fbpx
AN 2 9900

Prokofiev & Stravinsky: On Stage

Album information

This disc features the Saulnier-Dyachkov duo in a program of captivating songs and dances from the ballets and operas of Prokofiev and Stravinsky, whose timeless character—or as Nietzsche might have put it, “untimely” character—allowed them to survive a period of great aesthetic and socio-political upheaval and immense ideological conflict.

Igor Stravinsky (1882–1971) and Sergei Prokofiev (1891–1953) were incontestably the two dominant Russian composers of the early 20th century. Stravinsky was ten years older than Prokofiev, but both made their breakthroughs at the same time, in 1910.

Still an unknown in his late twenties, Stravinsky became an instant star with The Firebird, a score written for a choreography based on an original idea by Sergeï Diaghilev, director of the brand new Ballets Russes. Diaghilev wanted to transform this figure from his native country’s folklore into a symbol of the unflinchingly modern renewal he intended to breathe into dance. Debussy, Ravel, de Falla, Satie and several other composers were in the audience the night of the work’s premiere in Paris. After the curtain fell, they all rushed up to Stravinsky to offer their congratulations. With Petrushka in 1911, and especially The Rite of Spring in 1913—which created a scandal with its precedence of rhythm over melody—Stravinsky quickly became one of the leading lights of avant-garde music.

Prokofiev: Ballade for Cello and Piano, Op.15

While Stravinsky’s star ascended in Paris, in Russia, Prokofiev, a former child prodigy of the piano and now barely into his twenties, began to amaze audiences as a composer as well. Suggestion diabolique (1910) and his first two piano concertos (1912 and 1913) feature exaggerated rhythmic figures and harmonies, demonstrating an uncompromising anti-romanticism. In this context, the Ballade for Cello and Piano, Op.15, composed in 1912, seems somewhat paradoxical. The theme that opens and closes the work—giving it a classic ABA’ ternary form—is as plaintive and romantic as one could wish; yet this merely emphasizes the striking modernism of the middle section, which blends Scriabin-like expressionism with Debussy-like impressionism in a highly original fashion.

The year 1910 was just five years after the Potemkin uprising of 1905, upon which Sergei Eisenstein based his silent film The Battleship Potemkin in 1925. The movie transformed that event into a symbol of the Russian Revolution, which finally broke out in 1917. But as early as 1907, not long after the mutiny was brutally put down by the Tsar’s soldiers, the poet Alexander Blok, a leader of the Russian artistic and intellectual community at the time, wrote, “In our hearts, a seismograph needle has twitched. A sense of impending catastrophe weighs on our minds.”

In European artistic circles, radical aesthetic changes would anticipate these impending catastrophes of World War I and the Russian Revolution that occurred in its wake. The first works of Stravinsky and Prokofiev were perfectly in keeping with this seething context.

In the post-war period, however, both composers felt the need, each in his own way, to seek out calmer wellsprings of their art: the songs and dances of their native Russia but also the music of the 18th century, which saw the High Baroque give way to the Classical period. And both composers, now recognized the world over as the greatest Russian composers of their time, took the road of exile. Although no longer a child prodigy, Prokofiev continued to tour as a piano soloist and promote his own compositions, traveling first to Japan and then to the United States. Stravinsky spent several months in Switzerland before settling in France, where his genius was first recognized.

Prokofiev: Love for Three Oranges, “March”

It was in 1919, while in the U.S., that Prokofiev finished his best-known opera, The Love for Three Oranges, based on a comedy by the 18th-century Italian dramatist Carlo Gozzi. The work abandons realism and psychology in favour of a character stylization more typical of commedia dell’arte, a genre for which Gozzi represented the swan song. Prokofiev wished to break with bourgeois theatre by creating a spectacle that had more in common with the emerging genre of cinema—something energetic and fast-paced like a Charlie Chaplin film, in which ordinary people triumphed through laughter. As a result, it is not the arias of this wild and animated score that hold our attention, but the “dances,” “processions” and, of course, the well-known “March,” for which the opera is famous and which the great virtuoso Mstislav Rostropovich brilliantly transcribed for cello and piano.

