fbpx
AN 2 2018-9

Bach: Sonatas & Partitas (2CD)

Performers
Release date September 16, 2008
Album code AN 2 2018-9
Periods Baroque
Genres Violin

Album information

The Six Sonatas & Partitas for Solo Violin

Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin are certainly to be placed at the pinnacle of the entire violin repertoire; however, they were not meant to be insurmountable. Bach, ever the keen pedagogue, always composed music that was intended to be played as well as contemplated. It has been suggested these sonatas and partitas must have been unplayable in the age of their composition. After Bach’s death, though, the violin solos did attract the attention of the better violinists of the time, who mainly saw in these works a means to better their technique. Yet it is doubtful they were designed in principle as didactic works; they should rather be regarded as continuing and bringing to its apex the German tradition of writing works for unaccompanied violin, like those of Biber, Westhoff and Pisendel. They are, in fact, the first examples of truly “transcendent” works for solo violin—technically speaking, of course, but especially musically.

No one really knows for what occasion Bach composed such exacting and brilliant works, except that they cropped up during the period when he was employed by Prince Leopold of Anhalt-Cöthen, between December 1717 and April 1723. We can pinpoint the year 1720 as that of the Sei Solo a Violino senza Basso accompagnato, Bach having then made a fair copy of them under this title. This precious manuscript was reportedly saved from ruin in 1814, when it was found in St. Petersburg among papers destined to a butter shop. A number of non-autograph copies had been in circulation in the latter half of the 18th century, but the first complete edition of the solo works wasn’t published until 1802, by Simrock of Bonn.

No one knows, either, for whom these Sonatas and Partitas were composed. Bach himself was a fairly competent violinist, but it is unlikely he could have pulled off the more difficult passages of these works. Perhaps they had been destined to his colleague Pisendel in Weimar, or to the concertmaster of the Cöthen orchestra, Joseph Speiss. But it is important to remember that these works should not be approached merely as a display of dextrous wizardry—brilliant, yes, but not virtuosic in the strictly “mechanical” sense. Some of the pieces are certainly very difficult to play, but no one would enjoy hearing them performed as though they were.

The commentator could choose to walk the listener through each piece, each section, each bar if need be. He can say that the Sonatas here follow the form of the Sonata da chiesa (church sonata) in four movements and that the Partitas are dance suites of varying length modeled after the Sonata da camera (chamber sonata); he can say that preludes introduce, that a chaconne is a series of variations on a repeated harmonic pattern, that fugues are fugal and that dances are dance-like. But having said all that, nothing, in effect, has been said. Words feebly attempt to describe what only the heart and soul can understand. They alone fully comprehend what the music is about, when and how it speaks to the senses, to the mind or to God. Or to all at once. Bach never explained his music, nor did he have to. The music itself speaks, and sings.

So listen closely to what Bach has to say… Marvel once again at Bach’s grasp of the human spirit, as profound as an adagio, as elaborate as a fugue, as lilting as a heartfelt song, as grand as a chaconne, as lithe as a minuet or gigue.

© Jacques-André Houle

Read more

About

James Ehnes
AN 2 9530 Kuhlau Grandes Sonates

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 2018-9

Bach: Sonatas & Partitas (2CD)

Interprètes
Date de sortie 16 septembre 2008
Numéro de l'album AN 2 2018-9
Periodes Baroque
Genres Violon

Informations sur l'album

Les Six Sonates & Partitas pour violon seul

Certainement au panthéon des œuvres pour violon, les Sonates et Partitas pour violon seul de Jean-Sébastien Bach, si elles sont un sommet, ne sont pas pour autant himalayennes. Bach, en excellent pédagogue, l’a toujours compris et voulu ainsi: une musique écrite vaut d’être jouée en plus d’être contemplée. On a parfois considéré ces sonates et partitas comme devant avoir été injouables au temps de leur composition. Après la mort de Bach, cependant, les œuvres pour violon seul ont attiré l’attention de plusieurs des meilleurs violonistes de l’époque, qui voyaient en ces morceaux une manière d’améliorer leur technique. Et pourtant, elles ne se présentent pas a priori comme des pièces didactiques; on devrait plutôt les regarder comme une continuation et une culmination de la tradition allemande des œuvres pour violon sans accompagnement, comme celles de Biber, Westhoff et Pisendel. Elles sont, en réalité, les premiers exemples d’œuvres pour violon seul qui soient véritablement transcendantes, dans tous les sens du terme.

Au sujet des circonstances de composition, on ne sait trop rien sinon que Bach les imagina dans les années où il était au service du prince Leopold d’Anhalt-Cöthen, de décembre 1717 à avril 1723. On peut accoler la date de 1720 aux Sei Solo a Violino senza Basso accompagnato, Bach en ayant alors rédigé de sa main une copie au propre portant ce titre. Ce précieux manuscrit aurait été épargné d’une destruction certaine lorsqu’il fut retrouvé à Saint-Pétersbourg en 1814 dans une pile de papiers destinés à la crémerie. Plusieurs copies non autographes avaient été en circulation dans la deuxième moitié du 18e siècle, mais la première édition complète des œuvres pour violon seul n’a paru qu’en 1802, chez Simrock de Bonn.

Personne ne sait, non plus, pour qui ces Sonates et Partitas ont été écrites. J.S. Bach était lui-même un violoniste assez compétent, mais il est improbable qu’il ait pu jouer les pages les plus difficiles de ces œuvres. On pourrait supposer qu’elles aient été destinées à son collègue Pisendel de Weimar, ou encore au premier violon de l’orchestre de Cöthen, Joseph Speiss. Mais il importe de rappeler que ces œuvres ne doivent pas être abordées simplement comme une parade de dextérité — ce sont des œuvres brillantes, certes, mais pas virtuoses dans le sens purement  » mécanique  » du mot. Plusieurs des pièces sont sans doute très difficiles à jouer, mais qui voudrait les entendre jouer comme si elles l’étaient ?

Le commentateur pourrait ici expliquer chaque pièce, chaque section, voire chaque mesure au besoin. Il peut dire que la Sonate ici suit la forme en quatre mouvements de la Sonata da chiesa (sonate d’église) et que la Partita est une suite de danses en nombre variable, sur le modèle de la Sonata da camera (sonate de chambre); il peut dire qu’un prélude est un lever de rideau, qu’une chaconne est une série de variations sur un motif harmonique répété, qu’une fugue est fuguée et qu’une danse est dansante. Mais, cela étant dit, rien, au fond, n’a été dit. Les mots sont bien faibles pour décrire ce que seuls le cœur et l’âme peuvent concevoir : le sens profond de la musique et la manière dont elle parle aux sens, à l’intellect, à Dieu ou à tous ensemble. Bach n’a jamais expliqué sa musique et il n’en avait nul besoin. Sa musique parle d’elle-même, chante d’elle-même.

Alors, écoutez bien ce que Bach nous dit… Il a le don de saisir l’âme : aussi profonde qu’un adagio, complexe qu’une fugue, harmonieuse qu’un chant, noble qu’une chaconne et leste qu’un menuet ou qu’une gigue.

© Jacques-André Houle

Lire la suite

À propos

James Ehnes
AN 2 8772-3 Bach Six Sonates & Partitas Violon Seul

Start typing and press Enter to search