fbpx

Album information

Silent night! Holy night! Hearing just a few notes of this eternal carol is enough to envelop us in a sweet tranquility and inner peace that goes well beyond the meaning of the words written by Joseph Mohr and music famous song by Franz Xaver Gruber. Jumbled memories arise of snow-covered countryside, crackling fires, delicious aromas filling the house, the joyful shouts of excited children unwrapping presents. Has Christmas turned into mere nostalgia, or can we rediscover the true meaning of this celebration? Angèle Dubeau thinks we can and, through both popular songs and carols works associated with the Nativity, she offers here a voyage through a world with diverse origins and traditions. This musical tour and celebration of the Nativity will take you to Finland, Italy, France, Germany, Austria, the United Kingdom, Russia, and, closer to home, Mexico and Canada, with the Huron Carol.

God Jul!

In Scandinavia, Christmas celebrations begin on December 13, the feast day of Saint Lucy, when a young girl is chosen in each village to represent her. Clothed in white and a crown of candles, she goes from house to house—along with a retinue of girls in white dresses and boys with pointy, star-spangled hats—bringing light, the symbol of life and renewal, for the coming year. In Finland, the official festivities begin with a declaration of “Christmas Peace” broadcast live on December 24 from Turku Cathedral. A few moments later, Christmas bells ring out across the country, as conveyed by Joulun Kellot (“Christmas Bells”), an interpretation written by Armas Toivo Valdemar Maasalo. Juleniss, the Finnish equivalent of Santa Claus, rewards good children during the night that follows; one wonders if he is tempted to hum the song Julvisa (“Christmas Song”, subtitled Give me no Splendour, Gold or Pomp), written by a young Jean Sibelius.

Buon Natale!

While Christmas in Italy might first bring to mind panettone, a Christmas sweet bread invented in Milan around 1490 that is served stuffed with cream, topped with a sauce or covered in chocolate, the country is above all the cradle of the Nativity scene. Indeed, Francis of Assisi created one of the first “living” nativity scenes in 1223, with villagers playing various character roles. Whether miniature or almost life size, these reproductions of the manger scene quickly became a tradition, with Italian families setting them up nine days before Christ’s birthday. It is not surprising, then, that two of Italy’s most well-known Baroque composers, Antonio Vivaldi and Guiseppe Torelli, dedicated idyllic concertos to “the holy birth.”

Joyeux Noël!

In France, cantiques de Noël remain the most important part of popular celebrations of the Nativity. By the 16th century, numerous versions of these carols existed in a variety of regional dialects, and they were distributed by door-to-door salesmen who also carried “Christmas Bibles” and engraved prints (often with a carol on the back). Here, Angèle Dubeau performs Noël nouvelet, Laissez paître vos bêtes and La Vierge à la crèche, set to a text by Alphonse Daudet.

Fröhliche Weihnachten!

In Germany, Christmas is Weihnachten (holy nights), and this is where the tradition of the Christmas tree originates. Legend has it that Saint Boniface (ca. 680–754) used the triangular shape of the evergreen tree to explain the concept of the Trinity to the pagans. The first mention of the modern Christmas tree dates back to 1521 in the Alsatian town of Sélestat. Even before this, however, the Christmas mystery plays performed in church squares frequently made use of trees decorated with fruit, offerings, decorations and candles (the candle tradition being attributed to Martin Luther). Two centuries later, Johann Melchior Molter wrote a delicate concerto grosso, inspired by the scene of the adoration of the shepherds.

¡Féliz Navidad!

In central America, Mexicans celebrate Las Posadas (the inns) which, starting December 16, commemorates Joseph and Mary’s search for lodging. As night falls, a procession sets off, led by children carrying a small decorated platform bearing statues of Joseph and Mary, who is riding a donkey. As the procession of villagers winds through the streets singing litanies, they knock at various doors along the route. Each time they are turned away with the cruel words “There is no room,” until the procession arrives at the appointed house or church. Then, the doors are flung wide in the open spirit of Christmas and the celebration begins, concluding with the breaking of a piñata, refreshments and dancing. The lullaby performed here, entitled “Sleep, Holy Infant”, comes from Dave Brubeck’s Christmas cantata, “La Fiesta de la Posada”, written to a text by his wife, Iola Brubeck and arranged by Russell Gloyd especially for Angèle Dubeau. Upon hearing the recording, Mr. Brubeck’s reaction was: “This is fantastic. She is playing from her heart.”

