fbpx
AN 2 9869

Lorraine Desmarais Big Band

Release date April 07, 2009
Album code AN 2 9869

Album information

Following appearances at the most prestigious jazz festivals and collaboration with the biggest names on the international stages, Lorraine Desmarais is coming back with this long awaited recording. Surrounded with top notch Montreal jazz musicians (Jean-Pierre Zanella, Ron Di Lauro, Muhammad Al-Khabyyr, Bob Ellis and many others), she is re-exploring the big band. A new gem on Lorraine Desmarais’s crown.

Big Band: swing, funk, latin, ballad

Until now all my recordings have been made with small jazz groups, trios, or quartets, with invited guests or solo piano. For my tenth album, I wanted to do something different. For a long time I had wanted to produce this disk with a big band and I have to admit that this project is surely one of the most ambitious of my career.

The jazz trio (piano, double bass, percussion) being my basic unit, many of the works in the album were first composed for and performed by a small ensemble. The challenge of this big band project was to establish a perfect balance among the arranged sections, the development of the themes and the improvised sections. It is then in a completely different frame of mind that I approached this large jazz ensemble, by focusing on composition in its pure state and on the details that are closely linked to the instrumentation typical of big band.

The numerous possibilities of performing for such an ensemble, added to the multiple textures that I was able to mine, allowed me to put the accent on the soloists and their magnificent playing, full of exceptional energy. It is therefore pleasant to note that thanks to a very intense group dynamic, the music speaks for itself…

Each composition has a distinct colour, a very particular atmosphere, and it brings together styles as varied as swing, funk, ballad and pieces with Latin colours.

I feel quite fortunate to be able to share my music with this large ensemble and I am very glad to offer you this big band album.

© Lorraine Desmarais

LORRAINE DESMARAIS BIG BAND

Saxophones
Jean-Pierre Zanella, alto & soprano (lead)
David Bellemare, alto
André Leroux, tenor
Richard Beaudet, tenor
Jean Fréchette, baritone

Trumpets
Jocelyn Couture (solo/lead)
Ron Di Lauro
Jocelyn Lapointe
Aron Doyle, flugelhorn

Trombones
Muhammad Al-Khabyyr (lead)
Dave Grott
Richard Gagnon
Bob Ellis, bass

Jazz Trio
Lorraine Desmarais, piano and conductor
Frédéric Alarie, doublebass
Camil Bélisle, drum set

Lorraine Desmarais: Compositions and arrangements:

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9869

Lorraine Desmarais Big Band

Compositeurs
Date de sortie 07 avril 2009
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9869

Informations sur l'album

Après des prestations dans les festivals de jazz les plus renommés et des collaborations avec les plus grands noms de l’heure, Lorraine Desmarais nous revient enfin pour un nouvel album. Entourée des meilleurs musiciens jazz montréalais (Jean-Pierre Zanella, Ron Di Lauro, Muhammad Al-Khabyyr, Bob Ellis et bien d’autres), elle nous fait explorer les coulisses du big band. Un nouveau jalon sur une route prestigieuse.

Big Band: swing, funk, latin, ballade

Jusqu’ici, tous mes enregistrements ont été réalisés en petites formations de jazz, soit en trio, en quatuor, avec invités ou en piano solo. Pour mon 10e album, je désirais quelque chose de différent. Il y a longtemps que je voulais produire ce disque en big band et j’avoue que ce projet est certainement un des plus ambitieux que j’aie réalisés.

Le trio de jazz (piano, contrebasse, batterie) étant ma cellule de base, plusieurs pièces de l’album ont d’ abord été composées et interprétées pour petit ensemble. Le défi avec ce projet de big band était de réaliser un parfait équilibre entre les sections d’arrangement, le développement des thèmes et les sections improvisées. C’est donc dans un esprit tout à fait différent que j’ai abordé ce grand ensemble de jazz, en tenant compte de l’aspect de composition à l’état pur et des détails étroitement liés à l’instrumentation typique du big band.

Les nombreuses possibilités d’exécution d’un ensemble du genre, ajoutées aux multiples textures qu’il m’était possible d’exploiter, ont permis de mettre en valeur les solistes et leur jeu magnifique empreint d’une énergie hors du commun. Il est ainsi fort heureux de constater que grâce à une dynamique de groupe fort intense, la musique parle d’elle-même…

Chaque composition possède une couleur distincte, une atmosphère bien particulière et rassemble des styles aussi variés que le swing, le funk, la ballade et des pièces aux couleurs latines.

Je suis plus que choyée de pouvoir ainsi partager ma musique avec ce grand ensemble et il me fait grand plaisir de vous présenter cet album de big band.

© Lorraine Desmarais

LORRAINE DESMARAIS BIG BAND

Saxophones
Jean-Pierre Zanella, alto & soprano (solo)
David Bellemare, alto
André Leroux, ténor
Richard Beaudet, ténor
Jean Fréchette, baryton

Trompettes
Jocelyn Couture (solo)
Ron Di Lauro
Jocelyn Lapointe
Aron Doyle, flugelhorn

Trombones
Muhammad Al-Khabyyr (solo)
Dave Grott
Richard Gagnon

Basse
Bob Ellis

Trio de jazz
Lorraine Desmarais, piano et chef
Frédéric Alarie, contrebasse
Camil Bélisle, batterie

Lorraine Desmarais: compositions et arrangements

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates
AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates
AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates

Start typing and press Enter to search