fbpx

They spoke about it

Album information

Some abilities, once acquired, are never lost. Riding a bike is usually cited, and it is generally true that once you learn, you will always know how.

Playing a brass instrument is not like riding a bike. Learning to vibrate your lips into a tube is difficult enough. Doing that to produce ethereal beauty requires decades. The only reason to even try is an addiction to the fulfilment it brings, especially amongst fellow sufferers.

The Canadian National Brass Project is this affliction’s critical-care ward. These prominent members of orchestras across Canada and the US spend thousands of hours at it every year. Then, in summer, they travel great distances to again put their chops to the wheel, as they did when they made their beautiful debut recording in 2017, and now, with their second, Constellations, recorded in the summer of 2018.

Lohengrin: Elsa’s Procession to the Cathedral (1850) by Richard Wagner arranged for brass by Jay Friedman

The unquestioning devotion of these musicians for their art could be compared to, say, a bride who agrees to marry a mysterious knight and never ask him his name. Unlike Elsa’s marriage in Lohengrin, this arrangement of the Procession to the Cathedral delivers enduring happiness.

O Magnum Mysterium (1587) and Sancta Maria (1597) by Giovanni Gabrieli arranged for brass by Timothy Higgins

Giovanni Gabrieli’s O Magnum Mysterium (1587) and Sancta Maria (1597) were intended for the famous acoustic of St. Mark’s in Venice, where Gabrieli was director of music. Both pieces were conceived for voices alone, but if Gabrieli had the opportunity to experience the buttery warmth of the CNBP, we know he’d be delighted.

Sanctus by Ola Gjeilo arranged for brass by Taz Eddy

The Sanctus by the Norwegian composer Ola Gjeilo began life on a plastic keyboard in a dorm room at the Royal College of Music. From there it progressed to choral performances, and, with Canadian trumpeter Taz Eddy’s arrangement, reached matriculation.

The Planets (1916) by Gustav Holst arranged for brass by Angus Armstrong

Holst’s The Planets (1916) was conceived for an enormous symphony orchestra. Angus Armstrong’s arrangement pares down the forces to just 25 (very, very good) brass and percussion with no loss in colour.

Sensemayá (1937) by Silvestre Revueltas arranged for brass by Bruce Roberts

Revueltas’ 1937 masterpiece Sensemayá tells the story of a ritual sacrifice to a snake-god equally prone to spreading pestilence as health. This tour- de-force performance by the CNBP is utterly convincing.

1812 Overture, Op. 49 (1880) by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky arranged for brass by Robert Fraser

And Tchaikovsky translated Napoleon’s disastrous 1812 defeat into something approaching poetry (although, by his own admission, it was “very noisy”). Robert Fraser’s arrangement of the 1812 Overture honours that poetry, while bringing out the real artillery.

And there you are–a “constellation” of seven pieces performed by 25 devoted artists, the brass- playing affliction’s most incurable, spectacular cases. What they do may seem impossible, but for them, it’s just like riding a bike.

© Tom Allen, author, broadcaster, musician

Read more

About

Canadian National Brass Project
AN 2 9181 Schubert Intégrale Sonates Piano
AN 2 9181 Schubert Intégrale Sonates Piano

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 8924 Constellations CNBP

Constellations

Ils en ont parlé

Informations sur l'album

Certaines habiletés, une fois acquises, ne se perdent pas. Enfourcher son vélo est souvent cité en exemple et s’avère un jeu d’enfant lorsqu’on a déjà appris à le faire.

Jouer d’un instrument de cuivre n’est pas comme faire du vélo. Apprendre à faire vibrer ses lèvres dans une embouchure fixée à un tube n’est déjà pas chose facile. Le faire de manière à produire des sons d’une beauté éthérée exige des décennies. Seule la dépendance aux sentiments de sacrifice et d’accomplissement entraîne ses tributaires à s’y plier encore et encore.