Hristos Razdajetsja!

Orthodox Russians have always liked to transform religious events into celebrations, hence the string quartet Jour de Fête by Alexander Glazunov, which evokes the festivities held on the night of January 6 to 7, Christ’s birthday on the Julian calendar. After the church service, everyone sits down to “Holy Supper,” which cannot be started until the first star appears in the sky, an homage to the star that guided the Magi. After the feast, tradition dictates that a plate of braided bread called kalach is left on the table between two candles, in honour of deceased members of the family. Angèle Dubeau offers here one of the rare recordings of this work.

Merry Christmas!

Christmas is celebrated enthusiastically in the United Kingdom. Houses are decorated with bright lights, children sing Christmas carols (such as “Holy Boy” by John Ireland) in the street, collecting spare change for the poor, and Christmas pudding is the traditional post-Christmas-dinner dessert. Another important tradition began here: the sending of Christmas cards, a custom that began in the 15th century and expanded significantly in the 18th century with the development of lithography.

Jesous Ahatonhia

The Huron carol Jesous Ahatonhia (Jesus is born) was written by the Jesuit Jean de Brébeuf in 1641. Hoping to better convey the meaning of Christmas, the priest adapted the text to the reality of the First Nations people. Hence, Jesus is wrapped in rabbit skins, he sleeps in a bark lodge, the adoring shepherds are replaced with hunters, and three Indian chiefs take the place of the Magi. Canadian composer Kelly-Marie Murphy based her work Huron Carol Interlude on the carol. The interlude of the title refers to the third movement of her string quintet Dance Me Through the Panic, from which she borrowed shimmering colours and a sense of melancholy, imbuing the carol melody with a very particular mood and evoking, in her own words, an “imagery of ice, snow, solitude and prayer.” When she heard this Angèle Dubeau’s rendition of her work, the composer wrote: “This is a wonderfully performed and produced interpretation of Huron Carol Interlude. There is a rich, full sound, with a perfect sense of pacing and colour. It expresses my ideas beautifully. Heartfelt thanks and congratulations to Angèle Dubeau!”

© Lucie Renaud
Translation: Peter Christensen

ANGÈLE DUBEAU & LA PIETÀ

SOLOIST, CONDUCTOR
Angèle Dubeau

FIRST VIOLINS
Josiane Breault
Solange Bouchard
Arianne Bresse

SECOND VIOLINS
Julie Triquet
Lyne Allard
Lizann Gervais
Ana Drobac

VIOLAS
Madeleine Messier
Andra Giugariu
Elisa Boudreau
Alexis Carter

CELLOS
Sheila Hannigan
Thérese Ryan
Elizabeth Giroux

DOUBLE BASS
Murielle Bruneau

HARPSICHORD
Luc Beauséjour

BELLS, GLOCKENSPIEL
Ziya Tabassian

Read more

About

Angèle Dubeau
Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà
AN 6 1027
AN 6 1027

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 8730

Noël

Date de sortie 02 novembre 2010
Numéro de l'album AN 2 8730

Informations sur l'album

Ô nuit de paix! Sainte nuit! Quelques notes de ce noël éternel suffisent pour nous envelopper d’une douce harmonie et d’une paix intérieure qui va bien au-delà du sens évoqué par le texte de Joseph Mohr et la musique de par le célèbre cantique de Franz Xaver Gruber. Surgissent, pêle-mêle, souvenirs de campagnes enneigées, feux crépitant dans les cheminées, arômes envahissant la maison toute entière, cris de joie des enfants qui développent avec frénésie leurs cadeaux. Noël n’est-il devenu que nostalgie ou peut-on encore renouveler le sens même de cette fête? En s’appuyant sur des musiques connues, mais aussi des pages associées à la Nativité, Angèle Dubeau en fait le pari et vous propose ici une grande fête de la musique, périple à travers un univers aux origines et traditions diverses. Au gré des compositions, elle vous invite à la suivre en Finlande, en Italie, en France, en Allemagne, en Autriche, au Royaume-Uni, en Russie et, plus près de nous, au Mexique et au Canada avec un cantique huron. Un grand voyage autour de la fête de la Nativité, empreint de douceur et de tendresse.

