fbpx
AN 2 8740

Solo

Album information

After the violin’s first source of life, the burgeoning forest, where it matures and waiting for its chance to sing, after the skilled, patient hand who gives it shape, completing the chain of balance, comes the violinist, seeking to tame harmony. What a marvelous instrument is the violin, what a delight it is to express one’s emotions on this sculpted piece of wood reborn out of the soul’s resonance. For 30 years now, I have travelled the world performing with my violin, and it has never failed to give me immense pleasure. Indeed, the joy of being on stage, especially before an audience, is both my raison d’être as a musician and a tremendous source of energy.

Of course, I have at my disposal the works of composers who, over the last 300 years, have enriched the instrument by creating an extensive repertoire whose occasional technical pitfalls have helped refine the instrument.

Led by my experience, my tastes, and my curiosity, I browsed through the violin repertoire from its origins to the present. I agonized over some of the choices, but in the end, I selected only the works that I love best, sources of enrichment and human emotion.

As a starting point, I chose L’Arte del violino, from 1733, the year in which my famous instrument, the Des Rosiers Stradivarius, was made. There are 24 of these famous caprices that inspired Paganini.

From there, we embark on a voyage through time and space featuring a broad spectrum of composers and styles, from the Baroque, Classical and Romantic periods; to contemporary music; to folk, jazz and tango. For me, this is the perfect way to express the passion I feel for my instrument and to honour the creative spirit: alone, without artifice, and with a single voice—my voice—flowing through the soul of my violin.

Angèle Dubeau

Over the course of the 16th century, luthiers in the region around Milan, Italy perfected a new instrument that represented the culmination of a long evolution, one of the brightest jewels of our civilization’s musical heritage—the violin. The instrument combines a set of qualities that make it unique. It can sing with the expressiveness of a human voice but also dazzle us with keyboard-like virtuosity; its four strings give it polyphonic options, whereas most other melodic instruments are confined to playing a single line; its bow allows it to shape each note with an infinite variety of articulations; and its almost perfect acoustic properties lend its sound extraordinary intensity.

Given these qualities, it is not surprising that the violin has attracted so many musicians from so many different styles over the years, accumulating a vast repertoire along the way. In her explorations of this repertoire, Angèle Dubeau has travelled paths both fascinating and rarely frequented, and so to celebrate thirty years as a musician, she offers this exquisite homage to the violin.

George Enescu (Georges Enesco in French) (1881–1955): Orchestral Suite No. 1 (Op. 9), I. Prelude, version for solo violin

Enescu’s career was multi-faceted: he was also a virtuoso violinist, an excellent pianist, a well-known conductor and an exceptional teacher. His students included such notable violinists as Christian Ferras, Arthur Grumiaux, Ivry Gitlis, Ida Haendel and Yehudi Menuhin.

Enescu composed three orchestral suites. Dedicated to Camille Saint-Saëns, the four-movement Suite No. 1 (Op. 9) was composed in 1903 and premiered in Paris on December 11, 1904 under the baton of Gabriel Pierné. The piece opens with an intriguing prelude played in unison—a rare example of monophonic composition in the orchestral repertoire; all the musicians play exactly the same notes, at different octaves according to their instrument’s register. The Hungarian composer Zoltán Kodály made his students study this prelude as a model of monophonic writing.

On this recording, Angèle performs the first violin part of the prelude as a sort of free-flowing cadenza.

Astor Piazzolla (1921–1992): Tango-Etudes Nos. 1, 3 & 4

Astor Piazzolla needs no introduction. Born in Argentina, he emigrated along with his family to New York, remaining there for 11 years and taking his first bandonéon lessons. He later travelled to Paris to study composition with the great Nadia Boulanger, who advised him to cultivate the tango in his compositions. Taking her advice, Piazzolla developed a highly personal musical language, at once modern and passionate, based essentially upon the tango, in much the same way that Bartók drew upon traditional Hungarian music. And this new intensely expressive, even disturbing, style, in which the violin, the piano, the contrabass and the bandonéon share the stage, Piazzolla dubbed nuevo tango.

