fbpx
AN 2 9844 Mendelssohn Quatuor à Cordes

Mendelssohn: String Quartet Op. 44 nos 1 & 2

Release date October 02, 2015
Album code AN 2 9844
Periods Romantic

They spoke about it

Album information

The three quartets of opus 44 are the centrepiece of Felix Mendelssohn’s mature string quartets. He wrote them in the years 1837-38, starting composition at the age of 28, when his fame in the international musical community was rapidly growing. The oratorio St. Paul had recently brought international success. He had directed the renowned Gewandhaus Orchestra in Leipzig since 1835. Now, he travelled constantly between the important musical centres of Europe – conducting, advising major cultural and educational committees, composing commissioned works to order for the major festivals and performing as a pianist, organist and chamber musician for the public and royalty of Europe. Family matters similarly came fast and furious with his wedding to Cécile Jeanrenaud, the daughter of a French Protestant clergyman, in March 1837 and the establishment of a new home in Leipzig.

He began composition of the opus 44 quartets during his honeymoon in the Black Forest and completed the earliest of them, in E minor, on June 18, 1837. The E-flat major quartet followed on February 6 of the following year, the day before the birth of his first son, Carl Wolfgang Paul. The last to be completed, in D major, followed on July 24, 1838. With all three complete, Mendelssohn re-ordered them, giving them the numbering we know today and published the set as Trois Grands Quatuors, with a dedication to the Crown Prince of Sweden.

Mendelssohn held the Quartet in D major, Op. 44, No. 1 in high regard. It was the first of the three to be published but the last to be written. “I have just finished my Quartet in D,” he wrote to the violinist Ferdinand David, a close friend and concertmaster of the Gewandhaus Orchestra. “I like it very much. I hope it may please you as well. I rather think it will, since it is more spirited and seems to me likely to be more grateful to the players than the others.” David and his quartet had already premiered the two earlier opus 44 quartets and now gave the first performance of the D major at one of the quartet’s regular matinées, on February 16, 1839.

The opening movement is an exuberant and high spirited conversation between the four instruments, confidently written and carefully polished. After a period without writing chamber music in the early 1830s, Mendelssohn is now more classically oriented than he was in the earlier, structurally experimental and Beethoven-influenced opus 12 and 13 quartets. The two central movements provide contrast to the quartet’s exuberant start. First comes a gentle, smooth-as-silk Menuetto, somewhat rococo in flavour and in the even structure of its phrases. It is the only minuet in any of Mendelssohn’s quartets. A wistful slow movement follows in which the composer keeps a firm hand on the sentiment. The brilliant finale is a driving saltarello, a whirlwind version of a 16th century dance form that Mendelssohn had already mastered in the final movement of his Italian symphony.

The Quartet in E minor, Op. 44, No. 2, the earliest of the three to be written, opens with a sense of urgency, in Mendelssohn’s favoured key of E minor. Through the agitation, there is a touch of melancholy to the first violin theme. Its arching shape and syncopated accompaniment bear a strong resemblance to the opening of the violin concerto that Mendelssohn was to write in the same key and for the same violinist the following year. (Its opening arching arpeggio phrase also mirrors the opening of the finale of Mozart’s late G minor symphony, but there the similarity ends.) The tautly woven musical ideas of the movement balance the tension of the opening theme with the repose of its second theme. The fertility of invention carries over into the sparkling Scherzo. This is propelled by rhythmic vitality and constantly surprises us with the unexpected. At the same time, everything lies comfortably on the fingerboard – as in the Octet, this is music that is written for those who play as well as for the instruments they play upon. Mendelssohn brings a violinist’s (and viola player’s) inside knowledge to the interplay between the four instruments. “He never touched a string instrument the whole year round,” the composer Ferdinand Hiller once said, “but, when he wanted to play, as with most things in life, he could do it.” The slow movement is a bittersweet song-withoutwords, whose main melody sounds especially eloquent when it reappears on the cello. Any hint of sentimentality – a concern in some of Mendelssohn’s music – is avoided with the composer’s caution not to drag out (nicht schleppend) the movement. The finale again reveals great sophistication in the intricate way Mendelssohn handles bravura material, marrying musical craft with technical virtuosity.

Read more

About

Cecilia String Quartet
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9844 Mendelssohn Quatuor à Cordes

Mendelssohn: Quatuor à cordes op. 44 nos 1 & 2

Date de sortie 02 octobre 2015
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9844
Periodes Romantique

Ils en ont parlé

Informations sur l'album

Pièce maîtresse de la maturité de Felix Mendelssohn, les trois quatuors de l’opus 44 ont été amorcés en 1837 (il avait alors 28 ans) et complétés l’année suivante. La réputation du compositeur était en hausse fulgurante. L’oratorio Saint Paul lui avait déjà valu une reconnaissance internationale et il était à la tête du célèbre Orchestre du Gewandhaus de Leipzig depuis 1835. Il séjournait constamment dans les grands centres d’Europe – dirigeant, siégeant sur les comités culturels et pédagogiques importants, répondant à des commandes d’oeuvres pour les festivals prestigieux et donnant des concerts en tant que pianiste, organiste et musicien de chambre, tant pour le grand public que les membres de la royauté d’Europe. Sa vie familiale était également en pleine effervescence avec son mariage en mars 1837 avec Cécile Jeanrenaud, fille d’un pasteur protestant français, et l’installation dans une nouvelle résidence à Leipzig.