God Jul!

En Scandinavie, les fêtes de Noël commencent le 13 décembre, jour de la Sainte Lucie, alors qu’une jeune fille la représentant est désignée dans chaque village. Vêtue de blanc, une couronne de bougies sur la tête, elle passe de maison en maison avec son cortège de fillettes en robe blanche et de garçons portant des bonnets pointus parsemés d’étoiles, afin d’apporter la lumière, symbole de vie et de renouveau pour l’année à venir. En Finlande, les festivités officielles s’amorcent par la proclamation de la «paix de Noël», transmise en direct le 24 au soir depuis la cathédrale de Turku. Quelques instants après, les cloches de Noël retentissent partout dans le pays, comme le transmet cette relecture signée Armas Toivo Valdemar Maasalo, Joulun Kellot («Les Cloches de Noël»). Juleniss, l’équivalent de notre Père Noël, récompensera les enfants sages dans la nuit qui suivra. Peut-être sera-t-il tenté de chantonner Julvisa («Chanson de Noël», sous-titrée Give me no Splendour, Gold or Pomp), cette page de jeunesse signée Jean Sibelius?

Buon Natale!

Si on associe spontanément l’Italie au panettone, gâteau de Noël qui aurait vu le jour vers 1490 à Milan, qu’on déguste fourré de crème, nappé de sauce ou recouvert de chocolat, elle est surtout la patrie de la crèche. En effet, dès 1223, François d’Assise créait une des premières crèches vivantes, les villageois incarnant les rôles des personnages. Petites ou presque grandeur nature, les reproductions de l’étable deviendront rapidement une tradition essentielle et les familles italiennes l’installent neuf jours avant la naissance du Christ. Il n’est donc pas surprenant que deux compositeurs baroques parmi les plus connus, Antonio Vivaldi et Guiseppe Torelli, aient tous les deux dédié des concertos idylliques «à la sainte naissance».

Joyeux Noël!

En France, les cantiques de Noël restent l’élément le plus important des célébrations populaires de la Nativité. Au XVIe siècle, on en recense déjà de nombreuses versions qui, bientôt, seront éditées dans les dialectes de chaque région et diffusées par des colporteurs, qui comptent également dans leurs malles Bibles de Noël et estampes (comportant souvent un chant au verso). Angèle Dubeau interprète ici Noël nouvelet, Laissez paître vos bêtes et La Vierge à la crèche, sur un texte d’Alphonse Daudet.

Fröhliche Weihnachten !

Noël devient en Allemagne Weihnachten (nuits solennelles) et la coutume du sapin de Noël y puise ses origines. Selon la légende, saint Boniface de Mayence (environ 680 – 754) aurait tenté d’expliquer la notion de Trinité aux païens en évoquant la forme triangulaire des conifères. La première mention d’un sapin dit moderne remonte à 1521, à Sélestat en Alsace. Auparavant, les Mystères de Noël, joués sur les parvis d’églises, étaient néanmoins fréquemment accompagnés d’un arbre dans lequel on accrochait fruits, offrandes, décorations et bougies. (Cette dernière tradition serait associée à Martin Luther.) Inspiré par la scène de l’adoration des bergers, Johann Melchior Molter écrira, deux siècles plus tard, un concerto grosso tout en finesse.

¡Féliz Navidad!

