fbpx
AN 2 9971

Ravel, Martinu, Schulhoff, Honegger: Interwar Duets

Album information

Between two worlds;
Duets for violin and cello from the Interwar period (1920–1932)

In the immense landscape that is chamber music, the duet for violin and cello is assuredly not the most well-travelled road. Even so, in the aftermath of World War I, while Europe was succumbing to jazz fever and gypsy music, while classical music teeter-tottered between two worlds, tradition and modernity, a few rare composers rose brilliantly to the challenges posed by such a sparse ensemble. The four works on this album—delicate jewels of finely wrought chiaroscuro whose glinting reflections vary from the warm glow of an ember to the dazzling flash of a spark—are among the most outstanding achievements of this little golden age.

Maurice Ravel (1875–1937): Sonata for violin and cello (1920–22)

In December 1920, two years after the death of Debussy, the Revue musicale published a special commemorative edition that included a collection of short, previously unpublished works dedicated to him. Stravinsky, Bartók, De Falla, Roussel, and Dukas, were among those who answered the call. Ravel’s offering was a movement for violin and cello, echoing the project of six sonatas à la française that their friend had started in his last years but had not been able to finish.

Hounded by the idea of adding three more movements to make a complete sonata, Ravel worked on it for over a year, reworking and refining the piece, which hung by two threads. The evening of its premiere, on April 26, 1922, the audience was bowled over by both the density of the exchange and the surprisingly wide palette of colours Ravel was able to create with only two instruments. “Ravel will have to write an orchestra reduction of his Duo,” musicologist Alexis Roland-Manuel quipped admiringly. “You make the cello play the flute and the violin play the drum,” exclaimed violinist Hélène Jourdan-Morhange, who performed at the premiere.

Indeed, right from the start, and on several occasions throughout the work’s four movements, the melody, overlaid with flute-like harmonics, glides along in the cello’s upper register, above even the violin. At other moments, however, both instruments feature complex interplays of pizzicati, double- and triple-stops that create surprising and occasionally spellbinding percussive effects. At the start of the second movement, for example, a mechanical tick-tocking fades into a mysterious rustling, as if overcome by some invisible life force emerging from the silence of a moonless night.

In 1928, in an autobiographical essay entitled Esquisse autobiographique, Ravel had this to say about the sonata: “A turning point in my career. Sparseness pushed to the extreme. A renunciation of the charms of harmony, an increasingly marked reaction in the direction of melody.” To say the least, Ravel certainly set the bar high for those who came later.

Erwin Schulhoff (1894–1942): Duet for violin and cello (1925)

Born in Prague in 1894, Erwin Schulhoff was one of those unfortunate avant-garde Jewish artists who, after having their work dismissed as “degenerate” by the Nazis in the 1930s, met a premature and tragic end in the concentration camps during World War II.

After World War I, when he had served bravely in the Austrian army, Schulhoff moved to Germany where, under the influence of Berlin Dadaists, he came to favour an eclectic modernism, unselfconsciously incorporating Debussy-like poetry, Schoenberg-like atonality, feral jazz rhythms, and the Gypsy rhapsodies of his native Bohemia into relatively classical forms. Composed in 1925, the Duo for violin and cello is a fascinating example of his style.

Written in a modal language pushed to the edge of atonality, the four-movement classical-style sonata begins and ends with a rondo. This gives the entire work an arch form, the last movement starting with a variant of the refrain that opened the first. This enchanting dolce moderato, which Schulhoff livens up on more than one occasion, alternates with couplets that feature increasingly dramatic syncopated rhythms, ranging in the first movement from sempre allegretto to allegro agitato, and in the last from allegro deciso to presto fanatico.

Between the outer movements are a lively scherzo, whose title Zingaresca refers explicitly to its Gypsy origin, and a gentle Andantino, in which the muted violin and cello pass the phrases of a plaintive melody back and forth, along with the delicate pizzicati over which it unspools like Ariadne’s thread.

Bohuslav Martin? (1890–1959): Duet for violin and cello No. 1, H. 157 (1927)

Bohemian composer Bohuslav Martin? composed the first of his two duets for violin and cello in Paris, where he had been living for the past three years. The work was written for two compatriots and childhood friends, violinist Stanislav Novàk and cellist Mauritz Frank, founders of the Novàk-Frank Quartet. They had premiered Martin?’s first string quartet in Prague a year earlier and had been asked to introduce it to Parisian audiences. To round out the Paris program, Martin? wrote the two-movement duet in just a few days, and it was premiered on March 17, 1927.

