fbpx
AN 2 9829

J.S. Bach: Sonatas for Violin and Harpsichord, Vol.1

Release date February 15, 2005
Album code AN 2 9829
Periods Baroque

Album information

The Trio Sonata According to Bach

The four works by Johann Sebastian Bach on this recording are the first in a cycle of six “sonatas” usually referred to as being “for obbligato harpsichord and violin” (BWV 1014–1019). In truth, however, they are essentially trio sonatas, a genre that was to the Baroque period what the string quartet would be to the Classical—a crucible for formal and stylistic experimentation.

The course of music history is usually thought of in terms of composers and compositions. Yet occasionally it was the invention of a new instrument that triggered a musical sea change: only after the new instrument aroused interest would composers begin to create what would become a completely new repertoire. The early Baroque was such a time, and the trio sonata arose out of the musical revolution touched off in part by the emergence of two new instruments: the harpsichord and the violin family. Works for harpsichord began to abound by the beginning of the 17th century.

Some one hundred years later, J. S. Bach’s numerous cycles of preludes and fugues, partitas and various suites would stand out as the irrefutable apogee of this repertoire. With the violin, composers experimented with various combinations before settling on what was to become the dominant chamber music genre of the period—the so-called “trio sonata,” for two violins and basso continuo. However, this “trio” required at least four players because convention dictated that the bass instrument be doubled by a harpsichord to realize the harmony.

Archangelo Corelli (1653–1713) dedicated four opuses to the trio sonata, the first published in 1681 and each containing 12 sonatas. In them, he overlaid a form of four contrasting movements: slow-fast-slow-fast. The sonatas in Opuses 1 and 3 are designated da chiesa (church sonatas), while Opuses 2 and 4 are da camara (chamber sonatas). Two features distinguish the chamber sonata from the church sonata: the former is composed essentially of dances, and the continuo is realized by the harpsichord, while in the latter, the movements are generally abstract, often fugal, and the continuo is realized by the organ.

J.S. Bach, like many of his contemporaries, also took an interest in the trio sonata, composing works that followed the established form as well as striking off in new directions. For instance, he wrote six trio sonatas for solo organ and others for obbligato harpsichord and melodic instrument. In these latter works, the harpsichord part is written out completely and comprises two of the three voices of the “trio,” leaving only two of the four instruments of the original Italian genre. Because of this particular approach to the “trio,” Bach is sometimes credited with paving the way for the two-part sonata, in which the keyboard plays an equally important role as the solo instrument. Bach wrote at least 11 sonatas in this manner (if there were others, they have been lost): six sonatas for violin (BWV 1014–1019), three sonatas for viola da gamba (BWV 1027–1029), and two sonatas for flute (BWV 1030 and 1032).

The autograph of the Six sonatas for harpsichord and violin has never been found, but several contemporary copies do exist. The one closest to Bach himself, in the hand of his student and son-in-law Johann Christoph Altnickol, carries the significant title Sechs Trio für Clavier und die Violine (Six trios for keyboard and violin). Exegetes have dated this copy to between 1748 and 1758, though it is generally agreed that it was composed during Bach’s Cöthen period (1717–1723).

At Cöthen, as J.S. Bach would later confide, he was in the service of a “generous prince who not only loved music, he understood it.” Because the prince was also a Pietist, sacred music was limited to its most simple forms, and during Bach’s tenure there, his primary function was to compose all manner of music for the court—a court at which the violin held a particularly prominent place. It was during this period—a time when he could give free rein to both his imagination and the musical resources at his disposition—that he composed many of his instrumental masterworks.

The four sonatas on this recording all follow the Corellian sonata da chiesa model of four contrasting movements, slow-fast-slow-fast. In the slow movements, however, the violin part reveals a tragic lyricism more like Vivaldi than Corelli, which is not to say even more similar to the plaintive arias of Bach’s own cantatas and Passions. For instance, the opening “Largo” of the fourth sonata (BWV 1017) is none other than the famous aria “Erbarme dich” (have mercy) for alto and solo violin in the St. Matthew Passion, sung after Peter denies Jesus for the third time.

