans doute l’une des plus remarquables de La fida ninfa. Enlevée par un corsaire régnant sur l’île de Naxos, Licori, la fille d’un berger, traduit son malheur en ces mots : « Une âme accablée par un sort cruel pense en vain adoucir sa douleur par une autre douleur, l’amour. »

Antonio Vivaldi, La fida ninfa

SOVVENTE IL SOLE

On croit que la composition de l’Andromeda liberata est due à l’oeuvre de plusieurs compositeurs. La paternité de Sovvente il sole reviendrait à Vivaldi. Cette page magnifique se caractérise par la beauté de sa ligne mélodique et du dialogue très réussi entre le héros Persée et le violon solo. Le texte rappelle que « le soleil resplendit de façon plus belle et gracieuse si un nuage obscur l’a d’abord assombri. »

Vivaldi, Andromeda liberata, Serenata veneziana

CON L’ALI DI COSTANZA

Le prince Ariodante est fiancé à Ginevra, la fille du roi d’Écosse. Porté par des « ailes fidèles », il chante son amour qui fait triompher la foi et l’espérance en son coeur. Sa félicité se manifeste à travers d’abondantes vocalises.

George Frideric Handel, Ariodante

LASCIA CH’IO PIANGA

Prisonnière au palais d’Argante, Almirena pleure sa captivité. Elle rejette les déclarations d’amour d’Argante et réclame sa liberté. Dans une touchante complainte qui épouse des rythmes de sarabande, elle chante : « Laisse-moi pleurer sur mon sort cruel et soupirer pour la liberté. » Cet air est l’un des plus célèbres et des plus beaux écrits par Handel.

Handel, Rinaldo

SE POTESSERO I SOSPIR’ MIEI

L’opéra Imeneo s’ouvre par une lamentation de Tirinto qui vient de perdre Rosmene, qu’il aime et qui vient d’être enlevée par des pirates. « Si mes plaintes pouvaient contraindre les vagues à ramener vers ce rivage le navire incertain, je soulagerais mon coeur, là, sur la plage, de tous ses soupirs. » Handel confère à cet air une dignité loin de toute mièvrerie.

Handel, Imeneo

DITE OIMÈ! DITELO, AL FINE

« Dites-moi, hélas! Dites-moi enfin, dois-je vivre, ou mourir? Ma vie arrive à son terme, mon âme est déjà prête à me quitter. » Au moment où Morasto sombre dans le désespoir, il ignore que son amour indéfectible pour Licori, triomphera après de longues épreuves.

Vivaldi, La fida ninfa

QUI D’AMOR NEL SUO LINGUAGGIO

Dans les jardins du Roi d’Écosse, Ariodante, un vassal du roi, est heureux d’être le fiancé de Ginevra. Il est en pleine communion avec la nature. Dans leur langage, les ruisseaux, les herbages et les arbres lui parlent d’amour.

Handel, Ariodante

CARA SPEME, QUESTO CORE TU COMINCI A LUSINGAR

Le jeune Sesto vient de perdre son père, Pompée, qu’a fait tuer le roi d’Égypte. Sesto jure qu’il vengera sa mort. Au moment où sa mère, Cornélia, se recueille devant le monument de son époux, Cléôpâtre leur promet son aide. Sesto reprend alors espoir et chante : « Doux espoir, tu commences à flatter mon coeur. »

Handel, Giulio Cesare

SALDA QUERCIA IN ERTA BALZA

Le rôle de Teseo fut créé à l’époque par le castrat Carestini. Le héros se montre fort devant l’énorme défi qui l’attend, celui de tuer le Minotaure. Il est alors animé par la confiance. « Le robuste chêne se redresse lorsque le vent le harcèle plus encore et montre plus encore sa force et sa vaillance ».

Handel, Arianna in Creta

© Luc Beauséjour

Lire la suite

À propos

Julie Boulianne
AN 2 9927-8
AN 2 9927-8
AN 2 9927-8

Start typing and press Enter to search