fbpx

Album information

What is Classical Music?

The term “classical music” has been applied to a range of music from different cultures, and gradually came to mean “authentic” or “principal.” In Western European music, it is distinguished from “popular” music, although history has shown that popular and classical forms were once closely woven together and to some extent, still are. Classical music has also developed its own conventional history, which unfolds over a series of periods including the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the Baroque, the Enlightenment or Classical (with a capital “C”), and the Romantic, Modern, and Contemporary eras, each of which evolved characteristic styles and forms. Whichever way we approach them, each of these periods also reveals its own particular beauty. This series of compilations invites the listener to savor salient examples of works penned by composers from the Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Modern eras and gleaned from Analekta’s impressive roster of performers.

What is Baroque Music ?

The word “Baroque” is borrowed from the French, which in turn adapted it from the Portuguese barocco, meaning a pearl of a strange or irregular shape. Originally (and logically) ascribed to the manufacture of jewellery in the 16th century, it was first used outside of this profession in a French critic’s appraisal of Rameau’s tragedy Hippolyte et Aricie, performed in Paris in 1733. The anonymous critic, who wrote in the famous journal Mercure de France, complained that the dissonances, modulations, and constant changes of meter and melody in Rameau’s work were nothing more than “du barocque.”

The German musicologist Manfred Bukofzer identified three major periods, which did not, however, coincide in every European country: 1580–1630, early Baroque; 1630–80, middle Baroque; 1680–1730, late Baroque. Other musicologists have located a “primitive baroque” period which began in the middle of the 16th century, ostensibly in Italy where the Renaissance had also taken an earlier hold than in other countries.

Whatever arguments of date and place we may have, the main achievements of the Baroque style were a more marked emphasis on vocal and instrumental solo parts, the rise of opera and oratorio, the development of the cantata and the evolution of the bel canto style and figured bass accompaniment. The latter, which was designed to maximize the expressivity of solo vocal or instrument lines, was complemented by an ultimate flowering of the contrapuntal style which was increasingly relegated to religious or keyboard works. The present recording reflects these innovations in a vast range of chamber and orchestral works, solo compositions, and dramatic vocal music, both sacred and secular.

© Guy Marchand
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 2 8738
AN 2 8738

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Qu’est-ce que la musique classique?

Au sens large, l’expression  » musique classique  » peut s’appliquer à une variété de musiques provenant de diverses cultures. Elle acquiert un sens plus précis en ce qui a trait à la musique issue de l’Europe occidentale, où à l’intérieur de ce domaine elle désigne une musique  » authentique « ,  » principale « . La musique classique se distingue également des formes dites populaires, quoique l’histoire nous démontre que « populaire” et « classique” étaient à l’origine entremêlés et continuent de l’être.

La musique classique a également fait l’objet d’une histoire conventionnelle particulièrement bien fournie, laquelle est conçue sur plusieurs périodes : le Moyen-Âge, la Renaissance, le Baroque, les Lumières (ou l’époque  » Classique  » assimilée au noms de Mozart, Haydn et Beethoven), et les époques romantique, moderne, et contemporaine. Même si l’art transcende ces définitions « évolutives” il n’en demeure pas moins que chacune des périodes énumérées recèle des beautés caractéristiques. Cette série de compilations invite l’auditeur à savourer des oeuvres saillantes de compositeurs de la Renaissance, du Baroque, du Classique, ainsi que des époques romantique et moderne, interprétées par une brochette impressionnante de chanteurs et d’instrumentistes figurant au catalogue Analekta.

Qu’est-ce que la musique baroque ?

Le mot  » baroque  » est d’abord utilisé dans la profession de joaillier : il aurait été emprunté au portugais  » barocco « , qualificatif employé pour décrire une perle ayant une forme étrange ou asymétrique. Dans un contexte musical, il est utilisé pour la première fois en 1733 dans une revue de presse anonyme critiquant la tragédie lyrique Hippolyte et Aricie de Jean-Philippe Rameau. Dans une lettre au Mercure de France l’auteur se plaint de dissonances, de modulations, de changements brusques de rythme et de mélodie qu’il qualifie comme n’étant que  » du barocque « .

Le musicologue allemand Manfred Bukofzer a identifié trois périodes à l’intérieur du Baroque en précisant qu’elles ne coïncidaient pas forcément dans tous les pays d’Europe. Les années 1580 à 1630 auraient constitué, selon Bukofzer un  » Baroque ancien « ; les années 1630 à 1680, un  » Baroque moyen  » ; enfin, les années 1680 à 1730, un  » Baroque tardif « . D’autres musicologues parlent d’un  » Baroque primitif  » qui aurait pris racine vers le milieu du XVIe siècle en Italie, là où la Renaissance avait également commencé plus tôt que dans d’autre pays européens.

La musique de cette période possède, bien entendu, des traits communs avec celle de la Renaissance qui la précède et celle du Classique qui la suit. Elle est marquée au début par les innovations stylistiques d’un nouveau genre, l’opéra. L’oratorio, la cantate, le concerto pour instruments solo (et la place grandissante du soliste chanteur ou instrumentiste), le choral sont d’autres exemples d’innovations. À cela, il faut ajouter le développement de la basse continue ou chiffrée, c’est-à-dire un accompagnement plus souple capable de faire valoir l’expressivité de la partie du soliste. Cette nouvelle orientation est cependant complémentée par une évolution du contrepoint, mais celui-ci sera davantage le fait de la musique religieuse et de clavier.
Le présent enregistrement offre à l’auditeur un éventail d’œuvres de chambre et d’orchestre, de pièces solos et de musique vocale profane et sacrée interprétées ici sur instruments anciens ou modernes qui, nous en sommes certains, reflétera ces innovations du Baroque.

© Guy Marchand

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search