In the fast movements, Bach outdoes even Corelli in his predilection for imitative counterpoint. In this respect, the second sonata (BWV 1015) may represent the high point of the cycle, with fugal or canonic passages occurring in every movement, including the slow ones. In the introductory “Andante” (marked “Dolce” in one copy), the first two measures are in canon; the following “Allegro” is entirely fugal; from beginning to end, the “Andante con poco” lays a strict canon in unison between the violin and the right hand of the harpsichord over a sixteenth-note bass line; and the final “Presto” features multiple canonic entries at the half-measure.

Some 50 years after their composition, these “trios” for harpsichord and violin were still regarded as being “among the best compositions my father produced” by the most famous of Bach’s sons, Carl Philipp Emanuel. Today, many see this cycle as a turning point in the history of chamber music, with Bach bringing the trio sonata to a point of completion while simultaneously paving the way toward the future: the sonata for soloist and keyboard.

© Guy Marchand, 2004
Traduction: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

James Ehnes
Luc Beauséjour
AN 2 8810

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9829

J.S. Bach: Sonates pour violon et clavecin, vol.1

Date de sortie 15 février 2005
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9829
Periodes Baroque
Genres Musique de chambre

Informations sur l'album

La sonate en trio selon Bach

Les quatre œuvres de Jean-Sébastien Bach au programme de cet enregistrement sont les quatre premières d’un cycle de six  » sonates  » communément dites  » pour clavecin obligé et violon  » (BWV 1014-1019). Mais elles ressortent en fait de la sonate en trio qui fut au Baroque ce que le quatuor à cordes allait être au Classicisme, le creuset de nouvelles expériences formelles et stylistiques.

La sonate en trio s’inscrit dans la foulée d’une révolution musicale provoquée entre autres par l’émergence au début du Baroque de nouveaux instruments. En effet, on pense plus souvent l’histoire de la musique en fonction des œuvres et des compositeurs, mais c’est parfois l’émergence de nouveaux instruments qui contribue d’abord à changer le paysage musical d’une époque avant que les compositeurs ne s’intéressent à eux et ne leur crée un répertoire digne de ce nom.

Le début du Baroque fut ainsi marqué par l’arrivée sur le devant de la scène du clavecin et de la famille des violons. Les œuvres pour clavecin commencent à foisonner dès le début du 17e siècle et, quelque cent ans plus tard, les nombreux cycles de préludes et fugues, partitas et suites diverses de Jean-Sébastien Bach en représentent sans conteste l’apogée. Côté violon, on expérimente d’abord différentes combinaisons avant que ne s’impose, comme genre dominant en musique de chambre, la sonate dite  » en trio  » pour deux violons et basse continue. Mais ce  » trio  » demandait en fait la participation d’au moins quatre instrumentistes, car la norme voulait que la ligne de basse jouée par le violoncelle soit doublée par un clavier qui, de plus, réalisait l’harmonie.

À cette sonate en trio, Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713) devait imposer une forme en quatre mouvements contrastés  » lent-vif-lent-vif  » dans les quatre opus consacrés au genre qu’il publia à partir de 1681. Chacun de ces opus comprend 12 sonates. Dans deux d’entre eux (opus 1 et 3), les sonates sont dites da chiesa (d’église), dans les deux autres (opus 2 et 4), da camera (de chambre). Deux aspects distinguaient principalement la sonate de chambre de la sonate d’église. Dans la première, les mouvements sont essentiellement constitués de danses et le continuo réalisé au clavecin, alors que dans la seconde, les mouvements sont généralement abstraits, souvent fugués, et le continuo interprété à l’orgue.

