fbpx

Album information

Throughout his life, Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741) never elaborated on the sources of inspiration for his compositions. This could be one of the reasons why the spiritual kinship between his concerto pieces and Eastern European gypsy music has hitherto gone unnoticed. While this assumption may seem absurd at a first glance at the geographic situation, it becomes clearly apparent upon closer inspection.

As a virtuoso and composer, Vivaldi travelled widely. He is known to have attended performances of his operas in Prague and also in Vienna which took him close to the Balkans, and it is likely that he encountered nomadic musicians during these excursions. In fact, this was nothing unusual because Georg Philipp Telemann, who worked for a time in Poland, comments in one of his three (!) autobiographies that a skilled composer could gain enough musical inspiration to last a lifetime by listening to gypsy musicians.

Vivaldi taught for many years at the orphanage school famous for its shining musical life: the Ospedale della Pietà. This “orphanage” (in fact a home for the illegitimate daughters of noblemen) lay on the Riva degli Schiavi, the Slavic Canal. One can easily imagine how travellers arriving from Eastern European countries would perform their music with their instruments and songs, practically on Vivaldi’s doorstep!

The obvious closeness to gypsy music of the motifs used in the opening tutti in the third movement of the late concerto RV 375 to gypsy music makes it even more tempting to surmise that Vivaldi must have come into contact with music from Eastern Europe. The ragged initial sixteenth notes, the syncopated rhythms, the abrupt dynamic contrasts and the pianissimo passages that appear are almost identical in the collection of gypsy music Uhrovska (1730) and are strong evidence to support the claim in the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians that Vivaldi was inspired by the music of the Slavic hinterlands.

In addition to this surprising conclusion, there is an evident spiritual link that makes juxtaposing Vivaldi’s music with pieces from the Uhrovska collection (1730) remarkably satisfying. The composer and the gypsy musicians were clearly exceptional virtuosos who derived great pleasure from using their talents to exploit the limits of their instruments’ capabilities. Therefore, the special effects in the descriptive concerto La notte Op. X, No. 2, speak a very clear language. The virtuosity of the string instruments is as demanding as that of the solo recorder, whose racing fast passages contribute to the nightmarish impression evoked by a movement such as “Fantasmi.” The slow movement “Il sonno” (sleep) is in stark contrast, with its audacious chordal successions that depict the descent into deepening layers of unconsciousness.

The initial eighthnote rhythm followed by two sixteenths, of the opening tutti of the Concerto in C Major for 2 transverse flutes RV 533 has inspired us to create a Fantasia in the gypsy style that we have placed as an introduction to the concerto. The Uhrovska collection contains some pieces that use this exact rhythm to great effect. Here one can also assume that Vivaldi allowed himself to be inspired by Slavic folk music, an impression that is also strengthened by his use of only two different chords in the first bars of the opening tutti.

The addition of cadenzas is derived from Vivaldi’s own performance practice. According to eyewitness accounts, he improvised ad hoc with virtuosic “fireworks” between pieces or movements, demonstrating his extraordinary virtuosity. Written cadenzas actually exist in Vivaldi’s concerto oeuvre (such as in the Violin Concerto “Il grosso mogul”) that provide documented proof of this practice. We have added a cadenza to the Concerto in C Major P. 81 for 2 recorders, 2 violins and basso continuo, which, in this instance provides an opportunity to demonstrate the virtuosity of the two recorder players.

The Uhrovska collection (named for the eponymous town in present-day Slovakia where it was found) is a fascinating document that provides a direct glimpse into the world of gypsy music. The approximately 350 melodies it contains were probably intended to be as comprehensive a collection of gypsy music as possible. Its multi-national character documents the extent to which the gypsies—and their music with them —travelled. Hungarian melodies stand next to Czech songs and the location of Uhrovska’s discovery in Slovakia suggests further national influences.

Contrary to the oral tradition of the gypsies, in essence without written record, a travelling master violinist must have attempted to assemble the music of his people into a comprehensive “catalogue”. Few gypsies would have studied notation and so we must infer that Uhrovska was compiled by a travelling musician who had come into contact with the educated classes of his time. In this case, he utilized a sort of shorthand, leaving plenty of room for creativity.

Apart from a few exceptions, the music in the Uhrovska collection is notated in a single voice and so the bass line and the harmonic and rhythmic fleshing out in the mid-range would have been improvised. Thus, it was implied that the pieces would be arranged ad hoc by gypsy bands. We have adopted this practice and expanded the melodies into multi-voiced pieces.