Piazzolla composed many works for his own nuevo tango group, including masterpieces such as Libertango, Adiós Nonino, Milonga del angel and Contrabajisimo. He transcribed some of his works for bandonéon and orchestra and also wrote a Concerto for Bandonéon and a “tango opera” María de Buenos Aires. His six Tango-Etudes for solo flute or violin were composed in 1987.

Pietro Antonio Locatelli (1695–1764): Caprice No. 9 in C major

A disciple of Arcangelo Corelli (1653–1713), Locatelli would nevertheless push the technical boundaries of the violin even further in his own works. He had brilliant career as a soloist, which took him throughout Italy, Austria and Germany, before he settled down in Amsterdam in 1729.

In 1733, he published his Opus 3, entitled L’Arte del violino, a collection of 12 concertos for violin and orchestra. After the first and third movements of each concerto, in the place of cadenzas, Locatelli inserted spectacularly difficult caprices for solo violin, making a total of 24 for the opus. Locatelli wrote them in such a way as to make it possible to play them out of context as independent pieces. However, after his death, Locatelli’s concertos and caprices were all but forgotten.

Then around 1798, a young, extremely gifted Genoese violinist came upon a copy of L’Arte del violino by chance and had a revelation. The violinist was none other than Nicolò Paganini (1782–1840), and he began to study the collection intensely, especially the caprices, which inspired him to compose his own 24 Caprices for solo violin (Op. 1), a work that would influence generations of virtuosi to come. In his first caprice, Paganini pays homage to Locatelli by quoting his Caprice no. 7, in a sense completing the circle.

Locatelli’s Caprice No. 9, performed here by Angèle Dubeau, occurs at the end of the first movement of the fifth concerto of L’Arte del violino.

Srul Irving Glick (1934–2002): Serenade and Dance for solo violin

Srul Irving Glick was the son of Russian emigrants who moved to Toronto in 1924. Jewish liturgical music had a great influence on the compositional style of Glick, whose father was a cantor for various synagogues in the Toronto area. After attending the University of Toronto, he spent two summers in Aspen, Colorado, where he studied under Darius Milhaud. He was one of Canada’s most prolific composers, leaving a legacy of symphonic, choral and chamber works. Serenade and Dance for solo violin was written in 1995 for violinist Jacques Israelevitch as a birthday present. The piece is a meditative and poetic work of great beauty. “I had the chance to speak with Mr. Glick only a few days before he passed away. He expressed the joy he felt knowing that his music would survive him, and that he would be there above me, like a butterfly, every time I played his music.”

Dave Brubeck (1920–): Bourree

The great pianist and jazz composer Dave Brubeck was a gifted child. Born in California, he was four years old when his mother gave him his first piano lessons. He began his career as a pianist at the age of 13. Brubeck studied composition with Darius Milhaud, who suggested he use jazz in his compositions. He founded a jazz quartet and gained popularity in 1959 with the release of the album Time Out, especially with the legendary song “Take Five,” written by the band’s saxophonist, Paul Desmond. Brubeck also wrote works for orchestra and chamber music. In 1969, he composed a huge oratorio for solists, choir and orchestra entitled The Gates of Justice. Written in 1999 and recorded here for the first time, “Bourree” for solo violin is a happy union of jazz and classical writing, modern and refined.

After listening to Angèle’s recording of “Bourree,” Brubeck spontaneously replied with the following note.

Certainly, one of the more memorable concerts in the long history of the Montreal International Jazz Festival was the unusual pairing of the Dave Brubeck Quartet with La Pietà, led by Angèle Dubeau. On that occasion Angèle surprised and delighted me with a fantastic solo performance of my recently composed “Bourree” for solo violin.

In the summer of 2000 “Bourree” was premiered at the Hoxton Festival in London by Simon Blendis, a young British violinist who commissioned the piece in the honor of the 250th anniversary of Bach’s death. His idea for the commission was to ask five contemporary composers to each choose a movement from Bach’s E Major Partita for solo violin that inspired them. Being a jazz musician who grew up playing dances, it seemed logical that I should choose a dance movement, “Bourree.” This is also the reason there are references to Gershwin’s “I Got Rhythm.” You can hear it in the 16th notes played near the beginning of the piece and repeated throughout in various juxtapositions.

