fbpx
AN 2 9984

Amoroso

Release date March 19, 2013
Album code AN 2 9984
Periods 20th century

Album information

Amoroso

Love stories – literary, clandestine and youthful – provide an intense background for the three works on this recording, all dating from the first quarter of the last century. Tolstoy’s novella The Kreutzer Sonata provided Czech composer Leoš Janá?ek with the starting point for the first of his two string quartets. Its tale of passion, jealousy and chamber music is narrated by Pozdnyshev, a jealous and domineering husband, who, suspecting that his wife was having a love affair rather than a musical partnership with a violinist, is driven by jealousy to murder her with a dagger. Janá?ek identifies with the unnamed wife, rather than with underlying themes in Tolstoy’s polemical narrative: “I had in mind a poor woman, tormented, beaten, battered to death,” he wrote to Kamila Stösslová, his confidante and would-be mistress. He wrote the quartet quickly to an informal commission from the Czech Quartet in 1923, adapting music from an unpublished piano trio based on the same literary source. The poignant, pleading opening theme of the quartet clearly characterizes the victim (and also, apparently, suggests a Moravian folksong that Janá?ek admired). This theme recurs like a motto in various guises throughout the quartet. The first movement is dominated by a more assertive theme, representing the overbearing husband. The scherzo-like second movement includes the rhythm of a polka and the introduction of the elegant musician, Trukhachevski. In the third movement there is an allusion to Beethoven‘s Kreutzer sonata, which was played by the lovers in Tolstoy’s story during a musical soirée. The finale opens with agitated music that represents Pozdynshev’s jealousy. As references to music from earlier movements recur, they are dominated by the poignant, pleading theme of the opening. It is a touching and powerful recollection of the wife as she lies dying.

With the Lyric Suite’s descriptive movement titles – jovial, amorous, mysterious, passionate, delirious and desolate – Viennese composer Alban Berg suggests an underlying program. Musical quotations from Zemlinsky and Tristan und Isolde add fuel to the fire. “Like anyone who commits a perfect crime,” musicologist George Perle wrote, “Berg was proud of his accomplishment and wanted us to know about it.” In the 1960s, Berg’s pupil, theorist Theodor Adorno suggested that the entire suite was a ‘latent opera.’ But it was only in 1977 that it became certain that biographical events had, indeed, driven the very creation of the piece. Perle uncovered an extensively notated score in Berg’s hand, proving that the hidden libretto of Berg’s ‘latent opera’ lay in a real-life, hitherto unsuspected, clandestine love story.

At the heart of all six movements is a four-note musical cell, comprising the notes A-Bb-B?-F. These are derived from the initials of Berg and Hanna Fuchs-Robettin, wife of an industrialist from Prague, with whom he had a ten-year surreptitious relationship. “I have secretly inserted our initials into the music,” Berg wrote in the notated score he gave to Hanna. “May it be a small monument to a great love.” But this is only the beginning. Most of the score’s 90 pages contain careful annotations, drawn in three different coloured inks. “I have written much that has other meanings into this score for you, to whom, and only for whom every note of this work was written,” he added. The four-note cell is used to determine technical features of the score. To it, Berg added more cryptographic and numerological procedures. “Every movement is related to our numbers: 10 and 23,” he wrote, referring to the number (23) he believed governed his own destiny, and 10, Hanna’s number. These are crucial to the structure of the piece. Berg himself viewed the path of the Lyric Suite, one of his most acclaimed works, as “the large unfolding . . . of an overall programmatic concept: ‘Subjection to Fate.’”

In 1905, Austrian composer Anton Webern was head-over-heels in love with his cousin, Wilhelmine Mörtl, with whom he took a walking vacation to Lower Austria, just west of Vienna. The 21 year-old composer wrote effusive diary entries about their idyllic time together (‘a fairyland’ . . . ‘floods of gold’ . . . ‘a forest symphony’ . . . ‘two souls had wed’). Webern composed the lushly romantic Langsamer Satz in Vienna that summer, having almost completed the first of four years of intensive private composition studies with Schoenberg, concurrent with doctoral studies in musicology at the University of Vienna. It was one of well over 100 finished and sketched student compositions and exercises that he would complete during his time with Schoenberg, most of it remaining unpublished. This single movement, published 1965, with a tripartite A-B-A structure plus coda, inhabits the intense, nocturnal, emotionally charged landscape of his teacher’s Verklärte Nacht of six years earlier. Its polyphonic lines reveal a close study of Brahms, while the intoxicating, last-gasp, late romantic harmonies are a path that Webern would soon leave behind. Of his chosen medium for this love song, Webern was shortly to write to his brother-in-law: “Quartet playing is the most glorious music-making there is.”

