fbpx
AN 2 9816

The World of Robin and Marion, Songs and Motets from the time of Adam de la Halle (1240-1287)

Release date September 21, 2004
Album code AN 2 9816
Periods Médiévale
Genres Musique de chambre

Album information

Adam de la Halle, one of the last French trouveres, had been introduced to polyphony at the Notre-Dame school in Paris and was gifted with outstanding creative talent. He is credited with some sixty musical compositions, including songs, rondeaux, motets and jeux-partis (in which two singers debate a given topic), as well as two theatrical works, one of which is the Jeu de Robin et Marion.

In many of his works, rather than abandoning tradition, he gave it new life by combining elements of lyric poetry, in which the text determines musical form, with the erudite techniques of church music, whose adaptation to the secular vocal arts he helped pioneer.

The Jeu de Robin et Marion, created at the court of Naples in 1285 and considered Adam de la Halle’s masterwork, is thought to be the earliest European example of a musical play.

It presents “gracious” Marion, a simple but quite resourceful shepherdess, along with her peasant companions, including Robin and Gautier. It also presents Aubert, a knight whose unsubtle attempts at seduction and whose pride in the prestige conferred by his social condition contrast with the restrained, discreet sentiments expressed by the minstrels of courtly love.

The play is a theatrical adaptation of the pastourelle, a lyric genre that was very popular at the time. The play features characters inspired by real life and puts them in everyday situations, showing powerless peasants and shepherds subjected to abuse on the part of soldiers and nobles. By contrasting the knight’s pompous, outmoded manner of speaking with the peasants’ naïve and colourful language, Adam de la Halle managed to treat this distressing subject with humour. The play was an immediate hit.

With The World of Robin and Marion, Ensemble Anonymus has taken Adam de la Halle’s work as a starting point. Some fifteen monodies from the Jeu de Robin et Marion are interspersed with three-voice motets, that is, learned compositions from the organum of Ars antiqua. The result is a balance of sacred and secular melodies, with a mix of texts and even different languages (French and Latin).

Most of the pieces chosen by Anonymus come from the manuscript known as the Montpellier Codex, a collection of over 300 polyphonic French compositions dating from 1270 to the beginning of Ars nova in the 14th century. Several motets in this important Codex borrow themes or texts from Adam de la Halle’s play, indicating its immense popularity.

The World of Robin and Marion rounds out this exploration of a swiftly evolving musical era with isolated anonymous compositions, pieces taken from the Bamberg Manuscript and an extract from the satirical Roman de Fauvel. Finally, in homage to the inventive minstrels of the period, a few instrumental interludes by Claude Bernatchez are gracefully integrated with the rest.

© André Caron and Irène Brisson, 2004. Translation: Jane Macaulay

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9816

Le Chant de Robin et Marion, Chansons et motets au temps de Adam de la Halle (1240-1287)

Interprètes
Date de sortie 21 septembre 2004
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9816
Periodes Médiévale

Informations sur l'album

Adam de la Halle, un des derniers trouvères français qui a pu s’initier à Paris à la polyphonie des maîtres de l’École de Notre-Dame, bénéficie d’un talent créateur hors du commun. On lui connaît une soixantaine de compositions musicales consistant en chansons, rondeaux, motets, jeux-partis — débats entre deux chanteurs sur un sujet donné — ainsi que deux œuvres théâtrales dont le Jeu de Robin et Marion.

Sans rompre avec la tradition, il a su la rajeunir en conciliant dans plusieurs œuvres la poésie lyrique, dont la forme musicale est assujettie au texte, et la science de l’Église, qu’il est un des premiers à adapter à l’art vocal profane.

Considéré comme l’œuvre maîtresse d’Adam de la Halle et comme le premier témoignage de théâtre musical européen, le Jeu de Robin et Marion est créé à la cour de Naples vers 1285.

Il nous présente une Marion au corps gent, humble bergère de son état, quoique assez finaude, et ses rustres compères dont Robin et Gautier. Aubert, un chevalier en mal de séduction et fier du prestige que lui confère sa condition sociale, fait ici contraste avec les sentiments discrets et refrénés des chantres de l’amour courtois.

La pièce est une adaptation théâtrale d’un genre lyrique alors très populaire, la pastourelle. Elle met en scène des personnages calqués sur la réalité et sur des situations vécues au quotidien, comme celle des paysans et des bergères sans défense, subissant les abus des soldats et des nobles. En opposant les discours pompeux et démodés du chevalier à la prose naïve et colorée des paysans, Adam de la Halle exploite avec humour ce sujet pourtant cruel : il n’en fallait pas plus pour en assurer le succès.

Le Chant de Robin et Marion a pour point de départ l’œuvre d’Adam de la Halle. Entre la quinzaine d’airs monodiques du Jeu de Robin et Marion, l’Ensemble Anonymus a intercalé des motets à trois voix, c’est-à-dire des compositions savantes issues de l’organum de l’Ars antiqua, superposant plusieurs mélodies sacrées et profanes et surtout des paroles, voire des langues (français-latin) différentes.

Les œuvres retenues par Anonymus proviennent pour la plupart du manuscrit dit de Montpellier, un recueil collectif comprenant plus de trois cents compositions polyphoniques françaises composées entre 1270 et le début de l’Ars nova (XIVe siècle). Plusieurs des motets de cet important Codex utilisent des thèmes ou des textes empruntés au Jeu de Robin et Marion, confirmant l’immense popularité de cette œuvre.

Des compositions anonymes isolées ou empruntées au manuscrit de Bamberg ainsi qu’un extrait du satirique Roman de Fauvel complètent cette exploration d’une époque musicale en pleine mutation, et, pour rendre hommage aux ménestrels improvisateurs de cette époque, quelques épisodes instrumentaux de Claude Bernatchez se fondent avec grâce à l’ensemble.

© André Caron et Irène Brisson, 2004

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8799 Octuor Schubert Solistes OSM
AN 2 8799 Octuor Schubert Solistes OSM
AN 2 8799 Octuor Schubert Solistes OSM

Start typing and press Enter to search

New Jewish Music / Nouvelle musique juive, Vol. 1 - Azrieli Music PrizesOvation | Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà