fbpx

Album information

What is Classical Music?

The term “classical music” has been applied to a range of music from different cultures, and gradually came to mean “authentic” or “principal.” In Western European music, it is distinguished from “popular” music, although history has shown that popular and classical forms were once closely woven together and to some extent, still are.

Classical music has also developed its own conventional history, which unfolds over a series of periods including the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the Baroque, the Enlightenment or Classical (with a capital “C”), and the Romantic, Modern, and Contemporary eras, each of which evolved characteristic styles and forms. Whichever way we approach them, each of these periods also reveals its own particular beauty. This series of compilations invites the listener to savour salient examples of works penned by composers from the Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Modern eras and gleaned from Analekta’s impressive roster of performers.

What is romantic music?

The first volume of Jewels of the Romantic Era focused on one of the defining themes of the Romantic period. This was the idea that “pure” instrumental music (i.e., self-contained music that disregarded all reference to words and images) was superior to all other music because it allowed the worthy listener to come into contact with the “infinite” and the “unutterable” – to reach the “realm of the extraordinary and the immeasurable” beyond that which words and images can express.

In 1854, however, when Édouard Hanslick coined the term “absolute music” for this notion, he was countering not only Richard Wagner’s conception of opera as a “total work of art,” but also the increasing popularity of descriptive instrumental music. As early as 1830, Berlioz had introduced the idea of the “program symphony” with his Symphonie fantastique, a work that literally told a story, the ups and downs of which listeners could follow by reading an outline in the concert program. In the decades that followed, Liszt wrote numerous piano interpretations of literary works, with Schumann and many others following his example. Then, beginning in 1848, Liszt moved over to the orchestra, “inventing” what he called the “symphonic poem” – a work of generally one movement that suggested certain aspects of a literary work: the striking images of a poem, the psychological traits of a character, or scenes from a well-known novel or play.

The course of the Romantic period was thus largely shaped by the century-long clash between those who considered purely instrumental music as the “absolute” and those who felt that pieces, whether instrumental or vocal, which combined music and “poetry” (in its generic sense of any image-based literary form) were an even greater “absolute.” That said, many composers found the debate somewhat inane, moving easily from one concept to the other without a care for what others might think. First among them, and the composer who started all the fuss, was Beethoven.

_______________________________________

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Symphony No. 6 “Pastoral,” Op. 68
1. Erwachen heiterer Empfindungen bei der Ankunft auf dem Lande
(Awakening of happy feelings on arrival in the country) Allegro ma non troppo (mouv. 1)
Tafelmusik Orchestra
Jeanne Lamon, direction

In light of the role played by Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 in the emergence of the concept of absolute music – thanks largely to E.T.A. Hoffmann’s supremely romantic literary commentary on the piece (see inset in Jewels of the Romantic Era, vol. 1) – it is especially amusing to discover that Symphony No. 6 was composed at exactly the same time as the Fifth. Along with the subtitle “Pastoral,” Beethoven himself gave each movement of the symphony a descriptive title, evocative of various impressions and scenes of a day in the country. The Sixth is therefore a “program symphony” in the truest sense of the word, one that was composed long before Berlioz loudly laid claim to its invention. Undoubtedly, Hoffmann had not known this before writing his article on the Fifth. Thus Beethoven – in one of history’s great ironies, and much to the exasperation of aesthetic reductionists – originated both sides of the argument that would rage on heatedly throughout the Romantic period.

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
String Quartet in D minor (D. 810)
“Der Tod und das Mädchen” (Death and the Maiden)
2. Andante con moto (mouv. 2)
Quatuor Alcan

Twenty-seven years Beethoven’s junior, Schubert lived his entire life in Vienna in the shadow of the living legend Beethoven had become in his later years. When the latter died in 1827, finally leaving the field clear, Schubert (in bitter irony this time) learned that he too did not have long to live, and he died the next year at the tender age of 30. His second to last string quartet is a beautiful example of the varying degrees with which music and poetry may be linked. In 1817, Schubert had composed a lied for voice and piano on the poem “Death and the Maiden.” In 1824, he based the set of variations that make up the slow movement of the quartet on this same theme. In keeping with the text of the poem, the music has the character of a funeral march, though since the poem is about a young girl, it is completely without ostentation. The change from minor to major at the end brings the listener gently from grief to consolation.

Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
3. Sonetto del Petrarca 104
André Laplante, piano

Liszt was an awe-inspiring pianist, but he was also passionate about literature, whether it is the great classics of the past or the romantic works of his own time. In fact, he developed friendships with a number of romantic-period writers. He composed many piano interpretations of the works that affected him most deeply, such as this meditation on the 104th sonnet of Petrarch’s famous Canzoniere, a poetic masterpiece of the Renaissance in which the author attempted to make a symbolic inventory of the “shadows and torments of desire.”

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Zwei Gesänge (Two Songs) Op. 91
4. Geistillte Sehnsucht (Longing Eased)
Marie-Nicole Lemieux, contralto
Michael McMahon, piano
Nicolo Eugelmi, viola

If there was one genre where the romantics excelled at combining music and poetry, it was the lied for voice and piano. And while Schubert, who wrote some 600 of them, would be its uncontested master from the start, many composers who came after him also shone in the genre. Mahler and Richard Strauss would expand it by replacing the piano with orchestra. The diptych by Brahms on this disc is particular in that a viola part accompanies the voice and piano. Nearly twenty years separate the composition of these two pieces. The older one, Geistliches Wiegenlied (No. 2, Sacred Lullaby), is set to a poem by Lope de Vega, translated by Emmanuel Geibel. Brahms composed the song in 1864 for the baptism of the son of his best friend, violinist Joseph Joachim, whose wife’s beautiful contralto voice inspired the idea of a lied that united the “voices” of both parents. Some twenty years later, Brahms found another text that lent itself to this game, a poem by Rückert, Geistillte Sehnsucht (No. 1, “Longing Eased”), in which “the whispering wind lulls the world to sleep,” but also appeases the narrator’s longing. In this piece, viola converses with voice, at times wrapping it like a soft breeze in a wreath of delicate ornamentation.

Modest Mussorgsky (1839-1881)
6. Promenade Moderato commodo assai e con delicatezza
7. Il vecchio castello

Alain Lefèvre, piano

While musical settings of literary works were common among the romantics, settings of visual art were quite rare. The most famous example is without a doubt Mussorgsky’s aptly titled cycle Pictures at an Exhibition. Maurice Ravel later made a superb orchestration of this masterpiece of the piano repertoire.

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
8. Rêverie Op. 15 No.7
Louise-Andrée Baril, piano
Thérèse Motard, cello

Hector Berlioz (1803-1869)
9. Rêverie et Caprice
Orchestre symphonique de Québec
Yoav Talmi, conductor

The French word rêverie and the idea it suggests return so often in romantic music that the body of works it covers could almost be thought of as a genre in itself. The phenomenon is less surprising, however, if one remembers that, as stated in the notes to the first volume of Jewels of the Romantic Era, the work which brought the word “romantic” into fashion in the first place was Rousseau’s Reveries of a Solitary Walker.

________________________________________

Romanticism in music: how many generations?

According to Charles Rosen (The Romantic Generation), only the generation immediately after Beethoven’s was truly romantic (ca. 1820 – ca. 1860). But according to Carl Dahlhaus (Nineteenth-Century Music), the Romantic period was much longer and more diffuse and can be divided into four generations. The first emerged in the very early 19th century with the composition of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3, “Eroica,” the length and audacity of which shook the very foundations of Classicism. The second generation began in 1830, the year in which the young Hector Berlioz composed his Symphonie fantastique and the even younger Felix Mendelssohn wrote his Reformation Symphony, while in the operatic world, Bellini and Donizetti became established in Europe after Rossini’s retirement. The third generation appeared in the early 1850s, with the debate in which musicologist Édouard Hanslick hailed young Johannes Brahms as the champion of absolute music in the battle against Richard Wagner’s conception of opera as total art. Finally, with the death of Wagner in the early 1880s, the last generation of romantics and the symphonic and operatic heirs to Wagner’s legacy (Bruckner, Mahler and Richard Strauss) was active far into the 20th century (Strauss died in 1949).

In fact, Dahlhaus also felt that, despite the break attempted by Schoenberg’s atonalism in the early 20th century and continued today by emulators such as Boulez, the Romantic period never really ended. Think, for example, of the symphonic music that still often appears on movie soundtracks – music that a large audience purchases on disc and which increasingly appears on concert programs as pure music. This gives rise to a curious misapprehension: the modern listener often finds that Romantic symphonies sound like movie music, when in fact the very opposite is true. Simply call to mind the Wagnerian soundtrack to The Lord of the Rings, Tolkien’s monumental trilogy whose subject was directly inspired by Der Ring des Nibelungen, an even more monumental “tetralogy,” by whom? None other than Richard Wagner. Or think of François Girard’s The Red Violin. The great Romantic concertos of Mendelssohn, Brahms, Tchaikovsky and Sibelius are not so far away. And so, if Romanticism never really ended, perhaps a return to the great masterworks that are the Romantic period’s source is in order.

