fbpx
AN 2 9973

Corigliano, Rota, Korngold: Works for Piano

Performers
Release date September 07, 2010
Album code AN 2 9973
Periods 20th century
Genres Piano

Album information

For his very first solo album, Canadian pianist Jimmy Brière presents a recording of original works for piano written by composers we usually associate with film music: Corigliano (The Red Violin), Rota (The Godfather) and Korngold (Much Ado About Nothing). They have all attained international fame thanks to their contributions to the seventh art. From late romanticism to music known as “contemporary”, calling to mind blues and classical music, this album in various styles addresses itself as much to the seasoned music lover as to the fan of popular instrumental music.

Beyond the Oscars

On December 28, 1895—a symbolic date in the history of human artistic endeavour—a captivated audience first encountered the cinematograph. At the event, a pianist improvised over the projected images, both to mask the sound of the Lumière brothers’ new projector but also to lift viewers out of their daily lives and immerse them in an entirely new experience. With the arrival of “talking pictures,” these improvisers were no longer needed, and the movie soundtrack eventually became a fixed and intrinsic part of cinematic storytelling. It is not surprising, then, that composers such as Nino Rota, John Corigliano and Erich Korngold—the latter considered a mentor by John Williams and Jerry Goldsmith—wished to try their hands at the genre at one point or another in their careers. But to confine them to this role would be needlessly reductionist, hence Jimmy Brière’s desire to record some of the piano works of these Oscar-winning composers, who drew their early inspiration from the fertile ground of their own musical families.

As Korngold himself said in a 1946 interview: “Music is music whether it is for the stage, rostrum or cinema. Form may change, the manner of writing may vary, but the composer needs to make no concessions whatever to what he conceives to be his own musical ideology…”

Before arriving in Hollywood in the early 1930s and writing soundtracks to the likes of Captain Blood, Anthony Adverse, The Adventures of Robin Hood and The Sea Hawk, Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897–1957) had already composed much chamber music, opera and music for the stage. A child prodigy often compared to Mozart, he had composed his first works by 1905. The next year, on the recommendation of Gustav Mahler, Korngold’s father (a feared but respected music critic) convinced composer Alexander Zemlinsky to take the wunderkind under his wing. In 1910, the Viennese would discover his Der Schneemann (The Snowman), a two-act pantomime/ballet, and Munich audiences heard his Piano Trio Op. 1. “To learn that this music was composed by an eleven-year-old boy fills me with shock and fear and I do hope that even such a mature young genius will be able to develop normally, as one would wish him to. His confident style, his knowledge of form, his unusual expression, especially in the piano sonata [his first, written when he was 11]—it is really extraordinary,” wrote Richard Strauss.

On October 11, 1911, pianist Artur Schnabel did not hesitate to premiere Korngold’s Piano Sonata No. 2, a work that he defended throughout his prolific career. The four-movement work demands formidable technique from the performer—particularly in the tumultuous Scherzo—and demonstrates a remarkable depth. And while Korngold’s music tends to be imbued with the final emanations of Viennese romanticism, in terms of harmonic choices and melodic statements it does not lack a certain modernity.

Although the name of Nino Rota (1911-1979) will forever be linked to that of Federico Fellini, he had acquired a certain renown in his own right from a very young age; his first oratorio, L’infanzia di San Giovanni Battista, was performed in Milan and Paris while he was a mere 12 years old. A student of Alfredo Casella in Rome and later of Rosario Scalero and Fritz Reiner (in orchestral conducting) in Philadelphia, he began to write for the cinema in 1933. Yet he continued to write for other genres, composing operas, ballets and numerous orchestral works.

But his favourite medium was the piano. “When I’m creating at the piano, I tend to feel happy; but—the eternal dilemma—how can we be happy amid the unhappiness of others? I’d do everything I could to give everyone a moment of happiness. That’s what’s at the heart of my music,” he explained. Rota offers up a kaleidoscope of sensations and emotions in a series of preludes composed in 1964. Alternately spiritual, romantic, impressionistic and melancholy—sometimes tinged with the sarcasm of Prokofiev or the frank neoclassicism of Stravinsky—these outwardly simple works often reveal themselves to be veritable gems.