Prokofiev: Chout (The Tale of the Buffoon)

In the 1920s, Prokofiev joined Stravinsky in Paris, where he composed three ballets for Diaghilev, including Chout (The Tale of the Buffoon). The ballet, as clownish as the opera that preceded it, was inspired by a popular Russian folk tale of Alexander Afanassiev, who played a huge role in popularizing Russian folklore. Stravinsky drew from these treasures more than once in writing The Soldier’s Tale, Renard, and Firebird. It was in fact Stravinsky who introduced them to Prokofiev, who was particularly enamoured by the wackiness of the tale “Chout” (see below). Roman Sapojnikov, another cello virtuoso, drew from Prokofiev’s ballet an entire suite for the instrument.

___________________________________

Chout (The Tale of the Buffoon)
Prokofiev ballet based on an old Russian folktale

One day, a Buffoon says to his wife (track 7), “Seven fools will soon pay us a visit. When they arrive, I will order you to set the table, and you will refuse in such a way that in a feigned outburst of anger, I will appear to kill you. While you are lying on the floor, pretending to be dead, I will take out my whip and continue to beat you. After two lashes, you will pretend to gradually come back to life. After the third, you will rise up and go to set the table. In this way, we will fetch a good price for the whip.” No sooner is said than done (track 9), and so the whip is sold for 300 rubles.

Upon their return home, the seven fools kill their wives and try unsuccessfully to revive them using the whip.

In a rage, they return to the Buffoon’s house, but he hides his wife, dresses in women’s clothing, and sits at the spinning wheel, pretending to be his own sister. The fools search the house high and low and, finding nothing, carry off the “sister” as a hostage. “She shall be our cook,” they say, “until the Buffoon is found.”

Now the seven fools have seven daughters of marrying age. Two matchmakers come to call with a rich merchant in tow. The seven daughters dance for him (track 11), but in the end he chooses the “cook”!

In the bridal chamber on the evening of the wedding, the new “bride” finds “herself” in a delicate situation, to say the least. She says to her husband, “Oh Dear! I do not feel well at all,” and implores him to lower her down from the window on the end of a bed sheet to take some fresh air. “You can pull me back up when I give the signal.” Full of concern, the husband agrees and in his wife’s absence dreams about what awaits him (track 8). But when he hauls the sheet back up, he finds not his wife, but a goat. “Help! Someone has turned my wife into a goat,” he cries desperately to his servants. They grab hold of the goat and begin to shake it to break the spell—so violently, in fact, that the poor beast dies.

Disconsolate, the merchant prepares to bury his “wife” (track 10). Suddenly, the seven fools arrive and exclaim: “it’s your own fault for choosing our cook!” Then along comes the Buffoon accompanied by seven soldiers. “What have you done? Where is my sister?” he cries to the merchant. The dead goat is brought to him, and in a feigned rage, he seizes the merchant by the beard and exclaims, “You take away my sister and bring me a dead goat? I should have you locked up for this!” To avoid prison, the merchant pays the Buffoon 300 rubles. And so all is well that ends well: the Buffoon and his wife double their profit on the whip, and the seven fools find seven sturdy soldiers to marry their daughters.

___________________________________

But, drawn by the hope of a better future for humanity promised by the new Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR), Prokofiev finally returned to Russia in 1932 to exercise his art in the service of the people. Despite the headaches of a distrustful bureaucracy, and because his music fell in line with the diktats of the state-defined aesthetic (“Soviet realism”), he was able to maintain the originality of his writing. From these latter decades come his two most famous ballets, Romeo and Juliet (1935) and Cinderella (1944).

Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet

The Saulnier-Dyachkov duo plays three scenes from Romeo and Juliet on this disc, the first two of which were transcribed by Jean Saulnier.

