fbpx

Album information

Since his precocious beginnings at age four under the watchful eyes of his father, a trumpet professor and his mother, a dancer, James Ehnes has astonished the music world with his extraordinary technique and musicality. Nicknamed the “Jasha Heifetz of our day” by The Globe and Mail, he has performed in over 30 countries, collaborating with many of the world’s most celebrated orchestras and conductors. His vast repertoire includes Bach’s cornerstones for the instrument as well as dazzling works for violin and orchestra and poetic pieces by Kreisler and Dvo?ák.

When he was only 13, the young musician was invited to perform by the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. Today, in his thirties, he is considered one of the best violinists of his generation. Numerous international awards, including a Grammy and six Junos, have marked his career. In January 2002, he received the title of “young artist of the year” at the Cannes Classical Awards for his recording of Partitas and Sonatas for Solo Violin by Johann Sebastian Bach – from which the Prelude of the Third Partita and the Chaconne of the Second Partita found here are taken. In 2005, as he released a disc of sonatas for violin and harpsichord by the same composer, he received the coveted Avery Fisher Career Grant. He was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in November 2010 and is the youngest Fellow ever to be elected to the Royal Society of Canada .

James Ehnes shows an obvious affinity with the repertoire of Fritz Kreisler, considering them jewels of the violin repertoire. Here we hear him in the celebrated Liebesfreud and Liebesleid (Love’s Joy and Love’s Sorrow) and the catchy Chinese tambourine.

In addition, the violinist interprets two tender works by Antonín Dvo?ák: one of his Romantic Pieces and the slow movement of his Sonatina.

Ehnes displays passion and sensitivity in two radiant works by Camille Saint-Saëns, his Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso and his Havanaise, as well as the lyrical Meditation from Thaïs by Jules Massenet.

A subtle and unusually versatile interpreter, Ehnes feels it is essential to respect the composer’s intentions and give the music all it deserves. He confesses that he feels a daunting responsibility when recording: “I always want to do my very best to produce the music exactly the way I conceive it. I believe my recordings are a good reflection of what I do and who I am as an artist.”

© Lucie Renaud
Translation: Annie P. Prothin

Read more

About

James Ehnes
AN 2 9927-8
AN 2 9927-8
AN 2 9927-8

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Depuis ses débuts précoces à l’âge de quatre ans, sous l’œil attentif d’un père trompettiste et d’une mère danseuse, James Ehnes renverse le monde de la musique avec sa technique et sa musicalité exceptionnelles. Surnommé le « Jasha Heifetz d’aujourd’hui » par le Globe and Mail, il a joué dans plus de 30 pays, et collaboré avec plusieurs chefs et orchestres parmi les plus prestigieux. Son vaste répertoire comprend aussi bien les pierres angulaires pour l’instrument de Bach que des œuvres pyrotechniques pour violon et orchestre ou des pages poétiques de Kreisler ou Dvo?ák.

À 13 ans à peine, le jeune musicien était déjà invité par l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal ; aujourd’hui dans la trentaine, il est reconnu comme l’un des meilleurs violonistes de sa génération. Sa route aura été ponctuée de nombreux prix, dont un Grammy et six Junos. Déjà, en janvier 2002, on lui décerne le titre de « jeune artiste de l’année » aux Cannes Classical Awards pour son enregistrement des Partitas et Sonates pour violon seul de Johann Sebastian Bach – dont sont extraits ici le Prélude de la Troisième Partita et la Chaconne de la Deuxième Partita. En 2005, alors qu’il lance un disque de sonates pour violon et clavecin du même compositeur, il reçoit le convoité Avery Fisher Career Grant. Il a été récompensé de l’Ordre du Canada en novembre 2010 et est le plus jeune membre jamais élu à la Société Royale du Canada.
James Ehnes admet des affinités évidentes avec les pages de Fritz Kreisler, les considérant des joyaux du répertoire pour violon. On l’entend ici dans les célèbres Liebesfreud et Liebesleid (Joie d’amour et Tristesse d’amour) et le contagieux Tambourin chinois.
En prolongement, le violoniste interprète deux pages d’une grande tendresse signées Antonín Dvo?ák : une de ses Pièces romantiques et le mouvement lent de sa Sonatine.

James Ehnes démontre fougue et délicatesse dans deux œuvres lumineuses de Camille Saint-Saëns, son Introduction et Rondo Capriccioso et sa Havanaise, ainsi que l’intensément lyrique Méditation de Thaïs de Jules Massenet.

Interprète au jeu nuancé et d’une rare polyvalence, James Ehnes considère essentiel de respecter les intentions des compositeurs et servir la musique. Il admet ressentir le poids d’une intimidante responsabilité lorsqu’il enregistre. « Je dois m’assurer d’offrir le maximum afin que le son que je produis soit exactement tel que je le conçois. Je pense que mes enregistrements représentent bien ce que je fais et qui je suis en tant qu’artiste. »

© Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

James Ehnes
AN 2 9128 Moments Baroques Piano
AN 2 9128 Moments Baroques Piano
AN 2 9128 Moments Baroques Piano

Start typing and press Enter to search