While the meditative prelude that opens the diptych clearly pays homage to the dreamy, diaphanous nature of French impressionism, the rondo that follows, a lively perpetuum mobile, whirls like a dual flight of the bumblebee around a central section made up of two dazzling cadenzas, showing off the virtuosity of the two performers with long, rhapsodic passages of a Gypsy flavour.

Arthur Honegger (1892–1955): Sonatina for violin and cello, H. 80 (1932)

Arthur Honegger composed this sonatina in September 1932, in the month following the birth of a daughter that would prove to be his only child. The work marked his return to chamber music after having dedicated the previous 10 years primarily to large-scale works for soloists, choirs and orchestra. The most recent of these works, the tragic oratorio Cris du monde, had left him in a deep depression and unable to write for the previous 18 months.

On the other hand, this sonatina seems a kind of moment of grace, infused with serenity—as if with the birth of his daughter, Honegger had rediscovered his taste for life and creative drive. In the meditative passages, the new father seems to invite the listener to lean with him over his child’s crib and watch her sleep. In the livelier passages, whether in the small, hesitant steps of staccato or in the broad strides of triple-stopped chords, it is as if he is looking into the future with great clarity, watching her make her way joyfully through life and laughing in the face of obstacles.

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9971

Ravel, Martinu, Schulhoff, Honegger: Duos de l'entre-deux-guerres

Informations sur l'album

Aux frontières de deux mondes;
Duos pour violon et violoncelle de l’Entre-deux-Guerres (1920-1932)

Dans ce vaste continent qu’est la musique de chambre, le duo pour violon et violoncelle n’est certes pas le chemin le plus fréquenté. Mais, au lendemain de la Première Guerre mondiale, alors que l’Europe se laissait emporter par la fièvre du jazz et de la musique tzigane, que la grande musique se retrouvait, entre tradition et modernité, aux frontières de deux mondes, quelques compositeurs d’exception relevèrent avec brio le défi que pose une formation si restreinte. Ces orfèvres devaient laisser de fins bijoux, aux chiarascuro délicatement ouvragés, miroitant entre de sombres rougeoiements de braise et les vifs éclats d’éblouissantes étincelles. Le présent enregistrement vous propose quatre des plus belles réussites de ce petit âge d’or.

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937): Sonate pour violon et violoncelle (1920-22)

En décembre 1920, deux ans après la mort de Debussy, la Revue musicale publia en sa mémoire un numéro spécial, une collection de brèves œuvres inédites qui lui étaient dédiées. Stravinski, Bartók, De Falla, Roussel et Dukas avaient entre autres répondu à l’appel. Ravel offrit un mouvement pour violon et violoncelle, faisant écho au projet de six sonates «à la française» que leur ami avait entrepris dans les dernières années de sa vie, mais n’avait pu qu’à moitié compléter.

Hanté par l’idée d’y ajouter trois autres mouvements pour en faire une véritable sonate, Ravel y travailla par la suite pendant plus d’un an, ne cessant de remettre sur le métier ce travail qui ne tenait qu’à deux fils. Le soir de la création, le 26 avril 1922, on fut renversé par la densité du discours et l’étonnante palette sonore que le compositeur sut faire ressortir de ces deux seuls instruments. «Il faudrait que Ravel écrive la réduction de son Duo pour grand orchestre, nota avec une admirative ironie le musicologue Roland-Manuel. Vous faites jouer la flûte au violoncelle et du tambour par le violon» s’exclama l’une des créatrices de l’œuvre, la violoniste Hélène Jourdan-Morhange.

En effet, dès le début, et en plusieurs moments tout au long des quatre mouvements, la mélodie, émaillée de notes flûtées en harmoniques, plane dans le registre supérieur du violoncelle au-dessus du violon qui l’accompagne. Mais, à d’autres moments, des jeux complexes de pizzicati, doubles cordes ou accords brossés, présentent non seulement au violon, mais aux deux instruments, toute une panoplie de surprenants effets percussifs, dont certains sont d’une féerique poésie. Au début du second mouvement, par exemple, un tic-tac d’horloge se dissout en un mystérieux bruissement, comme submergé par la vie invisible s’éveillant du silence d’une nuit sans lune.

En 1928, dans une Esquisse autobiographique, Ravel devait noter au sujet de cette sonate : «Tournant dans l’évolution de ma carrière. Le dépouillement est poussé à l’extrême. Renoncement au charme harmonique, réaction de plus en plus marquée dans le sens de la mélodie.»

