fbpx
AN 2 9892

Dvorak: Quartet Op. 106, 6 Cypresses, 2 Waltzes

Release date March 13, 2012
Album code AN 2 9892
Periods Romantic

Album information

Dvo?ák originally wrote his collection of Cypresses (Cyp?iše) as songs when he was 23 and head over heels in love with one of his students, 16-year-old Josefa (Josefina) ?ermáková, the daughter of a goldsmith. Dvo?ák’s 18 love songs, to intimate and somewhat sentimental texts by Gustav Pfleger-Moravský, took him a little over two weeks to compose. Josefa did not return Dvo?ák’s attention and the cycle remained unpublished – though eight years later, Dvo?ák again fell in love, this time with Josefa’s younger sister Anna, with whom he was to share a long and comfortable marriage. He turned to the songs several times throughout his career. “Think about a young man in love – this is what they are about,” he wrote when publishing eight of them as his Love Songs, Op. 83. Then, in the spring of 1887, Dvo?ák made a version of a dozen of these gentle, lyrical songs for string quartet. He called them Cypresses, only slightly changing the original songs to best preserve their freshness and directness. Not published until 1921, the pieces are attractive, immediately appealing and full of the musical hallmarks of the Dvo?ák we know from the works of his maturity.

Dvo?ák spent Christmas 1895 at his country home at Vysoká, just outside Prague. He was working confidently and had already completed the String Quartet in G, B.192, Op. 106, his thirteenth quartet, over a four-week period, in November and early December. He spent Christmas Day putting the final touches to yet another quartet and just five days later, this quartet, too, was finished. Dvo?ák had composed two of his finest quartets in less than two months. However, the ease and pleasure with which he created them came after a period when the ink had run dry.

Behind him was a second visit to the United States. Artistically, it had been a success. He could look back with pride on the new cello concerto, the New World Symphony, the American String Quartet and more. But Dvo?ák had felt cut off from his friends and relatives. He had been isolated from the Bohemian countryside and from a life that provided inspiration for his creativity. “Oh, if only I were home again!” the homesick Dvo?ák had written from New York. He and his wife returned to Bohemia for good in the spring of 1895. Once back in familiar surroundings, Dvo?ák resumed his former routine. He started the day with an early morning stroll in Karlsplatz Park and taught at the Prague Conservatory. He checked the comings and goings of the railway trains he loved to watch. He had regular evening meetings with younger musicians and actors in Mahulik’s restaurant and with leading Prague artists at Friday soirées at the home of his friend, the architect Josef Hlávka.

Work on the G major quartet freed a creative block that had lasted for nine months, the longest fallow period in Dvo?ák’s life. Now he could write: “I work so easily and everything goes ahead so well that I could not wish it better.” The two String Quartets, Opp. 106 and 105 (written in this order) can be viewed as a summing up of all that he found good in the world. They are an affirmation of life and nature and, as his last chamber works, reveal a total mastery of the medium. The G major Quartet opens in a positive, assertive manner. Its first theme is joyous and forward driving. It contrasts with a lyrical, folksong-like second theme that is passed around the instruments. Dvo?ák’s craft is superb and carries over to the slow movement, the centrepiece of the quartet. The Adagio is eloquent and elegantly written, lofty in ambition, and one of the composer’s finest string quartet movements. A busy and vigorous Scherzo follows, Mendelssohn-like at times, but with a touch of country earthiness. The finale begins exuberantly but includes wistful, somewhat nostalgic music in its pages. It also brings in echoes of the opening movement before being swept along to an affirmative, joyful conclusion.

The two Waltzes, B.105, Op. 54 started life in 1879, with a request for dance music for a ball organised by the Národní Beseda, a patriotic organisation in Prague. Dvo?ák and other leading composers, including Smetana and Fibich, were each asked to provide a series of linked waltzes. Dvorák soon realized, however, that his waltzes were more appropriate to concert or salon performance than dancing, so he composed an altogether new set of dances for the ball called Prague Waltzes. He then re-worked the original music into a set of eight waltzes for piano and arranged the two most popular movements for strings. The first is a gently rocking and distinctly Czech waltz, with faster-paced episodes. The Allegro vivace has the character of one of Dvo?ák’s Slavonic Dances.

© Keith Horner

Read more

About

Cecilia String Quartet
AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8

Start typing and press Enter to search

Ground Midnight | James Gelfand TrioRavel, Boudreau, Rimsky-Korsakov: The Bounds of our Dreams / Aux Frontières de nos Rêves | Alain Lefèvre, National Arts Centre Orchestra & Alexander Shelley

fbpx
AN 2 9892

Dvorak: Quatuor Op. 106, 6 Cyprès, 2 Valses

Compositeurs
Date de sortie 13 mars 2012
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9892
Periodes Romantique

