fbpx
AN 2 9995

Vivaldi: The Return of the Angels

Release date October 25, 2011
Album code AN 2 9995
Periods Baroque

Album information

Following Ensemble Caprice’s first recording of Vivaldi’s sacred music ( Gloria! Vivaldi and his Angels) we return to Vivaldi’s Venice and find ourselves yet again within the confines of the Ospedale della Pietà orphanage where, beginning in 1703, Vivaldi, the Red Priest, not only taught the orphan girls violin and singing (!), but also composed many of his most dazzling concertos as well as a substantial part of his highly inspired corpus of sacred music.

To this day, it seems almost unbelievable that these very demanding scores could be successfully performed by young women. However, their concerts must have been of a very high standard, judging from the celebrity status they enjoyed throughout Europe.

Of course the picturesque scenario of young women performing in church undoubtedly fired the imagination of countless listeners who would come from far and wide to hear the orphans perform musical miracles in Venice.

In 1720 an English traveler, Edward Wright, gives us the following account of those events:

Every Sunday and holiday there is a performance of music in the chapels of these hospitals, vocal and instrumental, performed by the young women of the place, who are set in a gallery above and, though not professed, are hid from any distinct view of those below by a lattice of ironwork. The organ parts, as well as those of other instruments, are all performed by the young women. They have a eunuch for their master, and he composes their music. Their performance is surprisingly good, and many excellent voices are among them. And this is all the more amusing since their persons are concealed from view.

It was both absurd and comical for Wright to assume that the composer was a eunuch, but it shows how the imagination of the male listeners got carried away when hearing those celestial angelic sounds produced by an invisible female orchestra and choir.

After having met Vivaldi in Venice in 1739, a French jurist, Charles de Brosse, reports that

…about forty girls take part in every concert. I vow to you that there is nothing so diverting as the sight of a young and pretty nun in white habit, with a bunch of pomegranate blossoms over her ear, conducting the orchestra and beating time with all the grace and precision imaginable.

Further proof of the incredible quality (and attraction) of these concerts is provided by no less a celebrity than the sophisticated French philosopher (and part-time composer) Jean-Jacques Rousseau, who in 1743 had nothing but praise for the achievements of the young girls:

Every Sunday, vocal music for a large chorus with a large orchestra, which is composed and directed by the greatest masters in Italy, is performed in barred-off galleries solely by girls, of whom the oldest is not twenty years of age. One can conceive of nothing as voluptuous, as moving, as this music.

Knowing for instance that J.S. Bach only heard his own sacred music sung publicly in church by boys and men and never by women, we can only assume how much the titillation of these exciting rumours about the female choir and orchestra in Venice must have stirred the imagination of music lovers north of the Alps.

During the course of the present recording, we move from Vivaldi’s description of war to his musical depiction of the joys of peace.

Juditha triumphans

Juditha triumphans from 1716 is the best known of the Vivaldi oratorios (of which only four have survived). Subtitled Sacrum Militare Oratorium, it relates the gruesome Old Testament story of Judith, a beautiful widow chosen by God to put an end to the life of the Assyrian general Holofernes – who was out to destroy her hometown – by decapitating him.

At the time the oratorio was composed, the Republic of Venice was engaged in its 6th war against the Ottoman Empire and despite its ultimate triumph in 1718, the situation looked rather bleak two years earlier after two successive crushing defeats by the strong Ottoman army. In a typical baroque crossover mingling religious and worldly matters on the same battlefield, the oratorio Juditha triumphans was obviously aimed at strengthening the war efforts of the Venetian Republic.

We know that this oratorio was performed at the Ospedale della Pietà, with an all-(young)-woman cast on both vocal and instrumental parts. It could only have added to the already wide range of exotic sensations when the overwhelmed listener heard these young women in nun’s habits engaging in musical warfare.

Gloria, RV 588

However, let us not forget that Vivaldi’s talent also radiated its light upon the depiction of peace. The intense plea Et in terra pax (from Gloria RV 588), with its gripping harmonic tensions, serves as a worthy final statement for this recording, where war is gradually replaced by the hope for peace.

Psalms, Concertos, Motet

On the road towards peace we encounter brilliant psalm settings with powerful rhythms in choir and orchestra (In exitu Israel RV 604, Laudate Dominum RV 606), two virtuoso concertos for multiple soloists (RV 566 and RV 563) and a beautiful solo motet O qui coeli terraeque serenitas RV 631, praising serenity in heaven and on earth.

