fbpx
AN 2 9785

Jewels of the Classical Era

Release date April 18, 2006
Album code AN 2 9785
Periods Classique
Genres Avant-Garde

Album information

What is Classical Music?

The term “classical music” has been applied to a range of music from different cultures, and gradually came to mean “authentic” or “principal.” In Western European music, it is distinguished from “popular” music, although history has shown that popular and classical forms were once closely woven together and to some extent, still are. Classical music has also developed its own conventional history, which unfolds over a series of periods including the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the Baroque, the Enlightenment or Classical (with a capital “C”), and the Romantic, Modern, and Contemporary eras, each of which evolved characteristic styles and forms. Whichever way we approach them, each of these periods also reveals its own particular beauty. This series of compilations invites the listener to savour salient examples of works penned by composers from the Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Modern eras and gleaned from Analekta’s impressive roster of performers.

Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven: Forging the Classical Style

The generic terms “classical” and “classic” refer to cultural productions that embody authenticity of style, whatever their provenance. This should be distinguished from the term “Classical,” with a capital “C” which, when taken in the context of Western art music, refers more specifically to works composed by Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven; in other words to the “Viennese Classics” or “First Viennese School.” The great pianist and musicologist Charles Rosen confined the Classical style mainly to the instrumental works of the First Viennese School and it is with only one exception (Mozart’s Exsultate jubilate, a vocal work) that we adopt this perspective for the present recording.

Haydn’s role in the dissemination of the Classical style was primordial. He successfully merged the tuneful galant approach of the Enlightenment with more learned contrapuntal devices inherited from earlier composers. One contemporary wrote of Haydn in 1790: “He possesses the great art of making his music oftentimes seem familiar; thus, despite all the contrapuntal refinements therein, he becomes popular and pleasing to every musician.” (Gerber, Lexicon, 1790). Mozart, who was close to Haydn especially in the 1770s, enjoyed similar if not as universal ease with his public. He had the ability to compose in every genre current in his time with patently superlative technical skill, which no doubt explains his astonishing productivity. In his earlier years, Beethoven shared, with Haydn and Mozart, an eagerness to please his public but this was eventually tempered by the sweeping influence of the French Revolution and by his increasingly withdrawn lifestyle, moral outlook, and quest for an ultra-expressive personal style. Whether Beethoven’s style is “Classical” or “Romantic” has certainly been the subject of much debate, especially from his Eroica Symphony onward.

Franz Joseph Haydn (b Rohrau, Lower Austria, 31 March 1732; d Vienna, 31 May 1809)

Haydn has been called the first of the three Viennese Classics and with reason. He composed in every musical genre, is familiarly known as the father of the symphony, and no musical historian would dispute a similar, even more apt paternity for the string quartet. He was immensely famous in his lifetime and celebrated as a hero of European culture in his maturity.

String Quartet in F major, Op.77 No.2
1. Allegro moderato 7:20
Quatuor Alcan

Haydn’s 68 string quartets are the heart of his chamber music output. From his very earliest works in this genre, which belong to the lighter class of the ensemble divertimento, the composer’s stupendous control of instrumental dialogue and formal equilibrium was already a distinctive feature.

By the end of the 1790s, when the quartets Op.77 were composed, Haydn had been fortified by the second of two immensely successful journeys to London. He concentrated on expanding the dimensions of his string quartets, which have sometimes been qualified as “orchestral,” a more or less apt description that nonetheless reflects the important changes he brought to the genre he himself invented. The Op.77 works, dedicated to Prince Lobkowitz (also one of Beethoven’s patrons) ideally represent the composer’s depth, maturity, exquisite sensitivity and command of formal structure. Apart from these qualities, the characteristic feature of the first movement of the F-major Quartet heard on the present recording is a placid and deeply expressive principal theme.