©Guy Marchand
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
AN 2 8833
AN 2 8833
AN 2 8833

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Qu’est-ce que la musique classique?

Au sens large, l’expression  » musique classique  » peut s’appliquer à une variété de musiques provenant de diverses cultures. Elle acquiert un sens plus précis en ce qui a trait à la musique issue de l’Europe occidentale, où à l’intérieur de ce domaine, elle désigne une musique  » authentique « ,  » principale « . La musique classique se distingue également des formes dites  » populaires « , quoique l’histoire nous démontre que  » populaire  » et  » classique  » étaient à l’origine entremêlés et continuent de l’être.

La musique classique a également fait l’objet d’une histoire conventionnelle particulièrement bien fournie, laquelle est conçue sur plusieurs périodes : le Moyen Âge, la Renaissance, le Baroque, les Lumières (ou l’époque  » Classique  » assimilée aux noms de Mozart, Haydn et Beethoven), et les époques romantique, moderne, et contemporaine. Même si l’art transcende ces définitions  » évolutives « , il n’en demeure pas moins que chacune des périodes énumérées recèle des beautés caractéristiques. Cette série de compilations invite l’auditeur à savourer des œuvres saillantes de compositeurs du Moyen Âge, de la Renaissance, du Baroque, du Classique, ainsi que des époques romantique et moderne, interprétées par une brochette impressionnante de chanteurs et d’instrumentistes figurant au catalogue Analekta.

___________________________________

Qu’est-ce que la musique romantique ?

Le premier volume des Joyaux romantiques mettait l’accent sur l’une des idées marquantes de l’ère romantique. La musique instrumentale  » pure « , c’est-à-dire se suffisant à elle-même en faisant abstraction de toute référence aux mots et aux images, serait supérieure à tout autre, car elle permettait au mélomane digne de ce nom d’entrer en contact avec  » l’infini  » et  » l’ineffable « , avec le  » royaume du prodigieux et de l’incommensurable « , au-delà de ce que mots et images peuvent exprimer.

Mais, lorsqu’en 1854 Édouard Hanslick qualifia cette idée de  » musique absolue « , ce fut non seulement pour l’opposer à la conception de l’opéra de Richard Wagner en tant qu' » art total « , mais aussi à la vogue de plus en plus grande que connaissait la musique instrumentale descriptive. Dès 1830, Berlioz avait lancé avec sa Symphonie fantastique le concept de  » symphonie à programme « , œuvre qui de mouvement en mouvement racontait littéralement une histoire dont les auditeurs pouvaient découvrir les péripéties en en lisant le canevas dans le programme de concert. Dans les décennies suivantes, Liszt multiplia les paraphrases pianistiques d’œuvres littéraires, suivi en cela par Schumann et bien d’autres. À partir de 1848, Liszt poursuivit à l’orchestre en  » inventant  » le  » poème symphonique « , œuvre généralement en un seul mouvement, évoquant certains aspects d’une œuvre littéraire : les images fortes d’un poème, le portrait psychologique de personnages ou certaines scènes d’un roman ou d’un drame célèbre.

Ainsi, l’histoire du romantisme en musique fut-elle en grande partie façonnée par le conflit qui opposa tout au long du siècle ceux qui considéraient comme  » absolue  » la musique purement instrumentale et ceux pour qui, au contraire, étaient encore plus  » absolues  » les œuvres qui savaient conjuguer, tant dans les genres vocaux qu’instrumentaux, musique et  » poésie  » conçue dans son sens générique chapeautant toutes les formes littéraires, voire picturales. Cela dit, il y eut bien sûr bien des compositeurs pour qui ce débat était des plus vain et qui passaient allègrement d’un concept à l’autre sans se soucier de ce qu’on pourrait en penser. Et le premier d’entre eux fut celui par qui le scandale arriva… Beethoven.