A week after the premiere in London, Angèle performed the North American premiere in Montreal, where it received an enthusiastic reception, especially from its composer. On this recording Angèle once again plays the “Bourree” with great force and interpretive fire. Brava!
– Dave Brubeck

Bartolomeo Campagnoli (1751–1827): Divertimento for solo violin (Op.18 no. 7)

Campagnoli was born near Bologna five years before Mozart, and he died the same year as Beethoven. He was a violinist of the great Italian school established by Corelli and his successors, Vivaldi, Locatelli, Pugnani, Veracini, Tartini, Geminiani, Nardini, and Viotti. In fact, Campagnoli was a student of Nardini and had met Viotti. He toured Europe numerous times before taking the position of concertmaster with the Gewandhaus Orchestra in Leipsig in 1797. At the time, the Gewandhaus was already one of Europe’s most prestigious orchestras, so the Campagnoli’s appointment says much about his abilities. He remained in Leipzig until 1816.

One of Campagnoli’s great qualities was undoubtedly his great dedication to young musicians. While he could have led the grand life of a soloist, he preferred to dedicate himself to teaching and writing numerous pedagogical works (etudes, methods and exercises). Indeed, the title of one of his methods is by itself an entire curriculum: Nouvelle méthode de la mécanique progressive du jeu de violon distribuée en 132 leçons progressives pour deux violons, et 118 études pour un violon seul, op. 21 (Leipzig, 1824)!

His generosity also applied to his family, starting with his two daughters, Albertina and Giannina, who were excellent opera singers. In fact, he resigned his position in Leipzig in 1816 to better oversee their careers. Three years later, this mission had been accomplished, and his daughters were members of the Hanover Opera Company. He was then offered another concertmaster position, this time in Berlin, at the venerable age of almost 70.

Campagnoli’s violin method was described by a contemporary critic named Schmidt as a “happy union of German know-how and Italian soul.” His musical language is full of joyous energy that reminds one of the melodic stylings of Rossini and Paganini. In addition to his pedagogical works, Campagnoli composed three flute concertos, a violin concerto, 41Caprices for viola, and numerous works for his own instrument, including six Fugues, 30 Preludes, and the seven Divertimentos (or sonatas) which make up Opus 18.

Alan Ridout (1934–1996): Ferdinand the Bull, for narrator and solo violin

A well-known figure on the British music scene, Alan Ridout was a student of Gordon Jacob and Michael Tippett. A resident of Canterbury, he wrote primarily sacred music for Canterbury Cathedral (canticle settings, passions and organ music) as well as etudes and study pieces. He taught the cathedral boys’ choir and wrote operas and musical stories for them. Ridout also composed symphonies, concertos and chamber music, writing either atonally or tonally, depending on the requirements of the piece or the audience.

In 1936, the American author Munro Leaf (1905–1976) published The Story of Ferdinand, illustrated by Robert Lawson. This adorable tale of a bull who preferred smelling flowers over bullfighting stirred up controversy when some deemed it pacifist and anti-military; indeed, the book was banned in Nazi Germany and by other military regimes. Elsewhere, however, it became very popular, so much so that two years after its publication, Walt Disney based a short animated film on the book entitled Ferdinand the Bull, which remains one of the great classics of animation. With great whimsy and originality, Ridout composed his own adaptation of the story in 1974, as a musical story for solo violin and narrator.

Angèle Dubeau also had the inspired idea to ask Yves Beauchemin, author of such wonderful books as Charles le téméraire and Antoine et Alfred to bring this gentle bull to life in la langue de Molière! And so the disc features a French version of the tale, narrated by Pierre Lebeau. As a bonus track, Angèle offers you the original version of this musical tale narrated by Blair Williams.