The pianist describes his process:

With his exceptional descriptive sense, Prokofiev created in his ballet Romeo and Juliet music of such beauty and immediate charm that one can listen to it with great satisfaction even outside of its dramatic context. In the three orchestral suites and piano suite that he drew from the ballet, he did not feel the need to strictly follow its dramatic structure; and in a similar spirit, conductors have assembled their own suites from Prokofiev’s original orchestral suites and the ballet. The version compiled by Michael Tilson Thomas, wonderfully performed and recorded with the San Francisco Symphony, seemed to me especially convincing. The dramatic flare of his approach made me want to attempt something along similar lines.

For this transcription, I chose “Tybalt’s Death,” which ends the first suite, and “Romeo Bids Juliet Farewell,” which makes up the core of the second suite.

The “Farewell” has been in our repertoire for many years. We were first drawn to the piece as much for its gorgeous melodies—which simply cry out to be performed on cello—as for its rich emotional content. The scene is almost an archetype of the cycle of birth, growth and death. At dawn, upon waking in Juliet’s chamber in an atmosphere of meditation and serenity, the lovers dance a final pas de deux. In the middle section, the love theme grows until it reaches an incandescent culmination, with all the while a sense of fate in the background. And at the end, at dusk, Juliet is alone, facing emptiness and eternity. Her theme is heard on the piano, transfigured almost to the point of dematerialization. At the end, the notion of time gradually dissolves.

The scene creates an even greater effect if approached from a dramatic climax, as is the case in the ballet. The unrelenting anguish and action of “Death of Tyblalt” contrasts the serenity and contemplation of the “Farewell.” The intensity of sound—the screams and fury—resolve into silence, into singing and acceptance.

In “Tybalt’s Death,” the dramatic pace is so quick that it becomes oppressive. The duels that Mercutio and Romeo fight with Tybalt happen one after the other and lead abruptly into a devastating funeral march. The listener hears what is almost a duel between cello and piano. The somewhat idealistic intention of recreating the heights of an orchestral sonority with only two instruments merely adds to the tension at the conclusion of this scene.

As in the ballet, the “Farewell” is followed by the “Dance of the Antilles Girls” or as it is sometimes called, “Dance of the Girls with Lilies.” This character piece, so light and suggestive, accompanies the young girls dancing beside Juliet, who appears dead.

Prokofiev: Cinderella

From Cinderella, Prokofiev himself arranged for cello and piano the “Adagio,” a pas de deux that serves as the ballet’s romantic climax, when Cinderella and the Prince meet at last. Mstislav Rostropovich later added to the “Waltz-Coda,” to which the two lovers dance elatedly, an elation that is brusquely interrupted, as we know, by the clock striking twelve…

Stravinsky: Suite italienne for cello and piano, from Pulcinella

For his part, Stravinsky ended his days in the United States, where he took refuge in 1939 when World War II broke out in Europe. But as early as 1920, he began an unashamed exploration of diverse and sometimes completely opposing aesthetic avenues, from the baroque pastiche of Pulcinella (1920), to various neoclassical forms in his concertos and symphonies of the 1930s and 40s, to atonal and serial music in his religious works of the 1950s.

Pulcinella, composed in pure commedia dell’arte tradition, is a classic story of amorous intrigue replete with unexpected turns, ruses and humour. Commissioned by Diaghilev, the score is based on concerti grossi by Giovanni Battista Pergolesi. In 1932, Stravinsky teamed up with his friend Gregor Piatgorski to create from Pulcinella the delightful Suite italienne for cello and piano.

Stravinsky: Mavra

Mavra is an opéra bouffe Stravinsky composed in 1922; like Pulcinella, it is also written in the pastiche style. In 1938, he transcribed for cello and piano the opera’s anthem, a “Russian Song” sung by Parasha, the young heroine at the centre of the story as she dreams of love.