Son of the concertmaster of the New York Philharmonic and an accomplished pianist, the young John Corigliano (b. 1938) dreamed more of becoming an animator for Disney Studios than a musician. This fanciful outlook and surrealist imagination, which he associated with the medium, are perhaps two factors that caused him to turn on several occasions to the genre of the fantasy.
Composed in 1976 for the Washington Performing Arts Society’s Bicentennial Piano Series, the Etude Fantasy aroused public and critical interest from its premiere. “The Etude Fantasy is a work of unusual strengths both in design and content. The composer has written a set of five etudes which proceed in an unbroken line from the first, for left hand alone, through a closing page of desolate beauty not unlike the end of Schubert’s Winterreise or Chopin’s Second Ballade,” wrote Paul Hume in The Washington Post. Corigliano demonstrates in the work both an exceptional knowledge of the piano and an ability to use its sound palette in highly imaginative ways. The six motifs, all derived from the opening theme, are built on intervals of the major seventh (and its inversions, the minor second and ninth), the minor third and the perfect fifth. Writing that is virtuosic but never gratuitously so, a surprising range of intention, and close thematic connections between the five sections turn what could easily have become a stylistic exercise into a centerpiece.

The first etude, for left hand alone, weaves a dense, multi-faceted fabric that incorporates abrupt uses of the piano’s extreme registers and dynamic levels, along with a superimposition of different types of articulation. Even though the work is divided into five clearly marked sections, it retains the spontaneous character of a fantasy. In contrast to the first section, the second focuses on shadings of musical colour. The third and central section is based on the theme of a fifth contracting to a third and is characterized by an intentionally teasing humour, agitated rhythms, sudden changes of texture, and occasionally acrobatic use of the sustain pedal. The fourth, devoted to ornaments, descends again into a certain darkness and highlights the percussive side of the instrument. The final section, calm and lyrical, features a clear differentiation between melody and accompaniment and is based on previously heard material, bringing this cyclical form to a natural conclusion.

© Lucie Renaud
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 2 9136 Bach Oeuvres Celebres
AN 2 9136 Bach Oeuvres Celebres
AN 2 9136 Bach Oeuvres Celebres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9973

Corigliano, Rota, Korngold: Oeuvres pour piano

Interprètes
Date de sortie 07 septembre 2010
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9973
Periodes XXe siècle
Genres Piano

Informations sur l'album

Pour ce tout premier album solo, le pianiste canadien Jimmy Brière propose un enregistrement d’oeuvres originales pour piano écrites par des compositeurs habituellement associés à la musique de film: John Corigliano (The Red Violin), Nino Rota (The Godfather) et Erich Korngold (Much Ado About Nothing) ont tous acquis une notoriété internationale par leurs contributions musicales au septième art. Du romantisme tardif à la musique dite « contemporaine », en évoquant au passage le blues et le classique, cet album aux multiples styles s’adresse autant au mélomane aguerri qu’à l’amateur de musique populaire instrumentale.

Au-delà de l’Oscar

Le 28 décembre 1895, date symbolique dans l’aventure artistique humaine, un public subjugué découvre le cinématographe des frères Lumière. Un pianiste improvise sur les images présentées à l’écran, d’abord pour couvrir le bruit envahissant du projecteur alors sans paroi isolante, mais aussi pour plonger le spectateur dans un univers lui permettant de s’évader de son quotidien. Avec l’avènement du parlant, les improvisateurs seront mis au rencart et la bande-son deviendra part intrinsèque et immuable de la narration de l’histoire. Il n’est donc pas surprenant que plusieurs compositeurs, dont Nino Rota, John Corigliano et Erich Korngold – considéré par John Williams et Jerry Goldsmith comme véritable maître à penser – aient souhaité se frotter au genre à un moment ou l’autre de leur carrière. Les confiner à ce rôle s’avérerait toutefois inutilement réducteur et c’est pourquoi Jimmy Brière a voulu présenter ici certaines des pages consacrées au piano par ces compositeurs oscarisés, qui ont très tôt puisé leur inspiration dans le terreau fertile de familles musiciennes. Comme le disait lui-même Korngold en entrevue en 1946 : « La musique est la musique, qu’elle soit écrite pour la scène, la tribune ou le cinéma. La forme peut changer, la manière de l’écrire varier, mais le compositeur doit ne jamais faire de concessions à ce qu’il considère son idéologie musicale. »

Avant de débarquer à Hollywood au début des années 1930 et de signer les trames de Captain Blood, Anthony Adverse, The Adventures of Robin Hood ou The Sea Hawk, Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957) avait abordé à de nombreuses reprises les univers de la musique de chambre, de l’opéra et de la musique de scène. Enfant prodige souvent comparé à Mozart, le jeune musicien compose ses premières œuvres dès 1905. L’année suivante, sur les recommandations de Gustav Mahler, son père, critique musical craint autant que respecté, convainc Alexandre Zemlinsky de prendre le wunderkind sous son aile. En 1910, les Viennois découvriront Der Schneemann (Le bonhomme de neige), ballet/pantomine en deux actes et les Munichois son Trio pour piano opus 1. « De savoir que cette musique a été composée par un garçon de onze ans me renverse et me fait peur et j’espère qu’un jeune génie déjà si mature pourra se développer normalement, comme on pourrait lui souhaiter. Son style assuré, sa connaissance de la forme, son expressivité peu commune, surtout dans la sonate pour piano [sa première, composée à 11 ans] sont tout à fait extraordinaires », écrit alors Richard Strauss.

