fbpx
AN 2 9884

Couleurs de lune

Release date April 10, 2012
Album code AN 2 9884
Periods Others

Album information

1. Couleurs de lune

Beyond the sea and mountains shines the moon… Throughout my writing of the pieces on the itinerary of this musical voyage, the moon was ever my confidante. At times a romantic moon, she evoked Latin influences; at other times a full moon, her luminous energy flooded me with jazzy moonbeams ; and in the calm and quiet of her moon dust sprinkling down, some rather unheard of harmonies were born under my fingers. I can’t promise you the moon, but I hope that as you listen to the jazz and Latin moods of this recording, she will inspire you and fulfill your wildest musical dreams…

2. Forever young

Youth is shaped by voyages. Discovering new landscapes has an improbable effect on our musical sensitivity, taking us into a world without time. Young, old, young again… Like the very first day, the trio is reborn through a spontaneous and vibrant music in which complicity and passion burn brightly. Every day, we are given a new chance to create unique moments of music… Eternal youth…

3. Rose

A memory of a February evening when the first notes of this piece sounded, a composition dedicated to an inspiring place : Rose. Rising proudly above the neighbourhood of Ste-Rose de Laval, the church of Ste-Rose-de-Lima is a historic place — at some point, there’s always one like it in every city we live in. It was an intimate concert… I was playing “at home.” A prophet is not without honour, save in his own country, and I felt sweet serenity, yet I always lack the words to express it…

4. How can youmiss a fruit salad ?

An amalgam of notes, a mishmash of rhythms, a variegation of solos, a confetti of sounds—this is a fruit of an impetuous dialogue between piano, bass and drums. Or is it instead a secret recipe book for mixing textures and colours and playing them with the spontaneity of the moment ? A bouquet of flavours, a feast of nuances, delectable fun, and above all, a delicious imbroglio for three !

5. Largo

A pleasant “resto-club” where music breaks out all night long… Passionate people who know how to get Quebecers in tune with jazz that can be outspoken, intimate, romantic and some¬times daring. Each improvisation is a special moment that rouses the spirits of the loyal and sympathetic patrons. The trio makes use of the expressive colours of each instrument in this slow movement, “largo” being the Italian word for “broadly.” Piano, bass and drums engage in a conversation that reveals a certain taste for risk-taking.

6. Week-end à Toulouse

There are some magnificent places in this world, and in France’s “pink city” the Jacobins Cloister is one of those legendary spots where the piano resonates joyfully in all its splendor. Everything inspired me : my precious few hours in this heart-shaped city, my appreciative steps toward the Canal du Midi, a delicious cup of coffee on the Place du Capitole, a more than welcoming audience, and a magical memory of a superb song by Claude Nougaro… Qu’il est loin, mon pays… Toulouse !

7. Alberto

This song asks of the milonga that which it can’t fully accomplish. The jazz dialogue is too strong and relentless, with impos¬sible flourishes of tango. More than ever, the
improvisations try to impress each other with their elegance and delicacy. In the shadow of some mischievous bass banter and a capering piano recitative, the drums politely offer a distinguished tempo, bolstered by the most genial of gallantries.

8. Bolero

Mysterious breath of a melody on a gracious rhythm inspired by the memory of a Mexican bolero. Like a choreography, a ballet, a dance, this Latin-tinged piece led me to improvise an expressive dialogue like a pas de deux. We three were beside the companionable blue sea of the city of Zacatecas, we drifted apart on the waves for a time, before coming back together on stage very late at night… ¡Buenas noches!

9. Tsai-Tsien!

Distant and mysterious China… Shanghai… a day filled with four-thousand-year-old treasures, illuminated at night with the scents of a futuristic city… Gulangyu… a fascinating island of a thousand dreamy, exotic pianos… Quindao… Jazz, a poetic experience, delight¬ful food. Beijing… memories of a concert at the Theatre of the Forbidden City. Through conquests, emperors and dancers’ masks, everything oscillates between yin and yang, if only in the discovery of the imaginary in the Land of the Rising Sun. Tsai-Tsien ! we said to ourselves… Goodbye !

10. Danny Boy (Londonderry Air)

The ultimate voyage, perhaps ? With this la¬ment of a parent for their son going off to war, there’s no need to describe the huge challenge of creating a personal interpretation of a piece that has moved so many people with both its beautiful melody and its deeply touching words. This is how our own voyage comes to an end. Oh Danny Boy… Come ye back when summer’s in the meadow/ Or when the valley’s hushed and white with snow.