© Claudio Ricignuolo
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

Angèle Dubeau
AN 2 8731
AN 2 8731

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 8740

Solo

Interprètes
Date de sortie 06 février 2007
Numéro de l'album AN 2 8740
Periodes Hors période

Informations sur l'album

De la forêt foisonnante, source première de la vie d’un violon qui attend la maturité pour chanter, à la main habile et patiente qui l’a façonné pour compléter cette chaîne d’équilibre, vient le violoniste à la conquête d’harmonie. Quel instrument merveilleux que le violon, quelle richesse que de pouvoir s’exprimer avec émotion sur cet objet de bois, sculpté du vide à la vibration de l’âme. Cela fait 30 ans déjà que je sillonne le monde avec mon violon, que je retrouve le public avec le même bonheur, ma raison d’être en tant que musicienne. Ce bonheur gratifiant de retrouver la scène et surtout le public, ma source d’énergie.

Bien sûr, je peux compter sur un éventail important d’œuvres de compositeurs qui depuis 300 ans ont enrichi l’instrument en développant ce répertoire si riche, parfois avec embûches techniques qui favorisent le perfectionnement de l’instrument.

Mon expérience, mon goût, ma curiosité m’ont permis de faire un survol du répertoire pour violon, de son origine à aujourd’hui. Bien sûr, j’y ai fait des choix quelques fois déchirants, mais je puis vous assurer que de la première note jusqu’à la dernière, j’ai choisi des œuvres que j’aime, toujours avec un souci d’enrichissement et d’émotions humaines.

Point de départ : L’Arte del Violino, daté de 1733, année où mon célèbre instrument, le Stradivarius Des Rosiers, a été façonné. Ces fameux caprices au nombre de 24 qui ont inspiré Paganini.

De là un voyage à travers le temps et l’espace qui nous emmène par autant de voies différentes que de compositeurs : baroque, classique, romantique, contemporain, d’inspiration folklorique, jazz et tango. Voilà pour moi la plus belle façon que j’ai trouvée pour exprimer ma passion pour mon instrument. De rendre hommage au génie créateur, seule, sans artifices, une voix, la mienne, qui transite par l’âme de mon violon.

Angèle Dubeau

Au cours du XVIe siècle, des luthiers du nord de l’Italie, dans la région de Milan, mettent au point un nouvel instrument qui représente l’aboutissement ultime d’une longue évolution. Le violon est né, et avec lui, un des plus scintillants joyaux de l’héritage musical de notre civilisation. Le violon cumule en effet un ensemble de qualités tout simplement unique parmi les instruments. Il peut chanter avec l’expression d’une voix humaine, mais aussi nous éblouir par une virtuosité digne d’un instrument à clavier. Grâce à ses quatre cordes, il possède des qualités polyphoniques alors que la plupart des instruments chantants sont monodiques. Son archet permet aussi de sculpter chaque note avec une infinie variété d’effets d’articulation. Enfin, son acoustique quasi parfaite lui confère une intensité peu commune.

Il n’est pas étonnant, compte tenu de cet ensemble de qualités, que le violon ait attiré, depuis sa naissance, tant de musiciens de toutes tendances et que son répertoire soit aussi vaste. En explorant des sentiers aussi fascinants que peu fréquentés du répertoire violonistique, Angèle Dubeau nous propose, à l’occasion de ses trente ans de carrière, un des plus beaux hommages au violon qui puissent se concevoir.

George Enescu (1881-1955) :  » Prélude  » tirée de la Suite pour orchestre Op. 9 no
1

La carrière d’Enescu fut multiple : il fut tout à la fois virtuose du violon, excellent pianiste, chef d’orchestre reconnu et pédagogue d’exception. Parmi ses élèves, mentionnons les violonistes Christian Ferras, Arthur Grumiaux, Ivry Gitlis, Ida Haendel et Yehudi Menuhin, rien de moins!

Enescu a composé trois suites pour orchestre. Dédiée à Camille Saint-Saëns, la Suite no 1 (op. 9), en quatre mouvements, a été composée en 1903 et créée à Paris le 11 décembre 1904 sous la direction de Gabriel Pierné. Elle débute par un fascinant Prélude joué à l’unisson, rare exemple de monodie pour orchestre symphonique : tous les musiciens ont exactement les mêmes notes à jouer, à des octaves différentes selon leur registre. Le compositeur hongrois Zoltán Kodály a fait étudier ce prélude à ses élèves comme exemple-type d’écriture monodique.

