fbpx

Album information

The Romantic Period and Absolute Music

Romantic music was part of a worldwide cultural and artistic movement that first appeared in literature towards the end of the 18th century. One of the first to employ the term “romantic” in describing the countryside’s moving and picturesque qualities was Jean-Jacques Rousseau, in his 1782 book Reveries of a Solitary Walker. In Germany, however, at about the same time, classicism and the rationalism of the Age of Enlightenment were being seriously called into question by a group of angry young writers of a movement known as Sturm und Drang (storm and stress). One of the movement’s leading figures was Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, whose 1774 novel The Sorrows of Young Werther opposed the classical tragedy—which featured heroes of antiquity and advocated the triumph of reason over passion—with the story of a contemporary young man, the archetypal anti-hero, pursuing his passions to the ultimate end of his own death. The novel was the start of a significant aesthetic paradigm shift; with the genre’s emphasis on individual subjectivity, it would gradually replace the tragedy as the dominant literary form and become the chief medium of romantic writers.

In music, the transition from classicism to romanticism was marked by an analogous paradigm shift, with instrumental music—and in particular the symphony—gradually replacing opera as the dominant genre. The early 19th century saw a number of German writers wax very enthusiastic about this new musical genre, and with Mozart, Haydn, and especially Beethoven, helping to raise the symphony’s status, a new concept began to emerge in the writings of these composers’ admirers. This was the idea that “pure” instrumental music—i.e., self-contained music that disregarded all reference to words and images—was superior to all other music because it allowed the worthy listener to come into contact with the “infinite” and the “unutterable”—to reach the “realm of the extraordinary and the immeasurable” beyond that which words and images can express.

It was E.T.A. Hoffmann, the author of the famous tales (and himself a composer), who was most responsible for disseminating this idea to the general public. In 1809, after studying the recently published score of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5, he published a fascinating and impassioned review (see inset) in a musical journal. He then reworked the article in 1814 for inclusion in his first collection of tales and music articles, which was quickly translated into several other languages. In it, he describes romanticism in music more as a way to listen than as a way to compose. For Hoffmann, the symphonies of Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven “breathed with equally romantic spirits.” It was only around 1830, after the death of Beethoven, that an entire generation of composers labeled themselves “romantic,” naming Beethoven as their precursor and transforming Haydn and Mozart into Olympian gods of a self-invented classicism.

By mid-century, however, one composer began to contest this so-called superiority of pure music. What Beethoven had done for the symphony, Richard Wagner did for opera, revolutionizing the genre, and doing so by “symphonizing” it, giving the orchestra a role of unprecedented proportions, very much equivalent to the choir of a Greek tragedy. Before composing his masterworks, Wagner wrote a number of essays on theory, such as The Art-Work of the Future (1849) and Opera and Drama (1851), in which he postulated that in its uniting of the three muses of the stage—poetry, music and dance—opera was a “total work of art.” As such, Wagner felt it was superior to pure music because it was able to combine the precision of words and images with the power of music to evoke the unutterable infinite. The musicologist Edouard Hanslick responded to Wagner’s thesis in 1854 with The Beautiful in Music, a controversial essay in which he took up the ideas of Hoffmann in a more formal manner and employed the term “absolute music.” This was the debate—a debate which had no real winner, notwithstanding the fact that the genre of reference from which opera redefined itself was the symphony—which shaped the history of romanticism in music.

© Guy Marchand
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
Bruno Weil
AN 6 1037
AN 6 1037

