fbpx
FL 2 3033

Mendelssohn: Early symphonies for string orchestra

Release date August 15, 1995
Album code FL 2 3033
Periods Romantic

Album information

Recognition that one is part of an important tradition played an essential role in the maturing of Felix Mendelssohn’s musical style. On his father’s side, there is Moses Mendelssohn, one of the most important philosophers of the German Enlightment; from his mother’s side, Felix is given contact with Berlin’s cultural, artistic and musical tradition. Such influences — to which should be added the names Schlegel, Nicolai, Lessing, Goethe — will assist in the education of the young composer.

When, in 1819, Mendelssohn begins his theory and composition studies with Zelter, the importance of another tradition is added to his musical consciousness, that of Johann Sebastian Bach. Carl Friederich Zelter (1758-1832) had been a student of Carl Friedrich Christian Fash and, more important, of Johann Philipp Kirnberger, both composers in the court of Frederik the Great and contemporaries of Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach. (Kirnberger had been a student of Johann Sebastian Bach, and was the author of Die Kunst des reinen Satzes in der Musik, “The Art of Pure Composition,” a treatise which attempted to formulate systematically Bach’s teaching method: “Those who wish to become completely familiar with Bach’s teaching method will find it explained in extensio in Kirnberger’s work,” wrote Forkel in his biography of Bach.) Zelter, moreover, had collected, as director of Berlin’s Singakademie, an imposing number of manuscripts and editions of Bach’s works, collection which included such works as the Musical Offering, The Art of Fugue, some of the Passions, concertos, orchestral suites and over a hundred cantatas.

The sources of Mendelssohn’s musical education can be thus traced to Bach. Interestingly, not only was Zelter’s teaching centered essentially on contrapuntal techniques, but the progression in which were taught the different techniques was the same as that chosen by Bach for his son Carl Philipp Emanuel, and by Kirnberger for his pupil Zelter: first, thoroughbass, followed, in order, by four-part chorale writing, counterpoint and, finally, fugue.

The String Symphonies (or Sinfonias) were written during the years 1821-1823, that is to say immediately after his studies with Zelter. This was a very active period for the composer: four Singspiel (Die Soldatenslibschaft, Die beiden Pädagogen, Die wandernden Komödianten, Der Onkel aus Boston oder Die beiden Neffen), various works for violin and piano (the Sonata in f minor, op. 4, among others), the Quartets for piano and strings opp. 1 and 2, the Symphony in C minor, op. 11, etc.

The Sinfonias — at least the first ones — can be seen as attempts to put into practice the precepts given by Zelter. Musically, they are still rooted in the 18th century: they resemble more studies in style and genre than studies of form; Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach can be heard, as can some elements of Haydn; the legacy of Mozart makes a few appearances, and Beethoven’s expansion of form is generally ignored. For example, the chromaticism in the first movement of Sinfonia II is clearly contrapuntal in nature, that is, results from the meeting of independent voices rather than from a desire to use it for its own, purely expressive, sake (as will be the case in later romanticism). As well, if the material used in the development of this movement is indeed derived from the opening material, it is not, strickly speaking, “developped”: the discourse is essentially post-baroque in nature, evolving by means of imitative counterpoint and harmonic sequences. Also both “un-” classical and “un-” romantic is the speed at which the dominant (E) of the dominant (A), or V/V, is reached: 8 bars only after the begining of the development.

There are numerous examples of this kind: the entire first half of the development of Sinfonia VII is an “exercise” in contrapuntal technique — as the second half will be one in harmonic sequences; fugues are also present, in the Allegro molto of Sinfonia VII and in the Allegro vivace of Sinfonia IX (a fugato).

When Mendelssohn, in the later symphonies, starts moving away from an omni-present contrapuntal style, it is in Mozart’s music that he reaches for inspiration. The first movement of Sinfonia IX is an example of the young composer’s “classicism,” in the sense that we find him exploring the problem of the expansion of tonal areas. The key of C major, in the exposition, is prolonged much longer than were opening keys in the earlier symphonies; G major, the dominant, arrives only at the 71th bar of the Allegro, this arrival having been delayed by a subtle play between F sharp and F natural. Other example of a more modern perspective, the incursion into flatten keys (especially b VI) appears more often (development of Sinfonia IX, 1). This technique gives rise to authentically blissful moments in the Andante of Sinfonia VII, perhaps the most romantic (Schubertian!) movement of all found on this recording. We should also note the unique orchestral coloring of the Andante of Sinfonia IX, also undeniably romantic.

© Alex Benjamin

Read more

About

AN 2 8715
AN 2 8715
AN 2 8715

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
FL 2 3033

Mendelssohn: Symphonies de jeunesse pour orchestre à cordes

Date de sortie 15 août 1995
Numéro de l'album FL 2 3033
Periodes Romantique
Genres Orchestre de chambre

Informations sur l'album

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) aura mûri sous le signe de la reconnaissance des valeurs de la tradition. De par son père, Felix est lié à Moses Mendelssohn (1729-1786), un des plus importants philosophes des Lumières; de par sa mère, c’est la tradition culturelle, artistique et musicale berlinoise qui lui est offerte. Ainsi, par une forme de rayonnement (car il faut inclure aussi les noms de Schlegel, Nicolai, Lessing), ce sont les fondations mêmes d’une nouvelle réflexion sur la culture allemande, en équilibre entre le classicisme et le romantisme, qui prêteront assistance à l’éducation du jeune compositeur.