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Symphonie no 6 en fa majeur  » Pastorale « , op. 68
1. Erwachen heiterer Empfindungen bei der Ankunft auf dem Lande
(Éveil d’impressions joyeuses à la vue de la campagne) Allegro ma non troppo (premier mouvement)
Tafelmusik Orchestra
Jeanne Lamon, direction

Après avoir constaté le rôle que la Cinquième symphonie de Beethoven joua dans l’émergence du concept de musique absolue, grâce à la paraphrase littéraire on ne peut plus romantique qu’en fit Hoffmann (voir encadré dans Joyaux romantiques vol. 1), il est particulièrement savoureux de découvrir que la Sixième symphonie fut littéralement composée en même temps que la Cinquième… Intitulée par Beethoven lui-même  » Pastorale « , chaque mouvement portant de plus un titre descriptif, cette symphonie évoque diverses impressions et épisodes d’une journée à la campagne. Il s’agit donc d’une véritable  » symphonie à programme  » avant la lettre dont Berlioz revendiqua haut et fort le patronage. Hoffmann ne devait certainement pas la connaître au moment où il écrivit son texte sur la Cinquième… Ainsi Beethoven, que les querelles esthétiques réductrices exaspéraient, fut-il donc (belle ironie de l’Histoire) à l’origine des deux courants qui allaient s’opposer au plus fort de l’ère romantique.

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Quatuor à cordes en ré mineur (D. 810)
 » Der Tod und das Mädchen  » (La jeune fille et la mort)
2. Andante con moto (mouv. 2)
Quatuor Alcan

De 27 ans son cadet, Schubert vécut toute sa vie à Vienne dans l’ombre du mythe vivant qu’était devenu dans ses dernières années Beethoven. Lorsque ce dernier meurt en 1827, laissant enfin le champ libre, Schubert (amère ironie cette fois) sait que ces jours sont comptés. La maladie l’emporta dès l’année suivante; il n’avait que 30 ans. Son avant-dernier quatuor à cordes est un bel exemple de la variété des degrés qui pouvaient lier musique et poésie. En 1817, Schubert avait composé un lied pour voix et piano sur un poème intitulé La jeune fille et la mort. En 1824, il reprit la mélodie pour en faire le thème d’une série de variations qui forment le mouvement lent de ce quatuor. Il lui donna un caractère de marche funèbre, en rapport bien sûr avec le texte, mais sans ostentation, puisqu’il s’agit d’une jeune fille. Et à la fin, passant du mineur au majeur, il nous mène tout en douceur du deuil à la consolation.

Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
3. Sonetto del Petrarca 104
André Laplante, piano

Liszt était non seulement un virtuose du piano transcendant, mais aussi un passionné de littérature, tant des grands classiques du passé que des romantiques de son temps avec plusieurs desquels il se liera d’amitié. Il composa de nombreuses paraphrases pianistiques des ouvrages l’ayant le plus marqué, comme cette méditation sur le 104e sonnet du célèbre Canzoniere de Pétrarque, monument poétique de la Renaissance dans lequel l’auteur avait tenté de faire un inventaire emblématique des  » ombres et tourments du désir « .

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Zwei Gesänge (Deux chants), op. 91
4. Geistillte Sehnsucht (Nostalgie apaisée)
Marie-Nicole Lemieux, contralto
Michael McMahon, piano
Nicolo Eugelmi, alto

S’il fut un genre où les romantiques excellèrent dans l’art de conjuguer musique et poésie, c’est bien le lied pour voix et piano. Et si Schubert, avec ses quelque 600 opus, en devint dès le départ le maître incontesté, plusieurs autres s’y sont par la suite illustrés, les derniers, Gustav Mahler et Richard Strauss, le magnifiant en remplaçant le piano par l’orchestre. Le diptyque de Brahms retenu ici a ceci de particulier qu’à la voix et au piano s’ajoute un violon alto. Près de vingt ans séparent la composition des deux volets. Le plus ancien est Geistliches Wiegenlied (nº 2, Berceuse sacrée), sur un poème de Lope de Vega traduit par Emmanuel Geibel. Brahms l’avait composée en 1864 pour le baptême du fils de son meilleur ami, le violoniste Joseph Joachim, dont la femme avait, paraît-il, une très belle voix de contralto, d’où l’idée d’un lied unissant les  » voix  » des deux parents. Quelque vingt ans plus tard, Brahms trouva un autre texte qui se prêtait à ce jeu, un poème de Rückert, Geistillte Sehnsucht (nº 1, Nostalgie apaisée), dans lequel  » les murmures du vent endorment le monde « , mais apaisent aussi la nostalgie du narrateur. Le violon dialogue avec la voix, l’enrobant par moments, comme une brise caressante, en des volutes délicatement ornées.