En Amérique centrale, les Mexicains fêtent quant à eux Las Posadas (les auberges) qui, dès le 16 décembre, commémorent le périple de Nazareth à Bethléem des parents de Jésus. À la nuit tombée, une procession menée par des enfants portant une petite plate-forme décorée sur laquelle sont déposées des répliques de Joseph et Marie sur un âne se met en route. Les membres du groupe chantent la Litanie à la vierge, cognant aux portes. À chaque fois, ils sont repoussés par de cruels «Il n’y a pas de place», jusqu’à ce que la procession atteigne la maison ou l’église désignée. Dans l’esprit de Noël, les portes s’ouvrent alors toutes grandes et les célébrations peuvent commencer, incluant rupture de la piñata, rafraîchissements et danse. La berceuse jouée ici, «Sleep, Holy Infant», est tirée de la cantate de Noël de Dave Brubeck sur un texte de sa femme madame Iola Brubeck, arrangée tout spécialement pour Angèle Dubeau par Russell Gloyd. Quand ce dernier a fait écouter à M. Brubeck cet enregistrement de l’œuvre, il s’est révélé particulièrement touché : «C’est fantastique ! Elle le joue avec tout son cœur!»

Hristos Razdajetsja!

De tout temps, les Russes orthodoxes ont souhaité transformer les événements religieux en «jour de fête», surnom d’un quatuor d’Alexandre Glazounov évoquant les célébrations qui se tiennent dans la nuit du 6 au 7 janvier, naissance du Sauveur selon le vieux calendrier julien. Après l’office religieux, on s’attable pour le réveillon, qui ne pourra être savouré qu’une fois la première étoile apparue, hommage à celle qui a guidé les mages. Les agapes terminées, la tradition veut qu’on laisse sur la table, entre deux chandelles, une assiette de kalach (pain tressé), en mémoire des défunts de la famille. Angèle Dubeau offre ici un rare enregistrement de cette œuvre.

Merry Christmas!

Noël est célébré avec enthousiasme au Royaume-Uni. On décore les maisons de lumières vives, les enfants entonnent des Christmas Carols dans les rues en échange de quelques pièces de monnaie pour les déshérités dont Holy Boy de John Ireland et les gourmands dégustent le Christmas Pudding. Une importante tradition y verra le jour : celle de l’envoi de cartes de vœux, coutume qui fera son apparition dès le XVe siècle et se développera plus particulièrement au XVIIIe siècle avec l’avènement de la lithographie.

Jesous Ahatonhia

On doit au jésuite Jean de Brébeuf Jesous Ahatonhia (Jésus est né), cantique en langue huronne composé en 1641. Désireux de mieux faire comprendre le sens de cette fête, le religieux adapte son récit au quotidien des Premières Nations. Ainsi, Jésus est enveloppé dans des peaux de lièvre, il dort dans une cabane d’écorce, les bergers venus l’adorer sont remplacés par des chasseurs et trois chefs indiens prennent la relève des rois mages. La compositrice canadienne Kelly-Marie Murphy en a tiré Huron Carol Interlude. L’interlude du titre fait référence au troisième mouvement de son quintette à cordes «Dance Me Through the Panic», auquel elle a emprunté couleurs chatoyantes et sentiment de mélancolie, qui habillent d’une teinte bien particulière cette mélodie évoquant, selon ses termes, «la glace, la neige, la solitude et la prière». Quand elle a entendu cette pièce interprétée par Angèle Dubeau, la compositrice a écrit : «Voilà une interprétation merveilleusement transmise de Huron Carol Interlude, qui exprime mes idées admirablement. La sonorité est riche, pleine, avec un parfait sens du tempo et de la couleur. Mes remerciements les plus sincères et félicitations à Angèle Dubeau!»

© Lucie Renaud

ANGÈLE DUBEAU & LA PIETÀ

SOLISTE, CHEF
Angèle Dubeau

PREMIERS VIOLONS
Josiane Breault
Solange Bouchard
Arianne Bresse

SECONDS VIOLONS
Julie Triquet
Lyne Allard
Lizann Gervais
Ana Drobac

ALTOS
Madeleine Messier
Andra Giugariu
Elisa Boudreau
Alexis Carter

VIOLONCELLES
Sheila Hannigan
Thérese Ryan
Elizabeth Giroux

CONTREBASSE
Murielle Bruneau

CLAVECIN
Luc Beauséjour

CLOCHES, GLOCKENSPIEL
Ziya Tabassian

Lire la suite

À propos

Angèle Dubeau
Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà
AN 2 9725-7
AN 2 9725-7

Start typing and press Enter to search