Comme un grand nombre de ses contemporains, Jean-Sébastien Bach s’est intéressé à la sonate en trio. Non seulement a-t-il écrit des sonates en trio suivant les règles, mais il est de plus sorti des sentiers battus. Il composa six sonates en trio pour orgue seul et des sonates pour clavecin obligé et instrument mélodique, dans lesquelles la partie de clavecin, entièrement écrite, comprend deux des trois voix du  » trio « . Ainsi, au lieu des quatre instrumentistes du modèle italien, il n’y en a plus que deux. C’est pourquoi, certains considèrent que Bach aurait, avec cette approche particulière du  » trio « , ouvert la voix à la sonate en duo dans laquelle le clavier a une partie tout aussi importante que celle du  » soliste « . De cette nouvelle manière, il nous est parvenu de Jean-Sébastien onze sonates : trois sonates avec viole de gambe (BWV 1027-1029) et deux sonates avec flûte (BWV 1030 et 1032). Il se peut qu’il en ait composé d’autres aujourd’hui perdues.

L’autographe des Six sonates pour clavecin et violon n’a jamais été retrouvé, mais plus d’une copies contemporaines existent, dont la plus proche du compositeur, de la main de son élève et gendre Johann Christoph Altnickol, porte le titre significatif de Sechs Trio für Clavier und die Violine (Six trios pour clavier et violon). Les exégètes datent cette copie entre 1748 et 1758, mais on s’entend pour dire que la composition remonterait probablement à la période de Köthen (1717-1723).

À Köthen, Bach fut au service d’  » un prince généreux « , confiera-t-il plus tard,  » qui n’aimait pas seulement la musique, mais la connaissait « . Comme ce prince était piétiste, la musique religieuse était réduite à sa plus simple expression et, pendant ces années, la principale fonction de Bach fut de composer de la musique de cour en tout genre, au centre de laquelle le violon occupa une place de choix. C’est de cette époque que date une grande partie des chefs-d’œuvre de sa musique instrumentale, où il put laisser libre cours à toutes les ressources de son art et de son imagination.

Les quatre sonates de cet enregistrement suivent toutes le modèle de la sonate d’église corellienne en quatre mouvements contrastés  » lent-vif-lent-vif « . Dans les mouvements lents cependant, le violon fait preuve d’un lyrisme élégiaque beaucoup plus près de Vivaldi que de Corelli, si ce n’est plus près encore des airs de déploration des propres cantates et Passions de Bach. En témoigne le thème du  » Largo  » ouvrant la quatrième sonate (BWV 1017) qui n’est autre que celui du célèbre air  » Erbarme dich  » (Aie pitié de moi) que chante l’alto en dialogue avec un violon solo, après que Pierre ait renié Jésus pour la troisième fois dans la Passion selon saint Matthieu.

Dans les mouvements vifs, Bach surpasse Corelli dans sa prédilection pour le contrepoint en imitation fuguée. À cet égard, la deuxième sonate (BWV 1015) représente peut-être le sommet du cycle car dans tous les mouvements, y compris les lents, on retrouve des passages fugués, voire en canon. Dans l’  » Andante  » d’introduction, marqué  » Dolce  » sur l’une des copies, les deux premières mesures sont en canon ; l’  » Allegro  » suivant est entièrement fugué ; l’  » Andante con poco  » déploie du début à la fin, sur une basse en double croches, un canon strict à l’unisson entre le violon et la main droite du clavecin ; enfin, le  » Presto  » final multiplie les entrées canoniques serrées à la demi-mesure.

Quelque 50 ans après leur composition, le plus célèbre des fils Bach, Carl Philipp Emanuel, voyait encore dans ces  » trios  » pour clavecin et violon  » parmi les meilleures compositions de feu mon cher père « … Et encore aujourd’hui, ce cycle représente pour plusieurs un point tournant dans l’histoire de la musique de chambre, Bach menant la sonate en trio à une sorte d’achèvement tout en l’ouvrant vers l’avenir, vers la sonate pour soliste et clavier.

© Guy Marchand

Lire la suite

À propos

James Ehnes
Luc Beauséjour
FL 2 3161

Start typing and press Enter to search