Lorsqu’il commence, en 1819, des cours de théorie et de composition avec Zelter, s’ajoute à sa conscience musicale l’importance d’une autre tradition, qui le suivra toute sa vie, celle de Jean-Sébastien Bach. Carl Friedrich Zelter (1758-1832) avait été l’élève de Carl Friedrich Christian Fash et, principalement, de Johann Philipp Kirnberger, compositeurs berlinois de la cour de Frédérick le Grand et contemporains de Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach. (Kirnberger avait lui-même été élève de Jean-Sébastien Bach et était l’auteur de Die Kunst des reinen Satzes in der Musik, « L’Art de la composition pure », traité dont le but avoué était la formulation systématique de l’enseignement du grand Bach: « Ceux qui désireraient se familiariser entièrement avec la méthode d’enseignement de Bach, la trouveront exposée in extensio dans l’ouvrage de Kirnberger », écrira Forkel dans sa biographie de Bach). Zelter, de plus, aura amassé en tant que directeur de la Singakademie de Berlin — poursuivant l’œuvre de Fash, son prédécesseur — une imposante collection de manuscrits et d’éditions d’œuvres de Bach, collection comprenant des titres tels l’Offrande musicale, L’Art de la Fugue, des Passions, concerti, suites orchestrales et une centaine de cantates.

Les sources de l’enseignement qu’a reçu Mendelssohn remontent donc jusqu’au plus grand des contrapuntistes. Il suffit, pour rendre compte de l’importance de cette influence, de comparer le type d’enseignement donné à Mendelssohn et celui prodigué par Bach à son fils Carl Philipp, de même que celui donné par Kirnberger à Zelter: on verrait que la progression, à peu de choses près, est la même dans les trois cas, soit un enseignement qui commence avec l’apprentissage de la basse continue suivi, dans cet ordre, de celui du choral à quatre voix, du contrepoint et, à la fin seulement, de la fugue.

Les Symphonies pour cordes de Mendelssohn datent des années 1821-1823, soit immédiatement après ses études de fugue. Il s’agit d’une période d’activité intense pour le jeune compositeur: quatre Singspiel (Die Soldatenslibschaft, Die beiden Pädagogen, Die wandernden Komödianten, Der Onkel aud Boston oder Die beiden Neffen), des œuvres diverses pour violon et piano (dont la Sonate en fa mineur, op. 4), Les Quatuors pour piano et cordes opp. 1 et 2, la Symphonie en do mineur, op. 11, etc.

Les Symphonies pour cordes (ou Sinfonias), du moins les premières, sont la mise en pratique des préceptes inculqués par Zelter. Elles sont essentiellement liées au XVIIIe siècle: ainsi, elles semblent être plus des études à la fois de style et de genre que des études de forme; Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach y est présent, de même que certains éléments de Haydn; l’héritage de Mozart fait de brèves apparitions, et l’expension formelle beethovenienne y est généralement ignorée. On remarque, par exemple, que dans le premier mouvement de la Sinfonia II le chromatisme n’en est un que de passage, c’est-à-dire que les frictions harmoniques que l’on recontre sont causées par l’action indépendante des voix (donc, de nature contrapuntique) plutôt qu’introduites pour leur valeur émotive propre. De même, si le développement de ce mouvement a pour base un matériau dérivé de celui de l’exposition, celui-ci n’est pas à proprement parler « développé »: le déroulement du discours est essentiellement de nature post-baroque, s’effectuant par le biais de contrepoint imitatif et de marches d’harmonie. Il faut aussi noter la rapidité avec laquelle arrive la dominante (mi) de la dominante (la) — moment de tension dramatique extrème dans la forme sonate classique —, soit 8 mesures seulement après le début du développement.

Les exemples de ce genre abondent: toute la première partie du développement de la Sinfonia VII est un « exercice » de contrepoint (comme la deuxième partie en sera un d’enchaînements harmoniques); la fugue aussi est présente, dans l’Allegro molto de la Sinfonia VII et dans l’Allegro vivace de la Sinfonia IX (un fugato).

Lorsqu’il s’éloigne, dans les dernières symphonies, de l’omniprésence du style contrapuntique, c’est dans l’œuvre de Mozart que Mendelssohn puise son inspiration. Le premier mouvement de la Sinfonia IX est un exemple du « classicisme » du jeune compositeur, au sens ou on le voit affronter le problème de l’expension des plages tonales. La tonalité de do majeur, dans l’exposition, est très étendue; la tonalité de sol majeur, la dominante, est longement retardée — elle arrive seulement à la 71e mesure de l’Allegro — par un jeu subtil entre fa dièse et fa bécarre, ainsi que par un report constant d’une cadence claire et déterminante (la première symphonie de Beethoven vient ici à l’esprit). Autre exemple d’une pensée plus moderne, l’incursion dans les tonalités bémolisées — particulièrement celle du sixième degré abaissé (b VI) — apparaît de plus en plus (développement de la Sinfonia IX, 1). Cette technique donne même lieu à d’authentiques moments de grâce dans l’Andante de la Sinfonia VII, peut-être le mouvement le plus romantique (schubertien!) de ceux présentés sur ce disque. Signalons, pour terminer, l’unique couleur orchestrale de l’Andante de la Sinfonia IX, elle aussi indéniablement romantique.

© Alex Benjamin

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8715
AN 2 8715
AN 2 8715

Start typing and press Enter to search