Trio in G major Hob.XV:25
2. Finale: Presto, Rondo all’ongarese 3:08
The Gryphon Trio

The famous “Gypsy Rondo” from this piano trio embodies both Haydn’s Bohemian roots and the 18th-century piano trio genre, which must be understood as an “accompanied sonata” in which the keyboard dominates the ensemble. Dedicated to Haydn’s London copyist Rebecca Schroeter and composed in London in 1794-95 this trio, along with Nos.24 and 26 in the Hoboken catalogue No.XV are the fruits of the composer’s encounter with the rich, effervescent musical life of the English capital.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (b Salzburg, 27 Jan 1756; d Vienna, 5 Dec 1791)

Mozart excelled in every compositional medium current in his time. This, more than anything else, has caused him to be regarded as the most universal composer in Western music history. At the time of his death, and even considering his poverty-stricken final years, his reputation stood high. The romantic image of Mozart that prevailed in the 19th century was fuelled by anecdotes such as his increasing obsession with death (causing him to write his famous Requiem, ostensibly for himself), and images of him as the eternal child and rebel, no doubt compounded by his premature death at age 35.

“Haydn” Quartet in G major K.387
3. Andante cantabile
Quatuor Alcan

Mozart heartily emulated the quartets of Haydn; especially the latter’s Op.33 (1781). Like Haydn’s works in this genre and period, the ensemble writing is conceived as a four-part discourse between the instruments which transcends simple four-part harmony. Along with those of Haydn and Beethoven, the “Haydn” quartets have been described by critics as prime examples of the Classical quartet.

Due to the matchless ease with which Mozart composed all of his works, the cycle of six “Haydn” quartets took little more than two years for him to complete. The first of these, of which the “Andante cantabile” movement is heard on the present recording, was completed in Vienna, on December 21,1782.

Sonata for Fortepiano and Violin in D major K.306
4. Allegro con spirito 7:16
David Breitman, fortepiano
Jean-François Rivest, violin

Because of the popular visual portrayal of the child-prodigy Mozart playing the harpsichord or piano, it is often forgotten that Mozart was not only a keyboard virtuoso, but also a brilliant violinist. He earned a living in the string section at court in his native Salzburg until late 1777, when he resigned this position and left for Mannheim and Paris, seeking his own independence, autonomy, and fortune.

It was in Paris that Mozart composed the sonata for keyboard and violin K.306 and, according to Mozart scholar Cliff Eisen, this work breaks the expressive and stylistic pattern of the cycle of six so-called “Mannheim” violin sonatas (K.301-306) characterized by “jarring dissonances and harmonic and rhythmic disjunctiveness.” Sonata K.306 is the only three-movement work in the cycle and is free of many of the tortuous characteristics of the five preceding works in the group. Again according to Eisen, this work is a “virtuosic romp, extroverted, full of energy,” in which the violin is “more a partner in the musical dialogue and the keyboard writing is neither restrained nor spare, but has a hint of orchestral style.”

Exsultate jubilate K.165
5. Molto allegro
Lyne Fortin, soprano
Orchestre Métropolitain du Grand Montréal
Joseph Rescigno, conductor

The solo motet Exsultate jubilate was written during what was to be Mozart’s last journey to Italy as a child prodigy (October 1772 to March 1773). The three-movement piece was intended for Venanzio Rauzzini, the Milan Opera’s primo uomo. More than seven years later, Mozart revised it for the soprano Francesca Ceccarelli who was scheduled to perform it in Salzburg in 1780. Thus this devotional work is actually rooted in the world of opera, a genre in which Mozart’s multifaceted genius proved emblematic. And what dazzling vocal display the piece demands, particularly the final movement heard on this recording. It concludes with a rousing, virtuoso Alleluia, no doubt one of the Classical crowd-stoppers of all times.

Ludwig van Beethoven (b Bonn, bap. 17 Dec 1770; d Vienna, 26 March 1827)

In his early years as a composer, Beethoven extended the Viennese Classical tradition of Haydn and Mozart. In his later years, he developed an increasingly personal style and came to be regarded as a dominant figure of 19th-century Western art music. He is probably the most admired figure in the history of Western music.

