fbpx

Album information

What is Classical Music?

The term “classical music” has been applied to a range of music from different cultures, and gradually came to mean “authentic” or “principal.” In Western European music, it is distinguished from “popular” music, although history has shown that popular and classical forms were once closely woven together and to some extent, still are. Classical music has also developed its own conventional history, which unfolds over a series of periods including the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the Baroque, the Enlightenment or Classical (with a capital “C”), and the Romantic, Modern, and Contemporary eras, each of which evolved characteristic styles and forms. Whichever way we approach them, each of these periods also reveals its own particular beauty. This series of compilations invites the listener to savour salient examples of works penned by composers from the Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Modern eras and gleaned from Analekta’s impressive roster of performers.

Jewels of the 20th Century

The 20th century was for music, as with other arts, a time of rather revolutionary aesthetic change. But not all composers felt that wiping the slate clean of the past was a good idea; many instead took alternative routes, exploring both the music of other countries and the rich traditions of their native lands to forge deeply personal and exceptionally beautiful musical languages. Jewels of the 20th Century offers listeners a taste of some of these composers: three Frenchmen, three Russians, a Spaniard, a Czech, two North Americans and one South American.

***

French composers from around the turn of the 20th century are often grouped together under the term “impressionists.” The word was first used by an art critic in an attempt to ridicule an 1874 Paris exhibition by a group of painters who were questioning academic conventions of the day. The critic took the expression from the title of one of the paintings, Claude Monet’s Impression Sunrise. The artists later adopted the term as an emblem. Despite the diversity of their art, they had the common and somewhat paradoxical goal of depicting through fixed images the nebulous, fluctuating and volatile aspects of nature (water, clouds, the day’s different lights). At a technical level, they rejected the claim to truth of precise drawings and pure forms; instead, they were interested in optically mixing spots of colour to create forms that the viewer’s eye could only properly resolve by stepping back from the painting.

Ten years later, Claude Debussy was reproached for essentially the musical equivalent. At the end of his studies, a member of the jury had this to say about the works he had submitted: “Monsieur Debussy sins through neither platitude nor banality. Quite on the contrary, he shows a pronounced tendency, too pronounced even, to seek out the strange. We recognize in him a feeling for musical colour, whose exaggeration causes him to forget the importance of precision in drawing and form. It would be highly desirable that he be wary of this vague “impressionism,” which is one of the most dangerous enemies of truth in works of art.”

It is ironically for these very reasons that Debussy, Ravel and Satie are today considered among the most original “poets” or “painters” in the history of music, and the three works presented here among the quintessence of their art.

***

The Russian school was long divided between its fascination with the German ideal of “pure music,” represented by Brahms and his emulator Tchaikovsky, and its desire to find an original voice by drawing upon sources of national folklore, in the manner of Rimsky-Korsakov and “The Five.” At the dawn of the 20th century, many viewed Aleksandr Glazunov (1865–1936) as their logical successor, the man who resolved the conflict by fusing the best of both worlds. As illustrated by his beautiful “Chant du Ménestrel” (Minstrel’s Song), Glazunov combined an innate sense of stylish melody with a consummate mastery of form, polyphonic texture and instrumental colour. A first-rate teacher, he was the director of the St. Petersburg Conservatory for over 20 years (1905–1928) and strongly influenced the next two generations of Russian composers, represented here respectively by Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953) and Dmitry Shostakovich (1906–1975).

Shortly after 1910, just as he was turning twenty, Prokofiev, a child prodigy of the piano, began to amaze audiences as a composer as well, with works of great rhythmical and harmonic intensity, such as his first violin concerto. Shostakovich continued down this path, leaving upon his death in 1975 an immense and diverse oeuvre dominated by two major cycles of 15 symphonies and 15 string quartets.

***

At the turn of the 20th century, Spanish popular music enjoyed a surprising period of vogue among both French and Russian composers, many of whom wrote “rhapsodies,” “serenades,” or “hours” which they qualified as “Spanish.” A generation later, Spanish composers themselves would take up this meeting of the classical European aesthetic and their own traditional music. Alongside the dominant figure of Manuel de Falla, Joaquin Rodrigo (1901–1999) would earn distinction by composing for flamenco’s favourite instrument, the guitar. With his Concierto de Aranjuez (1940), Rodrigo gained both a reputation and entrance into the world’s great concert halls.

