fbpx
AN 2 9923

Romances: Liszt, Rachmaninov

Release date May 08, 2007
Album code AN 2 9923
Periods Romantic
Genres Recitative

Album information

The romantic lover whispering sweet nothings in our ear is something almost everyone has dreamt of at one time or another. Though from a historical standpoint the romance was initially a Spanish verse form, it was quickly adopted by other European poets and eventually became a separate musical form. Very popular in France from the mid-18th to the mid-19th century, it represented a sort of link between popular music and concert music.

A true Slavic spirit could not fail to be touched by such tender, willingly bittersweet sentiments, and as the successor to the legacy of Glinka and, especially, Tchaikovsky, Sergei Rachmaninov (1873–1943) would compose over 80 romances between 1890 and 1917. As a great piano virtuoso, Rachmaninov featured the instrument prominently in these compositions, employing it by turns in the role of narrator, confident or painter.

His first collection of Romansov, Opus 4, from 1892, demonstrates Rachmaninov’s natural tendency toward melancholy. Dedicated to his cousin Natalya Satine—whom he would marry some years later—”Ne poj, krasavica” (Sing not to me, O lovely one, in my presence) uses haunting vocal melismas to describe the immensity of the Georgian plains. “Davno-l’, moj drug” (It was not so long ago) seems almost operatic in the way it thrusts the listener into a universe of tragedy.

“Ja zhdu tebya” (I await you), the first song of Opus 14 (published in 1896) is a declaration of love tinged with a certain despair, as conveyed in the wide intervals of the vocal line and the dramatic treatment of the words “I wait.” The piano, playing the role of the initially discrete but increasingly arrogant lover, gradually takes over the work. The contrast with the next song, “Ostrovok” (Small Island), is striking. In this subtle pastoral, the charming vocal line is supported by a discrete accompaniment, barely disturbed by lightly undulating triplets. “Visennije vody” (Spring torrents), particularly demanding from a technical standpoint (Rachmaninov dedicated it to Anna Ornatskaya, his piano teacher), evokes the ferocity of a Russian spring, with its rivers awakening beneath the ice and their savage turbulence sweeping everything before them.

Written only a few weeks before his marriage to Natalya (the publication advance paid for their honeymoon), the twelve songs of Opus 21 express Rachmaninov’s happiness. Beneath the apparently joyful theme of “Siren” (Lilacs), based on three notes, impatience can be heard. In “Zdes’ khorosho” (How peaceful), dedicated to his wife, the piano becomes an attentive accomplice. The majestic opening phrases of “Ja ne prorok” (I am not a prophet) communicate an unassailable confidence, which melts into arpeggios that imitate the poet’s lyre.

Among the fifteen songs of Opus 26, “U mojevo okna” (At my window) remains the most popular. The voice and piano parts intertwine, exchanging lines and completing each other’s statements, inducing a delightful, dream-like state.

In 1912, Rachmaninov began a frequent correspondence with an admirer who signed her letters Ré (she was, in fact, the Armenian poet Marietta Shaginian). By the second exchange of letters, Rachmaninov had asked her to send him some poems that he could set to music, “of a sad rather than happy mood; bright colours do not come to me easily.” “Muza” (The muse), the first piece of Opus 34 and appropriately dedicated to Ré, relates a musician’s years of training under the tutelage of the Muse. The contemplative mood of the beginning soon makes way for increasing liveliness in the second verse, reaching a climax when the Muse herself shows the student how she would interpret this melody. “Dissonans” (Discord) is about a woman’s erotic fantasies. With great freedom (as evidenced by six changes of key and thirty-three changes of time signature!), the song, sung here in French, is almost symphonic in the way it develops every subtlety of the text.

Troubled and suffering from wrist pain, Rachmaninov had to take a break in 1916. Shaginian visited him in May of that year and brought him a new collection of selected poems, most by symbolist poets, which would soon become Opus 38. “Margaritki” (Daisies) captures nature’s intensity in one magical snapshot, dominated by the piano with the voice as counterpoint. “Krysolov” (The pied piper) is a retelling the famous story of the Hamelin piper, who in this version attracts only his lover, whom he soon abandons. In “Son” (Dream), the chime-like figures in the piano’s right hand create an almost hypnotic effect. “Es muss ein wunderbares sein” (Who can feel the bliss) master of contained emotion, waited instead until his thirties to take up the genre.