The son of an obscure musician in a small provincial town, Beethoven struggled with the ambitions of his father to transform him into a famous, globe-trotting prodigy like Mozart. In the spring of 1787 he visited Vienna, where there seems to be little doubt that he met Mozart, with whom he wished to study. The illness and death of his mother cut that journey short, however, and after a mere two weeks in the Austrian capital, Beethoven returned to Bonn where he remained another four and a half years. In November 1792, he returned to Vienna with the encouragement of Count Ferdinand Waldstein, who wrote to him: “You are going to Vienna in fulfilment of your long-frustrated wishes. The Genius of Mozart is still mourning and weeping over the death of her pupil. She found a refuge but no occupation with the inexhaustible Haydn; through him she wishes once more to form a union with another. With the help of assiduous labour you shall receive Mozart’s spirit from Haydn’s hands.”

Trio in E-flat major, Op.1 No.1
6. Scherzo (Allegro assai) 5:00
The Gryphon Trio

In his early years in Bonn and in Vienna, Beethoven earned a living as a pianist, improviser, and composer for the piano at a time when piano technique was expanding rapidly. This is the period in which he composed, among others, his piano sonata Op.2 No.2, and his famous Rondo a capriccioso.

Written during Beethoven’s first Vienna period, the three piano trios Op.1 (completed in 1794-95) provide an example of one of Beethoven’s earliest formal innovations: his substitution of the “Scherzo” in the place of the Haydnesque “Minuet” for the third movement of instrumental works. These early scherzos by Beethoven, however, move no faster than Haydn’s minuets, but they last considerably longer; one wonders how they were received by the older master. In the example on the present recording, repeated sections frame the central section (called a “trio”) in which a rollicking theme is highlighted by the piano above sustaining harmonies in the strings.

Sonata for Piano Op.110 in A-flat major
7. Fuga: Allegro ma non troppo 6:58
Anton Kuerti, piano

Beethoven’s three last piano sonatas, Op.109, 110, and 111 were written between 1820 and 1822, at a time when the composer was struggling with virtually complete deafness. Even more remarkable given the composer’s personal circumstances, these three works precede three other gigantic compositions, all completed between October 1822 and February 1824: the Diabelli Variations, the Missa solemnis, and the Ninth Symphony.

The Sonata Op.110 remains the most popular of the late sonatas because of the exquisite beauty of its melodic material. The final movement bears an unusual design: it begins with a wandering improvisation akin to a vocal recitative, which precedes what appears at first to be the most sober and austere of fugues. As the movement expands, however, so does Beethoven’s treatment of the melodic material which, in the words of Anton Kuerti, “swells and strains heroically, its expression disarmingly warm and open, inviting all to rejoice and resonate with its happy fervour.”

Symphony No.3 “Eroica”
8. Finale 11:47
Orchestre Métropolitain du Grand Montréal
Joseph Rescigno, conductor

It seems fitting to conclude this recording with a work that broke new ground both with respect to the Classical style and Beethoven’s own artistic imperatives. The “Eroica” is monumental, but so were the political events that inspired its composition. According to Beethoven’s disciple Ferdinand Ries, the composer had wanted to dedicate the work, composed in 1803, to Napoleon Bonaparte, whose revolutionary and democratic ideals he profoundly espoused. When news came to him that Napoleon had declared himself Emperor, the enraged Beethoven tore up the title page and stamped it underfoot. He subsequently re-named the work (he had originally named it Buonaparte) Sinfonia Eroica.

The first movement, heard on this recording, opens with two tonic E flat major chords, stated forte and staccato, which form the nucleus of the principal theme. By measure 37, however, the theme is fully unleashed, fortissimo, in truly heroic fashion. Thereafter, unorthodox deviations from the tonic key, sharp contrasts in orchestration, and passages of metric ambiguity combine to create the impression of a Promethean struggle. The whole movement is revolutionary in structure, thematic treatment, and spirit.

