fbpx
AN 2 8922 Canadian National Brass Project

Canadian National Brass Project

Album information

Until fifty years ago, it was rare to hear a symphonic brass ensemble of any size. In 1968, The Antiphonal Music of Gabrieli, one of the best-loved brass recordings of all time, was recorded by the brass sections of the Philadelphia Orchestra, Cleveland Orchestra and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and became an instant success inspiring symphonic brass players around the world to come together in various combinations ever since.

O magnum Mysterium arranged for brass by Morten Lauridsen (2004)

Brass instruments and choirs have much in common in terms of sound production and have always enjoyed a close association. When Morten Lauridsen wrote his beautiful choral setting of O magnum mysterium, he was asked to arrange it for brass by Jonathan Ring, of the San Francisco Symphony and Bay Brass. The result is exquisite and we are most grateful for the chance to record and perform this work.

Magnificat à 17 (1615) by Giovanni Gabrieli arranged for brass by J. Scott Irvine (2016)

J. Scott Irvine, a Toronto tuba player and composer, has written a salute to the 1968 Gabrieli recording with an arrangement of Gabrieli’s Magnificat à 17, a work for four separate brass choirs placed around a large church. In recent years, there has been a move towards performing Renaissance works on original instruments, but we are sure that Gabrieli, while having never dreamed of the power and sonority of modern brass instruments, would, nevertheless, revel in the experience of hearing his great works played on modern instruments four hundred years on.

Concerto for Brass by Kevin Lau (2016)

Kevin Lau is a Canadian composer whose varied work is being performed by ensembles across the country. He is equally at home writing film music, string quartets or works for symphony orchestra. He has composed several works for brass, including his Concerto for Brass, which was commissioned by the Hannaford Street Silver Band as a work for Brass Band. This symphonic adaptation was made possible thanks to a generous gift from Tom Smee. In Kevin’s words: “The work is a miniature brass symphony in two movements (slow, fast) which explores the various characters of the ensemble in depth. Each family of instruments has a chance to shine, lyrically and virtuosically: hence the ‘concerto’ aspect of the title. The first movement, Haven, opens serenely; a lone cornet solo glides above a landscape of lush, chromatically decadent harmonies. But this externally placid environment is soon disrupted by inner demons, and the music takes on an anxious, harried quality. The second movement, C.A.G.E., is built on an obsessive motive consisting of those four notes, or more specifically, C#, A, G#, E, strongly implying C# minor. Throughout the course of this ferocious Allegro, the music constantly struggles to escape the confines of this harmonic “cage” symbolized by a fugue-like refrain that embeds statements of the motive throughout the ensemble like a hall of mirrors. The climax of the movement offers a glimpse of hope, with a key change that naturalizes the notes (C, A, G, E) suggesting the emergence of C major. But at the last moment, the music reverts back to its original form. The movement ends with an altered statement of the motive (A,G#,E, C#) that ends resoundingly, like the final nail in a coffin”.

How to Fake Your Own Death by Nicole Lizée (2015)

On the subject of coffins, prolific Canadian composer Nicole Lizée offers a new work for brass, How to Fake Your Own Death. Commissioned by James Sommerville for the CNBP, this world premiere recording features James as both horn soloist and conductor. This is no mean feat, as Lizée’s music contains complicated rhythmic passages and abrupt tempo changes. Much of Lizée’s work is based upon visual images, especially from film, and she writes: “This piece is inspired in part by the ornate murder plot in Hitchcock’s Vertigo (involving passing off a dead body as a suicide victim) as well as the eerie image of Clint Eastwood’s papier mâché decoy body in Escape from Alcatraz. Things are not as they seem. The labyrinthine melodic twists mirror the vertiginous feelings of James Stewart’s character, while metric modulation serves as a kind of subjective reality in a nod to the makeshift reality of papier mâché Eastwood”.

Pictures at an Exhibition by Modest Moussorgsky (1874) arranged for brass by Elgar Howarth (1979)

Mussorgsky’s original composition Pictures at an Exhibition was written for piano, and there have been many arrangements for orchestra and large ensemble, most famously by Maurice Ravel. Elgar Howarth’s brass arrangement, originally for the Phillip Jones Brass Ensemble, is an excellent example, preserving the spirit of both of the original and the orchestral arrangements that followed.

Read more

About

Canadian National Brass Project
AN 2 8748 Pulsations
AN 2 8748 Pulsations

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 8922 Canadian National Brass Project

Canadian National Brass Project

Informations sur l'album

Avant ces cinquante dernières années, il était rare de pouvoir écouter un ensemble de cuivres, et ce quelle que soit sa taille. En 1968, The Antiphonal Music of Gabrieli, un des albums de musique pour cuivres les mieux reçus de tous les temps, a été enregistré par les cuivristes de l’Orchestre de Philladelphie, l’Orchestre de Cleveland et l’Orchestre symphonique de Chicago. Il a connu un succès instantané qui a inspiré de nombreux joueurs de cuivres autour du monde à former des ensembles de taille diverse.

