fbpx
AN 2 9830

J.S. Bach: Sonatas for Violin and Harpsichord Vol. 2

Release date April 18, 2006
Album code AN 2 9830
Periods Baroque

Album information

This disc completes the recordings by the James Ehnes and Luc Beauséjour duo of the known sonatas for violin and harpsichord by Jean-Sébastien Bach (1685-1750). Volume 1 featured the first four of a six-sonata cycle (BWV 1014–1019) in which Bach, by reinventing the Baroque concept of “trio,” led the sonata for violin and harpsichord into the dawn of the Classical period.

It was Arcangelo Corelli (1653–1715) who, in the years from 1680 to 1690, fixed the form of the so-called “trio sonata”: a work for three voices (two high and one low) in four movements, slow-fast-slow-fast, interpreted by not three but at least four instruments. A convention from the late 16th century dictated that at least one harmonic instrument such as organ or harpsichord should both double the bass line with the left hand and fill in the harmony, which was often notated over the bass with a system of figures. This was called the basso continuo or simply continuo.
When Bach, a master of the harpsichord, began to explore the genre a generation later, he adapted it to his own virtuosic hands (and feet, as it turns out). While Kapellmeister at the court of Cöthen, from 1717 to 1723, he composed a whole range of trio sonatas, including several for only two instruments: one high voice (violin, flute or viola da gamba) and harpsichord, with the latter’s entirely notated part comprising both the second upper part and the bass part. Around 1730, during his tenure as Kantor in Leipzig (from 1723 till his death in 1750), Bach also composed a cycle of six trio sonatas for solo organ, the two upper parts played with the hands on the organ manuals and the bass part played on the pedal board (i.e., with the feet). In these sonatas, Bach achieves a contrapuntal density that goes beyond anything previous in the genre.
The two first sonatas on this recording (BWV 1018 and 1019) are thus the last two of the cycle of six sonatas commonly referred to as “for obbligato harpsichord and violin.”
Like the first four, the Sonata No. 5 in F Minor (BWV 1018) follows the form of four contrasting movements (slow-fast-slow-fast) set by Corelli at the end of the preceding century. And while the fast movements remain in the trio sonata tradition, with two high voices echoing each other over a more autonomous bass line, the two slow movements emancipate themselves from the formal notion of “trio.” In the “Largo” that makes up the first movement, the harpsichord foreshadows a more classical sonata accompaniment, adding a fourth voice and completely harmonized cadences. The third movement (“Adagio”) holds even more surprises, with the violin playing sustained double stops, in effect accompanying the harpsichord part, which features a high voice and a low voice exchanging the same motif.
There survive three relatively different versions of the Sonata No. 6 in G Major (BWV 1019). All three go beyond the Corellian convention of four contrasting movements, but many of the five or six movements differ from version to version, along with their order.
The first version, for which there exist two copies, features three slow movements surrounded by the same “Presto”:
1. Presto in G major
2. Largo in E minor
3. Cantabile ma un poco adagio in G major (which corresponds to the aria “Heil und Segen” from the Cantata BWV 120)
4. Adagio in B minor
5. Presto in G major (Repeat of 1st movement)

A second version, of which there is only one copy, appears to date from Bach’s early days in Leipzig (ca. 1730). This version has six movements, two of which do not appear in version 1 and are in fact dances taken from Partita No. 6 for harpsichord (BWV 830):
1. Vivace in G major (Presto of the first version)
2. Largo in E minor
3. (Untitled) in E minor (harpsichord solo corresponding to the courante of Partita No. 6 BWV 830)
4. Adagio in B minor
5. Violino solo et basso l’accompagnato (corresponding to the gavotte of Partita No. 6 BWV 830)
6. Vivace in G major (Repeat of 1st movement)

Finally, a third version, of which there are four copies, would seem to date from 1749, the year before Bach’s death. On one of the sources is written: “He composed this trio just before the end.” This last version contains five contrasting movements without repeats, with the last three differing from the two preceding versions:
1. Allegro in G major (Presto & Vivace of the first & second versions respectively)
2. Largo in E minor
3. Allegro in E minor (harpsichord solo different from that of the second version)
4. Adagio in B minor (different from that of the two other versions)
5. Allegro in G major (different from the first movement)

This last version, considered the definitive one, is featured on this disc by the Ehnes-Beauséjour duo. However, to recreate the other versions, simply program your CD player to play tracks 5, 6, 10, 12 and 5 (1st version) or tracks 5, 6, 11, 12, 13 and 5 (2nd version).
As the great musicologist Manfred F. Bukofzer stated in Music in the Baroque Era, in the chapter entitled “Fusion of National Styles: Bach”:
The first movement of the sixth violin sonata—there exist altogether three versions—carries the da-capo principle to its highest point. The first movement, in itself a da-capo form, must be bodily repeated as a giant da-capo at the end and thus flanks three slow movements of pronounced lyrical affections. The manner in which Bach combined in his sonatas fugal writing with concerto style will always remain a marvel. Their contrapuntal brilliance and their wide range of affections have no equal in the entire literature of the trio or solo sonata.