Of Czech origin, Bohuslav Martinù (1890–1959) first worked in France, composing imaginative and picturesque orchestral works such as La bagarre, influenced by his teacher Roussel and his friends in “Les Six.” When World War II broke out, he emigrated to the United States, where he was hailed as the new Dvorák, his illustrious compatriot who had conquered America with his New World Symphony 50 years earlier. In the U.S., Martinù received a number of commissions from American orchestras, including five of his six symphonies, before returning to Europe at the end of the war. Throughout his career, however, he wrote many concertos and chamber works for diverse combinations with an inexhaustible energy, as shown by his Sonata for Flute, Violin and Piano.

If Ravel, Martinù and other composers, such as those of “Les Six,” came to jazz and ragtime from a classical background, George Gershwin (1898–1937) in a sense took the opposite path. Growing up in New York City’s slums, he was exposed to the intoxicating rhythms of America’s poor neighbourhoods before discovering European music through his contact with Ravel, among others. It did not take him long to assimilate the refinements of French impressionism, but he breathed a new energy into it with jazz. His Rhapsody in Blue (1924) and Concerto in F (1925) made him the first American composer to achieve an international stature comparable to the great European names of the day.

The Canadian André Mathieu (1929–1948) was compared to Mozart from his very early youth, both locally and internationally. Like Mozart, he was the son of a composer, and his musical education and early career was overseen by his father. He composed his first piece at the age of four, and the New York Times mentioned that “even Mozart, the greatest musical prodigy of all time, only began composing at the age of five, and his first works were much simpler in nature than those of the young Canadian.” Like Mozart, he toured as a child prodigy: at the age of seven, he had played in Paris at Pleyel and Gaveau halls; he was ten when he gave his Carnegie Hall debut. Rachmaninov declared Mathieu “a genius, more so than I am.” He studied composition in Paris and New York and composed over two hundred works, only one quarter of which have been found today.

Finally, like the works of Mathieu, those of Brazilian composer Heitor Villa-Lobos (1889–1959) deserve much wider popularity and dissemination. What Gershwin did by fusing classical music with jazz, Villa-Lobos undertook with the ethnic music of his native Brazil, which the European pubic received with much enthusiasm during his numerous trips to the old world between the two wars. His Chôros for solo guitar, presented here, is but a tiny flower when compared to the great tropical rainforest of his lush oeuvre, but it is a seductive microcosm of this little-known giant’s work.

© Guy Marchand
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

Angèle Dubeau
AN 2 9297 – Sas Agapo
AN 2 9297 – Sas Agapo
AN 2 9297 – Sas Agapo

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9786

Joyaux du XXe siècle

Informations sur l'album

Qu’est-ce que la musique classique?

Au sens large, l’expression  » musique classique  » peut s’appliquer à une variété de musiques provenant de diverses cultures. Elle acquiert un sens plus précis en ce qui a trait à la musique issue de l’Europe occidentale, où à l’intérieur de ce domaine, elle désigne une musique  » authentique « ,  » principale « . La musique classique se distingue également des formes dites  » populaires « , quoique l’histoire nous démontre que  » populaire  » et  » classique  » étaient à l’origine entremêlés et continuent de l’être.

La musique classique a également fait l’objet d’une histoire conventionnelle particulièrement bien fournie, laquelle est conçue sur plusieurs périodes : le Moyen Âge, la Renaissance, le Baroque, les Lumières (ou l’époque  » Classique  » assimilée aux noms de Mozart, Haydn et Beethoven), et les époques romantique, moderne, et contemporaine. Même si l’art transcende ces définitions  » évolutives « , il n’en demeure pas moins que chacune des périodes énumérées recèle des beautés caractéristiques. Cette série de compilations invite l’auditeur à savourer des œuvres saillantes de compositeurs du Moyen Âge, de la Renaissance, du Baroque, du Classique, ainsi que des époques romantique et moderne, interprétées par une brochette impressionnante de chanteurs et d’instrumentistes figurant au catalogue Analekta.