Le 11 octobre 1911, le pianiste Artur Schnabel n’hésite pas à créer la Deuxième Sonate, œuvre qu’il défendra tout au long de sa prolifique carrière. Ses quatre mouvements exigent de l’interprète une technique redoutable – particulièrement le tumultueux Scherzo – et démontrent une remarquable profondeur. Si la musique de Korngold laisse dans son sillage les derniers effluves du romantisme viennois, elle n’est toutefois pas dénuée d’une certaine modernité, tant dans ses choix harmoniques que ses énoncés mélodiques.

Si le nom de Nino Rota (1911-1979) restera toujours lié à celui de Federico Fellini, il ne faudrait pas oublier qu’il avait acquis une certaine renommée dès son plus jeune âge, son premier oratorio L’infanzia di San Giovanni Battista ayant été donné à Milan et Paris alors qu’il n’avait que 12 ans. Élève d’Alfredo Casella à Rome puis de Rosario Scalero et Fritz Reiner (en direction d’orchestre) à Philadelphie, il commence à écrire pour le cinéma dès 1933, sans pour autant négliger les autres formes, signant notamment opéras, ballets et de nombreuses pages orchestrales.

C’est pourtant au piano qu’il préfère composer. « Quand je crée au piano, j’ai tendance à me sentir heureux; mais – voilà l’éternel dilemme – comment pouvons-nous être heureux au milieu de la tristesse des autres? Je ferais tout en mon pouvoir pour donner à chacun un moment de bonheur. Voilà ce qui est au cœur même de ma musique », expliquait-il lui-même. Dans sa série de préludes, composés en 1964, Rota propose un kaléidoscope de sensations et d’émotions. Tour à tour spirituelles, romantiques, impressionnistes, mélancoliques, parfois teintées du sarcasme de Prokofiev ou optant pour le franc néoclassicisme de Stravinski, ces pages en apparence simples se révèlent souvent de véritables petits joyaux.
Fils du violon solo du New York Philharmonic et d’une pianiste accomplie, John Corigliano (né en 1938) rêvait plutôt de travailler comme dessinateur pour les studios Disney que de devenir musicien. Cet esprit fantaisiste et cette imagination surréaliste qu’il associe au médium ont peut-être été deux éléments qui l’ont poussé à se tourner à plusieurs reprises vers le genre de la fantaisie.

Composée en 1976 pour la série piano du bicentenaire de la Washington, D.C. Performing Arts Society, son Etude Fantasy a suscité dès la première l’intérêt du public et de la critique. « L’Etude Fantasy est une œuvre exceptionnellement forte, tant au niveau de sa conception que de son contenu, écrivait Paul Hume dans The Washington Post. Le compositeur a écrit une série de cinq études qui se développe en une ligne continue de la première, pour main gauche seule, aux dernières pages de beauté poignante qui rappelle la fin du Winterreise de Schubert ou la Deuxième Ballade de Chopin. » Corigliano y démontre une connaissance exceptionnelle de l’instrument mais surtout une utilisation imaginative de ses capacités sonores. Les six motifs, tous dérivés de celui d’ouverture, sont construits sur les intervalles de septième majeure – et ses permutations la seconde et la neuvième mineures –, de tierce mineure et de quinte juste. En intégrant des éléments virtuoses jamais dénués de sens, une palette étonnante d’intentions et des liens thématiques serrés entre les cinq sections, le compositeur transpose ce qui aurait pu s’avérer un exercice de style en œuvre maîtresse.
La première étude, pour la main gauche seule, tisse une toile dense et multiple, qui favorise l’utilisation abrupte des registres et nuances extrêmes de l’instrument et les superpositions de types d’articulation. Même si divisée en cinq sections clairement identifiées, elle possède le caractère spontané de la fantaisie.

En opposition, la deuxième mise sur des dégradés de teintes sonores. La troisième, basée sur un motif de quinte se contractant en tierce, occupe la place centrale du cycle. Elle privilégie une humeur volontiers taquine, une agitation rythmique, des changements subits de textures et une tenue de pédale parfois acrobatique. La quatrième, consacrée aux ornements, plonge de nouveau dans une certaine noirceur et met en lumière le côté percussif de l’instrument. La dernière, lyrique et sereine, privilégie une différenciation claire entre mélodie et accompagnement, tout en reprenant le matériel précédemment exposé, menant cette forme cyclique à sa conclusion naturelle.

© Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8745 Max Richter Portrait
AN 2 8745 Max Richter Portrait
AN 2 8745 Max Richter Portrait

Start typing and press Enter to search