Telle une cadence toute en liberté, Angèle Dubeau nous fait entendre la voix des premiers violons de ce Prélude.

Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992) : Études-Tango nos 1, 3 et 4

On ne présente plus Astor Piazzolla. Né en Argentine, il émigre à New York avec sa famille où il demeure pendant 11 ans. Il y prend ses premières leçons de bandonéon. Plusieurs années plus tard, il se rend à Paris pour étudier la composition avec la grande Nadia Boulanger qui lui conseille de cultiver la fibre du tango. Suivant ses conseils, Piazzolla a su développer un langage très personnel, à la fois moderne et passionné, puisant sa substance dans ce qui fait l’essence même du tango, un peu comme Bartók s’est nourri aux sources de la musique traditionnelle hongroise. Ce nouveau style musical, c’est le Nuevo tango, un langage intensément expressif, voire bouleversant, où le violon, le piano, la contrebasse et le bandonéon, cette sorte d’accordéon aux accents déchirants se partagent la vedette.

Piazzolla a composé de nombreuses pièces pour son propre ensemble de tango nuevo, parmi lesquelles ces chefs-d’œuvre que sont Libertango, Adiós Nonino, Milonga del angel et Contrabajisimo. Il en a transcrites certaines pour bandonéon et orchestre symphonique. On lui doit également un Concerto pour bandonéon ainsi qu’un  » opéra-tango « , Maria de Buenos Aires. Ses Six Études-tango, ou Études tanguistiques pour violon seul ou flûte seule, ont été composées en1987.

Pietro Antonio Locatelli (1695-1764) : Caprice no 9 en do majeur

Disciple d’Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713), Locatelli allait cependant pousser beaucoup plus loin la virtuosité dans ses propres œuvres. Sa carrière de virtuose a été fulgurante et ses succès l’ont fait voyager à travers l’Italie, l’Autriche et l’Allemagne avant son installation définitive à Amsterdam en 1729.

En 1733, il publia son opus 3, intitulé L’Arte del violino, un recueil de 12 concertos pour violon et orchestre. À la fin des premier et troisième mouvements de chaque concerto, Locatelli insère en guise de cadence, un caprice pour violon seul d’une difficulté technique éblouissante. Ainsi, il y a deux caprices par concerto pour un total de 24. Locatelli les a écrits de telle sorte qu’il est possible de les exécuter en dehors du contexte des concertos, comme des œuvres indépendantes. Après la mort de Locatelli, ses concertos et caprices tombent pratiquement dans l’oubli.

Vers 1798, un jeune violoniste génois, prodigieusement doué, découvre par pur hasard un exemplaire de L’Arte del violino de Locatelli. C’est l’illumination! Le jeune Nicolò Paganini (1782-1840), car c’était lui, se plonge avec ferveur dans l’étude du recueil, et particulièrement, des caprices qu’il renferme. Inspiré, Paganini compose alors ses propres 24 Caprices pour violon seul (op.1) et influencera ainsi les générations de virtuoses à venir. Dans son premier caprice, Paganini rend hommage à son précurseur en citant le Caprice no 7 de Locatelli. La boucle est bouclée.

Le Caprice no 9 de Locatelli, qu’exécute ici Angèle Dubeau, se situe à la fin du premier mouvement du cinquième concerto de L’Arte del violino.

Alan Ridout (1934-1996) : Ferdinand le taureau, pour narrateur et violon seul

Figure bien connue de la vie musicale britannique, Alan Ridout a été l’élève de Gordon Jacob et de Michael Tippett. Établi à Canterbury, il a surtout œuvré dans le milieu de la musique sacrée destinée à la cathédrale de Canterbury (cantiques, passions, œuvres pour orgue) et dans celui de la musique à caractère pédagogique. Il a enseigné aux membres du chœur d’enfants de la cathédrale et a composé à leur intention des opéras ainsi que des contes musicaux. Il a par ailleurs composé des symphonies, des concertos et de la musique de chambre. Son langage éclectique s’adapte aux besoins ou à la destination de ses œuvres : il sera tantôt atonal, tantôt plus traditionnel.