Il a commencé la composition des quatuors de l’opus 44 pendant sa lune de miel dans la Forêt-Noire et fini celui en mi mineur le 18 juin 1837. Celui en mi bémol suivrait le 6 février, une journée avant la naissance de son premier fils, Carl Wolfgang Paul. Le dernier quatuor, celui en ré majeur, serait complété le 24 juillet 1838. Une fois les trois quatuor achevés, Mendelssohn réarrangea l’ordre de ceux-ci, leur attribuant les numéros que nous leurs connaissons aujourd’hui, publiant l’ensemble sous le titre Trois grands quatuors, avec une dédicace au prince héritier de Suède.

Mendelssohn tenait en haute estime son Quatuor en ré majeur, op. 44, no 1, premier des trois publiés, mais dernier complété. « Je viens de terminer mon quatuor en ré majeur », écrivit-il au violoniste Ferdinand David, ami proche et premier violon solo de l’Orchestre du Gewandhaus. « Je l’aime beaucoup. J’espère qu’il te plaira aussi. Je pense que oui, puisqu’il est plus fougueux et il me semble plus redevable aux interprètes que les autres. » David et son quatuor avaient déjà créé les deux quatuors antérieurs de l’opus 44 et donnèrent la première de celui en ré majeur lors d’une de leurs matinées, le 16 février 1839.

Le premier mouvement se veut une conversation exubérante et pleine d’entrain entre les quatre instruments, sans complexe, méticuleusement polie. Après avoir délaissé la musique de chambre au début des années 1830, Mendelssohn tend maintenant plus vers le classicisme que dans ses quatuors précédents, opus 12 et 13, structurellement expérimentaux et influencés par Beethoven. Les deux mouvements centraux offrent un contraste au début expansif du quatuor. On retrouve d’abord un léger menuetto, le seul parmi les quatuors de Mendelssohn, doux comme la soie, de nature quelque peu rococo, avec ses phrases parfaitement calibrées. Un mouvement lent mélancolique suit, le compositeur dosant fermement l’émotion. Le brillant finale est une saltarelle nous propulsant vers l’avant, version tourbillonnante de la danse du 16e siècle que Mendelssohn avait déjà maîtrisée dans le dernier mouvement de sa Symphonie « Italienne ».

Le premier des trois complétés, le Quatuor en mi mineur, op. 44, no 2 s’ouvre dans l’urgence, dans la tonalité préférée de Mendelssohn, mi mineur. Au milieu de l’agitation, une touche de mélancolie se fait entendre dans le thème du premier violon. Sa forme en arc et son accompagnement syncopé suggèrent fortement le début du concerto pour violon que Mendelssohn écrirait dans la même tonalité et pour le même violoniste l’année suivante. (Cette phrase arpégée rappelle aussi les premiers instants du finale de la symphonie tardive de Mozart en sol mineur, mais la ressemblance s’arrête là.) Les idées musicales fermement tissées tout au long du mouvement équilibrent la tension du thème d’ouverture avec le repos du deuxième. Une inventivité féconde nous mène vers l’étincelant Scherzo. Propulsé par une vitalité rythmique, ce dernier nous surprend constamment et inopinément. En même temps, tout se place confortablement sur la touche – comme l’Octuor, cette musique a été faite pour les interprètes autant que pour les instruments joués. Mendelssohn démontre sa connaissance intime du violon (et de l’alto) dans les interactions entre les quatre instruments. « Il ne touchait pas à un instrument à cordes de l’année, a une fois affirmé le compositeur Ferdinand Hiller, mais quand il voulait jouer, comme la plupart des choses de la vie, il pouvait le faire. » Le mouvement lent est un chant sans paroles doux-amer, dont la mélodie principale devient particulièrement éloquente quand elle réapparaît au violoncelle. Tout soupçon de sensiblerie – une préoccupation qui transparaît dans certaines pages de Mendelssohn – est évité, le compositeur mettant en garde de ne pas faire traîner (nicht schleppend) le mouvement. Une fois de plus, le finale démontre un grand degré de sophistication, Mendelssohn traitant le matériel bravura de façon complexe, mariant art musical et virtuosité technique.

Lire la suite

À propos

Cecilia String Quartet
AN 2 8781 Canciones

Start typing and press Enter to search

AN 2 9530 - Kuhlau: Grandes sonates