The mostly single-line melodies do not provide any indications regarding formal figuration. It is impossible that a melody would have been played through only once, but even here the sequence is left to each performer. To draw a parallel, one just has to look at jazz music, where relatively short melodies are expanded into longer pieces through improvisation. This generous freedom allows the interpreters of this music quite an unusual role, because it is they who actually gives the music form. As a result, the recording sessions for the present CD were an extraordinary experience since the interpretation changed spontaneously even during recording and the music continually assumed a different form.

The melodies contain surprising “twists” that can make harmonizing in the traditional baroque sense impossible. The eventful history of the Sinti and Roma people, who during the Middle Ages found their way to Europe from their origins in India, has left its traces here and it is impossible to establish exactly how this music would have sounded. We have attempted to do justice to the inner richness of these melodies with arrangements that are as diverse as possible.

It is a further surprise to find the legend of Doctor Faustus appearing in the title of one of the pieces of the Uhrovska collection, another indication of how the various layers of the folk and sophisticated cultures were mixed.

It became obvious to us during this project that the undercurrent of kinship between these two different music styles is too insistent and that the rough and fresh gypsy music must have exerted a great fascination on a composer like Vivaldi. Although cause for speculation remains, we hope that the listener will be inclined to share our enthusiasm for this unusual musical encounter.

© Matthias Maute

Read more

About

Ensemble Caprice
AN 2 9770-5
AN 2 9770-5
AN 2 9770-5

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Tout au long de sa vie, Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741) ne s’est jamais confié quant à ses sources d’inspiration musicale. C’est sans aucun doute l’une des raisons pour lesquelles, jusqu’à ce jour, une affinité spirituelle entre la musique gitane et ses concertos soit passée inaperçue. Cette hypothèse peut sembler curieuse à première vue, étant donné la distance géographique qui sépare Venise de l’Europe de l’Est, mais elle devient évidente une fois qu’on y porte attention.

Grâce à sa réputation de compositeur et de virtuose, Vivaldi voyagea beaucoup. Nous savons qu’il a assisté à des représentations de ses opéras à Prague et à Vienne, situées près des Balkans. Il est donc tout à fait probable que Vivaldi ait été en contact avec des musiciens gitans lors de ses voyages. Ceci n’a rien d’inhabituel: Georg Philipp Telemann, qui vécut en Pologne pendant un certain temps, écrit, dans l’une de ses trois (!) autobiographies, qu’un compositeur tirerait assez d’inspiration musicale pour une vie entière s’il prêtait l’oreille à la musique gitane.

Vivaldi enseigna de nombreuses années dans un orphelinat célèbre pour la qualité de sa vie musicale, l’Ospedale della Pietà. Cet orphelinat (qui est en fait une institution pour les filles illégitimes de la noblesse) est situé sur la Riva degli Schiavoni, le quai des Slaves. On peut aisément imaginer ces voyageurs arrivant des pays de l’Europe de l’Est et jouant leur musique de leurs instruments et leurs chants, pour ainsi dire sur le seuil de Vivaldi!

Les motifs utilisés dans le premier tutti du troisième mouvement d’un de ses derniers concertos, le RV 375, laisse entendre une affinité évidente avec la musique gitane et nous laisse donc présumer aisément que Vivaldi ait pu être en contact avec cette musique. Les doubles-croches fougueuses, les rythmes syncopés, les brusques contrastes de nuances et les passages pianissimi qu’on retrouve de façon quasi identique dans la collection de musique gitane Uhrovska (1730) soutiennent l’affirmation émise dans le New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians que Vivaldi se soit inspiré des musiques de l’arrière-pays slave.

À cette surprenante conclusion, il faut ajouter un lien spirituel évident qui existe entre la musique de Vivaldi et celle des pièces que l’on retrouve dans la collection de musique gitane Uhrovska, et dont la juxtaposition est fort satisfaisante. Le compositeur et ces gitans étaient, de toute évidence, des virtuoses exceptionnels qui, grâce à leur talent, éprouvaient un grand plaisir à dépasser continuellement les limites de leurs instruments.

Les effets musicaux qu’on retrouve dans le concerto La notte, opus X no 2, deviennent alors compréhensibles. La virtuosité des cordes dans les tutti est certainement aussi exigeante que le solo pour flûte à bec avec ses passages rapides palpitants, ce qui contribue à cette impression cauchemardesque évoquée dans un mouvement comme celui de  » Fantasmi « . Le mouvement lent  » Il sonno  » (le sommeil) contraste avec sa mélopée de successions d’accords décrivant un glissement vers l’inconscient.