© Guy Marchand
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 2 8788 Beethoven Strauss
AN 2 8788 Beethoven Strauss
AN 2 8788 Beethoven Strauss
AN 2 8788 Beethoven Strauss

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9900

Prokofiev & Stravinsky: Scènes de Russie

Date de sortie 18 avril 2006
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9900
Periodes Romantique
Genres Musique de chambre

Informations sur l'album

Le duo Saulnier-Dyachkov propose ici un programme essentiellement constitué de séduisants chants et danses tirés de ballets et opéras de Prokofiev et Stravinski qui, par leur caractère intemporel,  » inactuel  » aurait dit un certain Nietzsche, ont su traverser une époque de grande turbulence tant sur le plan esthétique que sociopolitique, une époque où les guerres idéologiques faisaient rage, une époque sous influence.

Igor Stravinski (1882-1971) et Sergeï Prokofiev (1891-1953) demeurent sans conteste les deux figures dominantes de la musique russe du début du 20e siècle. Si le premier est de quelque dix ans l’aîné du second, tous deux firent cependant leurs percées respectives au même moment, en 1910.

Encore inconnu alors qu’il approche la trentaine, Stravinski devait connaître cette année-là une gloire instantanée avec L’Oiseau de feu, partition écrite pour une chorégraphie à partir d’une idée originale du directeur des tout nouveaux Ballets Russes, Sergeï Diaghilev, qui voulait faire de cette figure légendaire du folklore de son pays l’emblème du renouveau résolument moderne qu’il entendait insuffler à la danse. Le soir de la première à Paris, Debussy, Ravel, de Falla, Satie et plusieurs autres sont dans la salle. À la tombée de rideau, on se rue sur le Russe pour le féliciter chaudement. Avec Petrouchka en 1911, et surtout Le Sacre du Printemps qui, en donnant au rythme préséance sur la mélodie, fit scandale en 1913, Stravinski devait rapidement s’imposer comme l’un des phares de la musique d’avant-garde.

Au même moment, en Russie, alors qu’il franchit tout juste la vingtaine, l’enfant prodige qu’avait été Prokofiev comme pianiste, stupéfie lui aussi comme compositeur. Dans Suggestion diabolique (1910) et ses deux premiers concertos pour piano (1912 et 1913), œuvres aux rythmes et harmonies exacerbés, il affiche un anti-romantisme sans compromis. Composée en 1912, la Ballade pour violoncelle et piano op.15 semble, de ce point de vue, quelque peu paradoxale. Le thème qui ouvre et conclut l’œuvre, lui donnant ainsi une forme en arche ABA’ des plus classique, est élégiaque et romantique à souhait. Mais ce n’est que pour mieux faire ressortir la modernité de la section centrale, fusionnant de manière originale l’expressionnisme d’un Scriabine et l’impressionnisme d’un Debussy.

1910, c’est cinq ans après la tragique mutinerie du Cuirassée Potemkine (1905) dont Eisenstein, en la portant à l’écran en 1925, allait faire l’emblème de la Révolution russe qui finit par éclater en 1917. Mais dès 1907, au lendemain de cette mutinerie brutalement réprimée par les soldats du Tsar, le poète Alexander Blok, leader de la communauté artistique et intellectuelle russe de l’époque, écrivait :  » Dans nos cœurs, l’aiguille du sismographe a bougé. Une implacable impression de catastrophe pèse sur les esprits.  »

Dans les milieux artistiques européens, des changements esthétiques radicaux anticipèrent les catastrophes appréhendées : la Première Guerre mondiale et, dans sa foulée, la Révolution russe. Et les premières œuvres de Stravinski et Prokofiev s’inscrivent d’emblée dans ce bouillonnement intempestif.

