fbpx
AN 2 2000

Mozart

Release date September 16, 2008
Album code AN 2 2000
Periods Classical

Album information

Mozart: Opera for Two—Late 18th-Century Transcriptions

Few composers—save, perhaps, Beethoven—enjoyed a posthumous life as fertile and as diversified as Mozart. In the decades following his death, Romanticism already began defining a generation’s quest for its identity: oppositions were set between the “naïve” and the “sentimental,” “romantic” and “romanesque,” ancient and modern. For example, his youthful death soon became a powerful metaphor for a particular mode of the “tragic,” transfigured—this is an era uninhibited in its desire to intimately link life and art—in the Requiem, seen as the expression of the foreboding of an imminent death. Die Zauberflöte also contributed to Romanticism’s self-fashioning, from the combination it offers of the fantastical, diabolical, ethical, metaphysical, and of elements taken from the Bildungsroman. The myth of the “eternal child” also played an important role: a genius becomes one who is possessed, unaware of the superior forces which express themselves through him, and which he cannot resist.

Constanze Mozart was very much involved in the development of the Mozartean mythology: because of the care with which she cultivated elements of the Mozartean lore and by the selective manner in which she chose to circulate Mozart’s works, Constanze helped in making man and work a single legend and in heightening its popularity. Editors were quick to follow. Soon after Mozart’s death were announced forthcoming complete works; also transcriptions and arrangements of Mozart’s works began proliferating. Such adaptations of a composer’s work were certainly nothing new, and opera was the genre most exploited: for example, of Mozart alone we find from Böhme (c1800) a “Dom Giovani [sic]. Grand Opera… arrangé pour le Piano-forte avec un Violon obligé…,” from Simrock (1804), a “Il Don Giovanni. Grand’opera ridotta a quartetti per flauto, violino, viola basso,” or, from Simrock again (1800), a “La Clemenza di tito. Grande [sic] Opéra… arrangée en quatuors à Deux Violons, Alto Violoncelle.” Perhaps the best example of the editors’ keen sense of marketing is the “Die Zauberflöte… arranged for Two Violins or Two Flutes… by Mr. Mozard [sic]” found on this recording: the prospective buyer does not know whether “by Mr. Mozard” refers to “Die Zauberflöte” or to “arranged.”

This is not to deny the historical importance or the artistic merit of such works. Editors, by offering this music in such a way that the amateur can now enjoy them, contribute to the spread and canonical establishment of the great works of the repertoire. This, of course, was accomplished by those—among whom assuredly more than a few composers—whose task was to simplify these complex pages without sacrificing their beauty and artistic integrity: in the transcriptions found on this recording, the tone of each aria is faithfully respected, the orchestration reduced without loss of textural richness, the typically Mozartean wit of the dialogue between voice and orchestra enhanced.

© Alex Benjamin

Note: The arrangement “for Two Violins or Two Flutes” of Die Zauberflöte was published in 1792 by B. Schott, Mainz.* Die Entführung aus dem Serail “arranged for duo with two flutes” was published in 1799 by Simrock, Bonn.* The “DUOS / for / TWO FLUTES / arranged / from the / Marriage of Figaro” was published in 1799 by Simrock, Bonn.* The first edition of the arrangement “for two flutes” of Don Giovanni was published ca1809 by Cappi, Vienna.* *(published by Universal Editions)