O magnum Mysterium arrangé pour cuivres par Morten Lauridsen (2004)

Les cuivres et des chœurs ont beaucoup en commun en matière de sonorités, et ont toujours fait l’objet d’associations. Quand Morten Lauridsen a écrit sa merveilleuse œuvre liturgique O magnum mysterium, il lui a été demandé de l’adapter pour cuivres par Jonathan Ring de l’Orchestre symphonique de San Francisco et de l’ensemble Bay Brass. Le résultat est sublime et nous sommes très reconnaissants d’avoir la chance d’interpréter et d’enregistrer cette œuvre.

Magnificat à 17 (1615) de Giovanni Gabrieli arrangé pour cuivres par J. Scott Irvine (2016)

Le joueur de de tuba et compositeur J. Scott Irvine, originaire de Toronto, a écrit une pièce qui rend hommage à l’enregistrement The Antiphonal Music of Gabrieli : une adaptation du Magnificat à 17 de Gabrieli, une œuvre avec quatre ensembles de cuivres dispersés dans une grande église. Ces dernières années, une tendance à interpréter la musique de la Renaissance avec des instruments d’origine est apparue. Cependant, nous sommes certains que Gabrieli, qui n’a pu connaître la puissance et la sonorité des cuivres modernes, se serait réjoui, quatre cents ans plus tôt, de voir son œuvre jouée par des instruments modernes.

Concerto pour cuivres de Kevin Lau (2016)

Kevin Lau est un compositeur canadien dont le répertoire est interprété par divers ensembles à travers le pays. À domicile, il écrit aussi bien de la musique de film, des quatuors pour cordes que des pièces pour orchestre symphonique. Il a composé de nombreuses œuvres pour cuivres, incluant son Concerto pour cuivres, commande du Hannaford Street Silver Band. Cette adaptation symphonique a été rendue possible grâce au don généreux de Tom Smee. Kevin nous dit : « Cette œuvre est une courte symphonie pour cuivres en deux mouvements (lent et rapide) qui explore les différentes personnalités que renferme l’ensemble. Chaque famille d’instruments est mis en valeur à la fois dans leur lyrisme et leur virtuosité : d’où le titre de concerto. Le premier mouvement Haven est une ouverture sereine ; un solo de cornet plane au-dessus d’un paysage d’harmonies sonores dont les couleurs s’estompent. Mais cet environnement en apparence tranquille est rapidement perturbé par des démons cachés. La musique devient alors angoissante et troublante. Le second mouvement, C.A.G.E., est construit sur un motif obsessionnel qui consiste de quatre notes que sont do dièse, la, sol dièse et mi, laissant transparaître un do dièse mineur. Tout au long de cet Allegro fougueux, la musique peine à s’échapper de cette cage symbolisée par un refrain aux allures de fugue et tapissé du motif sonore comme une Galerie des Glaces. L’apogée du mouvement offre une lueur d’espoir, avec un changement clé qui nous acclimate aux quatre notes, ces dernières laissant entrevoir un do dièse majeur. Mais au dernier moment, la musique reprend sa forme d’origine. Le mouvement prend fin avec une expression transformée du motif (la, sol dièse, mi et do dièse)  qui finit de façon retentissante, comme le dernier clou planté dans un cercueil. »

How to Fake Your Own Death de Nicole Lizée (2015)

Dans la thématique du cercueil, la prolifique compositrice canadienne Nicole Lizée offre une nouvelle œuvre pour cuivres, How to Fake Your Own Death. Présentée en première mondiale, cette pièce a été commandée par James Sommerville du Canadian National Brass Project qui l’interprète en tant que soliste corniste et chef d’orchestre. Ce n’est pas une tâche facile, car la musique de Lizée contient des passages rythmiques complexes et des changements abrupts de tempo. Une grande partie de l’œuvre de Lizée s’inspire d’images tirées d’œuvres cinématographiques, comme elle explique : « Cette pièce est en partie inspirée du complot d’assassinat élaboré dans Vertigo d’Hitchcock (qui fait passer un meurtre pour un suicide) ainsi que de l’image troublante du corps en papier mâché qui sert de leurre à Clint Eastwood dans L’Évadé d’Alcatraz. Les choses ne sont pas ce qu’elles semblent être. Le dédale de virages mélodiques reflète le vertige du personnage de James Stewart, tandis que les changements de tempo font office de réalité subjective en clin d’œil à la réalité improvisée en papier mâché par Eastwood ».

Tableaux d’une exposition de Modeste Moussorgski (1874) arrangé pour cuivres par Elgar Howarth (1979)

À l’origine, Tableaux d’une exposition de Moussorgski a été écrit pour piano, et de nombreux arrangements ont été écrits pour orchestre et grand ensemble, le plus notable étant celui de Maurice Ravel. L’arrangement pour cuivres d’Elgar Howarth, écrit pour l’ensemble de cuivres Philip Jones, en est un excellent exemple. Il préserve l’esprit de l’œuvre d’origine et des arrangements pour orchestre qui ont suivi.

Lire la suite

À propos

Canadian National Brass Project
AN 2 8748 Pulsations
AN 2 8748 Pulsations

Start typing and press Enter to search