fbpx
FL 2 3050

Selected works for string orchestra

Release date August 14, 1995
Album code FL 2 3050
Periods Romantique
Genres Orchestre de chambre

Album information

Respighi: Antiche Danze ed Arie per Liuto, Suite No. 3

Among the Italian composers of his generation, it was Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936) who achieved the greatest international success. This success was heightened when Toscanini began to give frequent performances of Respighi’s symphonic poem Feste romane, a triptych based on Roman themes. Despite the fact that his recognition was attributed mainly to his symphonic music, Respighi had been interested, since his youth, in early Italian music, and his style underwent a transformation after compositing Feste romane.

Respighi composed three suites for different combinations of instruments under the title Antique Danze ed Arie per Liuto. In these works he attempts to transplant the sophisticated sensibility and elegant brilliance inherent in Italian lute music of the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries into the context of the modern orchestra. The third suite for string orchestra was composed in 1931 and first performed under Respighi’s baton at the Milan Conservatory in January, 1932.

The first movement, an Andantino in ternary form, is based on an anonymous piece that dates from about 1600. The second movement, Arie di corte, is based on material by Giovanni Battista Besardo (?1567-?1617), a luttenist and composer from Bologna. Also in ternary form, it is divided into seven parts: Andante cantabile, Allegretto, Vivace, Lento con grande espressione, Allegro vivace, Vivacissimo, then a restatement of the opening Andante cantabile. The third movement, Siciliana, is a set of variations based on an elegant anonymous melody in the rhythm of a Siciliana, dating from around 1600. The Suite ends on a Passacaglia based on a piece dating from 1692 by the Italian guitarist and composer Ludovico Roncalli.

Puccini: Crisantemi

Giacomo Puccini (1858-1934) did not confine his talents only to opera. He also composed many works, now neglected, of which Crisantemi for String Quartet is perhaps the more attractive and noteworthy. Replete with the melodic and harmonic features of Puccini’s mature style, this work was composed in 1890 in memory of Duke Amadeo of the house of Savoy, who died that year.

The two main themes of this short work are full of the cloying nostalgia which so often characterises Puccini’s style; he used them once again some three years later in the final scene of his opera Manon Lescaut. As with Verdi’s String Quartet, this work is often played by string orchestras.

Verdi: String Quartet in E minor

The year 1873 witnessed the advent of two non-dramatic masterpieces by Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901): his String Quartet and Requiem. It is interesting to note that it is merely by chance that this string quartet — a unique instrumental exception in Verdi’s work — came into being.

Aida, which Verdi composed to commemorate the opening of the Suez Canal and created in Cairo in 1873, was to be presented for the first time in Naples in the spring of 1873. However, the prima donna, Teresa Stoltz, was taken ill and the performance was postponed. With time on his hands, Verdi decided to compose this string quartet solely for his own “amusement,” as he would say.

However, true to his nature as an operatic composer, Verdi was unable to totally distance himself from opera: the theme played very softly by the second violin at the beginning of the first movement is an adaptation of Amneris’s theme in Aida. Yet the work reflects the musician’s experimental concerns and shows his interest for counterpoint.

A fugato section appears early on in the first movement, while the contrapuntal treatment of the motifs in the development section is particularly effective. The scherzo fourth movement is an intricately conceived fugue. The work, which was created in Milan in 1876 in its original string quartet version, was not published until after his death.

String orchestras show a growing interest in this work, which is heard here in a transcription by Lucas Drew, where the only modification to the original is the addition of a double-bass part.

Albinoni: Adagio in G minor

This Adagio was part of a Sonata a tre in G minor byTomaso Albinoni (1671-1751), without opus number; the only remaining parts are that of the figured bass (in printed form) and two first violin fragments in manuscript form. The part of the figured bass and the two fragments were sent by the State Library of Dresden to Mr. Remo Giazotto soon after the end of the second world war, after the thematic index of Albinoni’s works (R. Giazotto, Albinoni, musico di violino dilettante veneto [1671-1750], Milan, Bocca, 1945) had already been prepared and published.

The first move towards reconstructing the work was provided by the realization of the figured bass, to which a brief introduction was added. Using the figured bass and the two thematic elements (6 bars in all) the whole was pieced together and composed in full accordance with the harmonic tissue suggested by the figured bass. The organ, instead of the harpsichord, has been indicated for the figured bass in consideration of the mystic atmosphere created by it and on the assumption that this might have been a Sonata a tre “da chiesa” and not “da camera.”

© Christine Dessaints

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
FL 2 3050

Oeuvres choisies pour orchestre à cordes

Informations sur l'album

Respighi: Antiche Danze ed Arie per Liuto, Suite no. 3

Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936) fut certainement le plus célèbre de tous les compositeurs italiens de sa génération. Cette célébrité internationale connut son apogée quand Toscanini inscrivit à son répertoire le poème symphonique Feste romane, un tryptique inspiré de trois thèmes romains. Malgré qu’il ait été surtout reconnu pour sa musique symphonique, Respighi se passionnait pour la musique italienne ancienne depuis son jeune âge et son style se transforma après la composition de Feste romane.

Sous le titre Antique Danze ed Arie per Liuto, il rassembla trois suites pour différentes combinaisons d’instruments, où il tenta de transposer l’extrême sensibilité et le brio de la musique de luth des quinzième et seizième siècles dans le contexte d’un orchestre moderne. La troisième suite pour orchestre à cordes fut composée en 1931 et jouée en public pour la première fois au conservatoire de Milan en janvier 1932 sous la direction du compositeur.

Le premier mouvement, un Andantino de forme ternaire, est inspiré d’une pièce anonyme qui date de 1600 environ. Le deuxième mouvement, Arie di corte, est inspiré d’un ballet de Giovanni Battista Besardo, compositeur et luthiste bolognais (1567?-1617?). Également de forme ternaire, il se divise en sept parties: Andante cantabile, Allegretto, Vivace, Lento con grande espressione, Allegro vivace, Vivacissimo puis retour de l’Andante cantabile de l’ouverture. Le troisième mouvement, Siciliana, offre un ensemble de variations dans le rythme d’une sicilienne sur une gracieuse mélodie datant approximativement de 1600 dont le compositeur est encore une fois inconnu. La Suite se termine sur une Passacaglia inspirée d’une œuvre écrite en 1692 par le guitariste et compositeur italien Ludovico Roncalli.

Puccini: Crisantemi

Giacomo Puccini (1858-1934) ne s’est jamais limité à son talent pour l’opéra. Il composa d’autres œuvres, aujourd’hui peu connues, dont la plus intéressante et la plus attrayante est sans doute le quatuor à cordes connu sous le nom de Crisantemi. Dotée du style mélodique et harmonique si caractéristique de Puccini, cette œuvre fut composée en 1890 à la mémoire du Duc Amadeo de la maison de Savoie, décédé cette même année.

Les deux thèmes principaux de cette courte pièce sont empreints de cette nostalgie permanente qui caractérise si souvent le style du compositeur. Puccini réutilisera ces deux thèmes trois ans plus tard dans la scène finale de son opéra Manon Lescaut. Tout comme le Quatuor de Verdi, cette œuvre est maintenant fréquemment jouée par un ensemble à cordes.

Verdi: Quatuor à cordes en mi mineur

L’année 1873 voit la naissance de deux chefs-d’œuvre de Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901) conçus hors du théâtre: le Quatuor à cordes et le Requiem. Fait intéressant à souligner, la composition de ce quatuor — unique exception instrumentale dans l’œuvre de Verdi — serait due à un concours de circonstance.

L’opéra Aïda, composé à l’occasion de l’inauguration du canal de Suez et créé au Caire en 1871, devait être donné pour la première fois à Naples au printemps 1873. Les représentations furent cependant suspendues en raison de la maladie de la prima donna, Teresa Stoltz, et Verdi, libre de son temps, décida de composer ce quatuor, comme il le dit lui-même, pour son seul « amusement ».

Toutefois, fidèle à sa nature de compositeur d’opéra, Verdi ne peut s’en distancer complètement: le thème doucement exposé par le deuxième violon au début du premier mouvement est une adaptation du thème d’Amnéris dans Aïda. Pourtant l’œuvre reflète les préoccupations expérimentales du musicien et témoigne de son intérêt pour le contrepoint.

Une partie fugato apparaît dès l’exposition du premier mouvement et le traitement contrapuntique des motifs dans le développement est particulièrement élaboré. Le quatrième mouvement, scherzo, est une fugue de conception complexe. L’œuvre, créée à Milan en 1876 dans sa version originale pour quatuor à cordes, ne sera publiée qu’après sa mort. Interprétée de plus en plus par les orchestres à cordes, nous la retrouvons ici dans une transcription de Lucas Drew, dont la seule modification à l’original est l’ajout de la contrebasse.

Albinoni: Adagio en sol mineur

Le présent Adagio faisait partie d’une Sonate à trois de Tomaso Albinoni (1671-1751), en sol mineur, sans numéro d’opus, dont seuls nous sont parvenus deux fragments de la partie de premier violon (manuscrits) et la basse chiffrée (imprimée). Cette basse chiffrée, avec les fragments de premier violon, fut envoyée à M. Remo Giazotto par la Bibliothèque d’État de Dresde, aussitôt après la fin de la dernière guerre, après la publication de l’index thématique de l’Œuvre d’Albinoni (R. Giazotto, Albinoni, musicien violoniste dilettante de Venise [1671-1750] Milan, Bocca, 1945).

M. Giazotto, en premier lieu, a réalisé la basse chiffrée (en la complétant d’une brève introduction) sur laquelle, en utilisant les deux phrases mélodiques (6 mesures au total), il a créé un lien narratif se superposant avec une fidélité absolue à la trame harmonique suggérée par la basse chiffrée. En raison de l’ambiance mystique particulière créée par la basse chiffrée (il devait s’agir d’une Sonate à trois d’église et non de chambre), M. Giazotto a cru bon de confier la réalisation de la basse chiffrée à l’orgue, au lieu du clavecin.

© Christine Dessaints

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8715
AN 2 8715
AN 2 8715
AN 2 8715

Start typing and press Enter to search