fbpx

They spoke about it

Album information

In the 17th and 18th centuries, the chaconne was generally indistinguishable from the passacaglia, the two musical forms being so similar in nature. In both, the repetition of a single harmonic motif evoked a sense of time stretching far beyond the limits of our physical world, thus creating an illusion of eternity! In this recording we have collected some of the most beautiful examples from the literally hundreds of such pieces composed during the baroque period. Since the attempt to create the illusion of eternity in music was generally linked to the principle of melodic variations – whether it be variations on a theme or variations over a repeated harmonic motif – we have included two famous examples of Folias composed by Falconiero and Vivaldi.

Bach’s Chaconne BWV 1004 is no doubt the most celebrated piece of its type. It is generally believed that Bach composed it in 1720 after the death of his first wife, Maria Barbara, thus creating an instrumental requiem for her that transcends the limits of time. And even now, three centuries later, the inventiveness and rich colours of the variations of this musical monument still exert the same fascination. Originally written for solo violin, this work is performed here in our transcription for two recorders and basso. This follows the tradition practiced in the Bach family home, where pieces by Johann Sebastian written for solo violin were regularly played on different instruments.

We might say that both the Passacalli della vita and the Ciaccona Di Paradiso e Dell’Inferno present the question of eternity in all its complexity. In both cases, the texts of these vocal works speak of otherworldly dimensions. In our instrumental versions, these representations of heaven and hell are intensified by the addition of variations we have composed especially for this recording. With Monteverdi, we have used the same process. The composer himself included two sections in chaconne form in his canzonetta in order to bring out the double meaning of the text – Chi vol che m’innamori (We are born today, but tomorrow we die). These two sections are strong evocations of the vanity of human aspirations when confronted with the reality of death. Once again, we have followed the baroque practice by adding our own variations to these chaconnes.

Since both the chaconne and the passacaglia trace their origins back to folk music, we have chosen to include several examples of folk songs whose charm and melancholic beauty we find especially compelling. As do the Passacalli della vita, composed a half century later, the 16th century Czech folksongs performed here express the trials and tribulations of love and life, and even include bits of humour here and there. When performing this music, we have the impression that we are establishing a conversation with these musicians of a far distant past, and that what they have to say is perfectly relevant for us in the 21st century.

Though the Folias always follow the same harmonic pattern, their musical content speaks of an uncommon state of mind. Antonio Vivaldi puts his extraordinary inventiveness to the task of describing folly in all its aspects, sometimes through the use of wild rhythms, and at other times with heart wrenching dissonances.

This same tension can be felt on several levels in the work by Vivaldi’s 17th century compatriot, Andrea Falconiero. His Folias were composed during a seven-year long stay in Spain and dedicated to a certain Señora Dona Tarolilla de Carallenos; and all the while Falconiero’s wife remained languishing in her native Italy…

Ensemble Caprice has made a habit of entering into dialog with composers of the past. For this recording, we have added several short vocal pieces that I wrote, based on poems by the 17th century mystic Angelus Silesius. These brief verses in alexandrine meter are a perfect expression of the dichotomy experienced by the human being torn between life and death, between this world and the invisible world.

© Matthias Maute

Read more

About

Ensemble Caprice
AN 2 8835 Ground Midnight
AN 2 8835 Ground Midnight
AN 2 8835 Ground Midnight

Start typing and press Enter to search

Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano / Violin Sonatas Nos. 6, 7 & 8 | Andrew Wan & Charles Richard-Hamelin

fbpx
AN 2 9132 Chaconne Voix d’Eternité

Chaconne - Voix d'éternité

Ils en ont parlé

Informations sur l'album

Aux 17e et 18e siècles, il était très souvent impossible de distinguer la chaconne de la passacaille, tant les deux danses se ressemblaient musicalement. Dans les deux cas, la répétition de la même formule harmonique permettait de représenter une notion du temps se situant au-delà du vécu : à savoir, l’éternité ! Cet enregistrement rassemble quelques-uns des plus beaux exemples parmi les centaines de chaconnes et de passacailles qui ont vu le jour durant l’époque baroque. Comme l’illusion d’éternité est également rattachée au principe des variations mélodiques, soit sur un thème, soit sur une formule harmonique répétée, deux célèbres exemples de folias sont inclus sur cet album, l’un composé par A. Falconiero et l’autre par A. Vivaldi.

