fbpx
FL 2 3036

Prokoviev, Tchaikovsky, Kabalevsky: Violin Concertos

Release date August 14, 1995
Album code FL 2 3036

Album information

Prokofiev: Concerto for violin No. 1 in D major, Op. 19

The Parisian public became acquainted with the music of Russian composer Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) in 1921, when his compatriot, Serge Koussevitzky, conducted the Scythian Suite. The work was received with some reservation, but the composer’s reputation would later grow, thanks to works like the Chout ballet and the Concerto for violin No. 1 in D major, Op. 19. Prokofiev had begun his concerto in 1913 but completed it only in 1917. For various reasons, the first production did not take place until 1923 at the Paris Opera, under the direction of Koussevitzky, with violinist Marcel Darrieux as soloist. However, it was Joseph Szigeti who was to popularize the work, performing it in in Prague in 1924 and in Boston the following year. With the exception of the central movement, a dizzying scherzo where the virtuosity of the soloist is harshly put to the test, the concerto is noteworthy for its lyrical strains. The orchestration of the work is also appealing because of its clarity and transparency.

Tchaikovsky: Sérénade mélancolique, op. 26

Before writing his unique concerto for violin, Piotr Ilitch Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) found himself being asked for a new work by Leopold Auer, the famous virtuoso and teacher. He accepted this invitation by composing the Sérénade mélancolique for violin and orchestra in 1875. Although this work is dedicated to Auer, it was Adolf Brodsky who premiered it in Moscow on January 28, 1876, Auer considering the work “unplayable.” The Serenade mélancolique offers two themes of astonishing strength, detailed with great artistry and sincere emotion.

Tchaikovsky: Mélodie in E-flat major, op. 42 no. 3

During the winter of 1877-1878, Tchaikovsky travelled to Italy and Switzerland. During these travels, he met Joseph Kotek, with whom he played a lot of music. This inspired him to undertake the composition of his celebrated concerto, completing the outline in 11 days and the orchestration in 15 days. However, he did not like the slow movement and substituted it with a canzonetta. The original movement, Meditation, became the first movement of the suite Souvenir d’un lieu cher, of which the Mélodie is the third movement.

Orginally written for violin and piano, this piece was arranged for orchestra in 1878 by Glazunov. Its lyricism calls to mind the most tormented parts of the Eugene Oneguine opera.

Kabalevsky: Concerto for violin No. 1 in C major, Op. 48

Born in St. Petersburgh, Kabalevsky was 21 when he began to study piano and composition at the Moscow Conservatory. This late start did not prevent him from producing an abundance of works: four symphonies, five operas and numerous instrumental works, one part of which is educational in nature; he has also written concertos for the violin and the cello, as well as three concertos for piano.

Conceived in the classic tradition of three movement, the Concerto for violin No. 1 in C major, Op. 48, intended for the great Soviet virtuoso David Oistrakh, who assured its creation and recorded it in 1951 with the National Orchestra of the U.S.S.R. under the direction of its composer, was composed in 1948. In this work, the violin exchanges lively dialogues with the orchestra, dissolves in the sweeping phrases of the strings, or leads the movement with inexhaustable vigour.

© Gilles Potvin

Read more

About

Angèle Dubeau
FL 2 3034
FL 2 3034
FL 2 3034

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
FL 2 3036

Prokoviev, Tchaikovsky, Kabalevsky: Concertos pour violon

Date de sortie 14 août 1995
Numéro de l'album FL 2 3036
Periodes Contemporaine
Genres Musique orchestrale

Informations sur l'album

Prokofiev: Concerto pour violon no. 1, en ré majeur, op. 19

C’est en 1921 que le public parisien fit connaissance avec la musique du compositeur russe Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) quand son compatriote Serge Koussevitzky dirigea la Suite Scythe. L’œuvre fut accueillie avec une certaine réserve mais la réputation du compositeur allait grandir bientôt grâce à des œuvres comme le ballet Chout et le Concerto pour violon no. 1, en ré majeur, op. 19. Prokofiev avait esquissé son concerto dès 1913 mais la composition ne fut achevée qu’en 1917. Pour diverses raisons, la création ne prit place qu’en 1923 à l’Opéra de Paris, sous la direction de Koussevitzky avec le violoniste Marcel Darrieux comme soliste. Mais c’est surtout Joseph Szigeti qui popularisa l’œuvre à partir de 1924 alors qu’il la fit entendre à Prague puis à Boston l’année suivante. À l’exception du mouvement central, un étourdissant scherzo où la virtuosité du soliste est rudement mise à l’épreuve, le concerto est remarquable par ses accents lyriques. L’instrumentation de l’œuvre est aussi séduisante par sa clarté et sa transparence.

Tchaïkovski: Sérénade mélancolique, op. 26

Avant d’écrire son unique concerto pour violon, Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski (1840-1893) s’était vu demander une œuvre nouvelle par Léopold Auer, le célèbre virtuose et pédagogue. Il avait accepté cette invitation en composant la Sérénade mélancolique, pour violon et orchestre, en 1875. Même si l’œuvre est dédiée à Auer, c’est Adolf Brodsky qui en fit la création à Moscou le 28 janvier 1876, Auer trouvant l’œuvre injouable (le même scénario se déroulera deux ans plus tard avec le concerto que le compositeur dédia à Auer mais qui fut aussi créé par Brodsky). La Sérénade mélancolique propose deux thèmes d’une force surprenante, détaillés avec un grand art et suscitant une émotion vive chez l’auditeur.

Tchaïkovski: Mélodie en mi bémol majeur, op. 42, no. 3

Durant l’hiver 1877-78, Tchaïkovski voyagea en Italie et en Suisse. Il eut l’occasion de rencontrer le violoniste Joseph Kotek avec qui il fit beaucoup de musique. C’est alors qu’il entreprit la composition de son célèbre concerto, dont il acheva les esquisses en 11 jours et l’orchestration en 15 jours. Mais il n’aimait pas le mouvement lent et lui substitua une canzonetta. Le mouvement original devint, sous le titre de Méditation, le premier mouvement de la suite Souvenir d’un lieu cher, dont la Mélodie est le troisième.

À l’origine écrite pour violon et piano, cette pièce fut orchestrée en 1878 par Glazounov. Par son lyrisme, elle rappelle les pages les plus tourmentées de l’opéra Eugène Onéguine.

Kabalevsky: Concerto no. 1, en do majeur, op. 48

Né à Saint-Petersbourg, Kabalevsky avait 21 ans quand il entreprit l’étude du piano et de la composition au Conservatoire de Moscou. Ce retard ne l’a pas empêché de signer une production abondante et variée comprenant quatre symphonies, cinq opéras et de nombreuses œuvres instrumentales dont une partie est dédiée à la jeunesse. Il a écrit des concertos pour violon et pour violoncelle ainsi que trois pour piano.

Conçu dans la tradition classique des trois mouvements, le Concerto pour violon no. 1 op. 48 fut composé en 1948 à l’intention du grand virtuose soviétique David Oistrakh, qui en assura la création et en fit un enregistrement en 1951 avec l’Orchestre d’État de l’URSS sous la direction du compositeur. Dans cette œuvre, le violon jouit de plusieurs contrastes: il échange un vif dialogue avec l’orchestre, se fond dans les larges phrases des cordes, ou encore mène le mouvement avec une verve intarissable.

© Gilles Potvin

Lire la suite

À propos

Angèle Dubeau
AN 6 1003
AN 6 1003
AN 6 1003

Start typing and press Enter to search