In addition to this cycle of “trio” sonatas, there are two other sonatas for violin and harpsichord that are considered almost certainly to be composed by Bach. In these two sonatas the harpsichord has a more conventional accompaniment part, with the violin soaring freely above it. They were found in the course of musicological research and thus exist in one copy each. Both are likely in the hand of Anna Magdalena, Bach’s second wife, and appear to date from the 1730s; however, they may have been composed much earlier, perhaps during the Cöthen period, like the “trio” cycle.

In classic Corellian sonata da chiesa tradition, the Sonata in G Major (BWV 1021), discovered only in 1928, contains four contrasting movements. The figures over the continuo part were carefully written in by Johann Sebastian himself, probably for teaching purposes. The Sonata in E Minor (BWV 1023), which came to light in 1867, is more unusual. The sonata opens with a toccata in which the violin weaves an uneasy, Vivaldi-like perpetuum mobile theme that flows directly into a languid, melancholy “Adagio.” These are followed by two dance movements, an allemande and a gigue, making this sonata a hybrid work in which the first two da chiesa (church) movements are juxtaposed with two da camera (chamber) movements, illustrating yet again the fusion of styles and genres so characteristic of Bach’s genius.

© Guy Marchand
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

James Ehnes
Luc Beauséjour
AN 6 1028

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9830

J.S. Bach: Sonates pour violon et clavecin vol. 2

Date de sortie 18 avril 2006
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9830
Periodes Baroque

Informations sur l'album

Le présent album complète l’enregistrement par James Ehnes et Luc Beauséjour de l’ensemble des sonates pour violon et clavecin de Jean-Sébastien Bach (1685-1750) qui sont parvenues jusqu’à nous. Dans un premier volume, le tandem avait proposé son interprétation des
quatre premières d’un cycle de six sonates (BWV 1014-1019)
dans lequel le compositeur, en renouvelant le concept baroque de  » trio « , mena la sonate pour violon et clavier à l’orée du Classicisme.

C’est Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1715) qui, dans les années 1680-90, avait fixé la forme de la sonate dite  » en trio  » : une œuvre en quatre mouvements, lent-vif-lent-vif, dans laquelle un discours à trois voix pour deux dessus et une basse étaient interprétées par, non pas trois, mais au moins quatre instrumentistes. Une pratique, née à la fin du siècle précédent, voulait qu’on ajoute au moins un instrument harmonique, comme le clavecin ou l’orgue, qui, en plus de doubler la basse à la main gauche, pouvait compléter à la main droite l’harmonie, souvent donnée sous la basse par un système de chiffrage. C’est ce qu’on appelait la basse continue ou le continuo.

Or, lorsqu’une génération plus tard le maître du clavier qu’était J.S. Bach explore le genre, il l’adapte, si l’on peut dire, à sa main, voire à son pied de virtuose. Kapellmeister à la cour de Köthen (de 1717 à 1723), il compose toute une gamme de sonates en trio, dont plusieurs pour seulement deux instruments : un dessus (violon, flûte ou viole de gambe) et un clavecin dont la partition entièrement écrite cumule le second dessus et la basse. Cantor à Leipzig (de 1723 à sa mort en 1750), Jean-Sébastien composera aussi vers 1730 un cycle de six sonates en trio pour orgue seul, les deux dessus pouvant être joués par chacune des mains aux claviers et la basse au pédalier, autrement dit avec les pieds. Dans ces sonates, Bach parvint à une densité contrapuntique dépassant tout ce qui avait pu ce faire dans le genre auparavant.

Dans le présent enregistrement, les deux premières sonates (BWV 1018 et 1019) sont donc les deux dernières du cycle de six sonates communément dites  » pour violon et clavecin obligé « .

Comme les quatre premières, la Sonate n° 5 en fa mineur (BWV 1018) respecte la forme en quatre mouvements contrastés (lent-vif-lent-vif), fixée par Corelli à la fin du siècle précédent. Si les deux mouvements vifs suivent l’idée d’un trio où les deux voix aiguës multiplient, sur une basse plus autonome, les échanges en échos, les deux mouvements lents s’en émancipent. Dans le  » Largo  » qui fait office de premier mouvement, la partie de clavecin préfigure, avec une quatrième voix et des cadences entièrement harmonisées, le rôle que le clavier sera amené à jouer dans la sonate classique. Plus surprenant encore, dans l' » Adagio  » du troisième mouvement, le violon, tout en doubles cordes soutenues, devient l’accompagnateur du clavecin dont la ligne plus allante offre un dialogue entre une voix aiguë et une voix grave s’échangeant un même motif.