© Lorraine Desmarais
Translation : Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 2 9530 Kuhlau Grandes Sonates
AN 2 9530 Kuhlau Grandes Sonates
AN 2 9530 Kuhlau Grandes Sonates

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9884

Couleurs de lune

Compositeurs
Date de sortie 10 avril 2012
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9884
Periodes Autres

Informations sur l'album

1. Couleurs de lune

Au delà des mers et des monts resplendit la lune… Tout au long de la création des pièces figurant au menu de ce voyage discogra¬phique, la lune fût ma confidente. Tantôt lune romantique, elle a évoqué en moi mes influences latines… tantôt pleine lune, son énergie lumineuse m’a envahi de ses rayons « jazzés » et, dans le calme et la quiétude d’une poussière de lune, j’ai vu naître sous mes doigts des harmonies plutôt… inouïes! Je ne prétends pas vous « promettre la lune » mais, puisse ce corps céleste vous inspirer à l’écoute de cet album aux ambiances jazz et latines et combler vos rêves musicaux aux mille caprices…

2. Forever young

Les voyages forment la jeunesse. De façon invraisemblable, la découverte de nouveaux paysages influence notre sensibilité musicale et nous transporte dans un univers intemporel. Jeune, vieux, jeune… Comme au tout premier jour, le trio renaît à travers une musique spontanée et vibrante où brillent de milles feux complicité et passion. À chaque jour nous est donnée une nouvelle chance de créer des moments musicaux uniques… Éternelle jeunesse…

3. Rose

Souvenir d’une soirée de février alors qu’ont résonnées les premières notes de cette composition dédiée à ce lieu inspirant : Rose…Ste-Rose-de-Lima. Fièrement posée dans le quartier Ste-Rose de Laval, cette église est un lieu d’histoire comme il en est dans toutes ces villes où nous vivons à un moment de notre vie. Concert intime… je jouais « chez moi ». Comme nul n’est prophète en son pays, j’ai ressenti un doux sentiment de sérénité et pourtant, les mots me manquent toujours pour l’exprimer…

4. How can youmiss a fruit salad ?

Amalgame de notes, méli-mélo de rythmes, bigarrure de solos, confettis de sons…voilà le fruit d’un dialogue impétueux entre piano, contrebasse et batterie. Ou serait-ce plutôt une recette secrète sur l’art de mélanger textures et couleurs afin de les interpréter spontanément au goût du moment? Parfum de saveurs, festin de nuances, savoureux plaisir et surtout, délicieux imbroglio à trois!

5. Largo

Un sympathique « resto-club » où le jazz s’éclate sous les milles feux de la nuit, des gens passionnés qui ont l’art de faire vibrer Québec au son d’un jazz tantôt éclaté, parfois intimiste ou romantique, quelques fois audacieux. Chaque improvisation est un moment ultime qui fait vibrer d’émotions un public fidèle et complice. Le trio exploite ici les couleurs expressives de chacun des instruments ; le mouvement lent largo étant un mot italien désignant « largement ». Le piano, la contrebasse et la batterie élaborent une conversation qui dévoile un certain goût du risque…

6. Week-end à Toulouse

La « ville rose »! Il y a dans ce monde des endroits magnifiques… Le cloître des Jacobins est un de ces lieux légendaires où le piano résonne allègrement dans toute sa splendeur. Tout m’a inspiré : les quelques heures précieuses dans cette ville en forme de cœur, mes pas admiratifs vers le canal du midi, un délicieux café sur la place du Capitole, un public plus que chaleureux et un souvenir magique de cette superbe chanson de Claude Nougaro… « Qu’il est loin mon pays »… Toulouse!

7. Alberto

…invite à la milonga qu’on ne peut mettre en œuvre pleinement! Le jazz dialoguant trop fort et sans répit avec des élans de tango impossible, l’improvisation plus que jamais tente d’impressionner l’un et l’autre avec élégance et délicatesse. À l’ombre d’une badinerie de contrebasse espiègle, un récitatif de piano en cabriole, une batterie tente avec courtoisie un tempo distin¬gué soutenu par la plus sympathique des galanteries…

8. Bolero

Souffle mystérieux d’un air au rythme gracieux inspiré par le souvenir d’un boléro mexicain. Telle une chorégraphie, un ballet, une danse, ce morceau aux reflets latins me porte à improviser un discours expressif comme un pas de deux. Nous étions tous les trois au bord de la mer bleue complice de la ville de Zacatecas, le trio s’étant éloigné quelques instants avec les vagues pour ne revenir sur scène que très tard dans la nuit … ¡Buenas Noches!

9. Tsai-Tsien!

Chine mystérieuse et lointaine… Shanghai… au jour remplie de trésors quadri millénaires, illuminée le soir au parfum d’une ville futuriste… Gulangyu… île fascinante aux milles pianos rêveurs et exotiques…Quindao… jazz, expérience poétique et gastronomique. Beijing… souvenir d’un concert au Théâtre de la Cité Interdite. À travers conquêtes, empereurs et masques de danseurs, tout oscille entre le yin et le yan… ne fût-ce que la découverte de l’imaginaire au pays du soleil levant.Tsai-Tsien! Au revoir!

10. Danny Boy (Londonderry Air)

Serait-ce ici l’ultime voyage? Lamento d’un parent à son fils sur le sentier de la guerre… Est-il besoin de vous exposer l’immense défi à interpréter de façon personnelle une pièce qui a touché le monde entier autant par la beauté de sa mélodie que par la profondeur de ses textes? C’est ainsi que se termine notre propre voyage. Oh Danny Boy… Reviendras-tu avec l’été sous l’étincelle du soleil… ou bien en hiver à l’ombre de la lune ?

© Lorraine Desmarais

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9530 Kuhlau Grandes Sonates
AN 2 9530 Kuhlau Grandes Sonates
AN 2 9530 Kuhlau Grandes Sonates

Start typing and press Enter to search

AN 2 8787 - Flûte Passion: Schubert