Joyaux du XXe siècle

En musique comme dans les autres arts, le XXe siècle fut le témoin de révolutions esthétiques passablement radicales. Mais plusieurs compositeurs refusèrent d’entrer dans ce mouvement qui aspirait à faire table rase du passé. Ils empruntèrent plutôt des chemins de traverses, partant à la rencontre de musiques d’ailleurs, revenant explorer les richesses de leur propre tradition, pour les fondre en des langages sonores personnels et singuliers d’une grande beauté. Ce sont quelques-uns de ces compositeurs que  » Joyaux du XXe siècle  » vous invitent à découvrir : trois Français, trois Russes, un Espagnol, un Tchèque et trois Américains, deux du nord et un du sud.

***

On réunit souvent les compositeurs français qui ont marqué le passage du XIXe au XXe siècle sous le nom d' » impressionnistes « . Le terme avait d’abord été utilisé par un critique d’art qui voulait ridiculiser les tableaux d’une exposition présentée à Paris en 1874, par un groupe de peintres qui remettaient en question les conventions académiques. L’expression lui avait été suggérée par le titre d’une des œuvres, Impression soleil levant, de Claude Monet. Les exposants avaient alors repris le terme comme porte-étendard. Malgré leur diversité, ils avaient en commun ce paradoxe de vouloir saisir dans une image fixe les aspects flous, fluctuants et volatiles de la nature (l’eau, les nuages, les différentes lumières du jour). Sur le plan technique, ils rejetaient la prétention à la vérité du dessin précis et des formes claires; ils s’intéressaient plutôt au mélange optique des taches de couleurs, pour créer des formes que l’œil du spectateur ne pouvait reconstituer complètement qu’en prenant le recul nécessaire par rapport au tableau.

C’est quelque chose d’équivalent qu’une dizaine d’années plus tard on reprocha à Debussy en musique. À propos des œuvres qu’il présenta comme travaux de fin d’études, on peut lire dans le rapport du jury le jugement suivant:  » M. Debussy ne pèche pas par la platitude ni par la banalité. Il a, tout au contraire, une tendance prononcée, trop prononcée même, à la recherche de l’étrange. On reconnaît chez lui un sentiment de la couleur musicale dont l’exagération lui fait facilement oublier l’importance de la précision du dessin et de la forme. Il serait fort à désirer qu’il se mit en garde contre cet impressionnisme vague, qui est un des plus dangereux ennemis de la vérité dans les œuvres d’art.  »

C’est paradoxalement pour ces mêmes raisons qu’aujourd’hui, Debussy, Ravel et Satie, sont considérés parmi les  » poètes  » ou  » peintres  » les plus originaux de l’histoire de la musique, et les trois œuvres présentées ici, comme la quintessence de leur art.

***

L’école russe fut longtemps partagée entre sa fascination pour l’idéal allemand de la musique pure, représentée par Brahms et son émule Tchaïkovski, et son désir de trouver une voix originale en puisant aux sources du folklore national, à la manière de Rimski-Korsakov et du Groupe des cinq. À l’orée du XXe siècle, plusieurs virent en Alexandre Glazounov (1865-1936), leur successeur immédiat, celui qui sut résoudre le conflit en fusionnant le meilleur des deux mondes. Comme l’illustre son délicieux Chant du Ménestrel, Glazounov alliait un sens inné de la mélodie aux réminiscences populaires, à une maîtrise consommée de la forme, des textures polyphoniques et des couleurs instrumentales. Pédagogue de premier plan, il fut directeur du conservatoire de Saint-Pétersbourg pendant plus de 20 ans (1905-1928) et eut une influence déterminante sur les deux générations suivantes respectivement représentées ici par Sergeï Prokofiev (1891-1953) et Dmitry Chostakovitch (1906-1975).

Au début des années 1910, alors qu’il franchit tout juste la vingtaine, l’enfant prodige qu’avait été Prokofiev comme pianiste, stupéfia aussi en tant que compositeur avec des œuvres aux rythmes et aux harmonies exacerbés, comme dans son premier concerto pour violon. Chostakovitch poursuivra dans cette voie, laissant à sa mort en 1975, une œuvre immense et des plus diversifiée, dominée par deux cycles majeurs de 15 symphonies et 15 quatuors à cordes.

