fbpx

Album information

One can describe baroque music of Latin America as a fusion of harmonies and rhythms of Europe and Africa blended with Amerindian nuances and styles. This unique fusion dates back to the 16th century and gave rise to a complex and fascinating multitude of musical forms resulting in a great variety of instrumentations, structures, and rhythmic and melodic phrasing.

Salsa is the Spanish word for sauce, designating at the same time a dance as well as a family of musical genres in Latin-American music. It is this latter meaning and its ancient roots that, together with a bit of humour, we have taken to give the title Salsa baroque to our project. Despite the human and political tragedies surrounding the colonization of the South-American continent, the multipolar musical culture that resulted is distinguished by its fiery spirit and passion: here is music with a unique character that enriches the repertoire of the 17th century with refreshing novelties.

Gaspar Fernandes (c. 1570-1629) was Portuguese by birth, but emigrated to Mexico, where he became a chapel musician at the cathedrals of Guatemala and Puebla. His villancicos (a popular song form of Spanish origin) often have texts written in a mixture of an Amerindian language with Spanish or the local dialect. The touching lullaby Xicochi conetzintle utilizes the Nahuatl language of the Aztecs. The collection of roughly 250 works from the pen of Gaspar Fernandes forms the largest source of 17th-century secular music from the New World.

Juan de Araujo (1648-1712), born in Spain, also spent his life as a musician in Peru and Bolivia where he was appointed Choirmaster of the cathedral in La Plata. His Los coflades de la estleya (with the subtitle Black Song for the Birth of Our Lord) and the Convidando está la noche by Juan García de Zéspedes (1619-1678) distinguish themselves through the use of African rhythms juxtaposed with sections of European counterpoint. It is perhaps through these two short masterpieces of mixed colouring that the peculiar ambiance that reigned in Latin America in the 17th century is best conveyed.

The Christmas music, Tarará, of Antonio de Salazar (c. 1650-1715), as well as the Pastorale of Domenico Zipoli (1668-1726) display the originality of composers in the New World who were able to meld their European background with—from a European point of view—the exotic sonorities of their Latin-American environment. The audacious final melody of the Pastorale gives us an inkling of the creative desires of an immigrant musician.

Spanish music is represented by instrumental works from the vast collection of Antonio Martín y Coll (1671-1734) that encompasses some hundred pieces of music in its 4 volumes called Flores de música. The Chacona and the Xácara are enriched with complex rhythms that approach those of another contemporary Spanish composer who had travelled in Latin America, Santiago de Murcia (1673-1739), whose El Amor, Baylad Caracoles, and La Jotta draw on a rich repertoire of dance rhythms.

It is evident that geographic separation did not impede the relatively rapid transfer of musical styles and genres, despite the problems imposed by the very limited means of international and intercontinental travel. The Canción de clarín con eco a discreción, also taken from the Flores de música collection, as well as the Temblante estilo italiano clearly show the Italian influence on the Iberian Peninsula. Conversely the air-de-cour Yo soy la locura by Henry de Bailly (c. 1585-1637) has a Spanish text in spite of the French nationality of the composer.

The rite Hanacpachap cussicuinin was sung and performed during religious processions in church. Published in 1631 in Peru, this the very first polyphony published in the Americas. It is a very touching piece of music, born of different cultural worlds united by the beauty of music.

Ensemble Caprice

Matthias Maute – direction, recorder, traverso

Shannon Mercer – soprano I
Esteli Gomez-soprano II
Scott Belluz – altus
Joel Gonzalez – tenor
Philippe Martel – bass

Matthew Jennejohn – cornetto
Sophie Larivière – recorder, traverso
Olivier Brault – baroque violin
Lucie Ringuette – baroque violin
Pemi Paull – viola
Susie Napper – cello
Erin Helyard – harpsichord, organ
Daniel Zuluaga-baroque guitar, theorbo
David Jacques – baroque guitar
Patrick Graham – percussion

Read more

About

Ensemble Caprice
AN 6 1037
AN 6 1037
AN 6 1037

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

La musique baroque d’Amérique latine pourrait se décrire comme une fusion des harmonies et du contrepoint européens, des rythmes africains et du style amérindien. Cette fusion originale prend racine au 16e siècle et a donné naissance à une multitude de formes musicales. Ce métissage des genres provoque une grande variété d’instrumentations, de formes musicales, de cellules rythmiques et de lignes mélodiques.