Au lendemain de ces catastrophes cependant, les deux compositeurs sentirent, chacun à leur manière, le besoin de revenir à des sources plus sereines de leur art, aux chants et danses de la Russie ancestrale, mais aussi au 18e siècle qui vit se succéder le haut baroque et le classicisme. Et tous deux, maintenant reconnus à travers le monde comme les plus importants compositeurs russes de leur temps, prirent aussi le chemin de l’exil. La vie de tournée entraîne d’abord au Japon et aux États-Unis le virtuose du piano qu’était demeuré le Prokofiev adulte, défenseur de ses propres œuvres, alors que Stravinski, après quelques mois en Suisse, s’installe en France qui avait été la première à reconnaître son génie.

Prokofiev: L’Amour des trois oranges, « Marche »

C’est aux États-Unis qu’en 1919, Prokofiev termine son plus célèbre opéra, L’Amour des trois oranges, d’après la comédie de Gozzi, dramaturge italien du 18e siècle. Tout réalisme et psychologie y est banni au profit d’une stylisation des personnages renouant avec la commedia dell’arte, dont Gozzi représente le chant du cygne. Prokofiev voulait ainsi rompre avec le  » théâtre bourgeois « , en proposant un spectacle plus proche du cinéma naissant, tout en énergie, rythme et vitesse, comme dans les films de Chaplin, où le petit peuple triomphait par le rire. Ainsi, dans cette partition tout feu tout flamme, ce ne sont pas les airs qui retiennent l’attention, mais les  » danses « ,  » cortèges  » et, bien sûr, la fameuse  » Marche  » qui a rendu l’opéra célèbre et dont le grand virtuose Rostropovitch a fait une brillante transcription pour violoncelle et piano.

Prokofiev: Chout ou Le conte du Bouffon

Dans les années 1920, Prokofiev rejoint Stravinski à Paris et compose à son tour trois ballets pour Diaghilev dont Chout ou Le conte du Bouffon. Ce ballet, tout aussi clownesque que l’opéra précédent, est inspiré d’un des contes populaires russes d’Afanassiev, qui a joué un rôle immense dans la folklorique russe. Stravinski puisa plus d’une fois dans ces trésors pour l’Histoire du soldat, Renard et L’Oiseau de feu et c’est lui qui les fit connaître à Prokofiev. Ce dernier fut emballé par le loufoque très particulier de Chout, dont on peut lire ci-dessous un résumé. Roman Sapojnikov, un autre virtuose du violoncelle, a tiré du ballet une suite complète pour son instrument.

___________________________________

Chout ou Le conte du Bouffon
Ballet de Prokofiev d’après un vieux conte russe

Un jour, un Bouffon dit à sa femme (plage 7) :  » Sept bouffons vont bientôt venir nous voir. Lorsqu’ils seront là je vais t’ordonner de mettre la table et tu refuseras de sorte que dans un feint accès de colère je fasse semblant de te tuer. Lorsque tu seras étendue sur le sol simulant la mort, je prendrai mon fouet et continuerai à te battre. Aux deux premier coups, tu feras semblant de revenir peu à peu à la vie. Au troisième, tu te lèveras et iras mettre la table. Nous devrions ainsi être en mesure d’obtenir un bon prix pour la vente du fouet « . Ainsi fut dit, ainsi fut fait…(plage 9) Et le fouet fut vendu pour 300 roubles. De retour chez eux, les sept bouffons tuent leurs femmes et essaient sans succès de les ressusciter à l’aide du fouet. En colère, ils retournent chez leur confrère, mais le bouffon cache sa femme, se travestit et se fait passer pour sa propre sœur en s’installant au rouet. Les autres fouillent la maison de fond en comble et, en désespoir de cause, prennent la  » sœur  » en otage.  » Qu’elle soit notre cuisinière, se disent-ils, en attendant que le Bouffon ne soit retrouvé. « 