Le moins que l’on puisse dire, c’est que Ravel avait mis la barre haute pour ses successeurs…

Erwin Schulhoff (1894-1942) : Duo pour violon et violoncelle (1925)

Né à Prague en 1894, Erwin Schulhoff fait partie de ces malheureux artistes d’avant-garde d’origine juive qui, après avoir vu dans les années 1930 leurs œuvres qualifiées par les Nazis de «dégénérées», connurent pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale une fin prématurée et tragique dans les camps de concentration.

Au lendemain de la Première Guerre, où il avait bravement servi dans l’armée autrichienne, Schulhoff s’était fait en Allemagne, au contact des dadaïstes berlinois, le promoteur d’un modernisme éclectique, fusionnant sans complexe, dans des formes relativement classiques, la poésie d’un Debussy et l’atonalité d’un Schoenberg, les rythmes déjantés du jazz et les rhapsodies tziganes de sa Bohème natale. Composé en 1925, le Duo pour violon et violoncelle en est un fascinant exemple.

En début et fin d’un plan classique en quatre mouvements, dans un langage modal poussé à l’orée de l’atonalité, deux rondos donnent à l’ensemble une forme en arche, lorsque revient au début du dernier mouvement une variante du refrain qui ouvrait le premier. Cet envoûtant dolce moderato, s’animant plus d’une fois, débouche sur des couplets aux rythmes syncopés de plus en plus dramatiques, allant dans le premier mouvement de sempre allegretto à allegro agitato, et dans le dernier, d’allegro deciso à presto fanatico.

Au centre, un vif scherzo, dont le titre Zingaresca souligne de manière explicite l’inspiration tzigane, est suivi d’un doux Andantino, dans lequel violon et violoncelle s’échangent en sourdine les phrases d’une élégiaque mélodie, et les délicats pizzicati sur lesquels elle déroule son fil d’un instrument à l’autre comme une Ariane lunaire.

Bohuslav Martin? (1890-1959) : Duo pour violon et violoncelle no1, H. 157 (1927)

C’est à Paris, où il résidait depuis trois ans, que le Bohémien Bohuslav Martin? composa à l’intention de deux compatriotes, le violoniste Stanislav Novàk et le violoncelliste Mauritz Frank, le premier de ses deux duos pour violon et violoncelle. Piliers du Quatuor Novàk-Frank, ils avaient créé à Prague un an plus tôt le premier quatuor à cordes de leur ami de jeunesse et on les invitait maintenant à le faire découvrir aux mélomanes parisiens. Pour compléter le programme, Martin? leur écrivit en quelques jours ce duo en deux mouvements et c’est dans ce contexte qu’il fut créé le 17 mars 1927.

Si, dans le prélude méditatif qui ouvre le diptyque, l’hommage au diaphane onirisme de l’impressionnisme français est manifeste, dans le Rondo qui suit, un vif perpetuum mobile tournoie comme un double vol de bourdons autour d’une section centrale formée de deux époustouflantes cadenze, mettant en valeur à tour de rôle la virtuosité des deux interprètes en de grands traits rhapsodiques aux parfums tziganes.

Arthur Honegger (1892-1955) : Sonatine pour violon et violoncelle, H. 80 (1932)

En septembre 1932, dans le mois qui suivit la naissance d’une fille qui devait s’avérer son unique enfant, Arthur Honegger composa cette sonatine qui marquait un retour à la musique de chambre après dix années principalement consacrées à de grandes fresques pour solistes, chœurs et orchestre. La plus récente de ces fresques, le tragique Cris du monde, l’avait pendant 18 mois laissé sans voix, dans un état de sévère dépression.

Cette sonatine se révèle paradoxalement et tout du long un moment de grâce d’une constante sérénité, comme si cette naissance avait redonné au compositeur joie de vivre et goût de créer. Dans les passages méditatifs, le nouveau père semble nous inviter à se pencher avec lui sur le berceau de son enfant pour la regarder dormir. Dans les passages plus vifs, à petits pas sur de furtifs staccati ou à grandes enjambées d’accords brossés, on dirait qu’il la voit déjà, sans une note de doute, faire allègrement son chemin dans la vie et se rire de toute difficulté.

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8873
Olivier Thouin
AN 2 8873
AN 2 8873

Start typing and press Enter to search

AN 2 9530 - Kuhlau: Grandes sonates