The first four songs on this recording, dated from 1841–1842, are based on texts by Victor Hugo. In “Oh! quand je dors” (When I sleep), Liszt refines the very nature of the French romance. The main theme reappears in the middle section as a subtle counterpoint played by the piano’s left hand before returning, bare and languid, to culminate in a gentle climax. Fed by the fervor of repeated chords, the voice rises with exuberance and radiance in “Enfant, si j’étais roi” (Child, if I were king). In the song’s second stanza (“If I were God”), the rumbling of thunder in the left hand leads the voice to a culmination before tenderness returns in the end. “Comment, disaient-ils” (‘How then, asked he) is more serenade-like, with an accompaniment resembling the strummed chords of a guitar, appropriate for a dialogue between a group of men and their lovers. The light, airy accompaniment of “S’il est un charmant gazon” (If there’s a lovely grassy plot) opens up great interpretive possibilities for the singer, who transports the listener to a world where the contemplation of nature’s beauty conjures up visions of the beloved. The recording closes with two intensely poetic lieder, “Bist du” (Is it you) and “Es muss ein wunderbares sein” (Who can feel the bliss), both of which are disarmingly simple but deeply expressive.

© Lucie Renaud
Translation by Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 6 1036
AN 6 1036
AN 6 1036
AN 6 1036

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9923

Romances: Liszt, Rachmaninov

Date de sortie 08 mai 2007
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9923
Periodes Romantique
Genres Récit vocal

Informations sur l'album

Chanter la romance … Qui n’a pas rêvé, un jour ou l’autre, de succomber à l’être aimé nous fredonnant quelque doux propos. Si, historiquement, la romance a d’abord été déclamée en espagnol, elle a rapidement été adoptée par d’autres auteurs européens avant de devenir genre musical à part entière. Très en faveur en France à partir de la seconde moitié du XVIIIe siècle et jusqu’au milieu du XIXe siècle, elle se veut trait d’union entre musique populaire et musique de concert.

L’âme slave ne pouvait qu’être touchée par ces sujets tendres, volontiers mélancoliques. En héritier de Glinka mais surtout de Tchaïkovski, Sergeï Rachmaninov (1873-1943) devait composer plus de 80 romances entre 1890 et 1917. En virtuose exceptionnel, il dédia un rôle important au piano, tour à tour narrateur, confident ou peintre.

Le premier recueil de Romansov, opus 4 (daté de 1892), témoigne de cette disposition naturelle de Rachmaninov à la mélancolie. Dédiée à sa cousine Natalya Satine – qui deviendra quelques années plus tard sa femme –,  » Ne poj, krasavica  » (Ne chante pas en ma présence) transmet l’immensité des plaines géorgiennes à travers des mélismes vocaux lancinants. « Davno-l’, moj drug  » (Il n’y a pas si longtemps) semble presque opératique et nous fait basculer dans un univers de tragédie.

« Ja zhdu tebya  » (Je t’attends), premier chant de l’opus 14 (publié en 1896), se veut une déclaration d’amour teintée d’un certain désespoir, sous-entendu par les grands intervalles de la ligne vocale et le traitement dramatique des mots  » je t’attends « . Le piano prend progressivement possession de l’œuvre, amant d’abord discret puis présomptueux. Le contraste avec  » Ostrovok  » (La petite île) est saisissant. Dans cette pastorale toute en subtilité, la ravissante ligne chantée est soutenue par un accompagnement d’une grande discrétion, à peine perturbée par le léger ondoiement des triolets. Dans  » Vesennije, vody  » (Torrents printaniers), particulièrement virtuose – la pièce est dédiée à l’ancien professeur de piano de Rachmaninov, Anna Ornatskaya –, le printemps russe s’exprime avec une certaine sauvagerie, les tourbillons de l’eau qui se réveille sous les glaces emportant tout sur leur passage.

Écrit quelques semaines à peine avant son mariage à Natalya (l’avance défrayera les coûts de la lune de miel), les douze chants de l’opus 21 expriment la félicité. Sous l’apparente gaieté du thème de  » Siren’  » (Lilas), basé sur trois notes, pointe l’impatience. Dans  » Zdes’ khorosho  » (Si paisible), dédié à sa femme, le piano devient complice attentif. La majesté des premières phrases de « Ja ne, prorok  » (Je ne suis pas prophète) exulte une confiance inattaquable qui se fondra en arpèges évoquant la lyre du poète.