C’est en 1936 que l’écrivain américain Munro Leaf (1905-1976) fait publier The Story of Ferdinand, illustré par Robert Lawson. L’adorable histoire de ce taureau qui aimait les fleurs plutôt que le combat a soulevé de vives controverses, car certains l’ont jugée pacifiste et antimilitariste. Le livre a donc connu l’honneur d’avoir été banni par le gouvernement nazi ainsi que par d’autres régimes belliqueux. Partout ailleurs, il fit fureur au point que, deux ans après sa parution, Walt Disney en tira un court métrage intitulé Ferdinand the Bull qui demeure un des grands classiques de l’animation. Avec beaucoup de fantaisie et d’invention, Alan Ridout signa en 1974 sa propre adaptation du récit, cette fois sous la forme d’un conte musical pour violon et narrateur.

Pour faire vivre le gentil taureau dans la langue de Molière, Angèle Dubeau a eu l’heureuse idée d’inclure ce conte musical en version française inédite signée Yves Beauchemin, auteur de Charles le téméraire et d’Antoine et Alfred, et interprétée ici par Pierre Lebeau. Pour doubler votre plaisir, l’œuvre est également offerte en bonus, dans l’original anglais interprétée par Blair Williams.

Srul Irving Glick (1934-2002) : Sérénade et Danse, pour violon seul

Srul Irving Glick était fils d’immigrants russes qui se sont établis à Toronto en 1924. La musique liturgique juive a beaucoup marqué l’écriture musicale de Glick dont le père a été chantre dans diverses synagogues de la région torontoise. Après avoir étudié à l’Université de Toronto, il passe deux étés à Aspen, au Colorado, où il suit l’enseignement de Darius Milhaud. Il deviendra l’un des compositeurs canadiens les plus prolifiques, nous laissant notamment des œuvres symphoniques, de la musique chorale et de la musique de chambre. Sérénade et Danse pour violon seul a été écrit en 1995 à l’intention du violoniste Jacques Israelievitch, qui l’a offert à sa femme en en guise de cadeau d’anniversaire de mariage. C’est une œuvre méditative et poétique d’une grande beauté.  » J’ai eu la chance de parler à M. Glick quelques jours à peine avant son décès. Il m’a exprimé la joie qu’il ressentait de savoir que sa musique lui survivrait et m’a dit qu’il serait présent, tel un papillon volant au-dessus de ma tête, chaque fois que j’interpréterais sa musique.  » – Angèle Dubeau

Dave Brubeck (né en 1920) : Bourree

Le grand pianiste et compositeur de jazz Dave Brubeck a été un enfant très doué. Né en Californie, il a quatre ans lorsque sa mère lui donne ses premières leçons de piano. À 13 ans, il débute sa carrière de pianiste. Brubeck étudie aussi la composition avec Darius Milhaud qui lui suggère d’utiliser des éléments de jazz dans ses œuvres. Il fonde un quatuor de jazz qui devient très populaire en 1959 lors de la parution de l’album Time Out, grâce en particulier au légendaire Take Five de son saxophoniste Paul Desmond. Brubeck écrit aussi des œuvres pour orchestre symphonique et de la musique de chambre. En 1969, il compose un vaste oratorio pour solistes, chœur et orchestre intitulé The Gates of Justice. Écrite en 1999 et enregistrée ici pour la première fois, Bourree pour violon seul, marie avec bonheur des éléments du jazz et une écriture classique, fine et moderne.

Suite à l’écoute de l’enregistrement de sa Bourree interprétée par Angèle Dubeau, Brubeck lui a spontanément écrit ces quelques mots :

 » L’un des moments forts de la longue histoire du Festival international de jazz de Montréal reste sans conteste l’improbable couplage du Dave Brubeck Quartet et de La Pietà, sous la direction d’Angèle Dubeau. C’est à cette occasion qu’Angèle m’avait surpris et ravi par son interprétation solo remarquable de ma récemment complétée Bourrée pour violon seul.