The “Eroica” is without precedent or prototype and seems to have sprung fully formed from the composer’s mind. It unquestionably breaks with the Classical tradition, and no doubt helped to confer on Beethoven the weight and power of an influence he was to exercise far beyond his lifetime upon composers several generations to come.

© Rachelle Taylor
Traduction: Les beaux écrits

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Qu’est-ce que la musique classique ?

Au sens large, l’expression  » musique classique  » peut s’appliquer à une variété de musiques provenant de diverses cultures. Elle acquiert un sens plus précis en ce qui a trait à la musique issue de l’Europe occidentale, où à l’intérieur de ce domaine elle désigne une musique  » authentique « ,  » principale « . La musique classique se distingue également des formes dites  » populaires « , quoique l’histoire nous démontre que  » populaire  » et  » classique  » étaient à l’origine entremêlés et continuent de l’être.

La musique classique a également fait l’objet d’une histoire conventionnelle particulièrement bien fournie, laquelle est conçue sur plusieurs périodes : le Moyen-Âge, la Renaissance, la période baroque, les Lumières (ou l’époque  » classique  » assimilée aux noms de Mozart, Haydn et Beethoven), et les époques romantique, moderne, et contemporaine. Même si l’art transcende ces définitions  » évolutives « , il n’en demeure pas moins que chacune des périodes énumérées recèle des beautés caractéristiques. Cette série de compilations invite l’auditeur à savourer des œuvres saillantes de compositeurs de la Renaissance, de l’époque baroque, de l’époque classique, ainsi que des époques romantique et moderne, interprétées par une brochette impressionnante de chanteurs et d’instrumentistes figurant au catalogue Analekta.

Haydn, Mozart et Beethoven, maîtres du style classique

Dans le domaine de la musique, les œuvres dites  » classiques  » se distinguent de celles dites  » populaires « . Dans une perspective plus étroite, le  » style classique  » est assimilé aux œuvres de Haydn, Mozart et Beethoven, compositeurs que l’histoire regroupe sous l’appellation de  » Première école de Vienne « . Enfin, selon le grand pianiste et musicologue Charles Rosen, le véritable style classique se manifeste dans les œuvres instrumentales de Haydn, Mozart et Beethoven plus que dans tout autre medium. À une exception près, l’Exsultate jubilate (œuvre vocale) de Mozart, nous adoptons cette dernière perspective pour le présent enregistrement.

L’apport de Haydn au rayonnement du style classique est primordial. Mariant avec succès la grâce du style galant des Lumières avec les procédés contrapuntiques plus savants des anciens, Haydn  » possède le grand art de rendre sa musique familière à nos oreilles ; ainsi, malgré les raffinements contrapuntiques qui les caractérisent, ses œuvres demeurent populaires et agréables pour tous les musiciens  » (Gerber, Lexicon, 1790). Mozart, proche de Haydn surtout au cours des années 1770 et 1780, jouit d’une popularité similaire quoique moins universelle auprès de son public. Il possède le don inouï de composer dans tous les genres musicaux avec la plus grande aise technique, ce qui explique sans doute sa productivité époustouflante. À l’instar de Haydn et Mozart, Beethoven cultive lui aussi un rapport heureux avec son public, tout au moins lors de ses premières années comme compositeur professionnel. Cependant, ses idées révolutionnaires et ses habitudes de vie de plus en plus retranchées du monde tempèrent cette ouverture au public, comme le font ses exigences morales et sa quête d’un style personnel ultra expressif. Les musicologues ont fort débattu les éléments  » classique  » et  » romantique  » de l’œuvre de Beethoven, surtout  » l’après-Eroica « , point tournant de la production du compositeur.

Franz Joseph Haydn (n. Rohrau, Autriche méridionale, 31 mars 1732; m. Vienne, 31 mai 1809)

On surnomme Haydn le premier des grands  » classiques  » viennois, et pour cause. Il touche à tous les genres musicaux de son époque. Reconnu comme étant le  » père de la symphonie « , peu d’historiens de la musique lui refuseraient une paternité encore plus justifiée pour le quatuor à cordes. Il jouit d’une très grande popularité : vers la fin de sa longue vie il est acclamé comme un héros de la culture européenne.