D’origine espagnole, le mot salsa signifie sauce, mais désigne également une danse ainsi qu’une famille de genres musicaux en Amérique latine. Cette dernière connotation, avec ses racines anciennes, nous a permis ? avec une petite dose d’humour — d’intituler notre album Salsa baroque. Malgré les tragédies humaines et politiques survenues pendant la colonisation de l’Amérique latine, la culture musicale, elle, s’avère bien vivante et se distingue par sa fougue et sa passion. Une musique à caractère unique qui enrichit le répertoire du 17e siècle de nouveautés rafraîchissantes.

Gaspar Fernandes (v. 1570-1629), d’origine portugaise, émigra au Mexique où il devint musicien de chapelle des cathédrales de Guatemala et de Puebla. Il compose des villancicos (une forme de chanson d’origine espagnole à caractère populaire) dans un amalgame des langues indienne et espagnole. La touchante berceuse Xicochi conetzintle puise ses mots dans la langue aztèque nahuatl. La collection d’environ 250 pièces de la plume de Gaspar Fernandes forme la plus grande source de musique séculaire du Nouveau Monde du 17e siècle.

Juan de Araujo (1648-1712) a vu le jour en Espagne mais a passé sa vie de musicien au Pérou et en Bolivie où il fut nommé chef de chœur à la cathédrale de La Plata. Son Los coflades de la estleya (avec comme sous-titre Chanson noire pour la naissance de notre Seigneur) ainsi que le Convidando está la noche de Juan García de Zéspedes (1619-1678) se distinguent par l’emploi de rythmes africains juxtaposés au contrepoint européen. Ces deux courts chefs-d’œuvre nous donnent une impression assez révélatrice de l’ambiance particulière qui a dû régner dans cette Amérique latine du 17e siècle.

La musique de Noël de Antonio de Salazar (v. 1650-1715), Tarará, ainsi que la Pastorale de Domenico Zipoli (1668-1726) démontrent combien ces compositeurs du Nouveau Monde ont su intégrer à leur héritage européen les nouvelles sonorités exotiques de la musique d’Amérique latine. L’audacieuse mélodie finale de la Pastorale nous donne une bonne idée de l’envie créatrice qu’habitait un musicien immigrant !

La musique espagnole a inspiré les œuvres instrumentales d’Antonio Martín y Coll (1671-1734), une collection rassemblée dans quatre volumes regroupant quelques centaines de pièces intitulées Flores de música. Les rythmes complexes de la Chacona et du Xácara s’apparentent à ceux d’un autre contemporain espagnol qui a séjourné en Amérique latine, Santiago de Murcia (1673-1739). Il a donné du caractère à ses El Amor, Baylad Caracoles et La Jotta grâce à des rythmes de danse entraînants.

De toute évidence, la séparation géographique n’empêchait pas le métissage des styles et des genres musicaux malgré les moyens de transport très limités de l’époque. Les pièces Canción de clarín con eco a discreción et Temblante estilo italiano, quant à elles, montrent clairement l’influence italienne sur la péninsule hispanique. L’air de cour Yo soy la locura de Henry de Bailly (v. 1585-1637), composé à partir d’un texte espagnol, ne laisse rien transparaître de la nationalité française du compositeur.

Enfin, le rite Hanacpachap cussicuinin prenait une place de choix lors des processions à l’église. Paru en 1631, au Pérou, il s’agit ici de la première musique polyphonique publiée en Amérique latine. Cette musique contrapuntique à la fois touchante et savante a pris naissance sous l’égide de ce monde interculturel, en quête de beauté.

Ensemble Caprice

Matthias Maute – direction, flûte à bec, flûte traversière

Shannon Mercer – soprano I
Esteli Gomez – soprano II
Scott Belluz – alto
Joel Gonzalez – ténor
Philippe Martel – basse

Matthew Jennejohn – cornet à bouquin
Sophie Larivière – flûte à bec, flûte traversière
Olivier Brault – violon baroque
Lucie Ringuette – violon baroque
Pemi Paull – violon alto
Susie Napper – violoncelle
Erin Helyard – clavecin, orgue
Daniel Zuluaga – guitare baroque, théorbe
David Jacques – guitare baroque
Patrick Graham – percussion

Lire la suite

À propos

Ensemble Caprice
AN 6 1013
AN 6 1013
AN 6 1013

Start typing and press Enter to search