Vivaldi entertained a close relationship with Dresden, the Florence of the Elbe, both as a performing artist and as a composer; indeed, his pieces were frequently performed at court. One of his illustrious colleagues in Dresden, Jan Dismas Zelenka, was obviously inspired by Vivaldi’s sacred music when he composed the heart-rending lament Misera Madre in which Mary’s suffering at the foot of the cross is set for high-voice choir. It becomes quite obvious from the striking dissonances in this piece that the transition from war to peace is not always an easy one…

And just as our plea for peace is here put forward with music from the past, we fervently hope that peace will reign in our present time and the future: Et in terra pax!

© Matthias Maute, Montreal, 2011

Ensemble Caprice

Matthias Maute – conductor

Soprano I: Gabriele Hierdeis, Jacqueline Woodley, Dawn Bailey
Soprano II & Tenor : Shannon Mercer, Hélène Brunet, Marie Magistry
Alto I : Laura Pudwell, Scott Belluz, Erika McBurney, Megan Zantingh
Alto II & Basse : Josée Lalonde, Maude Brunet, Kristin Hoff

Violin I: Olivier Brault, Tanya LaPerrière, Sari Tsuji

Violin II: Lucie Ringuette, Jacques-André Houle, Ellie Nimeroski

Viola: Pemi Paull, Jennifer Thiessen
Cello: Isabelle Bozzini, Elinor Frey

Double-bass: Nicolas Lessard

Recorder: Matthias Maute, Sophie Larivière

Flute: Sophie Larivière, Grégoire Jeay

Oboe: Matthew Jennejohn, Kathryn Montoya

Bassoon: Anna Marsh

Trumpet: Alexis Basque, Amy Horvey

Theorbo: David Jacques

Organ & harpsichord: Erin Helyard

Timpani: Philip Hornsey

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9995

Vivaldi: Le Retour des anges

Informations sur l'album

En un prolongement naturel du premier enregistrement dédié à la musique sacrée de Vivaldi de l’Ensemble Caprice, ( Gloria! Vivaldi and his Angels), nous retrouvons ici la Venise de Vivaldi et l’enceinte de l’orphelinat Ospedale della Pietà où, dès 1703, le Prêtre roux non seulement a enseigné aux orphelines le violon et le chant (!), mais composé plusieurs de ses concertos les plus éblouissants ainsi qu’une part substantielle de son très inspiré corpus de musique sacrée.

Encore aujourd’hui, il peut sembler presque incroyable que ces partitions très exigeantes aient pu être interprétées avec succès par les jeunes femmes. Néanmoins, ces concerts devaient être de très haut niveau, si l’on considère l’aura de célébrité associé à ceux-ci dans toute l’Europe.

Bien sûr, l’image pittoresque de jeunes femmes jouant et chantant dans l’église a sans aucun doute enflammé l’imagination de nombre d’auditeurs qui venaient de partout pour écouter les orphelines réaliser des miracles musicaux à Venise.

En 1720, un voyageur anglais, Edward Wright, narre les événements en ces termes :

Chaque dimanche ou jour férié, on peut entendre dans les chapelles de ces hôpitaux des concerts, tant vocaux qu’instrumentaux, donnés par les jeunes femmes de l’endroit, placées dans une galerie et qui, même si cela n’est pas dit, les protègent du regard de ceux massés plus bas grâce à un treillis de fer forgé. Les parties d’orgue et des autres instruments sont interprétées par les jeunes femmes. Un eunuque est leur maître et compose leur musique. Leur interprétation est étonnamment juste et on retrouve plusieurs excellentes voix dans le lot. Tout ceci est d’autant plus amusant que leurs visages sont dissimulés.

Il était à la fois absurde et comique que Wright considère le compositeur un eunuque, mais l’extrait démontre que l’imagination des auditeurs masculins pouvait s’emballer quand ils entendaient ces sons angéliques produits par un orchestre et un chœur de femmes invisible.

Après avoir rencontré Vivaldi à Venise en 1739, l’avocat français Charles de Brosse rapporte que

… environ quarante jeunes filles prenaient part à chaque concert. Je vous prête serment que rien n’est plus divertissant que la vision d’une jeune et jolie religieuse en habit blanc, bouquet de grenades au-dessus de l’oreille, qui dirige l’orchestre et tient la battue avec toute la grâce et la précision imaginables.

Une preuve supplémentaire de l’incroyable niveau (et attraction) de ces concerts nous est offerte par nul autre que le raffiné philosophe français (et à l’occasion compositeur) Jean-Jacques Rousseau qui, en 1743, n’avait que des louanges pour les exploits des jeunes filles :

Chaque dimanche, de la musique vocale pour large chœur et orchestre, composée et dirigée par les grands maîtres d’Italie, est jouée dans des galeries bloquées, uniquement par les filles, les plus vieilles d’entre elles n’ayant même pas vingt ans. Je n’ai l’idée de rien d’aussi voluptueux, d’aussi touchant que cette musique.

