fbpx

Album information

This is no ordinary disc. More than anything, it’s a very special a reunion with Tiger Okoshi. And Michel Cusson also appears for a few tunes, making it a truly memorable meeting of five musicians from very different musical worlds, on stage together for the first time. I first had the pleasure of sharing my music with Tiger a few years ago during a tour of Canadian jazz festivals. And while he was with UZEB, Michel also experienced some high-voltage moments with Tiger.

There was magic in the air that evening, an amazing sense of complicity and enthusiasm that spilled over and literally lifted the audience to their feet. In offering this exceptional concert, I dearly hope that listening to it will give you a taste of this unique and unforgettable moment.

Kagome Kagome: A traditional Japanese song that transports us to the heart of the Orient. The piece has a wonderful interplay of colours and textures, which Tiger and the trio give a highly original interpretation.

A soul version of the legendary St. Louis Blues, with Michel Cusson’s guitar lending incredible intensity, an “uplifting” piano solo, and a swinging blues by Tiger that emerges out of a duet with the bass.

Yesterdays: An elegant duet between Lorraine and Tiger that shows off both their extraordinary complicity and their incredible virtuosity.

Eldorado: Time to breathe! The music speaks for itself. An expressive piano line starts the story, followed by an eloquent trumpet solo, and a finally a melodious contribution by the bass.

Wings, We All Have: Both intense and audacious at times. Tiger’s solo dramatically develops the main theme, while the bass adds its voice to the conversation, and then the piano and the drums. Here, Camil’s playing is powerful, rhythmical and creative.

Bluesy Busy Lovers: A piano solo gently leads into one of the trio’s favourite tunes. The “live” version of this lively blues tune reflects the progressive playing of performers with exceptional maturity.

Omerta: This Michel Cusson tune is the theme of a TV series for which he composed the music, and this jazz version does everyone justice: modern piano solo, mysterious trumpet playing, and a very “cool” guitar solo.

Thank you Tiger, Michel, Frédéric and Camil.

Lorraine Desmarais

LORRAINE DESMARAIS MEETS TIGER OKOSHI AT CLUB SODA.

An evening with Lorraine Desmarais is always an interesting musical experience – a combination of her playing and compositional abilities. I first came across this blooming major talent when she sat in at George Durst’s “Biddles” and caused the club’s pianist Oliver Jones to “threaten” to break her fingers. Another 20 odd year old memory was my daughter Nina’s 18th birthday when Lorraine and the late Stan Patrick played some four handed blues only to be topped by some eight handed boogie woogie with those two joined by Art Roberts and Cisco Normand.

My awareness of the trumpet playing talent of Toru “Tiger” Okoshi began in the late 70s with an lp called “Times Square” by a Gary Burton Quartet which had Tiger joining a combo of Steve Swallow and Roy Haynes, an impression that was reinforced when the same quartet played El Casino in Montreal and I got to meet Tiger for the first time.

Lorraine was born in Montreal and among those that helped nurture her natural talent were Armas (Art) Maiste, a wonderful pianist (who I met just days after his arrival in Canada back in the 50s) and Kenny Barron. She was, by 1983, being heard with her own trios and became a regular attraction at events that included the Montreal International Jazz Festival, one in Zurich, the Jacksonville Piano competition (which she won back in 1986). Two years later she made an appearance here with Tiger and with Paquito D’Rivera in Rimouski. Then the world called and she was heard in Indonesia, the Philippines, France and the U.S. where she played the Blue Note and guested on Marian McPartland’s “Piano Jazz” radio show. There were also a couple of memorable meetings with Joanne Brackeen – the second one adding Mimi Blais to the mix. Even more recently it was a guest spot with Chick Corea. The late dean of American jazz writers, Leonard Feather stated that “she seems likely to cross many national boundaries. Not since Oscar Peterson dazzled us in Carnegie Hall in 1949, has an artist from north of the border made such a powerful impression on me”. Alain Brunet of Montreal’s La Presse has likened her to “an active volcano”. Besides an impressive series of recordings here in Canada, she’s also played and recorded with Sherrie Maricle’s all-woman band “Diva” and with “Five Play”, a quintet from that band. Of late Lorraine has also been showcasing her compositions with her own big band.

