fbpx

Album information

“Marie-Nicole Lemieux is a voice and a heart.” (Christophe Rizoud, Forum Opera)

Just a few notes of Marie-Nicole Lemieux’s velvety contralto is all it takes to fall under her spell. With her unique timbre, innate sense of musical line, profound mastery of text, astonishing charm, apparent ease in all repertoires, and remarkable stage presence, Lemieux seems to have it all.

Her career, which now extends to all of the world’s great stages, first flowered in 2000, when she won the Joseph-Rouleau Competition and the Queen Elisabeth Competition in Belgium almost back to back. These were the first milestones in what would become a meteoric rise. This compilation features some of the most beautiful works she has recorded for Analekta by composers such as Scarlatti, Handel, Vivaldi, and Brahms.

The sixty-odd cantatas by Handel are a brilliant testament to his creativity. Key words are highlighted with long melismas, and the ornaments and vocal chromaticism reveal the almost opera-like drama of these works.

Vivaldi’s Stabat Mater takes listeners into a sombre world that is miles away from his dazzling concerti. A captivating lament somewhere between prayer and tears, between pain and acceptance, the voice soars above the magnificent and at times heart-rending music of the strings.

Legend has it that Scarlatti dictated his Salve Regina on his deathbed. The delicately expressive treatment of this supplication reads like an “adieu” to life but also to Queen Maria Barbara, whom he had served for many years.

Over the decades, Brahms would return time and time again to the lied. A solitary man, perhaps he considered it a more intensely emotional form of expression, his secret garden (he called his collections of lieder “bouquets of songs”). By turns, he could evoke the sting of unrequited love, solitude, the finality of existence, and nature’s solace.

Read more

About

Marie-Nicole Lemieux
Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
AN 2 9927-8
AN 2 9927-8

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9763

Marie-Nicole Lemieux: Meilleurs moments

Date de sortie 29 janvier 2013
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9763
Periodes Baroque | Divers | Romantique
Genres Récit vocal

Informations sur l'album

« Marie-Nicole Lemieux, c’est une voix et un cœur. » (Christophe Rizoud, Forum Opera)

Quelques notes issues du contralto velouté de Marie-Nicole Lemieux suffisent pour tomber sous le charme. Timbre unique, sens inné de la ligne musicale, apprivoisement des textes de l’intérieur, charisme étonnant, aisance apparente dans tous les répertoires, présence scénique remarquable, la chanteuse semble posséder tous les atouts.

La carrière de celle qui se produit maintenant sur les grandes scènes du monde entier devait prendre son envol en 2000, alors qu’elle remporte, presque coup sur coup, le Concours Joseph-Rouleau et le Concours musical international Reine Élisabeth de Belgique. Premiers jalons d’un parcours qui deviendrait rapidement stellaire. Nous la retrouvons ici dans une compilation regroupant certaines des plus belles pages enregistrées sous étiquette Analekta, signées Scarlatti, Handel, Vivaldi et Brahms.

La soixantaine de cantates de Handel démontrent avec brio son extraordinaire créativité. De longs mélismes soulignent les mots-clés, ornements et chromatisme vocal révélant les couleurs dramatiques, presque opératiques, de ces œuvres.

Le Stabat Mater de Vivaldi plonge l’auditeur dans un univers sombre, à des lieux de celui de ses éblouissants concertos. Il devient chant prenant entre prière et pleurs, douleur et acceptation, dans lequel la voix plane au-dessus des thèmes à la fois déchirants et magnifiques des cordes.

Selon la légende, le Salve Regina de Scarlatti aurait été dicté par le compositeur sur son lit de mort. Le traitement musical délicatement expressif de cette imploration se lit comme un adieu à la vie, mais aussi à la reine Maria Barbara qu’il avait servie pendant de longues années.

Au fil des décennies, Brahms reviendra inlassablement à l’écriture de lieder. Geste plus concerté d’épanchement émotionnel pour ce solitaire, jardin secret à cultiver (il appelait d’ailleurs ses recueils des « bouquets de chants »)? Il évoquera tour à tour la morsure de l’amour non partagé, la solitude, la finitude de l’existence ou l’apaisement que lui procure la nature.

Lire la suite

À propos

Marie-Nicole Lemieux
Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
AN 6 1025
AN 6 1025

Start typing and press Enter to search