Modest Moussorgski (1839-1881)
6. Promenade – Moderato commodo assai e con delicatezza
7. Il vecchio castello
Alain Lefèvre, piano

Si les paraphrases musicales d’œuvres littéraires sont nombreuses chez les romantiques, celles d’œuvres picturales sont plutôt rares. L’exemple le plus célèbre est sans conteste le cycle de Moussorgski intitulé justement Tableaux d’une exposition, monument du répertoire pianistique dont Ravel fit plus tard une sublime orchestration.

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
8. Rêverie op. 15 no 7
Louise-Andrée Baril, piano
Thérèse Motard, violoncelle

Hector Berlioz (1803-1869)
9. Rêverie et Caprice
Orchestre symphonique de Québec
Yoav Talmi, direction

Le mot  » rêverie  » et le thème qu’il suggère reviennent si souvent dans la musique romantique qu’on peut se demander si on ne devrait pas considérer l’ensemble du corpus qu’ils recouvrent comme un genre en soi. Mais on s’étonnera moins du phénomène si l’on se souvient que l’ouvrage qui lança la mode du mot  » romantique  » s’intitulait, comme le soulignaient d’entrée de jeu les notes du premier volume de ces  » Joyaux romantiques « , Les rêveries du promeneur solitaire…

_________________________________

Le romantisme en musique : combien de générations ?

Selon Charles Rosen (La génération romantique), ne serait romantique que la génération ayant immédiatement suivi Beethoven (v.1820-v.1860). Mais selon Carl Dahlhaus (Nineteenth-Century music), l’ère romantique serait beaucoup plus vaste et diffuse et peut être divisée en quatre générations. La première émerge au tout début du 19e siècle, avec la création en 1804 de l' » Héroïque  » de Beethoven, troisième symphonie qui, par son ampleur et les audaces de son écriture, ébranla les fondements du classicisme. On peut faire commencer la deuxième en 1830 lorsque, dans la même année, le jeune Berlioz crée sa Symphonie fantastique et l’encore plus jeune Mendelssohn sa Symphonie Réformation, alors qu’à l’opéra, suite au retrait de Rossini, Bellini et Donizetti obtiennent la consécration européenne. La troisième se distingue, au début des années 1850, par le débat dans lequel le musicologue Édouard Hanslick opposa le jeune Brahms comme champion de la musique absolue, à la conception de l’opéra que proposait Richard Wagner comme art total. Enfin, à la mort de Wagner au début des années 1880, une dernière génération (Bruckner, Mahler et Richard Strauss), se fit son héritière tant en musique symphonique qu’à l’opéra, et ce, jusque tard dans le 20e siècle (Strauss meurt en 1949).

En fait, toujours selon Dahlhaus, malgré la rupture tentée par la musique atonale de Schoenberg dès le début du 20e siècle et soutenue jusqu’à aujourd’hui par des émules comme Boulez, nous ne serions pas encore vraiment sortis du romantisme. En témoignent les trames symphoniques qui sous-tendent encore souvent les grandes productions cinématographiques, trames qui sont volontiers écoutées par un large public sur disques et de plus en plus souvent programmées par les sociétés de concerts comme de la musique pure. Ce qui donne lieu souvent à un curieux quiproquo : on trouve que les symphonies romantiques sonnent comme de la musique de film, alors que c’est le contraire. On n’a qu’à penser à la trame wagnérienne du Seigneur des Anneaux, monumentale  » trilogie  » dont le sujet fut d’ailleurs directement inspiré à Tolkien par L’Anneau du Nibelung, l’encore plus monumentale  » tétralogie  » de qui ? De Richard Wagner… Ou pensez au Violon rouge de notre compatriote François Girard… Les grands concertos romantiques de Mendelssohn, Brahms, Tchaïkovski, Sibelius n’y sont vraiment pas loin… Ainsi, effectivement, nous ne sommes peut-être pas encore sortis du romantisme… Alors ? Pourquoi ne pas remonter aux chefs-d’œuvre qui en sont la source ?

©Guy Marchand

Lire la suite

À propos

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
AN 2 9286
AN 2 9286
AN 2 9286

Start typing and press Enter to search