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

La musique romantique : L’idée de musique absolue

La musique romantique s’inscrit dans un mouvement culturel et artistique global qui, à la fin du 18e siècle, émerge d’abord en littérature. Dans Les rêveries d’un promeneur solitaire (publiées en 1782), Rousseau fut l’un des premiers à employer l’adjectif  » romantique  » pour qualifier l’aspect émouvant et pittoresque d’un paysage. Mais c’est en Allemagne que, à la même époque, le Classicisme et le Rationalisme des Lumières furent remis en cause de manière radicale par un groupe de jeunes écrivains en colère passé à l’histoire sous le nom de Sturm und Drang (Tempête et Élan). À la tragédie classique qui, donnant en exemples les héros de l’Antiquité, prônait la domination des passions par la raison, le jeune Goethe opposa Les Souffrances du jeune Werther (1774), un roman dans lequel un jeune homme de son temps, véritable archétype de l’anti-héros moderne, revendique le droit de vivre ses passions jusqu’au bout, jusque dans la mort. À partir de là, un important changement de paradigme eut lieu sur le plan esthétique: le roman supplanta progressivement la tragédie comme genre dominant. Favorisant le développement de la subjectivité individuelle, le roman devint le médium majeur des écrivains romantiques.

En musique, le passage du Classicisme au Romantisme est marqué par un changement de paradigme analogue : la musique instrumentale, et plus particulièrement la symphonie, supplanta graduellement l’opéra comme genre dominant. Au début du 19e siècle, plusieurs littérateurs allemands s’emballèrent pour ce nouveau genre musical qu’était alors la symphonie. Mozart, Haydn et surtout Beethoven venaient de lui donner ses premières lettres de noblesse et, sous la plume de leurs premiers admirateurs, une nouvelle idée commença à germer. Selon eux, la musique instrumentale  » pure « , c’est-à-dire se suffisant à elle-même en faisant abstraction de toute référence aux mots et aux images, serait supérieure à tout autre, car elle permettrait au mélomane digne de ce nom d’entrer en contact avec  » l’infini  » et  » l’ineffable « , avec le  » royaume du prodigieux et de l’incommensurable « , au-delà de ce que mots et images peuvent exprimer.

C’est E.T.A Hoffmann, l’auteur des célèbres contes (et lui-même compositeur), qui contribua le plus à répandre cette idée dans le grand public. Après avoir étudié la Cinquième symphonie de Beethoven, dont la partition venait de paraître, il écrivit en 1809 un article passionné et passionnant (voir encadré). D’abord publié dans un journal, Hoffmann le reprit en 1814 dans son premier recueil de contes et de chroniques musicales qui fut rapidement traduit en plusieurs langues. On y découvre que le Romantisme en musique fut, au départ, plutôt une façon d’écouter que de composer. Pour Hoffmann, les symphonies de Haydn, Mozart et Beethoven  » respirent un égal esprit romantique « . Ce n’est que vers 1830, après la mort de Beethoven, que toute une génération de compositeurs s’affiche comme romantique, faisant de Beethoven leur précurseur et transformant Haydn et Mozart en dieux olympiens d’un Classicisme de leur invention.

Mais au milieu du siècle, un compositeur allait contester cette soi-disant supériorité de la musique pure. Richard Wagner allait être à l’opéra ce que Beethoven avait été à la symphonie; il y provoqua une véritable révolution en le  » symphonisant  » justement, en donnant à l’orchestre un souffle épique sans précédent et un rôle équivalent au chœur dans la tragédie grecque. Avant de composer ses chefs-d’œuvre, Wagner écrivit plusieurs essais théoriques, comme L’œuvre d’art de l’avenir (1849) et Poésie et drame (1851), dans lesquels il prétendait que l’opéra, en unissant les trois muses de la scène, la poésie, la musique et la danse, était un  » art total « . Et en cela, l’opéra était selon lui supérieur à la musique pure car il se trouvait à conjuguer la précision des mots et des images avec le pouvoir de la musique d’évoquer l’ineffable infini. Un musicologue, Edouard Hanslick, lui répondit dès 1854 avec Du beau dans la musique, un essai qui fit beaucoup de bruit et dans lequel il reprit les idées d’Hoffmann de manière plus formelle en leur donnant le nom de  » musique absolue « . Ainsi l’histoire du Romantisme en musique fut-elle façonner par ce débat sans réel vainqueur, si ce n’est que la symphonie devint le genre de référence par rapport auquel l’opéra eut à se redéfinir.

© Guy Marchand

Lire la suite

À propos

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
Bruno Weil
AN 6 1032
AN 6 1032

Start typing and press Enter to search