Tiger was born in Japan and began to be heard and recorded in the late 70s while a student at Berklee College in Boston where he was played with people like Paul Moen and guitarist Baird Lancaster prior to joining Gary Burton. Recordings have included sessions with Larry Gelb and Kim Parker, Dave Grusin, Bobby Moses, Lew Tabackin, Gunther Schuller and Jerry Bergonzi as well as his own groups, including “Baku”, beginning in 1980. He now splits his time between playing and teaching duties at Berklee as well as working with autistic children at the Boston Higashi School. He and Lorraine have developed a strong musical relationship and this is their second recording together. He’s developed into one of my favourite trumpeters.

Aiding and abetting here are Lorraine’s regular trio associates, bassist Frederic Alarie and drummer Camil Belisle. I was first impressed with a young Alarie when he played a jam session at “T.C.s” with vocalist Jackie Johnson, Count Basie sideman Danny Turner and B.T. Lundy. He grown into a first class bassist heard here recently with the likes of Sheila Jordan. He’s on record with Yannick Rieu, Bernard Primeau (and Ray Anderson), as well as couple with Dan Noseworhty and one as a member of the “Effendi Jazz Lab” band. Besides previous sessions with Lorraine, he’s recorded “Vision”, “Contact”, “Motion”, “Live a Vienne”, “Moon Bass” and “Tap Bass” as a leader.

Belisle, one of the city’s tastiest drummer is a regular with Lorraine and in singer’s Dorothee Berryman’s group. He’s recorded as far back as 1982 when he did a wonderful session with pianist Steve Holt with Bob Mover, Steve Hall, Charles Ellison and Michel Donato in different combinations as well a sessions with vocalist Johnny Scott and both Alarie and Ms. Berryman.

Guitarist Michel Cusson, who is a guest here, is best known for his work with the band UZEB and for his compositional skills. He’s recorded his own session “Omerta” and is on UZEB sessions that have included Michael Brecker, Didier Lockwood and Don Alias – he also on Lorraine’s 1991 recording “Vision”.

The music that night at Club Soda included a wonderful duet on Jerome Kern’s “Yesterdays’, Cusson’s “Omerta”, Tiger’s “Wings We All Have” plus his arrangements of “St. Louis Blues” and a traditional Japanese piece “Kagome Kagome” and two by Lorraine “Eldorado” and a return to “Bluesy Busy Lovers” from her earlier release “Love”.

Lorraine, thanks for all the music over the years and for, again, asking me to contribute the notes to an important recording. This one’s another feather in your chapeau. My personal thanks also go out to Bill W.

© Len Dobbin, 2006

Read more

About

AN 2 8746 Ovation
AN 2 8746 Ovation
AN 2 8746 Ovation
AN 2 8746 Ovation

Start typing and press Enter to search

Octet in F major / Octuor en fa majeur | OSM Chamber Soloists / Les Solistes de l'OSM

fbpx
AN 2 9863

Live au Club Soda

Date de sortie 27 février 2007
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9863
Periodes Hors période
Genres Jazz (Big Bands, Blues, R&B)

Informations sur l'album

Ce disque n’est pas un disque ordinaire…. C’est un moment exceptionnel… Spectacle retrouvaille avec Tiger Okoshi, puis la venue sur scène de Michel Cusson comme invité spécial le temps de quelques pièces… rencontre mémorable de cinq musiciens issus de différents mondes musicaux réunis pour la première fois ensemble…. Il y a plusieurs années, j’avais eu le bonheur de partager ma musique avec Tiger Okoshi lors d’une tournée des festivals de Jazz Canadiens. De son côté, Michel Cusson alors membre d’Uzeb avait également vécu des instants musicaux de haute voltige avec Tiger…

Il y avait de la magie dans l’air… Une formidable complicité et un enthousiasme débordant faisaient littéralement lever le public…C’est avec plein d’émotion que je vous offre ce concert exceptionnel et J’espère de tout cœur qu’en écoutant ce disque,
vous pourrez vivre des moments uniques et inoubliables…

Kagome Kagome : Cette pièce est une chanson japonaise traditionnelle qui nous transporte au cœur de l’Orient… Magnifique jeu de couleurs et de textures servis à souhaits par une interprétation très originale de Tiger et du trio.