De la Sonate n° 6 en sol majeur (BWV 1019), il nous est parvenu trois versions relativement divergentes. Toutes débordent la convention corellienne des quatre mouvements contrastés, mais plusieurs des cinq ou six mouvements diffèrent ainsi que leur agencement.
La première version, datant de Köthen et dont il existe deux copies, présente trois mouvements lents encadrés par un même  » Presto  » :
1. Presto en sol majeur
2. Largo en mi mineur
3. Cantabile ma un poco adagio en sol majeur (qui correspond à l’air  » Heil und Segen  » de la Cantate BWV 120)
4. Adagio en si mineur
5. Presto en sol majeur (Reprise du 1er mouvement)

Une seconde version, dont il n’y a qu’une copie, daterait des débuts de Jean-Sébastien à Leipzig (c.1730). Elle propose un autre agencement de mouvements en six mouvements, dont deux nouveaux correspondent à des danses de la sixième Partita pour clavecin (BWV 830):
1. Vivace en sol majeur (Presto de la 1ère version)
2. Largo en mi mineur
3. (sans titre) en mi mineur (solo de clavecin qui correspond à la courante de la Partita n° 6 , BWV 830) au lieu de Partita BWV 830 n° 3
4. Adagio en si mineur
5. Violino solo et basso l’accompagnato (qui correspond à la gavotte de la Partita n° 6, BWV 830) au lieu de Partita BWV 830 n° 6
6. Vivace en sol majeur (Reprise du 1er mouvement)

Enfin, une troisième version, dont il nous est parvenu quatre copies, daterait de l’avant-dernière année du compositeur (1749).  » Il composa ce trio juste avant la fin « , peut-on lire sur l’une des sources. Cette dernière version offre cinq mouvements contrastants sans répétition du premier mouvement, dont les trois derniers diffèrent des deux versions précédentes :
1. Allegro en sol majeur (Presto de la 1ère et Vivace de la 2e version)
2. Largo en mi mineur
3. Allegro en mi mineur (solo de clavecin différent de celui de la 2e version)
4. Adagio en si mineur (différent de celui des deux versions précédentes)
5. Allegro en sol majeur (différent du 1er mouvement)

Cette troisième version est considérée comme la version définitive et c’est celle que propose ici le duo Ehnes-Beauséjour. Pour recréer la première et la deuxième version, il suffit de programmer les plages 5, 6, 10, 12 et 5 (pour la 1re version) et les plages 5, 6, 11, 12, 13 et 5 (pour la 2e version).

Comme le soulignait le grand musicologue Manfred F. Bukofzer dans son livre La musique baroque au chapitre intitulé  » Bach ou la fusion des styles nationaux  » :  » La première version de la sixième sonate porte à sa perfection le principe du da capo. Le premier mouvement, lui-même de forme da capo, doit être intégralement répété à la fin, formant ainsi un gigantesque da capo qui englobe trois mouvements lents débordants de lyrisme. Mais le miracle de ces six sonates tient d’abord dans cette fusion incomparable entre écriture fuguée et style concertant. L’éclat de leur écriture contrapuntique et leur grande richesse expressive n’ont pas d’égal dans toute la littérature de la sonate solo ou en trio.  »

En marge de ce cycle  » en trio « , il ne nous reste que deux autres sonates de Bach pour violon et clavier dont l’authenticité peut être considérée comme certaine. Ce sont deux sonates où le clavier revient à son rôle plus conventionnel d’accompagnateur, alors que le violon plane plus librement au-dessus de lui. Ce sont des œuvres qui furent retrouvées au hasard des recherches et dont on n’a de chacune qu’une seule copie, mais toutes deux vraisemblablement de la main d’Anna Magdalena, la seconde femme de Bach. Ces copies dateraient des années 1730, mais la composition pourrait remonter à beaucoup plus tôt, peut-être, comme le cycle  » en trio  » des six sonates, à la période de Köthen (1717-1723).

Dans la Sonate en sol majeur (BWV 1021), découverte en 1928, le chiffrage de la basse continue a été soigneusement détaillé par Jean-Sébastien lui-même, probablement à des fins didactiques, ses quatre mouvements contrastés respectant par ailleurs le modèle corellien de la sonata da chiesa. La Sonate en mi mineur (BWV 1023), sortie de l’oubli en 1867, est plus inusitée. Le premier mouvement se présente comme une  » toccata  » où le violon déploie un perpetuum mobile inquiet aux accents vivaldiens débouchant sur un ample  » adagio  » qui se languit en soupirs élégiaques. Suivent deux mouvements de danses, une allemande et une gigue, qui font de cette sonate une œuvre hybride, juxtaposant aux deux premiers mouvements da chiesa (d’église), deux derniers da camera (de chambre), illustrant une fois de plus cette fusion des styles et des genres qui caractérisent le génie du grand Bach.

© Guy Marchand

Lire la suite

À propos

James Ehnes
Luc Beauséjour
FL 2 3079

Start typing and press Enter to search