Les rythmes en croches et double-croches du premier tutti du Concerto en do majeur pour deux flûtes traversières (RV 533) nous a inspiré une fantaisie dans le style gitan que nous proposons comme introduction à ce concerto. La collection Uhrovska contient quelques pièces musicales qui utilisent la même rythmique avec succès. À nouveau, nous pouvons présumer que Vivaldi ait fort probablement été inspiré par la musique folklorique slave, une impression renforcée par l’utilisation de seulement deux accords différents dans les premières mesures du dit concerto.

L’ajout de cadences découle de pratiques d’interprétation de l’époque que Vivaldi utilisait lui-même. Selon des témoins de l’époque, il improvisait avec une virtuosité éblouissante entre les pièces ou les mouvements, faisant preuve d’une dextérité extraordinaire. On retrouve dans les concertos de Vivaldi des copies des cadences, comme dans le Concerto pour violon  » Il grosso Mogul  » confirmant cette habitude. Inspirés par cette pratique, nous avons inclus une cadence dans le Concerto en do majeur (P 81) pour deux flûtes à bec, deux violons et basse continue, afin de permettre aux deux flûtes de démontrer leur virtuosité.

La collection de musique gitane Uhrovska, qui tire son nom de la ville éponyme de Slovéquie où elle fût découverte, est un document musical fascinant qui nous offre un contact direct avec la musique gitane. Les quelques 350 mélodies qui la composent avaient sans doute pour objectif de présenter un panorama, le plus exhaustif possible, de la musique gitane. L’aspect multinational de la collection nous informe sur la façon dont les gitans ainsi que leur musique voyageaient. Le fait que des mélodies hongroises puissent côtoyer des airs tchèques dans une collection de Slovaquie nous permet de conclure à des échanges culturels internationaux.

Cette collection Uhrovska est sans doute l’œuvre d’un maître violoniste nomade qui, contrairement à la tradition orale gitane, a voulu inventorier la musique de son peuple dans un recueil détaillé. La majorité des Gitans ne connaissant sans doute pas la notation musicale, nous pensons qu’il s’agit fort probablement d’un musicien qui ait été en contact avec les classes instruites de son époque. Dans ce cas, il a utilisé un code d’abréviation qui laisse beaucoup de place à la créativité de l’interprète.

Les mélodies de la collection Uhrovska sont, à quelques exceptions près, écrites pour une seule voix; ainsi la ligne de basse, l’harmonisation et la rythmique des parties intermédiaires auraient été improvisées. Ceci sous-entend que les pièces étaient adaptées sur place au besoin par les ensembles gitans. Nous avons adopté cette pratique et ainsi ajouté plusieurs voix aux mélodies.

Ces mélodies nous indiquent peu de chose quant à la structure formelle des pièces. Il est impossible qu’une mélodie ne fut jouée qu’une seule fois – mais même ici, la séquence est laissée libre à l’interprète. Pour mieux comprendre, on n’a qu’à penser à la musique jazz où des mélodies relativement courtes sont développées grâce à l’improvisation en pièces plus longues. Cette liberté dans l’interprétation offre au musicien un rôle inhabituel, lui permettant de façonner la forme musicale. Les séances d’enregistrement ont été, en ce sens, une expérience extraordinaire, l’interprétation évoluant et se modifiant constamment, même pendant l’enregistrement !

Certaines mélodies sont surprenantes par leurs contours et rendent quelques fois impossible l’harmonisation au sens baroque traditionnel. L’histoire des Sinti et des Roma, ceux qu’on surnomme les gitans, qui, pendant le Moyen Âge se sont déplacés du continent indien vers l’Europe, laisse des traces évidentes ici mais il demeure impossible d’établir précisément à quoi cette musique aurait pu ressembler. Nous avons essayé d’être justes envers la richesse intrinsèque de ces mélodies en proposant des arrangements aussi variés que possible.

Il est aussi d’autant plus surprenant de retrouver une référence à la légende de Faust dans le titre de l’une de ces pièces, un autre indice des différentes sources culturelles auxquelles fait référence la musique gitane.

Il nous est devenu évident pendant la réalisation de cet enregistrement que la musique gitane, ardente et énergique, ait exercé une grande fascination chez Vivaldi. Les nombreuses affinités entre ces deux styles de musique sont trop importantes. Même si certaines hypothèses demeurent du domaine de la spéculation, nous souhaitons que l’auditeur partage notre enthousiasme pour cette rencontre de styles inhabituelle.

© Matthias Maute
Traduction : Isabelle Duchesnay

Lire la suite

À propos

Ensemble Caprice
AN 6 1017
AN 6 1017
AN 6 1017

Start typing and press Enter to search