Si nous acceptons par exemple queJ.S. Bach
n’a entendu sa musique sacrée chantée en public dans l’église que par des garçons et des hommes, mais jamais des femmes, nous pouvons seulement supposer combien la titillation de ces troublantes rumeurs d’un chœur et orchestre féminin vénitien a pu stimuler l’imaginaire des mélomanes habitant au nord des Alpes.

Cet enregistrement nous fera passer d’un portrait de la guerre de Vivaldi à la représentation musicale des joies de la paix.

Juditha triumphans

Datant de 1716, Juditha triumphans est l’oratorio le plus connu de Vivaldi. (Quatre de ceux-ci uniquement ont survécu). Sous-titré Sacrum militare oratorium, ce dernier narre l’épouvantable page de l’Ancien Testament consacrée à Judith, magnifique veuve choisie par Dieu pour mettre un terme à la vie du général assyrien Holofernes – qui avait l’intention de détruire sa ville – en le décapitant.

À l’époque à laquelle l’oratorio a été composé, la République de Venise engageait pour une sixième fois le combat contre l’Empire ottoman et en dépit de son ultime victoire en 1718 deux ans plus tard, la situation était des plus sombres, Venise ayant déjà essuyé deux cuisantes défaites aux mains de la puissante armée ottomane. Dans un amalgame typiquement baroque liant affaires religieuses et publiques en un même champ de bataille, Juditha triumphans souhaitait sans l’ombre d’un doute soutenir les efforts de guerre de la république vénitienne.

Nous savons que cet oratorio a été joué à l’Ospedalle della Pietà, avec une distribution exclusivement (jeune et) féminine, tant aux voix qu’aux instruments. Que ces jeunes femmes en habits religieux aient été engagées dans une guerre musicale ne pouvait qu’ajouter au large éventail de sensations exotiques ressenties par l’auditeur.

Gloria, RV 588

Toutefois, n’oublions pas que le talent de Vivaldipouvait être rayonnant quand il dépeignait la paix. L’intense appel Et in terra pax (tiré du Gloria RV 588) et ses tensions harmoniques se veulent une digne conclusion à cet enregistrement, alors que la guerre est graduellement remplacée par un espoir de paix.

Psaumes, Concertos, Motet

Sur le chemin vers la paix, nous rencontrerons de brillantes lectures de psaumes aux rythmes puissants tant au chœur qu’à l’orchestre (In exitu Israel RV 604 et Laudate Dominum RV 606), deux concertos virtuoses pour multiples solistes (RV 566 et RV 563) et un magnifique motet pour soliste O qui coeli terraeque serenitas RV 631, qui louange la sérénité tant au ciel que sur terre.

Vivaldi a entretenu des liens rapprochés avec Dresde, la Florence de l’Elbe, tant comme interprète que compositeur; en effet, ses pièces étaient fréquemment données à la cour. L’un de ses illustres collègues à Dresde, Jan Dismas Zelenka, s’est manifestement inspiré de la musique sacrée de Vivaldi quand il a composé sa déchirante complainte Misera Madre, dans laquelle les souffrances de Marie au pied de la croix sont arrangées pour chœur de voix aiguës. Les dissonances saisissantes de cette pièce nous rappellent que la transition de la guerre à la paix n’est pas toujours aisée…

Tout comme notre appel à la paix se transmet ici à travers la musique d’hier, nous souhaitons ardemment que la paix règne aujourd’hui et demain : Et in terra pax!

© Matthias Maute, Montréal, 2011
Traduction de Lucie Renaud

Ensemble Caprice

Matthias Maute – chef d’orchestre

Soprano I: Gabriele Hierdeis, Jacqueline Woodley, Dawn Bailey
Soprano II & Tenor : Shannon Mercer, Hélène Brunet, Marie Magistry
Alto I : Laura Pudwell, Scott Belluz, Erika McBurney, Megan Zantingh
Alto II & Basse : Josée Lalonde, Maude Brunet, Kristin Hoff

Violon I: Olivier Brault, Tanya LaPerrière, Sari Tsuji

Violon II: Lucie Ringuette, Jacques-André Houle, Ellie Nimeroski

Alto: Pemi Paull, Jennifer Thiessen
Violoncelle: Isabelle Bozzini, Elinor Frey

Contrebasse: Nicolas Lessard

Flûte à bec: Matthias Maute, Sophie Larivière

Flûte traversière: Sophie Larivière, Grégoire Jeay

Hautbois: Matthew Jennejohn, Kathryn Montoya

Basson: Anna Marsh

Trumpette: Alexis Basque, Amy Horvey

Théorbe: David Jacques

Orgue & clavecin: Erin Helyard

Timbales: Philip Hornsey

Lire la suite

À propos

Ensemble Caprice
AN 6 1013
AN 6 1013
AN 6 1013

Start typing and press Enter to search