Notes © 2013 Keith Horner

Read more

About

Cecilia String Quartet
AN 2 9530 Kuhlau Grandes Sonates
AN 2 9530 Kuhlau Grandes Sonates

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9984

Amoroso

Date de sortie 19 mars 2013
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9984
Periodes XXe siècle

Informations sur l'album

Amoroso

Les histoires d’amour – littéraires, clandestines ou de jeunesse – servent de toile de fond aux trois œuvres de cet enregistrement, toutes datant du premier quart du dernier siècle. La novella de Tolstoï La Sonate à Kreutzer a inspiré le compositeur tchèque Leoš Janá?ek lors de l’écriture du premier de ses deux quatuors à cordes. Cette histoire de passion, de jalousie et de musique de chambre est narrée par Pozdnychev, mari dominateur. Rongé par la jalousie, soupçonnant que sa femme entretient une liaison amoureuse et non seulement musicale avec un violoniste, il la tue avec un poignard. Janá?ek s’identifie à la femme non nommée plutôt qu’aux thèmes sous-jacents du récit polémique de Tolstoï. « J’avais en tête une pauvre femme, tourmentée, battue à mort, écrit-il à Kamila Stösslová, sa confidente, qui deviendrait sa maîtresse. Il a écrit le quatuor rapidement pour remplir une commande informelle du Quatuor tchèque en 1923, adaptant la musique d’un trio avec piano non publié basé sur la même source littéraire. Le poignant thème implorant d’ouverture dépeint parfaitement la victime (et rappelle également, semble-t-il, un chant folklorique morave que Janá?ek admirait). Il revient comme un leitmotiv sous différentes formes à travers le quatuor. Le premier mouvement est dominé par un thème plus assuré, représentant le mari autoritaire. Le deuxième mouvement, proche du scherzo, comprend le rythme d’une polka et l’introduction de l’élégant musicien, Troukhatchevski. On retrouve dans le troisième mouvement une allusion à la Sonate à Kreutzer de Beethoven, jouée par les amants dans l’histoire de Tolstoï lors d’une soirée musicale. Le final s’ouvre sur une musique agitée représentant la jalousie de Pozdnychev. Au fur et à mesure que des références aux mouvements précédents surgissent, elles sont dominées par le poignant thème implorant du début, souvenir touchant et puissant de la femme alors qu’elle se meurt.

À travers les titres descriptifs de sa Suite lyrique – jovial, amoureux, mystérieux, passionné, délirant et désolé –, le compositeur viennois Alban Berg suggère un programme sous-jacent. Des citations musicales de Zemlinsky et Tristan und Isolde jettent de l’huile sur le feu. « Comme quiconque commet le crime parfait, écrit le musicologue George Perle, Berg était fier de son coup et voulait que nous le sachions. » Dans les années 1960, le théoricien Theodor Adorno, étudiant de Berg, a suggéré que toute la suite était un « opéra latent », mais ce ne fut qu’en 1977 que l’on a appris avec certitude que des événements biographiques avaient de fait mené à la création même de cette œuvre. Perle a découvert une partition abondamment annotée de la main de Berg, prouvant que le livret caché de son « opéra latent » était basé sur une aventure clandestine jusque-là insoupçonnée.

Une cellule musicale de quatre notes, composée des notes lasi bémol – si bécarre – fa, est nichée au cœur des six mouvements. Celle-ci est dérivée des initiales de Berg et Hanna Fuchs-Robettin, femme d’un industriel de Prague, avec laquelle il a entretenu une relation discrète pendant dix ans. « J’ai secrètement inséré nos initiales dans la musique, a écrit Berg sur la partition annotée qu’il a remise à Hanna. Puisse celle-ci être un petit monument érigé à un grand amour. » Ce n’était pourtant que le début. La grande majorité de la partition de 90 pages comprend des annotations minutieuses, en trois couleurs différentes. « J’ai écrit beaucoup de choses dans cette partition qui auront une autre signification pour toi, et seulement pour toi, à qui chaque note de cette œuvre est dédiée », a-t-il ajouté. La cellule de quatre notes est utilisée pour déterminer les caractéristiques techniques de la partition. Berg a intégré à ceci d’autres procédés cryptés et numérologiques. « Chaque mouvement est lié à nos chiffres : 10 et 23 », écrit-il, faisant référence au nombre (23) qui, selon lui, gouvernait son destin, et 10, celui d’Hanna. Ces nombres sont cruciaux dans la structure de la pièce. Berg lui-même voyait la trajectoire de la Suite lyrique, l’une de ses œuvres les plus acclamées, comme « le large déploiement […] d’un concept programmatique global : “Subjétion au destin”. »

En 1905, le compositeur autrichien Anton Webern était amoureux fou de sa cousine, Wilhelmine Mörtl, avec laquelle il prit des vacances pour marcher jusqu’en basse Autriche, tout juste à l’Ouest de Vienne. Le compositeur de 21 ans se confia de façon expansive à son journal, racontant les instants idylliques passés ensemble (« un conte de fée » […] « des fleuves d’or » […] « une symphonie de la forêt » […] deux âmes s’épousent »). Webern a composé un Langsamer Satz luxuriant et romantique à Vienne cet été-là, après avoir presque complété la première des quatre années d’études intensives en composition avec Schoenberg, entreprises dans le cadre de son doctorat en musicologie à l’Université de Vienne. Un parmi plus de 100 œuvres et exercices ébauchés et terminés sous la tutelle de Schoenberg, la plupart toujours non publiés, le mouvement indépendant, édité en 1965, possédant une structure tripartite A-B-A suivi d’une coda, rejoint le paysage intense, nocturne, chargé d’émotion de la Verklärte Nacht de son professeur, écrite six ans plus tôt. Ses lignes polyphoniques témoignent d’une étude rigoureuse de Brahms, alors que les ultimes harmonies enivrantes du romantisme tardif seraient bientôt abandonnées par Webern. Évoquant son choix de véhicule pour ce chant d’amour, Webern écrirait peu après son achèvement à son beau-frère : « Le quatuor est la plus glorieuse création musicale. »

© 2013 Keith Horner
Traduction: Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

Cecilia String Quartet
AN 2 8788 Beethoven Strauss
AN 2 8788 Beethoven Strauss

Start typing and press Enter to search