fbpx
AN 2 9776

Pax: Gregorian chant on the theme of peace (remastered)

Album information

By their teaching, their recordings and, especially, by the example they have set for more than 75 years, the monks of Saint-Benoît Abbey have been the most dynamic proponents of the Solesmes’ style of chanting started a century ago. After having launched a new edition of Cantus Mariales: Medieval Sacred Chants to the Virgin Mary, almost 15 years after his first release, Analekta is proud to offer reissue Pax, a truly timely gift in our days and age, a message standing at the very heart of the Benedictine monks’ motto.

The Benedictine monastery of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac was founded in 1912 in Southeastern Québec by the French abbey of Saint Wandrille, part of the Saint Pierre de Solesmes congregation. As spiritual descendants of Saint Benedict, further drawing their inspiration from Dom Prosper Guéranger, the monks of Saint-Benoît approach the Liturgy with the greatest of care. As do the monks of Solesmes, they pay special attention to the way prayer is sung in the incomparable tradition of Gregorian chant.

Gregorian chant

“Peace on earth, good will to men.” (The Gospel according to Saint Luke)

For over 14 centuries, Gregorian chant has appeased, comforted and reconciled. It has opened our hearts and lifted our souls, and through music it has bound the spirit of man to that of the Creator inspiring him. Offering a new generation of music lovers this essential recording of Gregorian chant on the theme of Peace by the monks of the Abbey of Saint-Benoit-du-lac is a truly timely gift.

It is the Prince of Peace who is sung here (Introit Lux fulgebit). As Saint Paul wrote to the Ephesians, “He is our peace… He has come to proclaim peace, peace for you who are far away, and peace for you who are nearby.”

Angels announced this peace on the day of the Nativity of Jesus Christ: (Gloria in excelsis Deo). During the course of his life on earth, the Son of God took on the role, day after day, of a man of peace, proclaiming the well-known beatitudes, “Blessed are the people of peace for they will be called the Children of God.” (Beati).

In spite of obstacles, he always tries to lead men on the road of peace (In viam pacis, Benedictus canticle), to offer it to our time (Tua est) to share it with his people, and the faithful who turn to Him using words of peace (Loquetur). After His resurrection, Christ left his apostles a sole legacy, one of peace, His peace (Pacem relinquo vobis), in a gesture that keeps renewing itself, day after day, in many forms.

Read more

About

AN 2 8786
AN 2 8786
AN 2 8786

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9776

Pax: Chants grégoriens sur le thème de la paix (édition remasterisée)

Informations sur l'album

Par leur enseignement, leurs enregistrements et surtout leur exemple, le Chœur des moines de l’Abbaye bénédictine de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac demeure depuis plus de 75 ans le foyer le plus vivant du mouvement grégorien parti de Solesmes au siècle dernier. Après avoir rendu de nouveau accessible, près de 15 ans après sa première parution, Cantus Mariales : Chants sacrés du Moyen Âge à la Vierge Marie, Analekta vous offre maintenant la réédition de Pax, un recueil de chants grégoriens dont le thème n’aura jamais paru aussi actuel et qui reprend l’essence même de la devise bénédictine.

L’Abbaye de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac est un monastère bénédictin fondé en 1912 dans le sud-est du Québec par l’abbaye française de Saint Wandrille, de la Congrégation de Saint Pierre de Solesmes. En tant que fils de saint Benoît et animés de l’esprit de Dom Prosper Guéranger, les Moines de Saint-Benoît cultivent avec le plus grand soin la Liturgie. Comme les Moines de Solesmes, ils accordent une attention spéciale à la perfection de la prière chantée sous la forme incomparable du chant grégorien.

Chant grégorien

« Paix sur la terre aux hommes de bonne volonté. » (Évangile selon Saint Luc)

Depuis plus de 14 siècles, le chant grégorien apaise, réconforte, transmet l’harmonie. Il ouvre les cœurs, élève l’âme et lie à travers la musique l’esprit de l’homme à celui du Créateur qui l’inspire. Offrir à une nouvelle génération de mélomanes cet enregistrement essentiel de chants grégoriens sur le thème de la paix des Moines de l’Abbaye Saint-Benoît-du-Lac n’aura jamais semblé un geste plus actuel.

Celui qu’on chante ici, c’est le Prince de la Paix (introït Lux fulgebit). Comme Saint Paul l’écrivait aux Ephésiens: « C’est Lui qui est notre paix… Il est venu proclamer la paix, paix pour vous qui étiez loin, et paix pour ceux qui étaient proches. »

Cette paix lui est annoncée par les Anges au jour de la nativité de l’Enfant Dieu (Gloria in excelsis Deo). Au cours de sa vie terrestre, ce fils de Dieu assumera, jour après jour, son rôle d’homme de paix, notamment alors qu’il proclame les célèbres béatitudes : « Bienheureux les pacifiques, car ils seront appelés enfants de Dieu. » (Beati).

Malgré les embûches, toujours, il poursuit sa route et conduit les hommes sur le chemin de la paix (In viam pacis, cantique Benedictus), l’offre à notre temps (Tua est), la partage en paroles de paix avec son peuple et les fidèles qui se tournent vers lui. (Loquetur). Une fois ressuscité, le Christ laissera à ses Apôtres un seul héritage : la paix, sa paix (Pacem relinquo vobis), en un geste qui se renouvelle, jour après jour, sous de multiples formes.

Lire la suite

À propos

Le Chœur des Moines de l’Abbaye bénédictine de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac
AN 2 8787 Flute Passion Schubert
AN 2 8787 Flute Passion Schubert

Start typing and press Enter to search

AN 2 9530 - Kuhlau: Grandes sonatesGround Midnight | James Gelfand Trio