Mais les sept bouffons avaient sept filles en âge de se marier. Deux entremetteuses amènent un riche marchand qui  » inspecte la marchandise  » alors que les sept filles dansent pour lui (plage 11). Mais il choisit finalement… la  » cuisinière « ! Le soir des noces, dans la chambre nuptiale la nouvelle mariée se trouve en situation plutôt délicate. Elle implore son mari :  » Oh! Chéri, je ne me sens vraiment pas très bien. Voudrais-tu me faire descendre par la fenêtre au bout d’un drap, que je puisse prendre l’air frais? Tu me remonteras lorsque je te ferai signe.  » Plein de sollicitude, le mari s’exécute et en son absence, rêve agréablement à ce qui l’attend (plage 8). Mais lorsqu’il la remonte, il trouve au bout du drap… une chèvre!  » Au secours! Ma femme a été changée en chèvre  » bêle-t-il désespéré en appelant ses serviteurs à l’aide. Ils se saisissent d’elle et pour briser le sortilège, la secouent tant, que la pauvre bête en meurt.

Inconsolable, le marchand s’apprête à faire inhumer sa  » femme  » (plage 10). Les sept bouffons surgissent et lui crient :  » C’est ta faute! Tu n’avais qu’à ne pas choisir la cuisinière!  » Mais survient alors le Bouffon accompagné de sept soldats :  » Qu’as-tu fait, téméraire! Où est ma sœur? « , crie-t-il à son tour au marchand. On lui apporte alors la chèvre morte. Dans une fausse colère, il attrape le marchand par la barbe :  » Tu enlèves ma sœur et me rends une chèvre morte? Je devrais te faire enfermer pour cela!  » Pour éviter la prison, le marchand lui paie 300 roubles. Ainsi, tout est bien qui finit bien et plus que doublement bien : car, si le Bouffon et sa femme virent leur profit doubler, les sept bouffons trouvèrent pour leurs filles à marier… sept beaux soldats!

Mais, séduit par les promesses d’un avenir meilleur pour l’Homme que faisait miroiter la nouvelle Union des républiques socialistes soviétiques (URSS), Prokofiev devait finalement rentrer au pays en 1932, pour mettre son art au service du peuple. Malgré les tracas d’une bureaucratie suspicieuse, il parvint à y conserver l’originalité de sa voix, car elle rejoignait les diktats de l’esthétique d’état, ce que l’on appelait le  » réalisme soviétique « . De ces dernières décennies datent ses deux plus célèbres ballets Roméo et Juliette (1935) et Cendrillon (1944).
___________________________________

Prokofiev: Roméo et Juliette

De Roméo et Juliette, le duo Saulnier-Dyachkov présente ici trois tableaux dont les deux premiers dans une transcription du pianiste.

Jean Saulnier nous explique sa démarche:

Prokofiev, avec son sens exceptionnel de la caractérisation, a créé dans son ballet Roméo et Juliette une musique tellement belle et au charme si immédiat qu’on peut l’écouter avec satisfaction, indépendamment de toute référence à l’intrigue. Il en a tiré trois suites pour orchestre et une suite pour piano, dans lesquelles il ne se sent pas l’obligation d’observer de façon stricte la structure dramatique du ballet. Dans le même esprit, des chefs d’orchestre ont imaginé différents agencements à partir des suites et du ballet. L’agencement proposé par Michael Tilson Thomas notamment, dans sa merveilleuse interprétation avec le San Francisco Symphony, m’a paru très convaincant. Son approche se distingue par son souffle dramatique et m’a donné envie de tenter quelque chose dans la même perspective.

Pour la présente transcription, j’ai retenu Mort de Tybalt, qui conclut la première suite, et Les adieux de Roméo et Juliette, qui constitue le cœur de la seconde suite.

Les Adieux sont à notre répertoire depuis plusieurs années. Nous avons voulu jouer ce tableau au départ, autant pour ses extraordinaires mélodies qui n’attendaient que le violoncelle, que pour la richesse de son contenu psychologique. Ce tableau représente presque un archétype du cycle de la naissance, de la croissance et de la mort. À l’aurore, dans la chambre de Juliette, les amoureux font leur dernier pas de deux au réveil dans une atmosphère de recueillement et de sérénité. Puis, dans la partie centrale, le chant d’amour est déployé jusqu’au point d’incandescence avec, en arrière-plan, un sentiment de fatalité. Finalement, le crépuscule, Juliette seule, l’absence, l’éternité. Le motif de Juliette est entendu transfiguré, pratiquement dématérialisé, au piano. Le temps s’écoule ensuite jusqu’à l’extinction.