Légendaire St-Louis Blues joué dans un ‘’mood » soul à souhait où la guitare de Michel Cusson nous fait vibrer de toute son intensité… un solo de piano qui ‘’lève » et ce blues très swingué de Tiger qui émerge d’un duo naissant avec la contrebasse…

Yesterdays… Élégant duo de Lorraine et Tiger où une complicité extraordinaire met en valeur leurs talents de virtuoses…

Eldorado… On respire !…. la musique parle d’elle-même … le piano fort expressif débute une histoire…. Suivi d’un solo de trompette éloquent… puis voilà la contrebasse
Qui se fait très mélodique….

Wings, We All Have… Pièce à la fois intense et audacieuse… le solo de Tiger vient de façon dramatique développer le thème principal alors que la contrebasse agrémente magnifiquement bien ce discours… puis, voilà un duo de piano et de batterie… et ici, le jeu de Camil est puissant, rythmique à souhait et fort créatif….

Bluesy Busy Lovers…. Tout doucement, un solo de piano nous amène graduellement vers une des pièces favorites du trio…. Et cette version ‘’live » de ce blues endiablé reflète le jeu évolutif des interprètes comblés par une maturité hors du commun….

Omerta… Composition de Michel Cusson qui est le thème d’une série télévisée pour laquelle ce dernier avait composé la musique….. et cette version jazz rend vraiment justice à tous… solo de piano moderne, jeu de trompette intriguant et solo de guitare tout à fait ‘’cool »…

Merci Tiger, Michel, Frédéric et Camil…
Lorraine Desmarais

LORRAINE DESMARAIS RENCONTRE TIGER OKOSHI AU CLUB SODA

Une soirée en compagnie de Lorraine Desmarais est toujours une expérience musicale des plus intéressantes, grâce à l’amalgame de son jeu et de ses dons de compositrice. La première fois que j’ai rencontré cet éclatant talent, elle était au piano du Biddles de George Durst et avait ébranlé le pianiste du club Oliver Jones qui avait  » menacé  » de lui briser les doigts. Un autre souvenir qui date de quelque 20 ans me revient : le dix-huitième anniversaire de ma fille Nina alors que Lorraine et le regretté Stan Patrick avait joué du blues à quatre mains puis avaient été rejoints par Art Roberts et Cisco Norman dans un boogie-woogie à huit mains.

J’ai d’abord eu vent du talent du trompettiste Toru  » Tiger  » Okoshi à la fin des années 1970, grâce au microsillon Times Square du Gary Burton Quartet, alors que Tiger se joignait à Steve Swallow et Roy Haynes, impression qui s’est renforcée quand le même quatuor avait donné un concert au El Casino à Montréal et que j’ai rencontré Tiger pour la première fois.

Lorraine est née à Montréal et parmi ceux qui ont permis l’éclosion de son talent naturel, il faut mentionner Armas (Art) Maiste, un pianiste merveilleux (que j’ai rencontré quelques jours à peine après son arrivée au Canada dans les années 1950) ainsi que Kenny Baron. On pouvait l’entendre, dès 1983, avec ses propres trios et elle devint une invitée régulière d’événements tels que le Festival international de jazz de Montréal, celui de Zurich, le Jacksonville Piano Competition (qu’elle a de nouveau remporté en 1986). Deux ans plus tard, elle donnait un concert avec Tiger et Paquito D’Rivera à Rimouski. Les portes du monde se sont alors ouvertes et on a pu l’entendre en Indonésie, aux Philippines, en France et aux États-Unis, notamment au Blue Note et comme invitée de l’émission radio de Marian McPartland, Piano Jazz. Il ne faut pas oublier deux rencontres mémorables avec Joanne Brackeen – Mimi Blais s’était jointe à la deuxième. Plus récemment, elle a été l’invitée de Chick Corea. Le regretté doyen des auteurs jazz américains, Leonard Feather, avait affirmé que,  » selon toute vraisemblance, elle transcendera plusieurs frontières nationales. C’est la première fois depuis que nous avons été renversés par Oscar Peterson au Carnegie Hall en 1949 qu’une artiste originaire du nord de la frontière m’a fait une telle impression « . Alain Brunet du journal La Presse de Montréal l’a comparée à un  » volcan en activité « . En plus d’avoir réalisé une impressionnante collection d’enregistrements ici au Canada, elle a également joué et enregistré avec le band féminin de Sherrie Maricle, Diva ainsi qu’avec Five Play, un quintette issu de ce groupe. Récemment, Lorraine a mis en lumière ses compositions entourée de son propre big band.