***

Au tournant des XIXe et XXe siècles, tant chez les Français que chez les Russes, la musique populaire espagnole connut une étonnante vogue, plusieurs y allant d’une  » rhapsodie « ,  » sérénade  » ou  » heure  » qualifiées d' » espagnoles « . Dès la génération suivante, les compositeurs hispaniques devaient reprendre à leur compte cette rencontre entre l’esthétique classique européenne et les musiques traditionnelles de leur pays. Au côté de la figure dominante de Manuel de Falla, Joaquin Rodrigo (1901-1999) devait se distinguer en composant pour le maître-instrument du flamenco : la guitare. Avec son célèbre Concierto de Aranjuez (1940), il la fit entrer dans les grandes salles de concert et lui donna ses premières lettres de noblesses.

D’origine tchèque, Bohuslav Martinù (1890-1959) fit d’abord carrière en France, frappant l’imagination avec des pages orchestrales pittoresques, comme La Bagarre, influencées par son professeur Roussel et ses amis du Groupe des six. Lorsque la Seconde Guerre éclate, il émigre aux États-Unis où l’on voit en lui un nouveau Dvorák, illustre compatriote qui, 50 ans plus tôt, avait conquis l’Amérique avec sa Symphonie du Nouveau Monde. Martinù reçoit alors plusieurs commandes d’orchestres américains et composera pour eux cinq de ses six symphonies avant de retourner en Europe à la fin de la guerre. Mais tout au long de sa carrière, il multiplia les œuvres concertantes et de musique de chambre pour les combinaisons les plus diverses avec une verve intarissable dont témoigne sa Sonate pour flûte, violon et piano.

Si Ravel, Martinù et d’autres compositeurs comme ceux du Groupe des six découvrirent le jazz et le ragtime en venant de leur formation classique, Georges Gershwin (1898-1937) fit, d’une certaine façon le chemin inverse. Ayant passé son enfance dans les quartiers pauvres de New York, il fut d’abord nourri de ces rythmes enivrants nés dans les faubourgs américains, avant de découvrir, entre autres au contact de Ravel, la musique européenne. Il ne fut pas long à s’approprier tous les raffinements de l’impressionnisme français, mais lui insuffla une énergie nouvelle par le jazz. Sa Rhapsody in Blue (1924) et son Concerto en fa (1925) firent de lui le premier compositeur américain à atteindre une stature internationale comparable aux plus grands noms européens de l’époque.

Le Canadien André Mathieu (1929-1948) fut dès le plus jeune âge comparé à Mozart, non seulement sur la scène locale, mais aussi à l’échelle internationale. Comme Mozart fils de compositeur, il vit comme lui son éducation musicale et ses premiers pas en carrière supervisés par son père. Il compose sa première pièce à l’âge de quatre ans et le New York Times soulignera que  » même Mozart, le plus grand prodige musical de tous les temps, ne composa qu’à l’âge de cinq ans, et ses premières œuvres étaient d’une nature beaucoup plus simple que celles du jeune Canadien « . Comme Mozart, il fit des tournées d’enfant prodige : à sept ans, salles Pleyel et Gaveau à Paris, et à dix, Carnegie Hall à New York. Rachmaninov déclare alors que Mathieu est  » un génie, à plus juste titre que moi « . Il fit par la suite des études de composition à Paris et à New York et il aurait composé plus de deux cents œuvres dont seulement le quart a été retrouvé à ce jour.

Enfin, tout comme celles d’André Mathieu, les œuvres du Brésilien Heitor Villa-Lobos (1889-1959) mériteraient aussi d’être mieux connues et diffusées. Ce que fit Gershwin de la tradition classique en la fusionnant au jazz américain, Villa-Lobos l’entreprit avec les musiques ethniques de son Brésil natal, enthousiasmant le public européen lors de ses nombreux séjours sur le vieux continent entre les deux guerres. Le Chôros pour guitare solo retenu ici n’est qu’une petite fleur en regard de l’immense forêt vierge que représente son œuvre foisonnante, mais c’est un séduisant microcosme à l’image de l’œuvre entier de ce géant méconnu.

© Guy Marchand

Lire la suite

À propos

Angèle Dubeau
AN 2 8728
AN 2 8728
AN 2 8728

Start typing and press Enter to search