La Chaconne BWV 1004 est sûrement l’oeuvre la plus connue en son genre. Selon ce que l’on croit, Johann Sebastian Bach l’aurait écrite en 1720, après la mort de sa première épouse Maria Barbara, créant ainsi un requiem instrumental en son honneur, qui transcende le temps. Presque trois siècles après sa composition, l’esprit d’invention et la richesse des couleurs des variations de ce monument musical exercent toujours la même fascination. À l’origine pour violon seul, cette oeuvre est interprétée ici dans notre transcription pour deux flûtes à bec et basse, suivant la tradition qui régnait dans la maison des Bach à Leipzig, où l’on interprétait les pièces pour violon seul de Johann Sebastian en les jouant sur d’autres instruments.

On pourrait dire que les Passacalli della vita et la Ciaccona Di Paradiso e Dell’Inferno résument à elles seules la question de l’éternité. Dans les deux cas, les textes de ces pièces d’origine vocale font allusion à des dimensions supérieures. Dans nos versions instrumentales, la représentation du paradis et de l’enfer est rehaussée par l’insertion de variations de notre propre invention. Quant à Monteverdi, nous avons suivi le même principe : pour mettre en valeur les paroles à double tranchant de Chi vol che m’innamori (On est né aujourd’hui, mais on meurt demain), le compositeur introduit dans cette canzonetta deux sections en forme de chaconne. Ce sont en effet des évocations de la vanité de la vie face à la mort. En suivant la pratique baroque, nous avons agrémenté ces chaconnes de nos propres variations.

Comme les chaconnes et les passacailles puisent toutes les deux leur origine dans la musique folklorique, nous avons choisi quelques exemples qui nous ont séduits par leur beauté mélancolique. Comme le feront les Passacalli della vita un demi siècle plus tard, les chansons tchèques de la fin du 16e siècle expriment les vicissitudes de l’amour et de la vie, tout en injectant une prise d’humour ici et là. Quand nous jouons cette musique, nous avons l’impression de construire un pont vers ces musiciens du passé lointain, dont on dirait qu’ils nous parlent de notre propre vie au 21e siècle.

Si les folias suivent toujours la même formule harmonique, leur contenu musical fait allusion à un état d’âme hors de l’ordinaire. Antonio Vivaldi utilise son esprit d’invention tout à fait exceptionnel pour décrire la folie dans tous ses états, parfois par des rythmes déchaînés, parfois par des dissonances déchirantes.

Cette tension se ressent aussi dans la pièce de son compatriote italien du 17e siècle, Andrea Falconiero – et ce à plus d’un niveau. Composée durant un séjour de sept ans en Espagne, les Folias de Falconiero sont dédiées à une certaine Señora Dona Tarolilla de Carallenos, alors que l’épouse du compositeur se languissait toujours dans son Italie natale…

L’Ensemble Caprice a pris l’habitude d’entrer en dialogue avec les compositeurs du passé. Nous avons donc ajouté de courtes pièces vocales que j’ai composées sur des textes d’un poète mystique du 17e siècle, Angelus Silesius. Ces courts poèmes en alexandrins expriment à la perfection la dichotomie que vit l’être humain – entre la vie et la mort, entre ce monde et un autre à dimensions invisibles.

© Matthias Maute

Lire la suite

À propos

Ensemble Caprice
AN 2 9927-8
AN 2 9927-8
AN 2 9927-8

Start typing and press Enter to search