Informations sur l'album

À l’origine, Dvo?ák avait conçu Cyprès (Cyp?iše) comme un recueil de mélodies; il avait alors 23 ans et était follement amoureux de l’une de ses étudiantes de 16 ans, Josefa (Josefina) ?ermáková, fille d’orfèvre. Dvo?ák mettra un peu plus de deux semaines pour composer ces 18 chants d’amour, sur des textes intimes et vaguement sentimentaux de Gustav Pfleger-Moravský. Josefa n’a pas cédé aux avances de Dvo?ák et le cycle n’a pas été publié, mais huit ans plus tard, Dvo?ák tomberait de nouveau amoureux, cette fois de la jeune sœur de Josefa, Anna, avec laquelle il connaîtrait de nombreuses années de félicité maritale. Plusieurs fois au cours de sa carrière, il reviendrait à ces pages. « Pensez à un jeune homme amoureux – voilà de quoi elles traitent », devait-il écrire quand il en publia huit sous le titre Chants d’amour, opus 83. Puis, au printemps 1887, Dvo?ák dédia une douzaine de ces doux chants lyriques au quatuor à cordes. Il les nomma Cyprès, modifiant légèrement les mélodies originales afin de mieux les entourer de fraîcheur et d’authenticité. Ne devant être publiées qu’en 1921, ces pièces attrayantes et charmantes renferment nombre de caractéristiques du Dvo?ák que nous avons appris à connaitre à travers ses œuvres de maturité.

En 1895, Dvo?ák a passé Noël à Vysoká, sa maison de campagne située en bordure de Prague. Il travaillait avec assurance et avait déjà complété, sur une période de quatre semaines, de la fin novembre au début décembre, son Treizième Quatuor à cordes, en sol majeur, B. 192, opus 106. Le jour de Noël, il mettait la dernière touche à un autre quatuor qui, cinq jours à peine après, serait également terminé. Dvo?ák a ainsi composé deux de ses plus remarquables quatuors en moins de deux mois, mais cette facilité et ce plaisir faisaient suite à une période de sécheresse créative.

Une deuxième visite aux États-Unis, un succès artistique, était déjà chose du passé. Il pouvait regarder avec fierté derrière lui en considérant son nouveau Concerto pour violoncelle, sa Symphonie « du Nouveau Monde », son Quatuor à cordes « américain » et bien d’autres pages. Pourtant, Dvo?ák se sentait loin de ses amis et de sa famille. Il avait été tenu à l’écart de la campagne de Bohème et d’un quotidien qui alimentait sa créativité. « Oh, si je pouvais être de nouveau de retour à la maison », écrivait-il, installé à New York, souffrant du mal du pays. Sa femme et lui devaient retrouver la Bohème pour de bon au printemps 1895. De retour dans des lieux familiers, Dvo?ák reprit sa routine initiale. De bon matin, il amorçait sa journée par une marche dans le parc de Karlsplatz, puis enseignait au Conservatoire de Prague. Il suivait les allées et venues des trains, activité qu’il aimait particulièrement. Le soir, il rencontrait régulièrement de jeunes musiciens et acteurs dans le restaurant de Mahulik et participait le vendredi à des soirées avec des artistes praguois importants chez son ami, l’architecte Josef Hlávka.

L’achèvement du Quatuor en sol majeur mit fin à un blocage créatif qui avait duré neuf mois, la plus longue période de jachère que connaîtrait Dvo?ák. Il pouvait maintenant écrire : « Je travaille si facilement et tout va si bien que je ne pourrais rien souhaiter de mieux. » Les deux quatuors à cordes, opus 106 et 105 (écrits dans cet ordre), peuvent être perçus comme un concentré de qu’il considérait le meilleur dans le monde. Ils se veulent une affirmation de la vie et de la nature et, en tant que dernières œuvres de musique de chambre, révèlent un compositeur maîtrisant entièrement le véhicule. Le Quatuor en sol majeur s’ouvre de façon affirmative, assurée. Son premier thème est joyeux et va de l’avant, en contraste avec le deuxième thème lyrique, presque folklorique, qui circule d’un instrument à l’autre. L’art de Dvo?ák, superbement accompli, nous mène au mouvement lent, pièce maîtresse du quatuor. L’Adagio, éloquent et élégamment écrit, d’ambition noble, est l’un des mouvements pour quatuor à cordes les plus réussis du compositeur. Un scherzo animé et vigoureux suit, Mendelssohnien par moments, mais doté d’une touche de truculence campagnarde. Le finale commence de façon exubérante, mais comprend des sections mélancoliques, presque nostalgiques, en son centre. On y retrouve également des échos du mouvement d’ouverture, balayés par une conclusion affirmative et joyeuse.

Les deux Valses, B. 105, opus 54 sont nées en 1879 alors que le compositeur recevait une commande de musique de danse pour un bal organisé par la Národní Beseda, organisation patriotique de Prague. Dvo?ák et d’autres éminents compositeurs, dont Smetana et Fibich, devaient fournir une série de valses liées. Dvo?ák devait bientôt réaliser que ses valses se révélaient plus propices à des interprétations au concert ou dans les salons que comme accompagnement de danse et il se mit donc à une toute nouvelle série de danses pour le bal, les Valses de Prague. Il transforma par la suite la musique originale en une suite de huit valses pour piano, avant d’arranger les deux plus populaires pour cordes. La première est une valse oscillante, distinctement tchèque, comprenant des épisodes plus rapides. L’Allegro vivace possède le même caractère qu’une Danse slave de Dvo?ák

© Keith Horner
Traduction: Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

Cecilia String Quartet
AN 2 8788 Beethoven Strauss

Start typing and press Enter to search