Ce tableau a une résonance encore plus grande lorsqu’on y parvient après un sommet dramatique, comme c’est le cas dans le ballet. L’angoisse et l’action sans répit de La Mort de Tybalt mènent à la sérénité et à la contemplation des Adieux. L’intensité sonore, les cris et la révolte se résolvent dans le silence, le chant, l’acceptation.

Dans La Mort de Tybalt, le rythme de l’action dramatique est tellement rapide qu’il en devient oppressant. Les duels Mercutio/Tybalt et Roméo/Tybalt, s’enchaînent sans interruption, et nous sommes ensuite précipités sans ménagement dans une marche funèbre dévastatrice. On assiste pratiquement à un duel entre le violoncelle et le piano. L’intention, presque utopique, de rendre le paroxysme de sonorité de l’orchestre avec deux instruments seulement ne fait qu’ajouter à la tension dans la conclusion de ce tableau.

Comme dans le ballet, les Adieux sont suivis de la Danse des Antillaises, parfois appelée en français  » Danse des jeunes filles au lys « . Cette pièce de caractère suggestive et toute en légèreté accompagne la danse des jeunes filles devant Juliette, qui semble morte.

Prokofiev: Cendrillon

De Cendrillon, Prokofiev tira lui-même l’arrangement pour violoncelle et piano du sommet romantique de l’œuvre, l' » Adagio « , un  » pas de deux  » sur lequel, au bal, Cendrillon et le Prince font enfin plus ample connaissance. Rostropovitch devait y ajouter le numéro suivant, la  » Valse-Coda  » sur laquelle les deux amants dansent jusqu’à l’ivresse, ivresse qui sera brusquement interrompue par les douze coups de minuit que l’on sait…

Stravinsky: Suite italienne pour violoncelle et piano, tiré de Pulcinella

De son côté, Stravinski devait finir ses jours aux États-Unis où l’avait refoulé en 1939 l’éclatement en Europe de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Mais dès 1920, il avait commencé à explorer sans complexe des avenues esthétiques les plus diverses, voire totalement opposées, du pastiche baroque de Pulcinella (1920) à l’expérimentation de la musique atonale et sérielle dans les œuvres religieuses des années 1950, en passant par différentes formes de néoclassicisme dans les concertos et symphonies des années 1930-40.

Le ballet Pulcinella, conçu dans la plus pure tradition des jeux masqués de la commedia dell’arte, est contemporain de Chout. Par l’influence de la commedia dell’arte, de Gozzi et des contes d’Afanassiev, l’Amour des trois oranges, Pulcinella et Chout, s’inscrivent dans une suite logique. Pulcinella consiste en un classique chassé-croisé amoureux plein de rebondissements, de ruse et d’humour. Le ballet fut composé à la demande de Diaghilev à partir de concerti grossi de Pergolèse. Stravinski en tirera en 1932, en collaboration avec son ami Gregor Piatigorski, la délicieuse Suite italienne pour violoncelle et piano.

Stravinsky: Mavra

Quant à Mavra, il s’agit d’un opéra bouffe qui, en 1922, s’inscrivait aussi dans cette veine du pastiche. En 1938, le compositeur fit une transcription pour violoncelle et piano de l’air emblématique de l’œuvre, une  » Chanson russe  » que chante en rêvant à l’amour Paracha, la jeune fille qui se trouve au cœur de l’intrigue.

© Guy Marchand, 2006

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9520 Clarke Ravel The End of Flowers
AN 2 9520 Clarke Ravel The End of Flowers
AN 2 9520 Clarke Ravel The End of Flowers
AN 2 9520 Clarke Ravel The End of Flowers

Start typing and press Enter to search