Quatuor à cordes en fa majeur op.77 no2
1. Allegro moderato 7:20
Quatuor Alcan

Les 68 quatuors à cordes de Haydn sont le cœur de la production pour musique de chambre du compositeur. Dès les tous premiers quatuors, qu’on peut assimiler au genre plus léger du divertimento, sa maîtrise parfaite du dialogue instrumental et de la structure musicale est déjà un élément distinctif.

À la fin des années 1790 alors que les quatuors op. 77 voient le jour, Haydn rentre à Vienne après une deuxième tournée à Londres dont le succès l’aura beaucoup fortifié. C’est à cette époque qu’il se met à écrire des quatuors plus étoffés, plus imposants, voire  » orchestraux « . En somme, il décide d’apporter des changements importants à une forme musicale que lui-même aura inventée. Dédiés au Prince Lobkovitz (également mécène de Beethoven), les quatuors de l’op. 77 incarnent la maturité, la profondeur, l’exquise sensibilité et la maîtrise absolue de la structure musicale. Parmi toutes ces qualités, la caractéristique principale du premier mouvement du quatuor en fa majeur sur cet enregistrement demeure l’expressivité calme et profonde du thème principal.

Trio en sol majeur Hob.XV:25
2. Finale : Presto, Rondo all’ongarese 3:08
The Gryphon Trio

Le célèbre  » Rondo à la hongroise  » de ce trio avec piano représente à la fois les affinités bohémiennes du compositeur et le genre du trio au XVIIIe siècle. Ce dernier doit être compris comme étant une  » sonate accompagnée  » dominée par la partie du piano. Dédié à la copiste londonienne de Haydn, Rebecca Schroeter et composé à Londres en 1794-1795, (comme les deux autres trios du catalogue Hoboken, Hob.XV nos24 et 26) ce trio en sol majeur est sans doute le fruit d’une rencontre du compositeur avec la riche et effervescente vie musicale de la capitale anglaise.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (n. Salzbourg, 27 janvier 1756; m. Vienne, 5 décembre 1791)

Mozart excelle dans tous les genres musicaux ; c’est cela, plus que tout autre chose, qui lui vaut le titre du compositeur le plus universel de l’histoire de la musique occidentale. Au moment de sa mort, malgré la grande pauvreté qui le traque dans ses dernières années, sa réputation demeure intacte. L’image romantique qu’on s’est faite de lui au XIXe siècle repose sur des anecdotes comme son obsession avec la mort (ce qui, au dire de certains historiens populaires, l’aurait incité à écrire son fameux Requiem), nourri par une réputation d’enfant rebelle suscitée par sa mort précoce à 35 ans.

Quatuor dédié à Haydn en sol majeur K.287
3. Andante cantabile 7:09
Quatuor Alcan

Les quatuors de Haydn servaient sans doute de modèle pour Mozart, particulièrement ceux de l’op.33 (1781). Comme ces derniers, les quatuors de Mozart présentent non simplement une harmonisation à quatre voix, mais un discours véritable entre les instruments individuels de l’ensemble. Les quatuors à cordes de Haydn, Mozart et Beethoven sont considérés comme étant des exemples de premier plan du style classique.

Le cycle des six quatuors dédiés à Haydn fut composé en très peu de temps : un peu plus de deux ans. Le premier quatuor, dont on entendra le mouvement  » Andante cantabile « , fut complété à Vienne le 21 décembre 1782.

Sonate en ré majeur pour pianoforte et violon K.306
4. Allegro con spirito 7:16
David Breitman, violon
Jean-François Rivest, pianoforte

L’iconographie de l’enfant prodige Mozart le montre très souvent au piano ou au clavecin ; on oublie souvent qu’il fut également un brillant violoniste. En fait, il gagne sa vie comme violoniste dans l’orchestre de la cour salzbourgeoise jusqu’à la fin de 1777, alors qu’il décide de remettre sa démission et de partir pour Mannheim et Paris en quête de ses propres indépendance, autonomie et fortune.