Read more

About

Angèle Dubeau
AN 2 8731
AN 2 8731

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 2000

Mozart

Date de sortie 16 septembre 2008
Numéro de l'album AN 2 2000
Periodes Classique

Informations sur l'album

Mozart: Opéra pour deux — Transcriptions de la fin du XVIIIe siècle

Peu de compositeurs — à l’exception, peut-être, de Beethoven — auront une vie  » posthume  » aussi riche, aussi diversifiée que celle de Mozart. Dans les décennies qui suivent sa mort, le romantisme entreprend déjà la quête de son identité : tour à tour des oppositions se posent, entre naïf et sentimental,  » romantique  » et  » romanesque « , ancien et moderne. Son jeune âge au moment de sa mort, par exemple, fait de lui le symbole d’un certain  » tragique « , et ce tragique prendra littéralement forme, pour une époque qui ne fait pas la différence entre l’homme et l’œuvre, dans le Requiem, vu comme l’expression du pressentiment de la mort imminente. Die Zauberflöte contribuera également à l’idée que le romantisme se fera de lui-même, par la combinaison qu’offre cet opéra de fantastique, de diabolique, d’éthique, de métaphysique et d’éléments tirés du Bildungsroman (roman de formation). Autre exemple, le mythe de  » l’éternel enfant  » jouera aussi un rôle important : le génie devient celui qui est possédé, inconscient, celui à travers lequel s’expriment des forces qui lui sont supérieures et auxquelles il ne saurait résister.

Constance Mozart, bien sûr, n’est pas étrangère à ces développements : par le soin avec lequel elle cultive les mythes et par la distribution sélective qu’elle opère de copies d’œuvres inédites, Constance contribue à faire de l’homme et de l’œuvre une seule et même légende et à en accroître la popularité. Les éditeurs entrent très vite dans la partie. D’une part, on annonce la publication prochaine des œuvres complètes; d’autre part, ce sont transcriptions et arrangements qui se mettent à proliférer. Ce dernier phénomène n’était certes pas nouveau, et c’est l’opéra qui sera le genre que les éditeurs exploiteront le plus : de Mozart seul on retrouve, à titre d’exemples, un  » Dom Giovani [sic]. Grand Opera… arrangé pour le Piano-forte avec un Violon obligé… « , chez Böhme (c 1800); un  » Il Don Giovanni. Grand’opera ridotta a quartetti per flauto, violino, viola, basso « , chez Simrock (1804); ou encore, chez Simrock (1800), un  » La Clemenza di tito. Grande [sic] Opéra… arrangée en quatuors à Deux Violons, Alto, Violoncelle « . Le plus bel exemple du sens aigu du marketing des éditeurs est offert par le  » Die Zauberflöte… arrangé pour Deux Violons ou Deux Flutes… par Mr. Mozard  » présenté sur ce disque : l’acheteur éventuel ne sait si  » par Mr. Mozard  » se rapporte à  » Die Zauberflöte  » ou à  » arrangé « .

Ceci n’est pas nier l’importance historique et la valeur artistique de telles œuvres. Les éditeurs, en offrant ces musiques de façon à ce que tout amateur puisse en jouir contribuent à la diffusion et à l’établissement en tant que canon des grandes œuvres du répertoire. Cela, il va de soi, fut accompli grâce à ceux (et il y a fort à parier que plusieurs compositeurs se trouvaient parmi eux) dont la tâche était de simplifier, ornementer, varier des pages complexes sans en perdre l’intégrité artistique et la beauté première: dans les transcriptions présentées sur ce disque, on peut admirer à quel point le ton de chaque air est fidèlement respecté, l’orchestration réduite sans qu’on y sente un manque de richesse sonore, comment est rehaussé le spirituel du dialogue naturel — typiquement mozartien — entre voix et orchestre.

© Alex Benjamin

Note : L’arrangement  » pour Deux Violons ou Deux Flutes  » de Die Zauberflöte a paru en 1792, chez B. Schott, Mayence.* Die Entführung aus dem Serail  » arrangé en Duo à deux flûtes  » a paru en 1799, chez Simrock, Bonn.* Les  » DUOS / à / DEUX FLUTES / arrangés / du / Mariage de Figaro  » ont paru en 1799, chez Simrock, Bonn.* La première édition de l’arrangement  » pour deux flûtes  » de Don Giovanni a parue vers 1809, chez Cappi, Vienne.* *(réédité par Universal Editions)

Lire la suite

À propos

Angèle Dubeau
AN 2 8724
AN 2 8724

Start typing and press Enter to search