Bourree a été créée au Hoxton Festival à Londres en 2000 par Simon Blendis, un jeune violoniste britannique qui avait commandé l’œuvre pour souligner le 250e anniversaire du décès de Bach. Il avait alors demandé à cinq compositeurs contemporains de chacun choisir un mouvement de la Partita en mi majeur pour violon seul de Bach qui les inspirerait. En tant que musicien de jazz ayant grandi en interprétant des danses, il semblait logique que je choisisse un mouvement de danse, la bourrée. C’est pourquoi j’ai également intégré à l’œuvre des rappels du I got rhythm de Gershwin. Vous pouvez les entendre dans les passages en double-croches du début de la pièce, qui seront repris sous diverses juxtapositions tout au long de l’œuvre.

Une semaine après sa création à Londres, Angèle donnait la première nord-américaine de l’œuvre à Montréal, dans une interprétation qui suscita l’enthousiasme, particulièrement de la part du compositeur. Sur cet enregistrement, elle interprète une fois de plus la Bourrée avec grande force et fougue brûlante. Brava!  » – Dave Brubeck

Bartolomeo Campagnoli (1751-1827) : Divertimento no 7 pour violon seul (op. 18 no 7)

Né près de Bologne cinq ans avant Mozart et mort la même année que Beethoven, Campagnoli a été un violoniste de la grande école italienne établie par Corelli et ses successeurs : Vivaldi, Locatelli, Pugnani, Veracini, Tartini, Geminiani, Nardini et Viotti. Il a d’ailleurs été l’élève de Nardini et aurait rencontré Viotti. Campagnoli a effectué de nombreuses tournées à travers l’Europe avant de devenir, en 1797, violon-solo de l’orchestre du Gewandhaus de Leipzig. À cette époque, le Gewandhaus était déjà l’un des orchestres les plus prestigieux d’Europe, et cette nomination en dit long sur ses capacités. Il restera à Leipzig jusqu’en 1816.

Une des grandes qualités humaines de Campagnoli demeure certainement son dévouement auprès des jeunes musiciens. Alors qu’il aurait pu mener une vie glorieuse de grand soliste, il a préféré se consacrer à l’enseignement, écrivant un grand nombre d’œuvres pédagogiques (études, méthodes et exercices). Le titre d’une de ses méthodes est à lui seul tout un programme : Nouvelle méthode de la mécanique progressive du jeu de violon distribuée en 132 leçons progressives pour deux violons, et 118 études pour un violon seul, op. 21 (Leipzig, 1824)!

Sa générosité s’appliquait aussi à son entourage immédiat, à commencer par ses deux filles, Albertina et Giannina, qui étaient d’excellentes chanteuses d’opéra. En effet, c’est pour mieux s’occuper de leurs carrières qu’il démissionna de son poste à Leipzig en 1816. Trois ans plus tard, il avait accompli sa mission : ses filles faisaient désormais partie de la troupe de l’Opéra de Hanovre. À nouveau, on lui offrit un poste de violon-solo, à Berlin cette fois, alors qu’il avait presque atteint l’âge vénérable de 70 ans.

Le jeu violonistique de Campagnoli a été décrit par un critique de l’époque nommé Schmidt comme une  » heureuse union du savoir faire allemand et de l’âme italienne « . Son langage musical est plein d’une verve joyeuse qui rappelle les tournures mélodiques de Rossini et de Paganini. Outre ses cahiers d’exercices, Campagnoli a composé trois concertos pour flûte, un concerto pour violon, 41 Caprices pour alto, ainsi que de nombreuses pièces pour son instrument parmi lesquelles six Fugues, 30 Préludes ainsi que les sept Divertissements (ou sonates) qui forment l’opus 18.

© Claudio Ricignuolo

Lire la suite

À propos

Angèle Dubeau
AN 2 9725-7
AN 2 9725-7

Start typing and press Enter to search