C’est à Paris que Mozart compose la sonate pour pianoforte et violon K.306 qui, selon le musicologue et spécialiste de Mozart Cliff Eisen,  » rompt expressivement et stylistiquement avec les six autres sonates du cycle dit de  » Mannheim  » (K.301-306) dont le style d’écriture comporte  » d’étonnantes dissonances et disjonctions harmoniques et rythmiques « , Par ailleurs, elle est la seule des sonates du cycle qui comporte trois mouvements (et non seulement deux) et est libre des  » méandres  » du style de Mannheim qui caractérise les cinq précédentes. L’œuvre, dont on entendra le premier mouvement, est  » un galop virtuose, extraverti, plein d’énergie  » au sein de laquelle le violon devient  » partie prenante d’un dialogue où le clavier n’est ni freiné ni mince accompagnement, mais laisse plutôt entendre des sonorités orchestrales « .

Exsultate jubilate K.165
5. Molto allegro 2:30
Lyne Fortin, soprano
Orchestre Métropolitain du Grand Montréal
Joseph Rescigno, chef

Mozart compose le motet pour voix solo Exsultate jubilate lors de son dernier périple en Italie avec son père. L’œuvre en trois mouvements est destinée au primo uomo de l’Opéra de Milan, Venanzio Rauzzini. Plus de sept ans plus tard, le compositeur la révise pour la soprano Francesca Ceccarelli, de passage à Salzbourg en 1780. Pièce religieuse, elle puise toutefois son inspiration dans le monde de l’opéra, genre emblématique du génie multidimensionnel de Mozart. L’œuvre requiert en effet des ressources vocales des plus virtuoses, particulièrement l’Alleluia final qui conclut le dernier mouvement, sans doute parmi les pages les plus célèbres de l’art vocal classique.

Ludwig van Beethoven (n. Bonn, baptisé le 17 décembre 1770; m. Vienne, le 26 mars 1827)

Jeune compositeur, Beethoven cherche à prolonger la tradition classique viennoise établie par Haydn et Mozart. Au fil des ans, il élabore un style plus personnel qui le projette davantage vers les sensibilités romantiques du XIXe siècle, pour lequel il devient une figure dominante. Dans toute l’histoire de la musique occidentale, Beethoven demeure le compositeur sans doute le plus admiré.

Fils d’un obscur musicien de province, Beethoven doit se soumettre aux ambitions de son père qui veut faire de lui un enfant prodige internationalement connu comme Mozart. Au printemps de 1787, il séjourne à Vienne, sans doute avec l’intention d’y rencontrer Mozart et d’étudier avec lui. Le décès de sa mère met un terme à ce séjour après seulement deux semaines et Beethoven doit rentrer à Bonn. Ce n’est qu’en novembre 1792 qu’il part définitivement pour la capitale autrichienne, encouragé par le comte Ferdinand Waldstein qui lui écrit :  » Vous allez à Vienne pour accomplir vos désirs si longtemps frustrés. Le Génie de Mozart pleure toujours la mort de son élève. Il a trouvé refuge en la personne de l’infatigable Haydn, mais rien qui puisse l’occuper; par lui il veut encore une fois s’unir à un autre. Par votre travail assidu vous recevrez l’esprit de Mozart des mains de Haydn. « 

Trio en mi bémol majeur op.1 no1
6. Scherzo (Allegro assai) 5:00
The Gryphon Trio

Au cours des premières années à Bonn et à Vienne, Beethoven gagne sa vie comme pianiste, improvisateur et compositeur d’œuvres pour le piano, au moment où la facture de l’instrument connaît un développement technique sans précédent. C’est durant cette période notamment, que la sonate op.2 no2 ainsi que le célèbre Rondo a capriccioso sont composés.

