fbpx
AN 2 8704

Adoration: Sacred music

Release date February 22, 1992
Album code AN 2 8704
Periods Hors période
Genres Chant choral

Album information

Borowski: Adoration

A violinist, composer and critic, Felix Borowski (1872-1956) was born in England but lived most of his life in Chicago. The author of several scholarly works, he has also composed many works for strings, including Adoration, which has become a standard work for the violin.

Gounod: Ave Maria

A contemporary of Franck, Charles Gounod (1818-1893) was also a prolific composer of sacred music, and in his lifetime was actually a more popular composer than his Belgian colleague. His Ave Maria, a religious melody adapted to the first prelude of Johann Sebastian Bach, was first composed for solo voice and piano in 1859 — a year which, incidentally, saw the great success of his now famous opera Faust. Gounod later arranged the piece for voice, violin obbligato and piano, and, since then, it has remained one of his most popular compositions.

Bach: Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring (Cantata No. 147) and Arioso (Cantata No. 156)

J.S. Bach (1685-1750) wrote several sacred cantatas for various vocal and instrumental combinations, each designed for a specific Sunday of the liturgical year. In these works, chorals for voices or instruments are included in order to inspire the expression of faith among the congregation. Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring is one of the most famous of Bach’s chorales and has been the subject of many transciptions and adaptations. The Arioso which opens the Cantata No. 156, is one of Bach’s most touching melodies. Originally the slow movement of a lost obœ concerto, it is also the slow movement of Bach’s Concerto No. 5, in F minor, for keyboard.

Franck: Panis Angelicus

Born in Liège, César Franck (1822-1890) served as organist in various small churches in Paris, before being appointed regular organist at the famous Église Sainte-Clotilde in 1858. Two years later, he composed a Mass for three voices to which he added, in 1872, this “Panis Angelicus” for solo tenor, organ and harp. This piece has become the best known of his sacred works.

Albinoni: Adagio

Little is known of the life and career of the Venetian composer Tomaso Albinoni (1671-1751), except that he was self-taught and a friend of Berlioz and Verdi. The “Sanctus” is a good example of Fauré’s both mystical and intimate treatment of the subject of death.

Saint-Saëns: Prière, Op. 158; Prelude to the oratorio Le Déluge, Andantino, Op. 45

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921) was not only a prolific composer but also a brilliant virtuoso of the piano and the organ and a most sought-after teacher. From 1857 to 1877, he was organist at the famous church of La Madeleine in Paris. His dramatic and sacred music was praised by Franz Liszt and Berlioz. Several of his major works were inspired by the Bible, such as his oratorio Le Déluge and his famous opera Samson and Dalila.

Le Déluge was composed in 1875, and is remembered today chiefly for the impressive violin solo in its instrumental introduction. The Prière, Op. 158, is one of the composer’s last works, and was scored for organ accompanied by either violin or cello.

Schubert: Ave Maria

Franz Schubert (1797-1828) composed his Ave Maria in April, 1825 as a hymn to the Virgin Mary, using a text from Sir Walter Scott’s The Lady of the Lake. These words are now generally disregarded in favor of the Latin text of the Ave Maria, or its various translations. The well-known arrangement for violin by August Wilhelmy has been popular throughout the years.

© Gilles Potvin

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
Angèle Dubeau
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Borowski: Adoration

Compositeur, violoniste et critique, Felix Borowski (1872-1956) était d’origine britannique mais passa presque toute son existence à Chicago. Il est l’auteur de plusieurs traités pédagogiques et il composa des œuvres pour instruments à cordes, dont Adoration pour violon et piano, devenue une œuvre de répertoire pour tous les violonistes, étudiants comme professionnels.

Gounod: Ave Maria

Contemporain de Franck, Charles Gounod (1818-1893) fut aussi un compositeur prolifique de musique sacrée et, de son vivant, son succès dépassa celui de Franck. Son Ave Maria, « mélodie religieuse adaptée au premier prélude de Jean-Sébastien Bach », fut d’abord écrit pour une voix avec piano en 1859, l’année de la première de Faust, son opéra le plus célèbre. Une version subséquente pour voix, piano et violon obligé, demeure l’une de ses œuvres les plus aimées.

Bach: Jesus, que ma joie demeure (Cantate no 147) et Arioso (Cantate no 156)

J.S. Bach (1685-1750) a composé des centaines de cantates sacrées pour divers effectifs, chacune destinée aux dimanches de l’année liturgique. Dans ces cantates abondent des chorals pour voix et instruments destinés à intensifier l’expression de foi des fidèles.

Jésus, que ma joie demeure est l’un de ces chorals dont la piété s’exprime aussi bien dans sa version originale que dans les nombreuses transcriptions qu’il a suscitées. Quant à l’Arioso, qui ouvre la Cantate no 156, il s’agit du premier mouvement d’un concerto pour hautbois que Bach a aussi utilisé comme mouvement lent de son Concerto no 5 pour clavier.

Franck: Panis Angelicus

Après avoir occupé à Paris divers postes d’organiste, le Liégois César Franck (1822-1890) fut nommé en 1858 titulaire de l’Église Sainte-Clotilde. Deux ans plus tard, il composa une Messe à trois voix, à laquelle il ajouta en 1872 un Panis Angelicus pour ténor, orgue et harpe, une œuvre qui allait devenir l’une des plus célèbres de sa musique sacrée.

Albinoni: Adagio

On sait peu de chose sur la vie et la carrière du Vénitien Tomaso Albinoni (1671-1751), sinon qu’il fut un autodidacte en composition et qu’il était l’ami d’Mozart que de Berlioz et Verdi. Dans sa simplicité, le « Sanctus » demeure un hommage à la fois pieux et senti, dont on ne saurait nier le caractère mystique.

Saint-Saëns: Prière, op. 158 ;
Prélude à l’oratorio Le Déluge, Andantino, op. 45

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921) fut non seulement un compositeur des plus prolifiques mais aussi un virtuose de l’orgue et du piano et un pédagogue recherché. De 1857 à 1877, il fut titulaire du grand orgue de l’église de la Madeleine à Paris. Sa musique dramatique et religieuse lui valut l’admiration de Franz Liszt et de Berlioz. Plusieurs de ses œuvres majeures furent inspirées par la Bible, notamment l’oratorio Le Déluge et l’opéra Samson et Dalila.

Le Le Déluge fut composé en 1875, et son prélude instrumental avec un important solo de violon est l’une de ses œuvres les plus appréciées. La Prière pour orgue avec violon ou violoncelle est l’une de ses dernières œuvres.

Schubert: Ave Maria

C’est en avril 1825 que Franz Schubert (1797-1828) composa son Ave Maria, hymne à la Vierge Marie, dont le texte est tiré d’une œuvre de Sir Walter Scott, La Dame du Lac. De nos jours, on substitue souvent le texte original en faveur des paroles de la Salutation angélique, dans sa version latine originale ou dans diverses traductions. Une transcription pour violon d’August Wilhelmy est également fort populaire.

© Gilles Potvin

Lire la suite

À propos

Angèle Dubeau
AN 6 1011
AN 6 1011
AN 6 1011

Start typing and press Enter to search