Le Canadian National Brass Project abrite l’unité des soins intensifs de cette affliction où d’éminents membres issus d’orchestres symphoniques au Canada et aux États-Unis s’exercent chaque année, des milliers d’heures durant. L’été venu, ils parcourent de grandes distances afin de se mettre à l’œuvre. Leur union a donné lieu à un magnifique premier enregistrement en 2017, et au deuxième, Constellations, enregistré pendant l’été 2018.

Lohengrin : Procession d’Elsa vers la cathédrale (1850) de Richard Wagner arrangé pour cuivres par Jay Friedman

On pourrait comparer le dévouement héroïque de ces musiciens envers leur art à celui dont fait preuve une princesse qui accepte d’épouser un mystérieux chevalier et de ne jamais lui demander son nom. Mais à l’inverse du mariage d’Elsa dans Lohengrin, cet arrangement de la Procession vers la cathédrale mène à un bonheur indéfectible.

O Magnum Mysterium (1587) et Sancta Maria (1597) de Giovanni Gabrieli arrangé pour cuivres par Timothy Higgins

Giovanni Gabrieli composa ses œuvres O Magnum Mysterium (1587) et Sancta Maria (1597) pour qu’elles soient chantées dans la Basilique Saint-Marc de Venise, célèbre pour la subtilité de son acoustique, où il était directeur musical. Les deux pièces furent conçues pour voix seulement, mais si Gabrieli avait été ici pour éprouver les sonorités chaudes et onctueuses du Canadian National Brass Project, nul doute qu’il aurait goûté à la volupté.

Sanctus d’Ola Gjeilo arrangé pour cuivres par Taz Eddy

Le Sanctus du compositeur norvégien Ola Gjeilo émergea d’un clavier en plastique bon marché dans une chambre d’étudiant du Royal College of Music. Depuis, la pièce a été interprétée par diverses chorales, et grâce à l’arrangement du trompettiste canadien Taz Eddy, elle s’est taillé une place de choix dans le répertoire pour cuivres.

Les Planètes (1916) de Gustav Holst arrangé pour cuivres par Angus Armstrong

L’orchestration complexe des Planètes de Gustav Holst (1916) était destinée aux grands orchestres symphoniques. C’est avec brio qu’Angus Armstrong a adapté l’œuvre pour un effectif réduit de 25 instruments de cuivre et percussions (joués par d’excellents musiciens), et ce, sans que la richesse des couleurs ne soit perdue.

Sensemayá (1937) de Silvestre Revueltas arrangé pour cuivres par Bruce Roberts

Le chef-d’œuvre de Revueltas, Sensemayá (1937), raconte l’histoire d’un sacrifice rituel à un dieu-serpent qui détient à la fois le pouvoir de rendre la santé et celui de répandre la peste. Le Canadian National Brass Project en livre une prestation magistrale ; un véritable tour de force.

L’Ouverture solennelle 1812 en mi bémol majeur, op. 49 (1880) de Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski arrangé pour cuivres par Robert Fraser

Enfin, Tchaïkovski a traduit la défaite cuisante de Napoléon en l’Année 1812 par une musique frôlant la poésie (quoiqu’elle soit, de son propre aveu, « très bruyante »). L’arrangement de Robert Fraser, empreint de cette poésie, n’en est pas moins percutant pour autant.

Et voilà une « constellation » de sept pièces interprétées par 25 artistes dévoués, atteints de ce grand mal incurable des instrumentistes de cuivres, des cas parmi les plus spectaculaires jamais répertoriés. Ce qu’ils font peut nous sembler inouï ; pour eux, c’est un jeu d’enfant.

© Tom Allen, auteur, animateur radio, musicien

Lire la suite

À propos

Canadian National Brass Project
AN 2 9182 Schubert Intégrale Sonates Piano Vol. 2
AN 2 9182 Schubert Intégrale Sonates Piano Vol. 2

Start typing and press Enter to search