Les trios de l’op.1 complétés en 1794-1795 sont également le fruit des premières années viennoises de Beethoven. Leur structure présente une innovation précoce : la substitution du scherzo à la place du menuet privilégié par Haydn pour le troisième mouvement de ses œuvres instrumentales. Ces scherzos précoces de Beethoven ne sont pas pour autant plus rapides que les menuets de Haydn ; ils sont cependant plus longs et on peut se demander ce qu’en pensait le maître plus chevronné. Dans l’exemple figurant sur cet enregistrement, une mélodie rustique et vigoureuse est mise en valeur, dans la section centrale du mouvement, dans la partie du piano accompagnée d’harmonies soutenues dans les cordes.

Sonate pour piano op.110 en la bémol majeur
7. Fuga : Allegro ma non troppo 6:58
Anton Kuerti, piano

Beethoven compose ses trois dernières sonates pour piano, opp.109, 110 et 111 entre 1820 et 1822 alors qu’il sombre définitivement dans la surdité quasi-totale. La volonté et l’inspiration ne s’en trouvent pas pour autant diminuées car ces trois œuvres pour piano précèdent trois autres compositions monumentales, toutes complétées entre octobre 1822 et février 1824 : Les Variations Diabelli, la Missa solemnis et la Neuvième symphonie.

L’exquise beauté des mélodies de la sonate op.110 l’a rendue plus populaire que les deux autres sonates tardives. Le mouvement final surprend l’auditeur par son dessin inhabituel : il commence avec une section aux allures d’improvisation et de récitatif vocal, errant ça et là, avant de céder la place à une fugue qui nous paraît d’abord des plus sobres et austères. Mais à mesure que le mouvement se déroule, le matériel mélodique se développe, prend de l’ampleur et, aux dires d’Anton Kuerti,  » enfle et se débat héroïquement, son expression pourtant accueillante et chaleureuse, invitant à la réjouissance et à la résonance avec son heureuse ferveur « .

Symphonie no3  » Eroica « 
8. Finale 11:47
Orchestre Métropolitain du Grand Montréal
Joseph Rescigno, chef

Cet enregistrement conclut sur une œuvre novatrice parmi tant d’autres du maître de Bonn. Fer de lance d’un nouveau discours, autant pour le style classique que pour l’œuvre beethovénienne, la symphonie  » Eroica  » est une composition monumentale tout comme l’ont été les circonstances qui entourèrent sa création.

Comme nous le rapporte Ferdinand Ries, disciple de Beethoven, le compositeur a voulu dédier sa symphonie (composée en 1803) à Napoléon Bonaparte dont il partage avec passion les idéaux révolutionnaires et démocratiques. En effet il la nomme d’abord Buonaparte. Quand Beethoven reçoit, par Ries, la nouvelle du sacre de Bonaparte comme Empereur, il déchire et piétine la dédicace dans une crise de rage. Il la re-nomme ensuite Sinfonia Eroica.

Le premier mouvement de l’Eroica débute sur deux accords de mi bémol majeur joués forte et staccato, annonçant le thème principal qu’on entendra dans toute sa fougue héroïque, fortissimo, dès la mesure 37. Les modulations inusitées, les forts contrastes dans l’orchestration et les passages d’une grande complexité (voire même instabilité) rythmique laissent l’auditeur avec la forte impression d’une lutte prométhéenne. À l’image de la symphonie dans son ensemble, ce mouvement n’est rien de moins que révolutionnaire par sa structure, son traitement du thème et son esprit.

La Symphonie Eroica n’a ni précédent ni prototype ; elle semble avoir jailli spontanément de l’esprit du compositeur. Elle brise définitivement avec la tradition classique et a sans doute contribué à projeter l’influence de Beethoven sur d’autres compositeurs bien au-delà de son temps.

© Rachelle Taylor

Lire la suite

À propos

FL 2 3026
Gryphon Trio
FL 2 3026
FL 2 3026

Start typing and press Enter to search