fbpx
FL 2 3058

Pax: Gregorian chants on the theme of peace

Release date March 31, 1996
Album code FL 2 3058
Periods Médiévale
Genres Chant choral

Album information

In this recording of Gregorian chants on the theme of peace, the selection in the forefront, taking pride of place as it were is the Prince of Peace (introit Lux fulgebit). Saint Paul wrote to the Ephesians, “He is our peace… He has come to proclaim peace, peace for you who are far away, and peace for you who are nearby.”

This is the peace that was announced by the angels on the day of the Nativity of Jesus Christ: “Glory to God in the highest of heavens and peace to men of good will” (Gloria in excelsis Deo). In the course of his life on earth, the Son of God was a man of peace. In His own words he proclaimed the beatitudes, saying, among other things: “Blessed are the people of peace for they will be called the Children of God” (Communion Beati).

Yes, He tried to lead men down the road of peace (antiphon In viam pacis, Benedictus canticle) and to bring peace to our times (Tua est response); He showered words of peace on his people, on the faithful and on those who turned to Him (introit Loquetur). After His resurrection, Christ left his apostles the legacy of peace… he offered up His peace (communion Pacem relinquo vobis). Throughout this recording, the Lord says “Peace for my people and my friends.”

© Dom André Saint-Cyr
Translation: Marc Carrier

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
FL 2 3058

Pax: Chants grégoriens sur le thème de la paix

Compositeurs
Date de sortie 31 mars 1996
Numéro de l'album FL 2 3058
Periodes Médiévale
Genres Chant choral

Informations sur l'album

Dans cet enregistrement de chants grégoriens sur le thème de la paix, celui qui est chanté, celui qui est à l’honneur c’est le Prince de la Paix (introït Lux fulgebit). Saint Paul écrivait aux Ephésiens: « C’est Lui qui est notre paix…Il est venu proclamer la paix, paix pour vous qui étiez loin, et paix pour ceux qui étaient proches. »

C’est cette paix qui a été annoncée par les Anges au jour de la nativité de l’Enfant Dieu: « Gloire à Dieu au plus haut des cieux, et paix aux hommes de bonne volonté » (Gloria in excelsis Deo). Au cours de sa vie terrestre, ce fils de Dieu a été un homme de paix; il a, dans ses paroles, proclamé les célèbres béatitudes en disant entre autre: « Bienheureux les pacifiques, car ils seront appelés enfants de Dieu » (communion Beati).

Oui, il a voulu conduire les hommes sur le chemin de la paix (antienne In viam pacis, cantique Benedictus) et donner la paix à notre temps (répons Tua est); il a voulu faire entendre des paroles de paix sur son peuple et sur ses fidèles et sur ceux qui se tournent vers lui. (introït Loquetur). Également après sa résurrection, le Christ a laissé à ses Apôtres comme héritage la paix, il a donné sa paix (communion Pacem relinquo vobis). Ce que dit le Seigneur tout au long de cet enregis-trement: « C’est la paix pour son peuple et pour ses amis. »

© Dom André Saint-Cyr

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9520 Clarke Ravel The End of Flowers
AN 2 9520 Clarke Ravel The End of Flowers
AN 2 9520 Clarke Ravel The End of Flowers

Start typing and press Enter to search