Tiger est né au Japon et a commencé à être entendu, en spectacle et sur disque, à la fin des années 1970, alors qu’il étudiait au Berklee College à Boston et jouait avec des artistes tels que Paul Moen et le guitariste Baird Lancaster avant de joindre à Gary Burton. Ses enregistrements comprennent des séances avec Larry Gelb et Kim Parker, Dave Grusin, Bobby Moses, Lew Tabackin, Gunther Schuller et Jerry Bergonzi de même qu’avec ses propres groupes, dont Baky dès 1980. Il partage maintenant son temps entre l’interprétation et l’enseignement à Berklee, en plus de travailler avec des enfants autistes à la Boston Higashi School. Lorraine et lui ont développé une relation musicale très forte et cet enregistrement est le deuxième qu’ils signent ensemble. Il est devenu l’un de mes trompettistes préférés.

Appelés en renfort, on retrouve ici les deux complices en trio de Lorraine, le bassiste Frédéric Alarie et le batteur Camil Belisle. J’ai été impressionné par le jeune Alarie pour la première fois alors qu’il participait à un jam session chez T.C.s avec la chanteuse Jackie Johnson, Danny Turner (partenaire de Count Basie) et B.T. Lundy. Il est devenu l’un des meilleurs bassistes de la scène locale avec Sheila Jordan. On a pu l’entendre sur disque avec Yannick Rieu, Bernard Primeau (et Ray Anderson), de même qu’en duo avec Dan Noseworthy et en tant que membre du groupe Effendi Jazz Lab. En plus d’avoir participé à d’autres séances d’enregistrement avec Lorraine, on peut l’entendre sur Vision, Contact, Motion, Live at Vienne, Moon Bass et Tap Bass en tant que chef de section.

Belisle, un des batteurs montréalais les plus raffinés, joue régulièrement avec Lorraine et dans le groupe de la chanteuse Dorothée Berryman. On a pu le retrouver sur disque dès 1982 quand il avait réalisé une merveilleuse séance d’enregistrement avec le pianiste Steve Holt en compagnie de Bob Mover, Steve Hall, Charles Ellison et Michel Donato dans diverses formations, de même que lors de sessions d’enregistrement avec le chanteur Johnny Scott ainsi qu’avec Alarie et Mme Berryman.

Le guitariste Michel Cusson, un invité ici, est mieux connu pour son travail avec le groupe UZEB et pour ses dons de compositeur. Il a enregistré Omerta et avec UZEB, on a pu l’entendre avec Michael Brecker, Didier Lockwood et Don Alias. On le retrouve aussi sur Vision, enregistrement de Lorraine datant de 1991.

La musique entendue ce soir-là au Club Soda comprenait un merveilleux duo sur Yesterdays de Jerome Kern, Omerta de Cusson, Wings We All Have de Tiger de même que ses arrangements de St. Louis Blues et de la pièce traditionnelle japonaise Kagome Kagome. Deux œuvres de Lorraine complètent le tout : Eldorado et une reprise de Bluesy Busy Lovers, tiré d’un enregistrement précédent, Love.

Lorraine, merci pour toute cette musique au fil des ans et pour m’avoir permis, encore une fois, d’écrire les notes d’un enregistrement important, une autre plume à ton chapeau. Je tiens aussi à remercier sincèrement Bill W.

© Len Dobbin, 2006
Traduction: Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates
AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates
AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates
AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates

Start typing and press Enter to search