Des quinze chants de l’opus 26,  » U mojevo okna  » (À ma fenêtre) reste le plus aimé. La voix et le piano y sont soudés, échangeant leurs lignes, complétant leurs affirmations, nous plongeant dans une délicieuse rêverie.

En 1912, Rachmaninov devait établir une correspondance étroite avec une admiratrice qui signait ses missives Ré, en fait la poétesse d’origine arménienne Marietta Shaginian. Dès le deuxième échange de lettres, Rachmaninov lui demandait de lui faire parvenir des poèmes qu’il pourrait mettre en musique,  » d’humeur triste plutôt que joyeuse; les couleurs vives ne me viennent pas facilement « .  » Muza  » (La muse), première pièce des quatorze de l’opus 34, dédié fort à propos à Ré, évoque les années d’apprentissage d’un chanteur sous la férule de la Muse. L’état de contemplation du début fait bientôt place à une animation croissante dans la deuxième strophe, atteignant un sommet lorsque la Muse elle-même raconte comment elle jouerait cet air.  » Dissonance  » met en lumière les fantasmes érotiques d’une femme. D’une grande liberté (on y note 6 changements de tonalité et 33 changements de chiffres indicateurs!), ce poème presque symphonique développe toutes les nuances du texte, chanté ici en français afin de mieux apprécier la beauté de la traduction.

Instable et souffrant de douleur aux poignets, Rachmaninov doit s’arrêter en 1916. Marietta Shaginian lui rend visite en mai et lui remet un nouveau carnet de poèmes choisis, en grande majorité symbolistes, qui deviendra bientôt son opus 38. « Margaritki  » (Marguerites) saisit l’intensité de la nature en un instantané magique, dominé par la présence du piano, le chant en contrepoint. Chanté ici en français,  » Krysolov  » (Le joueur de chalumeau) reprend l’histoire célèbre du joueur de flûte de Hamelin qui, ici, n’attire que son amante, qu’il abandonne peu après. Dans  » Son  » (Le rêve), les figures de la main droite du pianiste, telles des cloches, plongent l’auditeur dans un état de quasi-hypnose.

Franz Liszt (1811-1886) avait plus d’un point commun avec Rachmaninov. Pianiste adulé par le public mais décrié par les puristes, virtuose hors du commun, il vouait lui aussi un amour sincère à la voix, comme en témoignent plus de 80 mélodies. Si Rachmaninov aborda le genre lors de la première période de sa vie, Liszt attendit plutôt la trentaine avant de s’y consacrer, en maître de l’émotion contenue.

Les quatre premières mélodies de cet enregistrement, datées de 1841-1842, s’inspirent de textes de Victor Hugo. Dans  » Oh! Quand je dors « , Liszt sublime le caractère même de la romance française. Le thème principal est repris en subtil contrepoint dans la partie centrale par la main gauche de la pianiste avant de revenir, dépouillé, alangui, culminant dans une crête de douceur. Nourrie par le feu des accords répétés, la voix s’élève, exubérante, radieuse dans  » Enfant, si j’étais roi « . Les éléments se déchaînent dans la seconde strophe ( » Si j’étais Dieu « ), le grondement du tonnerre de la main gauche portant la voix vers le climax avant que la tendresse ne reprenne ses droits.  » Comment, disaient-ils  » rejoint l’esprit de la sérénade, avec son accompagnement rappelant les accords morcelés de la guitare et son dialogue entre des personnages masculins et leurs belles.  » S’il est un charmant gazon « , avec son accompagnement aérien, laisse une grande liberté à la voix qui nous guide vers un univers où la contemplation des beautés de la nature conjure des visions de l’être aimé. L’enregistrement se termine avec deux lieder intensément poétiques,  » Bist du  » (Est-ce toi) et  » Es muss ein wunderbares sein  » (Ce doit être une chose merveilleuse), d’une désarmante simplicité mais d’une grande profondeur d’expression.

© Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 6 1028
AN 6 1028
AN 6 1028
AN 6 1028

Start typing and press Enter to search