fbpx
FL 2 3001

J.S. Bach: Motets

Release date August 14, 1995
Album code FL 2 3001
Periods Baroque
Genres Chant choral

Album information

A motet is a sacred choral composition in two or more parts. Originally, motets were settings of Latin texts which were not part of the official liturgy. In Germany during Bach’s time, composers turned to Biblical verse or to chorale and hymn texts for their motets. Their use was confined to the beginning of Sunday morning services or to Sunday afternoon Vespers. Bach’s motets, however, were commissioned for special events.

Four of the six motets were composed in the 1720s for the funeral services of some of Leipzig’s leading citizens. (Some of these motets were performed at the burial, while others were sung at memorial services.) It would seem that the first motet (BWV 225) was premiered during Duke Frederick Augustus I’s 1727 visit to Leipzig. The sixth motet (BWV 230) is thought to have been part of a now-lost cantata. Four of the motets are for double choir (BWV 225, 226, 228 and 229). The third (BWV 227) is scored for five voices, while the sixth motet (BWV 230) is in four parts.

For many years, these motets were sung a capella, that is, without instrumental accompaniment. Certain manuscripts and iconographic sources, however, point to evidence that these sacred works were indeed performed with accompaniment.

The Chœur classique de Montréal has chosen to perform the Motets with organ (positive) accompaniment. They are performed in an order which differs from the sequence of their BWV numbers.

© Danielle Charbonneau, Marie Charest, Maurice Lacoste
Translation: Patricia Abbott

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
FL 2 3001

J.S. Bach: Motets

Date de sortie 14 août 1995
Numéro de l'album FL 2 3001
Periodes Baroque

Informations sur l'album

Un motet est un chant d’église à plusieurs voix. À l’origine, il était composé sur des paroles latines qui ne faisaient pas partie de l’office. En Allemagne, à l’époque de Bach, les motets faisaient appel à des textes bibliques ou des textes de chorals ou de cantiques et ils étaient prescrits par la liturgie au début de l’office divin le dimanche matin et aux vêpres le dimanche après-midi. Les motets de Bach, toutefois, sont des œuvres de commande créées à l’occasion d’événements particuliers.

Quatre des six motets ont été composés dans les années 1720 pour des services funèbres de personnes haut placées de Leipzig (certains motets ont été exécutés au moment de l’inhumation, d’autres chantés lors d’un service commémoratif). Le premier motet (BWV 225) aurait été donné lors du passage à Leipzig en 1727 du duc Frédéric Auguste 1er. Le sixième (BWV 230) aurait fait partie d’une cantate aujourd’hui perdue. Quatre motets sont pour double chœur (BWV 225, 226, 228 et 229). Le troisième motet (BWV 227) fait appel à une cinquième voix et le sixième (BWV 230) est écrit pour quatre voix.

Pendant longtemps on a chanté ces motets a capella, c’est-à-dire sans accompagnement instrumental, mais quelques manuscrits et certaines sources iconographiques tendent à prouver que cette musique liturgique était soutenue par des instruments.

Le Chœur classique de Montréal a choisi de présenter les Motets avec accompagnement au positif; l’ordre de leur présentation sera différent de leur séquence BWV.

© Danielle Charbonneau, Marie Charest, Maurice Lacoste

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8873
AN 2 8873
AN 2 8873

Start typing and press Enter to search

AN 2 9530 - Kuhlau: Grandes sonates